Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Taking place in the fictional city of New Detroit, Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon is a completely new game developed by Vicious Cycle that takes on the concept of Earth Defense Force 2017 (Japanese Title "Earth Defense Force 3" developed by SANDLOT). Insect ArmageddonTaking place in the fictional city of New Detroit, Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon is a completely new game developed by Vicious Cycle that takes on the concept of Earth Defense Force 2017 (Japanese Title "Earth Defense Force 3" developed by SANDLOT). Insect Armageddon continues to follow the rich history of casual fun and addictive gameplay that made the franchise a cult classic. Insect Armageddon also adds a new aspect to the Earth Defense Force series that was born in Japan, with additional elements for all EDF soldiers to experience. The Campaign mode that lets up to three players team up online to battle the insects and aliens across a completely destroyable city. Every EDF soldier is armed with over 150 weapons and four upgradeable armor sets and engages in nonstop arcade action that is the fastest and deadliest in the series. In addition, the game also features a six-player Survival mode that pits a human squad against a nonstop onslaught of the largest enemies the aliens have to offer. New Detroit's giant bug problem is unavoidable, and mankind's last hope lies with the Earth Defense Force to defend the world from the insect swarm, even if it means blowing up the entire city as part of the extermination process. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 28
  2. Negative: 6 out of 28
  1. Aug 25, 2011
    80
    EDF: Insect Armageddon is fast, good and efficient. And it's all that matters.
  2. Jul 5, 2011
    80
    Insect Armageddon lacks the clueless earnestness of the last entry and carries over some dated concepts, but it fully captures the same breed of unapologetic run-and-gun action. Ultimately, that's what kept me playing EDF 2017 for dozens of hours, and that's why I've got dozens more in front of me with Insect Armageddon.
  3. Aug 5, 2011
    75
    Despite lacking the scripted set-pieces of a so-called 'AAA' game, Insect Armageddon does a remarkable job of showing what a focused team can produce on a minimal budget.
  4. Aug 9, 2011
    64
    It's fun and it's affordable, but it's short, nowhere near exciting or varied enough, misses the cheap-and-cheerful feel of the previous entries to the series and generally bores where it should entertain. [Issue#208, p.90]
  5. 60
    I'm honestly astounded as to how any game can be so good and so bad at the same time.
  6. Aug 9, 2011
    50
    Fair is fair, Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon is a game of below average quality. But because it doesn't pretend to be anything more than that, we'll let that slide. But even for a game in which simplism is the main attraction, it still does too many things wrong. That makes EDF: Insect Armageddon entertaining for an hour or two (possibly longer in coöp), but the lack of any variation makes you want to put it down rather sooner than later.
  7. Jul 15, 2011
    33
    My suggestion would be to skip this title entirely, unless you're particularly hard up for some new EDF action.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    Buy this game. I don't care if you're broke, I don't care if big hits are coming out in the next few months. Buy this game. It's been a longBuy this game. I don't care if you're broke, I don't care if big hits are coming out in the next few months. Buy this game. It's been a long time since I played EDF 2017 on Xbox 360, I loved that game, it has that "B-movie" charm that none other games had back in the days. Now that EDF: Insect Armageddon it's out, I'm proud to say that the charm is back, full f*cking force. The gameplay is mind blowing, and that's a good thing because this game is all about gameplay. It has a lot more story than the first one, and it's more enjoyable that way because it seems to be less repetitive. Sure alot of players will say that this game is repetitive at first, but all games are, especially shooters. Try this one, it's a blast, especially if you have friends to play with both online and offline. Survival mode is an awesome way to expand the lifetime of this already worthy package. The three difficulty modes are great additions and each difficulty add up something new to your inventory, for exemple, the level cap for each armors are increasing, making them more lethal. My only complain would be that when you shoot, there's no vibration in the controller like other shooters, so sometimes you feel like you're not shooting, but it's minor, after 15 minutes you won't even complain about it. Simply love this game, I'll give it a 9, it's not perfect, but it tries to be what games were back in the days; fun, addicting, without 45093 engines to run them, pure, old-school, action. Pick it up, it's only 40$. Expand
  2. Jul 21, 2011
    9
    First things first, I would just like to say I have not completely finished the game, but I have put a good 10 hours into it already justFirst things first, I would just like to say I have not completely finished the game, but I have put a good 10 hours into it already just replaying the first two chapters. With that out of the way I would like to follow up that statement and say that this game should not be reviewed on the same scale that a AAA title would be. It is a budget game, and for obvious reasons it does not compare to say, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves. What this game does offer that many AAA titles don't is 1) Budget pricing (It is $40 brand new) 2) Casual third-person shooting fun, mixed with a very Starship Troopers, B-movie like atmosphere. EDF: IA is separated into three chapters, with 5 separate missions. The mission's are very simple, shoot the bugs! Sure, there are other objectives as well, such as blowing up anthills and taking down giant skyscraper sized spider machine things, but a majority of your time will be spent shooting ants and spiders. The game, being as simple as it is, has a good amount of depth to it as well. You have different suits and armor that you are able to level up, and each one has it's own variations of different weapons (Assault rifles, Sniper rifles, Rocket Launchers, etc.). Depending on the armor or suit you choose you get special skills (Dropping turrets, Jet-packs, etc.). The graphics and sound are pretty late PS2 era, and there are minor slowdown issues, but I believe the destruction of the buildings and such makes up for it, not to mention the oh-so-cheesy dialogue. I enjoy this game simply for it's pick up and play qualities and the on screen mayhem that is just so ridiculous to comprehend. This is by all means a rent before purchase because of the niche feel it has, but if you do go out on a limb and decide to buy it beforehand then you're only out $40 compared to $60. If you are like me, you will find yourself playing for hours on end and wondering why you love it so much despite it's flaws. 8.5/10 Collapse
  3. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    I was pumped for this game when I heard of it, and it certainly did not fail to deliver. It brings back the same classic EDF shooting withI was pumped for this game when I heard of it, and it certainly did not fail to deliver. It brings back the same classic EDF shooting with more modern level design.

    The only reason it did not get 10 was because while the gun selections are impressive, they did not deliver the same "holy crap I have guns" feel that 2017 did.

    Pros:
    Visually Appealing (relative to the last game)
    More Guns
    Armor Powers and Upgrades

    Cons:
    All Guns Not Available For All Classes
    Expand
  4. Jul 7, 2011
    9
    This a great game for the $39.99 price point. It comes with a campaign that consists of three chapters with five missions in each for a totalThis a great game for the $39.99 price point. It comes with a campaign that consists of three chapters with five missions in each for a total of fifteen missions. These fifteen missions contain a variety of types of enemies for you to slaughter, and you don't come ill-equipped. The game lets you choose from hundreds of weapons that fall under one of five categories: Assault Rifles, Rocket Launchers, Missile Launchers, Shotguns, and Snipers. You obtain these weapons by first leveling up a certain armor type, then purchasing them using currency you earn. The four armor types are pretty varied in terms of amount of health, speed, and special abilities. There is a lot of fun to be had in campaign mode if you have the right mindset. This game is meant to be a casual arcade game, so don't expect much fluff like fancy graphics, tactical gameplay, and other hardcore aspects. This game is almost the bare minimum of gaming. But that's not a bad thing, because it's excellent for taking a break from hardcore games like Call of Duty. Personally, I thoroughly enjoy tuning into my iPod, laying down on the couch, and mindlessly blasting away at hundreds of bugs. For the price point, this game is definitely worth it if you're looking for some good, lazy casual fun. Expand
  5. Sep 23, 2011
    8
    I really enjoy this game. The insect physics are creepy, and the action is pretty much non-stop. My best description is it's like aI really enjoy this game. The insect physics are creepy, and the action is pretty much non-stop. My best description is it's like a third-person twin stick shooter - minus the twin stick shooting part. It's practically a casual game the way you can pick it up and jump into the mayhem. Expand
  6. Jul 30, 2011
    7
    |||||||||| REVIEW: EARTH DEFENSE FORCE: INSECT ARMAGEDDON // PLAYSTATION 3 ||||||||||
    OVERALL SCORE_7/10|||||||||| (LEARNING CURVE_9/10 //
    |||||||||| REVIEW: EARTH DEFENSE FORCE: INSECT ARMAGEDDON // PLAYSTATION 3 ||||||||||
    OVERALL SCORE_7/10|||||||||| (LEARNING CURVE_9/10 // PLOT_6/10 // DIFFICULTY/PROGRESSION_9/10 // CONTROLS_7/10 // CUSTOMIZATION_8/10 // REPLAYABILITY_7/10 // ONLINE PLAY_7.5/10 // MUSIC/SOUND_5/10) ||||||||||
    [SUMMARY:] Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon on the Playstation 3 was a fun game. It had some of the things that I would enjoy from a action game: big friggin bosses, guns, explosions, weapon pickups, xp, destructible environments, the whole nine yards. This game really did feel like a watered down version of Gears of War. I was kind of irritated with the fact that so much more could have been done to the game to make it an over the edge hit. Things like, a melee attack, more vehicles, customize-able controls, custom soundtracks, buddy lists... I'm sure I could name more things, but this review isn't to hate the game at all because, I did have fun. I (ironically) played this game on a Friday night/ Saturday morning (after I woke up) and this game took me down memory lane in a good way. This game had elements of games that I grew up playing and I felt like a little kid again. Playing online was good, the magnitude of enemies was on point, and the overall feeling of this game was such that I didnâ
    Expand
  7. Sep 12, 2011
    3
    Despite moments of pure adrenaline fueled excitement, the game is marred by repetitiveness and game breaking glitches that require you toDespite moments of pure adrenaline fueled excitement, the game is marred by repetitiveness and game breaking glitches that require you to restart entire levels. These glitches aren't even the worst offender, what aggravates me even more are these constant sound glitches that produce brief high pitch screeches throughout the duration of each level, it gets to the point where I feel the game is better played on mute. I'm all for mindless shooters and I really, really wanted to like this game but due to some poor design choices and an obviously lack of beta testers, this is one title I think everyone should keep far away from. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews