User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 50
  2. Negative: 7 out of 50

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 2, 2015
    7
    You have to do a lot of walking around and scavenging in the game to unlock items and with one character type this can take ages. In fact, getting through any level with this character feels like it takes forever. I feel the game can also be a tad bit annoying. Here's why: You pick up many weapons crates on the hardest difficulty and almost get to the end, you die. You now have just had toYou have to do a lot of walking around and scavenging in the game to unlock items and with one character type this can take ages. In fact, getting through any level with this character feels like it takes forever. I feel the game can also be a tad bit annoying. Here's why: You pick up many weapons crates on the hardest difficulty and almost get to the end, you die. You now have just had to not only restart the entire level, but also you don't get the loot! And to top that off you can get many duplicates of the same weapon, and you don't even know what you get until the end of the level. So that means the game has grinding for weapons if you want a specific one ( and NOBODY likes grinding) but, also you don't even know what you're getting so you cant just quit and restart until you get it. Moving on to the gameplay the game is actually fun and enjoyable. Besides a few minor glitches (most of which were actually funny ones) the game didn't have any major glitches. The loading is HORRIBLE though and it takes a really ling time even to load cutscenes. After you finish watching the unskipable (which is the worst idea, ever) cutscenes you face yet another loading screen. This is every time you die! You have to watch the same cutscene over and over. The loading screens are very long as well. So once you've finished the aging process and finally get to see the game you may be thinking " Wow this Armored guy with guns looks like every other generic futuristic sci-fi shooter solider what can i do to make them not so simplistic and make them look like less of a boring **** and more of a colourful one" so you go to customization. Well, its less then mediocre but, at least its there? You have colours you can pick to slightly shade your characters armour and I'm pretty sure there's 2 colours you get to pick. Sort of like a primary and a secondary. It's not really noticeable at all. So once you've finished colouring your **** and start playing after 3 more century long cutscenes you get to play the game for real this time. The controls are pretty nice for the most part except for some characters it can be catastrophic. While the controls do work they take some getting used to because playing for your first time you're going to notice that they're about as confusing as a nun watching porn on a Sunday morning. Once you do graduate your 2 year college course in learning them however, they do work surprisingly well. The game doesn't have a tutorial I'm pretty sure so it's inevitable that you're going to be left to figure this out. After that you move on to the levels and the design of them. After playing the game for a while with several of the classes i noticed the game pretty much didn't have any objectives besides: Go here and kill the things, Done? Now go HERE and kill these things! I never really payed attention to the story either because I was too busy killing the things but, I'm pretty sure it was mediocre just to give you an excuse to go from point A to B and kill the things. Now lets look at the things your killing. Go look at a book full of insects and imagine them giant sized. There you go. All you're doing is large scale pest control with high powered weapons. The civilians all do the same thing as well which is run in the opposite direction of the things and get eaten anyways, and the characters you play as aren't really that interesting either. Except one looks like it was copy-pasted from a vocaloid and given a jetpack that for some reason has what appears to be hair made of plasma energy coming from it. One thing that really bothered me about all the characters is their movement speed as well. You either go significantly faster than your allies or you lag behind them in the one character that takes ages to get anywhere. Surprisingly, they are actually kinda useful in this game of you're playing on a harder difficulty. If you're playing on an easier one though they're about as useful as my grandma giving you tech advice. Graphically? the game isn't really impressive, but I've seen spiders and ants before and I've played other futuristic sci-fi shooters so I pretty much knew what everything was supposed to look like, anyways. The game itself is really fun though when you play it and I could assume it is really fun to play if you have buddys to play it with. Sadly I'm an antisocial **** who stays at home all day so I can't tell you whats that's like. The game is just a good game to play if you're bored and want to do something. Anyways, 7/10 Expand
  2. Jan 18, 2015
    1
    This is by far one of the worst games I have ever played, how can anyone sane give this game anything higher than a 3????This game came out in 2014!!!And I have played games from 1999 that play better!! The graphics are bad, the gameplay....the gameplay is atrocious!! Shooting is terrible, moving is terrible how can anyone give this game good reviews? A 69 on metacritic is too high. JustThis is by far one of the worst games I have ever played, how can anyone sane give this game anything higher than a 3????This game came out in 2014!!!And I have played games from 1999 that play better!! The graphics are bad, the gameplay....the gameplay is atrocious!! Shooting is terrible, moving is terrible how can anyone give this game good reviews? A 69 on metacritic is too high. Just cause it's japanese doesn't make it good. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2014
    10
    It's the most cheesiest game I've ever played and it's awesome. Each class feels powerful and reliable. The only problem is the game can lag. Playing on multi player and having the fencer class can all most ruin the experience becouse of the lag issues
  4. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    I am appalled to see this game get such low scores, critics are such idiots. any ways, this game is a perfect video game, solid gameplay, action, controls, and context, at time of this review I beaten every level on normal (theres 85) and am going to go do them all again as a different class. there is just SO MUCH replayability its insane. anyone who doesn't like this game suffers from aI am appalled to see this game get such low scores, critics are such idiots. any ways, this game is a perfect video game, solid gameplay, action, controls, and context, at time of this review I beaten every level on normal (theres 85) and am going to go do them all again as a different class. there is just SO MUCH replayability its insane. anyone who doesn't like this game suffers from a damaged brain which can not register fun. Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2014
    9
    Earth Defense Force 2025 is like a weird mixture of various Monster Attack movies such as Godzilla Final Wars (complete with human combatants with sick skills and weaponry) and arcade action-y titles like Zombies Ate My Neighbors and Dynasty Warriors where your clear goal is achieve your objective and murder all the various hoards of enemies that will come to stop you from doing the "lifeEarth Defense Force 2025 is like a weird mixture of various Monster Attack movies such as Godzilla Final Wars (complete with human combatants with sick skills and weaponry) and arcade action-y titles like Zombies Ate My Neighbors and Dynasty Warriors where your clear goal is achieve your objective and murder all the various hoards of enemies that will come to stop you from doing the "life thing" people seem to enjoy these days.
    You can control one of the 4 available classes (Ranger, Wing Diver, Air Raider, and Fencer), each one with their own perks and load-outs, and you proceed through cities, forests, underground tunnels, beaches, etc. and kill everything that doesn't look like you and are normally 5-20X your own size. The enemies in the game become more and more ridiculous the further you get into it, and since your starting enemies are giant ants, that's saying something (slight spoiler: at some points you are fighting against enemies almost big and numerous enough to completely block out the skybox).
    There is a 2-Player Local Coop and 4-Player Online CooP with various weapons designed for use with other player such as health and stat boosts. (I sadly haven't gotten around to testing this, so no comment on how well it works)
    The amount of weapon pick-up in the game is massive. There's no sharing weapons between classes as well, so each player would have a completely different selection to choose from to handle the various situations that EDF2025 will put you in to, from Snipers Rifles, Shot Guns, Turrets, Mechas, Helicopters, Giant Shockwave Hammers, Gatling Guns, Even Bigger Shockwave Hammers, a large red 1-use missile on a small shoulder-rest of some sort, Plasma Rifles, Rocket Launchers, more Rocket Launchers, Grenade Launchers, a Super Soaker filled with sweet sweet healing goo, etc... the variety of the weapons is so large that my mouth was floor after many MANY hours of play, I had just received an Achievement for just getting "10% of Weapons."
    If I had to criticize anything in this game, it's the graphical fidelity and the frame-drops. The limited visuals is a bit of a bummer, but not game-breaking for me... the frame-rate droppage on the other hand will annoy a lot of people. Sometimes the chaos is so thick that your game will tank for up to 20-30 seconds before enemy bodies and destroyed buildings starts disappearing from the screen allowing you to continue having fun.

    Even despite these problems, EDF2025 is currently one of my favorite games to be released (in the US) this year.
    Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2014
    9
    OK just so you understand this correctly, the game is a bunch of insects that have come to destroy civilization as we know it. The graphics are OK, the music is good. The controls are great and the plot is hilarious. You have to play it.
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    Words can't explain how awesome this game is! I liked 2017, Insect Armageddon was good but wasn't as good as 2017. 2025 surpasses them both in every way. There are over 85 levels too; more than most shooters this gen.
  8. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    Any game reviewer who does not see the beauty of this game is bad at their job and probably dead inside. EDF 2025 is everything good about EDF 2017 updated with the few good elements of Insect Armageddon. If you do not like mayhem and endless hours of a game that is actually fun to play with real life human friends this is not the game for you, but you might have a future writing knee jerkAny game reviewer who does not see the beauty of this game is bad at their job and probably dead inside. EDF 2025 is everything good about EDF 2017 updated with the few good elements of Insect Armageddon. If you do not like mayhem and endless hours of a game that is actually fun to play with real life human friends this is not the game for you, but you might have a future writing knee jerk bad reviews of a game you probably played for less than an hour. Expand
  9. Feb 25, 2014
    0
    OK just so you understand this correctly, the game is a bunch of insects that have come to destroy civilization as we know it. The graphics are OK, the music is good. The controls are great and the plot is hilarious. You have to play it.
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Jun 28, 2014
    50
    This half-baked, technically clumsy game failed to squeeze any emotion out of me apart from the moments when it got on my nerves. [05/2014, p.70]
  2. May 11, 2014
    89
    Born from the same molt as the cult hit seven years ago, Earth Defense Force 2025 is everything 2017 was, only bigger. [March 2014]
  3. Apr 9, 2014
    70
    EDF has never been quite as spectacular, nor as charmingly wonky, as this. [Issue#146, p.121]