User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 269 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 269

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 6, 2010
    9
    I created a profile here on Metacritic solely for the purpose of telling anybody who'll listen just how breathtakingly amazing every cinematic is. The subtle nuances of the facial movements, the emotional honesty of every piece of dialogue, and the real chemistry that Monkey and Trip share on screen overshadows every game (and most movies) I've ever seen. Even the performances in MassI created a profile here on Metacritic solely for the purpose of telling anybody who'll listen just how breathtakingly amazing every cinematic is. The subtle nuances of the facial movements, the emotional honesty of every piece of dialogue, and the real chemistry that Monkey and Trip share on screen overshadows every game (and most movies) I've ever seen. Even the performances in Mass Effect 2 and Heavy Rain seem like high school plays compared to the real believability of every line delivered. As for the game-play, it's nothing groundbreaking but pieced together very well and, like the story and characters, fits into the world that Ninja Theory has lovingly crafted. The controls can feel a little sluggish at times, but the customization is surprisingly deep and intuitive. Don't be afraid of a game which is based around one big escort mission - pick this game up now. Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2010
    10
    This game is great!!... it may not have great gameplay dynamics or mechanics or bla bla bla... whatever else the techno gaming geeks love talking about... the main thing is its fun. You will want to play it. You will want to discover the rest of the story, you will want to live in the beautiful and deadly world the guys at Ninja Theory have painstakingly created. The characters are deepThis game is great!!... it may not have great gameplay dynamics or mechanics or bla bla bla... whatever else the techno gaming geeks love talking about... the main thing is its fun. You will want to play it. You will want to discover the rest of the story, you will want to live in the beautiful and deadly world the guys at Ninja Theory have painstakingly created. The characters are deep and well done with perfect voice and mition acting. Get this game, ignore the haters... its great! Collapse
  3. Oct 7, 2010
    9
    Enslaved: Odyssey to the West is a game that has been on my radar for some time now. Not only is it one of the only non sequel or non remakes of Q4, but itâ
  4. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    A story for the ages with new, vivid life breathed into it. The cooperative AI was actually helpful, and the combat, while not varied, is only a small part of the game. My favorite part of this game is riding Monkey's Cloud, a static hoverboard that lets him zip around the landscape like a mad man. Try if for yourself, I know I love it.
  5. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    This game is probably the best game I have played this year. It looks amazing and will keep you on the edge of your seat the whole time you're playing. What really sets it apart from any other game is that the story is much better than the normal game story "Journey to the West" really is where cinema and games meet.

    The best gameplay is in the cloud sections where you fly around on
    This game is probably the best game I have played this year. It looks amazing and will keep you on the edge of your seat the whole time you're playing. What really sets it apart from any other game is that the story is much better than the normal game story "Journey to the West" really is where cinema and games meet.

    The best gameplay is in the cloud sections where you fly around on your hoverboard.

    Buy it now!
    Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    Nowadays, there aren't very many games that capture the feel of Enslaved. You'll be on the edge of your seat the entire game, doing acrobatic platforming moves and engaging in smooth combat all executed by the hyper-realistic graphics. The game itself is very linear, but that allows it to pull off some amazing levels. In the very first level, you'll find yourself running around the outsideNowadays, there aren't very many games that capture the feel of Enslaved. You'll be on the edge of your seat the entire game, doing acrobatic platforming moves and engaging in smooth combat all executed by the hyper-realistic graphics. The game itself is very linear, but that allows it to pull off some amazing levels. In the very first level, you'll find yourself running around the outside of a crashing slave ship, something that had me grinning. But I have to say, the platforming seemed almost too easy. In fact, I found it almost impossible to die by falling during a platforming sequence, something that left me a little confused. Luckily, they didn't do the same for the combat, even though enemy encounters aren't as common as you might think. And then there are the boss battles, which challenge all your skills at the game. The story is quite good, you being a big, strong warrior named Monkey who is forced (By death-headband.) to escort the nimble, tech-smart Trip to her home village. I noticed that Trip didn't have much importance in the gameplay, as you had to protect her in only a few areas. And the ending will have you scratching your head, as it sets the game up for a sequel (Or does it?). If you enjoyed playing the Uncharted games, or if you like action-adventure games, this is for you. Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    one of the best adventure games ever made monkey and trip go on a epic adventure to escape the ruins of new york while being chased by mechs Across the ruins of new york. who still think there is a war so they shoot all humans on site because that's what there programed to do. the gameplay is a smooth as you would want it. absolute beautiful, graphics and environment details. the storyone of the best adventure games ever made monkey and trip go on a epic adventure to escape the ruins of new york while being chased by mechs Across the ruins of new york. who still think there is a war so they shoot all humans on site because that's what there programed to do. the gameplay is a smooth as you would want it. absolute beautiful, graphics and environment details. the story is just epic this game reminds me of uncharted 2 it has excellent facial animation but now its dated thanks to la noire if you like adventure games you will love enslaved odyssey to the west. come on ninja theory make a sequel for the fans. this game didn't get the reception it deserves. 10/10 Expand
  8. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    This game BY FAR the most UNDERRATED game this gen!!! Honestly i would buy this game over an OVERRATED game like call of duty anyday.. Btw This game is a like a mix between uncharted+prince of persia.. I highly recommend it especially if you like action-adventure games
  9. Oct 15, 2010
    9
    What a beautiful and amazing Odyssey! The story is simple but so perfectly told. The excellent acting and voices make the characters really alive (thanks again Mr. Serkis). The game play does not reinvent the wheel but is still effective (play it in hard mode though). There are little imperfections here and there but if like me you are more concerned by having a good time following aWhat a beautiful and amazing Odyssey! The story is simple but so perfectly told. The excellent acting and voices make the characters really alive (thanks again Mr. Serkis). The game play does not reinvent the wheel but is still effective (play it in hard mode though). There are little imperfections here and there but if like me you are more concerned by having a good time following a well presented and enjoyable journey; this game is for you! Expand
  10. Nov 4, 2010
    9
    Amazing. Beautiful looking, epic adventure, with an emotional character driven story that will suck you in. Imagine Beyond Good And Evil mixed with Uncharted 2. The strongest elements of Enslaved are the story, acting, and cinematics. The images are mostly gorgeous to look at. Each world has a unique, rich, stylized color palette. Some of the cinematic gameplay cameras showcase the worldAmazing. Beautiful looking, epic adventure, with an emotional character driven story that will suck you in. Imagine Beyond Good And Evil mixed with Uncharted 2. The strongest elements of Enslaved are the story, acting, and cinematics. The images are mostly gorgeous to look at. Each world has a unique, rich, stylized color palette. Some of the cinematic gameplay cameras showcase the world and the story with great compositions. The character lighting serves the story well, and mostly looks great. The combat system is simple but fun, and the weapon leveling system gives good incentive. The weaker points of the game are sometimes repetitive platforming scenarios, but I guess you need something to do in an action adventure combat platformer. User controlled cameras during combat can be very annoying in close quarters. There are some annoying visual anomalies as well, especially popping of baked player ambient lighting, inconsistent texture density, and visible lod popping. I encountered a a couple instances of bugs which required restarting from checkpoint in order to advance. Still, the strengths make this a special game. I look forward to more stories from this universe. Expand
  11. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    A lot of people are hard on this game because of the automatic platforming and the battle system being good but not the deepest experience compared to other action games like DMC. This is an action adventure game. The story is great, the voice acting is amazing and so are the facial expressions (best in a game yet). The controls are good and allow you to enjoy the experience and while theA lot of people are hard on this game because of the automatic platforming and the battle system being good but not the deepest experience compared to other action games like DMC. This is an action adventure game. The story is great, the voice acting is amazing and so are the facial expressions (best in a game yet). The controls are good and allow you to enjoy the experience and while the game is linear there are puzzles, boss battles and other challenges to keep it from being a simple affair. This is one of my favorite games of all time, it's worth the money and play-through if you like deep experiences or adventure games like Beyond Good and Evil. Expand
  12. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    This. Game. Is. Great. It's hard to recollect something I didn't appreciate and fully enjoy about Enslaved. Spanning around 8 hours, Enslaved was amazing. Combat is just wonderfully epic, along with the climbing/scaling stylization of the Uncharted series, it was nothing short of FUN. With an engaging, original story, emotional points, and very enjoyable, smart dialog, Enslaved was one ofThis. Game. Is. Great. It's hard to recollect something I didn't appreciate and fully enjoy about Enslaved. Spanning around 8 hours, Enslaved was amazing. Combat is just wonderfully epic, along with the climbing/scaling stylization of the Uncharted series, it was nothing short of FUN. With an engaging, original story, emotional points, and very enjoyable, smart dialog, Enslaved was one of my favorite titles of 2010. Characterization is great, with well sculpted protagonists such as these- Enslaved is an incredible title. An easy 100 . (I made a metacritic account with one intension- to rate this game so people will enjoy it- hopefully- as much as I did.) Expand
  13. Nov 15, 2010
    9
    I've signed up with metacritic as I owe a review to the developers, Ninja Theory, for this awesome game. I wish it had better publicity and hope it is a sleeper success that is enjoyed by more gamers. It's seldom I sit through a game and play it straight through in a short time and Enslaved was a first. It moved along solidly, was amazingly beautiful, a well written story and nicelyI've signed up with metacritic as I owe a review to the developers, Ninja Theory, for this awesome game. I wish it had better publicity and hope it is a sleeper success that is enjoyed by more gamers. It's seldom I sit through a game and play it straight through in a short time and Enslaved was a first. It moved along solidly, was amazingly beautiful, a well written story and nicely developed characters with incredible emotional interaction and some fine performances. The detail and depth of thought behind the world by the creative developers deserves a mention. If you find it easy, max out the difficulty. I highly recommend this game it was super fun. Expand
  14. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    This game is one that definately picked a hard time to be released, as it bombed for the most part in sales. This is tragic, as this game can easily be called this generation's Ico. Not only for the escort based gameplay, but for its amazingly cinematic qualities, and wonderful environments. Andy Serkis does an amazing job as the main character, Monkey, and if the games had Emmies, heThis game is one that definately picked a hard time to be released, as it bombed for the most part in sales. This is tragic, as this game can easily be called this generation's Ico. Not only for the escort based gameplay, but for its amazingly cinematic qualities, and wonderful environments. Andy Serkis does an amazing job as the main character, Monkey, and if the games had Emmies, he would have won for best lead actor. If you want a great story driven game, this is it. If you still dont get what this game is like, picture Uncharted, only in a scifi future post apocalypse setting. Mind you, thats a very simple description, as its better described as an amazing achievement in story in games. The only reason its a 9 to me is due to some slightly loose controls, and some confusing puzzle segments with Trip. Expand
  15. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    it´s not only a odyssey to the west, it´s one of the greatest adventures i ever went on!

    The relationship between monkey and trip is a huge part of the game...you really feel their emotions during the game, which i never experienced in a video game that strong! climbing and fighting might technically not be the best you ever experienced, i agree, but it´s not the main part of the
    it´s not only a odyssey to the west, it´s one of the greatest adventures i ever went on!

    The relationship between monkey and trip is a huge part of the game...you really feel their emotions during the game, which i never experienced in a video game that strong!

    climbing and fighting might technically not be the best you ever experienced, i agree, but it´s not the main part of the game....
    the world, the story and the bond between two lovely character, is what makes this game one of the best i played in 15 years of gaming!

    MASTERPIECE!
    Expand
  16. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    Gameplay wise there is nothing groundbreaking here, if anything it's a little bit repetetive although some really fun boss battles and other variations in the gameplay break the monotony. What makes this game brilliant are the characters and their relationships which rival any other game and cinematic experience I've ever had. Would be a ten if it had gameplay to match but a thoroughlyGameplay wise there is nothing groundbreaking here, if anything it's a little bit repetetive although some really fun boss battles and other variations in the gameplay break the monotony. What makes this game brilliant are the characters and their relationships which rival any other game and cinematic experience I've ever had. Would be a ten if it had gameplay to match but a thoroughly rewarding game nonetheless. Expand
  17. Dec 4, 2010
    9
    One of the best games of the year, period. I will gladly hurt anyone that gives this game a bad review. The choice of Andy Serkis' voice was perfectly fitted!
  18. Dec 20, 2010
    9
    What a great game! I wouldn't have even known about this game had it not been for the RebelFM podcast. Great action, story and graphics. The only reason I don't give it a 10 is because of some glitch animation during cut scenes.
  19. Mar 30, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. O.k., this game was great overall and is worth the buy, but that being said, let me get into how it disappointed me in a few ways. (1) The story is too short. I loved and enjoyed all of it, but it felt like it went by too quickly. about 3/4 of the way through when your introduced to pigsy and do a few sidequests, the game kicks it into overdrive not making any stops into fillerville (which going into filler ville is sometimes is wanted and o.k.), and the game ends making you feel like the creators were'nt able to get everything in that they wanted, not that the ending was'nt good, but it felt a tad rushed. I would have died for a few missions that introduced new characters, maybe show some other societies, gone into more of the romance between monkey and trip, anything would have sufficed. The end contrasted a bit from the beginning which was so captivating and felt like it was gonna go the route i wanted, which it did till alittle after pigsy. When you feel the end at hand, it impairs the story a bit unless it had more support and more depth built into it, which the support it had was good quality stuff, but you need a bit more in your combo meter before you perform your kudegra. At the end you wanna say "wow, that was a great ride" and not "man, i can't believe its over (which with no sequel in sight also makes you sad that this wonderful universe will never be expanded on except in dlc)." Which is a hell of a lot better than saying "thank God its over" but is still not perfection.

    (2) Although the slaver plot was resolved, the situation between monkey and trip did'nt have closure, I was half-expecting a scene to explain what happened to trip and monkey afterward, regretfully were only left with conjecture to what happens. Im not really into romance, but I really wanted to see that develop a bit more.

    (3) Pigsy is a love/hate character for me. I thought he was funny 85% of the time, otherwise his humor was whatever. The way he died and his reason for commitment felt shaky to me. He was a great original character but i felt trip and monkey were much more entertaining and their story more captivating without him. I thought he was a great character, but i think they needed to pick him up, drop him off, and meet new people.

    (4) Every different form of gameplay felt like it needed well crafted repeats. Fun times like when you and trip fought mechs together with teamwork felt like it needed abit more (they also needed to give trip a few more powers). Also, cloud parts were great, especially when they mixed it in with combat was entertaining. there are other examples as well but i wont go into it. Overall combat was solid, but more could have been put into it.

    (5) Where the hell is everyone else, do you mean to tell me pyramid has captured everyone except trip, monkey, and pigsy? The only thing you fight is mechs, there are no more evil or good characters besides what i just mentioned. But this actually wasnt a problem for me until pigsy was introduced, it made the story feel different in a way that made me say "well if you added him, i need more characters." However before that, surviving post apocalyptic America and wondering what was gonna come around the corner next was exciting with trip and monkey. The feel of the game changes when your mission turns to revenge and to kill the slavers. The new feel was'nt bad, the humor actually improved and some things felt epic, but i did miss the carefree parts before it.

    (6) glitches and framerate were not a big issue, but there. I experienced one takedown glitch, and one area where the framerate was a mild problem. Besides that, almost completely not noticeable.

    Besides those few things I really loved the top notch story, the graphics were great including amazing facial expressions, the humor, the characters, and gameplay overall was very enjoyable. My rating would be a 9.1
    Expand
  20. Apr 3, 2011
    10
    Awesome game! Good visuals, good game play. it could be much better, sure, but it is good as it is. Its easy to like Monkey and Trip and travel adventure with them in through the wasteland.

    Perfect adventure!
  21. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    Enslaved: odyssey to the west is BY FAR the most UNDERRATED game this gen!!! Honestly i dont know how can people buy a game like call of duty every year and not buy this game. This game is a like a mix between uncharted+prince of persia.. I highly recommend it especially if you like action-adventure games
  22. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    MOST UNDERRATED GAME EVER!!!!!!

    I just dont get how can people dislike this game.. It AMAZING! The story is really, the characters are really likeable, and the game is FUN,, i recommend this game to EVERYONE!
  23. May 4, 2012
    10
    This is still one of my favorite games of all time. It is beautiful, engaging and very fun world to be in. If more games were this colorful I would get more replay value for my purchases. I can't say enough good things about this game, from the voice acting to Serkis's Monkey movements and environments. Highly recommended.
  24. Apr 10, 2012
    9
    i picked this game up for 5 pound pre owned. and i would have payed double. its a very good game. gr8 action. top voice acting. the visuals are breathtaking. it does have a few frame rate issues. and monkeys does not have a many combat moves as i would like. but apart from that if you see this game cheap pick it up. you will not be disappointed.
  25. Jan 22, 2013
    9
    Great game! Loved the game play and the cut scenes. I loved the way Trip and Monkey connect in a way that only this game could capture. Camera angles are to be desired but that was hardly an issue. I never really felt like I didn't know what to do at certain times. I've never gotten stuck for more than 3 minutes on one area. The only real issue i had with the game was how much of a jerkGreat game! Loved the game play and the cut scenes. I loved the way Trip and Monkey connect in a way that only this game could capture. Camera angles are to be desired but that was hardly an issue. I never really felt like I didn't know what to do at certain times. I've never gotten stuck for more than 3 minutes on one area. The only real issue i had with the game was how much of a jerk Trip acted like until you finally are sitting with her alone. Either way this game was great! Expand
  26. Oct 10, 2010
    0
    This game is great!!... it may not have great gameplay dynamics or mechanics or bla bla bla... whatever else the techno gaming geeks love talking about... the main thing is its fun. You will want to play it. You will want to discover the rest of the story, you will want to live in the beautiful and deadly world the guys at Ninja Theory have painstakingly created. The characters are deepThis game is great!!... it may not have great gameplay dynamics or mechanics or bla bla bla... whatever else the techno gaming geeks love talking about... the main thing is its fun. You will want to play it. You will want to discover the rest of the story, you will want to live in the beautiful and deadly world the guys at Ninja Theory have painstakingly created. The characters are deep and well done with perfect voice and mition acting. Get this game, ignore the haters... its great! Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Jan 16, 2011
    80
    Enslaved is scoring with its motivating story, the good graphics and the enjoyable, but not challenging climbing passages. Sadly, the fights are unvaried and there is no multiplayer.
  2. Dec 19, 2010
    90
    If you're looking for a game that offers all the amazing things I've spent the last handful of paragraphs gushing over as well as one of the most interesting and original stories in a game this year, Enslaved won't disappoint.
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    95
    Enslaved: Journey to the West is definitely a contender for game of the year.