User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 52
  2. Negative: 7 out of 52

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Excellent. This game improves what already was a great game in F1 2010. It is hard but incredibly rewarding when you master it. The learning curve is not as bad as in F1 2010 but the AI has received an incredible upgrade and that is what makes this game so challenging. If you are into simulators and have any interest in F1 then this game is a must buy.
  2. May 3, 2013
    9
    Very good game. Not perfect but very good. Slightly improved graphics and the handling has been refined. Unfortunately the frame rate has gotten worse. Certainly one of the best F1 games I've ever played on a console. That being said I really don't like license exclusivity. I think the consumer would be better served if more than one company was making F1 games. Playstation for years held exclusive rights to F1 and then never released the games to the American market. One thing I don't get is why these games tend to be slightly inferior on the PS3 considering the EGO engine was originally developed with Sony cooperation. Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    This game has been one of my most anticipated games of the year. I watched trailers and read endless magazines about the game and every bi of info made me all the more excited. When you get the game it requires a tiny 2 minute update and about a minute install which i loved immediately! The campaign has the interviews like the last games but the answers aren't as obvious to pick, which i like as you have to keep on your toes. The graphics are stunning and with the new DRS, KERS and Safety car it has beefed the game right up. Also the new 2 player co-op campaign is a real treat, the whole idea is amazing and it is fun to work with a friend to become the number one team in the career. There a few minor problems such as to have the safety car on in career your difficulty level has to be expert and sometimes it glitches slightly but these are very minor issues. As you progress through races discarded rubber builds up on the side of the track meaning you have to plan an overtake because there is no grip. They have also brought in engine blow ups, so if you're using manual be careful not to overrev the car as a engine blow up could be just around the corner. Punctures have been added as well, use too much of the kerb and a flat can happen. In whole i think the game has been a absolute success and would highly recommend to any gamers interested in the realist experience in a racing game. Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Got my pre order early, a couple of days before the uk release ....... The game is fantastic.
    Have played the game all day in both career mode and online. The graphics are sharper than last year and the game in general is a bit slicker than last year.
    The big difference however is on the track......... The control of the car feels better, your not thrown off the track every time you touch
    a kerb, the damage model seems to work better and the whole thing is just great fun. Absolutely love it Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Amazing game, probably the best f1 game yet, stunning graphics, strategy is plus important in this version, less bugs than 2010 all f1 fans must get this game.
  6. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    Coming from years of racing on the ea sports nascar games and now the nascar 2011 the game, I was curious when I found this game. I had never driven this type of car, and have little experience on lengthy road courses, just the ones in nascar. I found this game extraordinary compared to the nascar games. There are similarities that I like in both, like the wonderful graphics. I love the practice and qualifying and the use of rain tires (tyres). I have 5 races left in my amateur career mode and sit 4th in points, have 1 pole, 2 wins and 8 podiums on the year. I am playing the very easy way until I get used to these cars. The ONLY thing I would love to see is the celebration after the races, whether you win or on the podium... show the guys getting their trophies, etc. Right now you just see them get out of their cars and get congratulated by the second place driver. I have not gotten to the end of the season and am very close to the first place driver. I can't wait to see what happens if I win the overall championship. I love the setup prior to race, during race and after the race. Great game from a true novice of this racing style. :) Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2011
    0
    F1 2011 is a very mixed bag. There are a whole host of improvements to career including safety cars, punctures, minor reliability issues, KERS & DRS. The handling is less punishing - you can actually attack the kerbs without spinning out. However there are issues. Halfway through my first season with Force India I am told I am expected to win the race - totally unrealistic. The real problems come when you go online. The lobby system is poor being dominated by games already in progress that you can join but not take part in. Frequent dropped connections even when you are host. Horrible lag causing multiple crashes. Loss of position tracking - game tells you that you are in first until final lap when suddenly you are 5th without being overtaken. When behind the safety car you get a drive through penalty for an illegal overtake even though you didn't overtake anyone. Then you serve your drive through penalty only to be told on the next lap you must serve the penalty again or be disqualified! Unless Codemasters fix these issues I wont be buying any future versions. Releasing the game with a semi-broken multiplayer is no way to treat F1 fans. This is even more annoying because when it does work (about 50% of the time) multiplayer is a lot of fun. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Nov 18, 2011
    71
    A lack of sustained excitement and some truly horrendous graphics hold back all the good work. [Issue#211, p.93]
  2. Nov 7, 2011
    75
    The big reason to upgrade to this year's version would easily be the online career mode, but otherwise there isn't a whole ton that was really changed, besides polish. All in all, it is still the best F1 game to date and does out do F1 2010.
  3. This years model. F1 2011, improves on last years's game in almost every way: qualifying is real, pitting works, and the handling no longer feels ripped from the Dirt series. [Dec 2011, p.68]