• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 11, 2007
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 100
    Everyday Shooter is one of the most compulsively re-playable games we've ever played and a terrific value. PS3 owners bemoaning the lack of quality titles should stop whining and get their hands on this budget-priced masterpiece immediately.
  2. A humane unlocking scheme lets players spend the points they earn during play to access later levels. The days of marathon Geometry Wars sessions are over.
  3. It's not every day that we'll get another shooter like this, but it's a good one for every day we don't.
  4. 90
    Though the sometimes frustrating difficulty and occasional pacing misstep taint the experience slightly (it would be nice to have longer moments of respite between the busier levels), Everyday Shooter succeeds wildly as an engaging shooter for the art-house crowd, and a creative change of pace for the hardcore-shooter crowd.
  5. The only thing “everyday” about this shooter is how often we’re playing it.
  6. On the whole this nugget of serene gaming is near flawless. This certainly won't be too many tastes, but if you enjoyed Every Extend Extra or seminal Flash game Boomshine, this latest PSN shooter is one you'll want to play, well, every day.
  7. Everyday Shooter has personality, but it has one more thing besides, something all but lost to the chilly technicalities of modern gaming. Soul. [Feb 2008, p.133]
  8. Everyday Shooter is certainly no Geometry Wars or Super Stardust HD, but that’s the beauty of the game. If you want a new take on the twin-stick shooter genre, Everyday Shooter will certainly give you what you want and maybe even a little bit more.
  9. 86
    With a few more levels, it would've been exceptional, but it's unique, engaging fun as it is. [Issue#162, p.82]
  10. A game that unites clean, sober folks and dirty hippies alike. Such is the power of a Queasy Game.
  11. A solid game with a few flaws, this shooter isn't the best of it's class, but it certainly stands out.
  12. Everyday Shooter is an intensely creative and challenging take on the dual-stick shooter genre.
  13. While it lacks the high-tech finesse of Super Stardust HD, Everyday Shooter explodes with style. The eight stages offer tons of blasting action with a musical twist, and we enjoy replaying them.
  14. A host of unlockable content, including graphic filters, extra lives, and single-level score runs rounds out the package, providing plenty of replay for your trippy musical abstract gaming dollar. [Dec 2007, p.69]
  15. Being able to move more quickly when you're not firing is a smart twist with intuitive strategic consequences, but there are much smarter decisions at the heart of Everyday Shooter's logic.
  16. A brilliant game design that leaves you begging for more. And for online leader boards! Why didn't they include those? That would make sense.
  17. A personal and affecting play experience. [Mar 2008, p.103]
  18. It’s a word I keep repeating through the review, but much like flOw gave us something resembling a game but that was definitely an experience, this remains a game that is artistically painted into an audio-visual experience that can be both challenging and rewarding.
  19. Instead Riff: Everyday Shooter takes you back to when games were simple; fun; addictive and a joy to experience.
  20. Everyday Shooter is a game that gets better the more you learn about how to play it.
  21. 79
    Even those that aren't particularly fond of the genre may enjoy this title, given its unique design and execution. While the game does have its problems, it's still very fun to play.
  22. At a few measly quid on the Store, it's essential stuff. [Feb 2008, p.79]
  23. Like its music, though, Everyday Shooter slowly gets under your skin. Just bear in mind it's more chill than kill, kill, kill. [Feb 2008, p.96]
  24. A simple shooter but its unique looks and sound make it cool. [Mar 2008, p.84]
  25. 70
    Although it's odd that they put more work into the enemy ships than the players’, this minimalist approach to the graphics suits the gameplay style by keeping the action smooth, the download small and audio and gameplay as the dominated features.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. BenjaminW
    Jan 14, 2010
    2
    Five years or so ago, expecting the same level of brilliance that was 'Rushmore' and 'Tennenbaums', I pretended to laugh Five years or so ago, expecting the same level of brilliance that was 'Rushmore' and 'Tennenbaums', I pretended to laugh my way through 'The Life Aquatic', because I simply thought I was supposed to (and much like when I saw 'Tennenbaums', I was the only one laughing in the theater and it made me feel superior). In reality, 'Aquatic' was a boring, uninspired mess of a movie that, while it had some promise, it was simply not very good. While I may have laughed along at the time, I was forced to admit a few years later to my future wife that yes, it was in fact a giant waste of film stock. Now, take those comments and apply them to reviews of "Everyday Shooter'. It's just not a good game, and those that say it is are either lying to themselves and/or have bought into the idea that 'artistic' games have merit simply on the grounds that they are artistic. Don't waste your five dollars. Buy Gravity Crash instead. Full Review »
  2. AndyV
    Jul 9, 2008
    9
    It would seem that grant missed the point of this game in his review, this game while being a twin stick shooter shares little in common to It would seem that grant missed the point of this game in his review, this game while being a twin stick shooter shares little in common to something like geometry wars & blast factor. Those are very much pure game experiences where as Everyday shooter is more of an experience something along the lines of rez and flow. The focus is more about your interaction with the levels and music on a deeper basis and the emotions it evokes, it Full Review »
  3. infekt
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    Reminds me of the good old days when gaming graphics and sound was so simple that gameplay had to be excellent for a game to be compelling. Reminds me of the good old days when gaming graphics and sound was so simple that gameplay had to be excellent for a game to be compelling. This game's got class. Full Review »