Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In F1 2011 players will be challenged to ‘Be the driver, live the life, go compete,’ with wide-ranging technical and gameplay advancements on and off track and vastly extended competitive and co-operative multiplayer components. F1 2011 will feature all of the official teams, drivers and circuits from the highly anticipated 2011 FIA FORMULA ONE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP, including the current FIA FORMULA ONE Drivers’ World Champion Sebastian Vettel. The 2011 season also sees the debut of the 2011 FORMULA 1 GRAND PRIX OF INDIA at Delhi’s Jaypee International Race Circuit and the return of the iconic Nürburgring to the calendar. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Sep 23, 2011
    92
    Fans of Formula One can finally rejoice that their favorite sport is being faithfully represented in the video game realm, and fans of racing games get another great series from a great developer. It's a perfect 1-2 finish.
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    90
    F1 2011 is exactly the kind of racing game the previous one should have been. No one that enjoys F1 should ever miss out on this one.
  3. Sep 23, 2011
    90
    F1 2011 is not a necessary purchase for the more casual racing game fan. Only the purists will opt to upgrade, in order to play it online, access the latest gameplay enhancement, and dive into the F1 racing world with updated cars and racers. A large update, indeed, rather than a completely new title. But the enhanced AI, better online play, and refined simulation still make for a very welcome addition ; let's hope next year's edition will also feature visual improvements.
  4. Sep 20, 2011
    80
    F1 2011 offers a fun driving experience and a welcome change to the traditional career schedule, but in the franchise's second year running, it's in need of a pit stop and some fresh tires.
  5. This years model. F1 2011, improves on last years's game in almost every way: qualifying is real, pitting works, and the handling no longer feels ripped from the Dirt series. [Dec 2011, p.68]
  6. Oct 4, 2011
    80
    The best F1 game PS3's had - yet issues with AI stupidity remain problematic. [Nov 2011, p.100]
  7. Oct 9, 2011
    60
    If you're looking for a quick, pick-up-and-play racing game, this is not for you. This game takes patience and attention to detail to play.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Excellent. This game improves what already was a great game in F1 2010. It is hard but incredibly rewarding when you master it. The learning curve is not as bad as in F1 2010 but the AI has received an incredible upgrade and that is what makes this game so challenging. If you are into simulators and have any interest in F1 then this game is a must buy. Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Got my pre order early, a couple of days before the uk release ....... The game is fantastic.
    Have played the game all day in both career mode
    and online. The graphics are sharper than last year and the game in general is a bit slicker than last year.
    The big difference however is on the track......... The control of the car feels better, your not thrown off the track every time you touch a kerb, the damage model seems to work better and the whole thing is just great fun. Absolutely love it
    Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Amazing game, probably the best f1 game yet, stunning graphics, strategy is plus important in this version, less bugs than 2010 all f1 fans must get this game. Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    7
    F1 2011 is a great game for virtual driving veterans, but it is often frustrating for players like me, who enjoy racing games but aren't the best at it. I find that in Career mode, it is too hard to complete objectives and level up, which enables you to receive contract offers from higher teams. I was looking forward to the Safety Car, but I haven't experienced one yet, because there are few crashes which only involve the AI drivers. On most tracks, the setup is key, which is annoying for drivers like me who are clueless when it comes to adjusting the camber.
    Multiplayer is an equally frustrating experience, purely due to the fact that so many people forget that there is a first corner and smash you off the track. The penalty system is a failure, and I have been penalised many times for being on the receiving end of a crash. The XP system confuses me, and ranking up is a lottery, since normally winning a race is down to pure luck.
    Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2011
    7
    F1 2011 is a very mixed bag. There are a whole host of improvements to career including safety cars, punctures, minor reliability issues, KERS & DRS. The handling is less punishing - you can actually attack the kerbs without spinning out. However there are issues. Halfway through my first season with Force India I am told I am expected to win the race - totally unrealistic. The real problems come when you go online. The lobby system is poor being dominated by games already in progress that you can join but not take part in. Frequent dropped connections even when you are host. Horrible lag causing multiple crashes. Loss of position tracking - game tells you that you are in first until final lap when suddenly you are 5th without being overtaken. When behind the safety car you get a drive through penalty for an illegal overtake even though you didn't overtake anyone. Then you serve your drive through penalty only to be told on the next lap you must serve the penalty again or be disqualified! Unless Codemasters fix these issues I wont be buying any future versions. Releasing the game with a semi-broken multiplayer is no way to treat F1 fans. This is even more annoying because when it does work (about 50% of the time) multiplayer is a lot of fun. Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2011
    6
    Based on the PS3 version and a few hours play, I'm disappointed. For the most part, the graphics appear to have got worse; they look too bright and cartoony. The handling is very different, although I accept this may just be a learning curve. The dynamic racing line just lies to you, and as you can't manually request a pit-stop any more, you'll be taking your chances on some circuits. I've also had weird noises (not associated with a fault on the car etc) appear, hang around for a very annoying minute or so, then disappear.

    I was excited for this release, but I can't describe it as anything other than 'meh' now.
    Expand
  7. May 6, 2012
    4
    F1 2011 my personal review and feelings from experience of playing over almost year in this game.

    First of all I will say I'm disappointed.


    This is one of the games which should be unique and amazing. and this game could be but if will be developed by other company not codemasters.

    Single player mode in this game is quiet interesting and brings fun but in the first 1 or 2 seasons in career mode. for me personally this is too easy. you can go too easily from poor team in to the one of the top ones and also even in poor team you can won the race on the legenend AI's difficult. SHAME.
    in F1 game from Sony the single player was much better because player was able first to do tests in the teams competitive with 2nd driver to show skills etc and then try real race in f1 2011 from codemasters NO! straight away races without nothing. You sing up with Lotus and you start racing in longest 7 seasons mode too short sorry. after 1st season you can have a chance to sing in with much better teams which is ok but not for 100% because in time when you sign in with better team BMW e.g. then you are unbeatable because level of AI's driving is to low way too low. On legend in better team like BMW you can overtake them easily and won every race. so after 2nd season this game become boring!. also not realistic damages of the cars. just front wing looks more realistic but other body car parts no. to damage the car completely you have to hit the wall with 280 km/h in Sony that was much much much better because when you span out and hit the wall your wheels was go of etc. so looks for me more realism to real world f1. No suspension damages such as gear box etc. sometimes punctures but from CODE masters and on this level of game is not enough to satisfy player and sorry but is not worth £40 in UK.

    on of the biggest disappointments, mistakes, bugs etc is multiplayer mode something on what waiting every player. Multiplayer mode in F1 2011 codemasters is CRAP!!!!!!!!!! I donâ
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers