F1 2013 PlayStation 3

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
Buy On
  1. Oct 26, 2013
    90
    The developers of F1 2013 should be commended on the amount of realism they have incorporated into this racing simulator. With a variety of different gaming modes, detailed graphics and gameplay that is almost flawless.
  2. Oct 28, 2013
    85
    Codemasters is looking to set their own record for consecutive F1 championships with F1 2013 Classic Edition. They've carried over everything from last year's excellent game and they've also added in a timely set of classic drivers and circuits.
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    83
    While F1 2013 is certainly improved over 2012, like the subtle new lighting effects, most of those changes don't make for substantial additions. The move to include features from past eras is a promising step for the future of the series, but carving out half of that content as DLC leaves the remainder as a briefly entertaining pit stop before moving on to business as usual.
  4. 80
    Players looking for an in-depth simulation of F1 racing have just found their porn.
  5. So it’s F1 2013’s ability to recreate a boring season in a fascinating way, rather than its ticket to oil-stained memory lane, that makes it a worthy purchase.
  6. Oct 6, 2013
    80
    If you have no interest in the classic cars, then there may be no real incentive to pick up F1 2013 over last year’s release, but you’d be missing out on something very special. It is probably the best release yet, there is plenty packed in and oh, those 80s cars are things of absolute beauty.
  7. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    It looks good, sounds good, feels good, and is crammed with plenty to do.
  8. Oct 3, 2013
    80
    F1 2013 is a solid outing for the series, taking the successes of the past and building on them incrementally, whilst adding an exciting glimpse of what’s to come with F1 Classics. It might leave me wanting more, but F1 2013 is the best and most comprehensive release so far.
  9. Oct 3, 2013
    80
    Codemasters brings us a new Formula 1 title again this year, adding interesting options to this ever-entertaining racing competition. The inclusion of eight classic models and the new Scene mode are the most important new features, while the rest of novelties are in line with what we could see in the previous title.
  10. Oct 1, 2013
    80
    F1 2013 keeps the pace of last year. The Classic Edition is much better, because the standard edition is highly trimmed. Good job for Codemasters, but a season low risk, transition to next year and next-gen.
  11. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    It does evolve little from the playable foundations of the previous episode, but the classic content is indeed a reason big enough to give it a try this year, especially if you like the historic side of the F1 Championship.
  12. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Nov 11, 2013
    75
    There's definitely fun to be had here for the F1 faithful, but we can't shake the feeling that Codies is taking the foot off in preparation for the inevitable next-gen follow-up. [December 2013, p79]
  13. Oct 15, 2013
    75
    F1 2013 suffers from a problem most sports games have: they lack innovation. There is a new mode - Classic Mode - and there are minor tweaks, but that doesn't hide the fact F1 2013 resembles his predecessors a lot. Despite of that, F1 2013 isn't a bad game. They game looks breathtakingly good sometimes and the gameplay is one of the most rewarding there is.
  14. Oct 14, 2013
    75
    While still being a great racing game, we were not too convinced by F1 2013. Yes, the career mode is properly fleshed-out (though we've seen it all before) and the classic mode is a nice addition to the franchise, though we could do without the weird paywall construction that demands players to pay extra for all the content. The visuals are also rather boring and the game's intro aims perhaps a bit too much at franchise rookies, which might annoy experienced players.
  15. Oct 1, 2013
    75
    Codemasters is back on the track with a classic F1 car and the same old "almost arcade" Formula (pun intended). The engine's still good, but the car's age is starting to show.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    First of all, I have played F1 2010, F1 2012, and this is the worst F1 game. F1 2010's lack of development and ingenuity was forgivable. F1First of all, I have played F1 2010, F1 2012, and this is the worst F1 game. F1 2010's lack of development and ingenuity was forgivable. F1 2012 the handling was perfect. there was only room for making it fun. So I was expecting F1 2013 to have the immerse and fun experience to make an awesome game. Unfortunately, F1 2013's handling is nightmare, a lot of understeer in low speed corner and massive oversteer in high speed corners, lose back-end, a lot of wheel spin, and finally a very depressing player interface, racing game experience is so boring Full Review »
  2. Dec 10, 2016
    9
    junto a Gran Turismo 6, el mejor juego de conducción de PS3

    buenos gráficos, buen sonido, mucho contenido, los coches de los 80s y 90s son
    junto a Gran Turismo 6, el mejor juego de conducción de PS3

    buenos gráficos, buen sonido, mucho contenido, los coches de los 80s y 90s son un añadido excelente
    un juego fácil de jugar y difícil de dominar, la mejor Formula 1 desde 2005
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 15, 2016
    9
    Excellent game. The graphics are fantastic, especially in the rain and the sound of the cars is awesome. The gameplay is also really good. TheExcellent game. The graphics are fantastic, especially in the rain and the sound of the cars is awesome. The gameplay is also really good. The champions mode has been improved but otherwise the features of the older games are more or less the same. The classic cars are a nice addition to the game. The reasons why I gave it a 9 are:

    1) The tyre wear. Codemasters tried to make it as realistic as possible but at some tracks it's almost impossible to get a good result because the tyres don't last until the end. For example, even with a top car I've never won in China in the dry because I can't make a one-stopper work and I lose too much time with a two-stopper.( I'm talking about 25% races).

    2) Split screen cameras. For some reason Codemasters removed the onboard camera (which is the one I prefer) and put another one from in front of the cockpit which is not as good.

    3) Some bugs I have discovered during races. For example, when I use a flashback, the car that's in front of me often runs wide so it gifts me a place, something I find unfair.
    Full Review »