Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. 85
    While Dynasty Warrior: Gundam Reborn is somewhat fun, the combat is a little lackluster with extremely basic and repetitive moves and constant hovering from one side of the map to the other to complete objectives and missions.
  2. 85
    What should be the best dynasty-formula game to date is marred by simple mistakes with its environments and musical score. Ignore those, and fans of Gundam and/or Dynasty Warriors will have a field day with so much stuff to unlock that it'd take 100 hours.
  3. 80
    While Gundam Reborn won’t be remembered as one of the finest Warriors games, it is nonetheless a genuine attempt to do right by the Gundam fans out there, and I can’t see said fans being disappointed by this package.
  4. Jun 30, 2014
    80
    Dynasty Warriors: Gundam Reborn lacks a bit of the polish that we've come to expect from recent Warriors titles, but it makes up for it with the most well realised combat and best official mode that the series has seen.
  5. Jul 16, 2014
    78
    My main lament, and it goes for most games of this type, is that once the action starts you never feel like a giant robot mobile suit, just a normal sized character.
  6. Jul 7, 2014
    78
    Dynasty Warriors: Gundam Reborn is a simple package that guarantees only what you see on the surface. There are some unlockables and reasons to replay the game, but beyond the two modes (Official and Ultimate) there’s nothing else to it. Is that bad? Not at all, since it’s good fun and especially since it’s priced at $39.99. It’s certainly worth a go.
  7. A respectable take on the Gundam metaseries that's sure to please the faithful. Not particularly approachable for anybody else though. [September 2014, p80]
  8. Jul 9, 2014
    75
    All in all, I was quite pleased with this entry into the Dynasty Warriors Gundam series. However, I’m a Gundam fan and have been for a decade or more. I would have no problem recommending the game to other fans of Gundam or mecha in general, but for players who haven’t heard of either of those things, I’d be hard-pressed to even broach the topic.
  9. Aug 18, 2014
    70
    This is not the best entry in Koei Tecmo’s long running series, but a title that remains pleasantly entertaining and is a welcomed edition to the constantly growing Warriors catalogue.
  10. Jul 11, 2014
    70
    This game is great value for the money as long as you know what you’re buying.
  11. Jul 11, 2014
    70
    Dynasty Warriors: Gundam Reborn is a fast and fun brawler with enough loot-crafting and variety between modes to keep things from getting too stale too quick.
  12. Jul 6, 2014
    70
    It’s unfortunate that the Dynasty Warriors formula couldn’t have been better tailored to such rich source material, as there was tantalizing potential for Gundam Reborn to be the definitive interactive Gundam experience. But it succeeds at what it aims to be: an action game full of epic displays of power and an endless supply of enemies to destroy, despite little variation in gameplay.
  13. Jun 29, 2014
    70
    Sure, Dynasty Warriors Gundam Reborn may not offer anything new but it does offer a relatively fun space game with larger than life battles
  14. Jun 26, 2014
    70
    What it lacks in the kookiness of its similarly successful One Piece stable-mate it makes up for in bombast, explosions and simple speed and playability.
  15. Aug 8, 2014
    65
    This is one franchise in serious need of a makeover.
  16. Jun 28, 2014
    65
    It's packed with content, but way too easy to keep you involved. Fans might be intrigued by the sheer numbers, but it really lacks some depth.
  17. Jun 27, 2014
    65
    We would have liked to see some aspects better polished, but if you like the musou genre and the Gundam universe, you’ll definitely enjoy.
  18. Jun 26, 2014
    65
    Another chapter in the Dynasty Warriors saga, but an interesting one in the recent history of this popular hack´n slash franchise.
  19. Jul 8, 2014
    64
    Dynasty Warriors: Gundam Reborn is a game that won't surprise you, but will offer the necessary dose of fun for those who enjoy the genre.
  20. Jul 5, 2014
    62
    Gundam Reborn is some kind of remake of the previous titles of the series. It's awesome to play once again with Mobile Suits, but the fact is that the game looks and plays almost like the first title of the saga, it makes you think if Tecmo Koei just reskinned it.
  21. Aug 6, 2014
    60
    Dynasty Warriors: Gundam Reborn is rather unexceptional. It improves over the previous games in a number of ways, but not every change is for the better.
  22. Jul 15, 2014
    60
    Dynasty Warriors: Gundam Reborn is sure to be a welcome return for some, but the rust is clearly showing on this series.
  23. Jul 14, 2014
    60
    The gameplay is still pure repetitive Dynasty Warriors, mobile suits or not.
  24. Jul 11, 2014
    60
    The combat, while repetitive, is serviceable, and the amount of fan service here for Gundam fans is staggering. However, at the end of the day, it’s still yet another Dynasty Warriors game with very little to distinguish it from the others.
  25. Jul 9, 2014
    60
    Fans of Gundam will surely love the inclusion of six different series, and the number of mobile suits and upgrades gives some incentive to keep playing. It doesn't escape the repetition that plagues Dynasty Warriors titles, but fans of Dynasty Warriors and/or Gundam will find something to enjoy.
  26. Jul 7, 2014
    60
    You probably know what you're getting into if you're picking up Dynasty Warriors Gundam Reborn. Any resemblance it might have to depth is purely superficial.
  27. 60
    Dynasty Warriors: Gundam Reborn feels like it could do with some fresh mechanics, and maybe a jump to next gen could offer the capabilities needed to improve it.
  28. Jun 28, 2014
    60
    Seven years have passed since the first Dynasty Warriors Gundam, but we don't notice it. There are all the flaws of the series, we went back to a classic graphic style abandoning the cel shading and gameplay-wise there are no major or significant innovations.
  29. Jun 27, 2014
    60
    A huge, but frankly boring game, which not only lacks innovation, but also feels like a step back from the previous episode.
  30. The end result remains a clunky curio that only diehards are likely to endure. [Sept 2014, p.110]
  31. Aug 8, 2014
    50
    Dynasty Warriors: Gundam Reborn isn't a proper reboot, it's just another chapter in a series that proved once again to be unable to bring something new.
  32. Jul 14, 2014
    50
    All in all, Dynasty Warriors Gundam Reborn doesn’t come close to being my favorite in the series. It feels rushed, lightweight, and not something that indicates a three year gap in time between titles.
  33. Jun 26, 2014
    50
    Compared to vanilla Dynasty Warriors and its Samurai counterpart, KOEI’s Gundam offshoot is falling behind. Where the other two have made a number of progressive changes through the years, Reborn does little to distance itself from the stigma attached to the franchise.
  34. Jul 6, 2014
    45
    If you are looking or a game with loads of content, Dynasty Warriors should be your thing. It's too bad that the storytelling in this game isn't that great.
  35. Jul 18, 2014
    41
    “Reborn” – sounds like a new beginning, doesn’t it? But it isn’t. This is little more than a superficial sequel that at its core is less satisfying than its predecessor.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jul 6, 2014
    5
    i like gundam a lot, and feel like i got suckered into the purchase of a VERY sub par / ok at best game.

    first of all the co-op sucks. the
    way it's implemented just boggles my mind.
    you can't set a game to private/friends only, so you have to reload if a random person joins.
    when you get a friend to join, they are booted at the end of the level. repeat each lvl.
    some lvls are very short. this gets annoying.

    did i mention, the person joining has to have beaten the entire chapter to join
    any level the host is playing? this is beyond stupid.
    it basically defeats the purpose of playing co op.
    i don't want to run through a game on easy, then grind for hours with someone.
    why can't we both just play the maps together for the first time???

    i've had disconnects from a player who i play games with all the time.
    they live 20 miles away and we don't have the issues on other ps3 titles.

    i'd definitely rate the game lower if it weren't gundam theme.

    also worth noting.. base game costs $40. dlc bundle? $30.
    so, it's not really a 'cheaper game', it's $10 more than retail triple A titles.
    they hide a good amount of cool mech's behind that pay wall.

    it feels very OK.
    it's lacking a ridiculous amount of features for a game released in 2014.
    not impressed. definitely not giving them more money for DLC.

    look up video first. maybe you'll enjoy the game.
    co-op implementation is really lazy, and a pain to play with friends.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    This game is alot of fun, in a giant robot killing other robots. this reminded me of the dynasty warriors series with all the killing in it, so anyone who likes dynasty warriors or samurai warriors will enjoy this game Full Review »