echochrome ii PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Dec 21, 2010
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    92
    echochrome ii is the next step in a great series of puzzle games. I love the concept and the execution; highly recommended.
  2. Jan 4, 2011
    90
    Not only improves on the original, but also offers a great implementation of PlayStation Move control, and enough new features to set a new landmark.
  3. Dec 27, 2010
    90
    While ultimately echochrome ii is a sparse puzzler where you point a light source at a cluster of coloured blocks, it is so lovely, so seamless, and so enjoyable to play (not to mention bloody difficult at times), I'm adamant if you are going to purchase a Move this Christmas, echochrome ii is an absolute must-have.
  4. 90
    It puts players in a position not seen in most games, entirely proactive and in control of the environment.
  5. Dec 22, 2010
    86
    For those who have been a fan of any of the previous echo games, echochrome ii offers the same amount of enjoyment and challenge thanks in part to the ingenious puzzles and the creative use of the Move controller as a flashlight.
  6. Jan 6, 2011
    85
    echochrome ii may not have the absolute head-scratching potential of its predecessor, but it is without question the right way to take the series.
  7. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Jan 31, 2011
    84
    Some of the smartest gameplay available on PS3. [Feb 2011, p.101]
  8. Play UK
    Feb 20, 2011
    83
    Constantly inventive. [Issue#202, p.96]
  9. Dec 20, 2010
    83
    If you're willing to overlook a few flaws and the occasional desire to punch a wall out of frustration, this is one of the better puzzle games this year.
  10. Dec 30, 2010
    82
    echochrome II is not perfect, but it has the ability to make everyone smile, regardless of their age or devotion to console games. Move is a perfect enhancement of the echochrome series, so check this one out.
  11. Jan 11, 2011
    81
    This new echochrome game is a fantastic one. The game is full of new puzzles and most of them are pretty hard, but still nice to play. Besides that you can create your own levels and share them online.
  12. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 23, 2011
    80
    The ideal food for your starving gray matter. by PS Move controller may perhaps seem difficult at first but after a while you will surely get used to it. [Issue#201]
  13. Games Master UK
    Feb 14, 2011
    80
    A little dry perhaps, but generously proportioned for 9.99. [Mar 2011, p.91]
  14. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Feb 3, 2011
    80
    A must-download for anyone who likes something a little more challenging than pulling a trigger. [Feb 2011, p.111]
  15. Jan 11, 2011
    80
    While Echochrome 2 is essentially a 'one-trick pony', it performs this trick rather well and in doing so becomes one of the few good games available for the PlayStation Move. It may be less compelling than the original but it is no less fun.
  16. Jan 10, 2011
    80
    It's clever without being intimidating, delicate without being volatile, and immediate without a sense of panic. [Feb 2011, p.99]
  17. Dec 21, 2010
    80
    It's a game that dares to tear up the rulebook and start over in the quest for a better sequel, and is all the better for venturing beyond the boundaries established in the previous game. The sort of old-school puzzle game that demands patience and dedication, it repays both in abundance.
  18. Mar 9, 2011
    78
    Echochrome 2 follows the path already traced by the prequel. In fact, the result is very similar: a puzzle game supported by a brilliant idea, but with some problems concerning to level design.
  19. Feb 17, 2011
    75
    Echochrome is a game makes perfect use of all the possibilities that the PlayStation Move has to offer. This game costs only 13 euro's, so if you like to puzzle, you should definitely get it.
  20. Jan 6, 2011
    75
    The decision to make it strictly Move-enabled is odd, but there is no denying that the game possesses enough challenge and charm for fans and newcomers to give this light-based puzzler a chance.
  21. Dec 23, 2010
    75
    This elegantly presented, shadow-shifting puzzler puts the Move controller to ingenious good use.
  22. Dec 22, 2010
    75
    I really liked the original echochrome and I can definitely say that I now prefer echochrome ii. It's a little easier to grasp and thanks to the PlayStation Move controls, more enjoyable in a casual, pick-up-and-play kind of way.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Mar 19, 2011
    7
    When I saw the commercials and advertisements for this game I was completely convinced it would feel like I was shining a flashlight on aWhen I saw the commercials and advertisements for this game I was completely convinced it would feel like I was shining a flashlight on a puzzle to help the little mannequin guy do this thing like in the previous title. Perhaps something was off on my end but the way it controlled was too sensitive and it didn't convey that feeling of light on a surface as I was inclined to believe but really just sort of a gimmicky control scheme to make it seem different. Not a bad game, Echochrome always has interesting puzzles but if you're looking for a title just for your move, don't drop the cash so quickly. Full Review »
  2. Dec 22, 2010
    9
    This is the best puzzle game (if not best game) the move has to offer. The IGN review is garbage as usual. There is no elevator music it isThis is the best puzzle game (if not best game) the move has to offer. The IGN review is garbage as usual. There is no elevator music it is pretty much the same as the first game. Compared to the original game this one actually has colour and one third of the game is dedicated to puzzles where the blocks are coloured whenever your shadow man steps on the corresponding shadow. You can screw around a hope to stumble upon the solution like the IGN reviewer does or you can actually use your brain and figure out how to do the puzzle quickly. The difficulty is progressive but much like the original there are many ways to complete each puzzle. His idea of breaking the game is actually one of the techniques that are taught to you right in the beginning (that is using the shadows to push your character around). You can kill your character in this game by sandwiching him between a couple of shadows. I would recommend this to anyone with a move being cheaper than most titles and the replayability should keep you busy for a while creating and playing other peoples created levels. Full Review »