Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Dec 19, 2010
    91
    I'm not a fan of working out, but I still enjoy the time I spend with EA Sports Active. After a workout with the game, I always walk away feeling like I just went through the same intensive, full-body workout that I'd only get from hitting the gym five days a week. It's this feeling that sets EA Sports Active 2 apart from the rest of the exercise games on the market, and it's why, if you're serious about getting into shape (and you can deal with the hefty price tag), you should definitely try EA Sports Active 2.
  2. Feb 23, 2011
    85
    EA Sports Active 2 stands as one of the better fitness games on the market and sets an example for future endeavors in this genre.
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    85
    The key to EA Sports Active 2 is in you. It's a pricey package, coming in at just under $100, but worth every penny...if your serious.
  4. 85
    EA Sports Active 2 is a complete workout package filled with 68 different and diverse exercises, all designed to get you off the couch and moving. If you want your PS3 to aid in your fitness regime, this is easily the best solution.
  5. Dec 29, 2010
    81
    As good a workout as the PS3 can offer. [Issue#200, p.96]
  6. Mar 10, 2011
    80
    The main focus in EA Sports Active 2.0 is the training itself, and not the game aspect. The different training options are varied, and give a really good excercise, but the best part is that I want to keep working out even after the session is complete.
  7. Not a bad package for casual training. [Jan 2011, p.118]
  8. Jan 10, 2011
    80
    With Kinect and the new wave of full-body motion-tracking exercise games, EA Sports Active 2 is starting to feel a bit left behind in the fitness genre.
  9. 80
    EA Sports Active 2 isn't designed to make you change pant sizes overnight or make you into a bodybuilder, but it does make you aware of your own fitness and create a more active lifestyle.
  10. Dec 20, 2010
    80
    If anything it got me off of the couch and doing something productive, and for that you have to give EA Sports Active 2 a lot of credit.
  11. Dec 19, 2010
    80
    Active 2 on Wii and PS3 functions well and will give anyone who's willing to put the time in one hell of a workout.
  12. Dec 19, 2010
    80
    I don't think this game is a replacement for an actual gym, or an actual trainer, but for those of you, who like me, don't have the time or inclination for that type of investment, EA Active 2 is a great substitute.
  13. Dec 19, 2010
    80
    It's a solid effort all-around and a surprisingly fun way to get fit.
  14. Jan 3, 2011
    78
    It improves on the first installment, which was an interesting product, and enhances most of it, broadening the exercise list and making them more varied, improving the control system through its new accessories and allowing us to join groups to share our advances.
  15. Jan 8, 2011
    77
    When everything is clicking as it should, EA Active 2 provides a great alternative to the gym. You definitely get that "sore but the good kind of sore" feeling that drives you to keep pushing yourself harder.
  16. Feb 18, 2011
    75
    As an exercise device, this has accessible activities that'll get your heart pumping. [Feb 2011, p.97]
  17. Jan 3, 2011
    72
    Some major failures in terms of handling can bug you quite a bit, but generally EA Sports Active 2 is a solid game. If you're interested in workout and you've got the space for it, check it out.
  18. Jan 14, 2011
    70
    Perfect if you can't go to the gym, but frustrating for workout fanatics.
  19. Dec 19, 2010
    70
    You won't find a game on PS3 right now that will work you harder than Active 2 – but I want to see EA Canada working up more of a sweat next time.
  20. Jan 1, 2011
    68
    If you are the slightest bit motivated, you will probably find a DVD program like P90X will give you much better results. But if you must have a video game style workout program, EA Sports Active 2 is certainly worth consideration.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Dec 8, 2010
    9
    Coming from someone who has been working out for 15 years, with real weights in a real gym, I can def recommend EA Sports Active 2 to anyone who wants to improve their fitness level. I bought this for my my fiance' and myself to have some fun with working out when neither of us felt like actually doing cardio, and I got a lot more than I expected in a good way. Active 2 comes with a resistance band which is nice but doesn't offer much in the way of resistance for men,although for females and children it's great- but most guys are probably going to want something with a little more weight to it. Luckily EA implemented the feature allowing you to use your own dumbells by telling the game what weight dumbells you are going to use- the game then changes the exercises by using dumbells instead of the resistance band, well done EA. The body tracking on the PS3 version is very impressive, a few times it mistaked me wiping sweat off my head as whatever exercise i was doing- but this was a rare occurrence.

    As far as the actual workouts go i'm 4 weeks in and have been very impressed with the way it scales the intensity and difficulty as you progress through your 3 or 9 week program. It keeps you moving constantly and you will definitely walk away with the feeling of getting a quality cardio/toning workout. I don't want to mislead anyone and have you thinking this program is going to make you jacked because it's not, its meant for weight loss, muscle toning, and overall physical performance improvement.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 7, 2011
    8
    EA sports really makes your heart pumping in a fun and challenging way. I started with the 9 weeks program three weeks ago on medium level, cut down the 4 a week workouts(!) to two. I catched myself this Sunday doing a third this week. Good variety in number of exercises and pretty decent tracking system on the ps3. I even like the resistance band which smells like peppermint (god knows why). Graphics aren't great, and you really have to turn down the freqency of comment of the trainer otherwise you'll get annoyed really fast. But overall, it does the job, ehmm, more it makes you do the job. a few times a week you I won't get fat and lazy and It´s actually fun to do! Full Review »
  3. Jun 3, 2014
    7
    Great game for the out of shape set---one problem---If you miss a session it seems to be impossible to make it up---Am I right on this or can anyone suggest a way to make up? Full Review »