Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: F1 2013 sees Codemasters introducing a new F1 Classics mode, opening up circuits and drivers from the 1980s.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Oct 26, 2013
    90
    The developers of F1 2013 should be commended on the amount of realism they have incorporated into this racing simulator. With a variety of different gaming modes, detailed graphics and gameplay that is almost flawless.
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    83
    While F1 2013 is certainly improved over 2012, like the subtle new lighting effects, most of those changes don't make for substantial additions. The move to include features from past eras is a promising step for the future of the series, but carving out half of that content as DLC leaves the remainder as a briefly entertaining pit stop before moving on to business as usual.
  3. So it’s F1 2013’s ability to recreate a boring season in a fascinating way, rather than its ticket to oil-stained memory lane, that makes it a worthy purchase.
  4. Oct 14, 2013
    75
    While still being a great racing game, we were not too convinced by F1 2013. Yes, the career mode is properly fleshed-out (though we've seen it all before) and the classic mode is a nice addition to the franchise, though we could do without the weird paywall construction that demands players to pay extra for all the content. The visuals are also rather boring and the game's intro aims perhaps a bit too much at franchise rookies, which might annoy experienced players.
  5. There's definitely fun to be had here for the F1 faithful, but we can't shake the feeling that Codies is taking the foot off in preparation for the inevitable next-gen follow-up. [December 2013, p79]
  6. Oct 3, 2013
    73
    In a sport that symbolizes the cutting edge of car technology and the pinnacle of racing, the F1 series' slow progress is a contradiction. I enjoy the racing itself, but that only counts for so much. It's getting to the point that I'd rather see how other series like Forza incorporate F1 cars rather than play this franchise – and that's a bad sign.
  7. 60
    Sadly, F1 2013 takes the long-running racing franchise one step forward and two steps back.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Sep 16, 2014
    9
    The 2013 rendition is as good as its predecessors and is a game well worth purchasing if you are a fan of the sport and have enjoyed the 2012The 2013 rendition is as good as its predecessors and is a game well worth purchasing if you are a fan of the sport and have enjoyed the 2012 and 2011 versions of the game, but do not expect all that much variation on those titles (except the classic cars/tracks). It is a very solid game worthy of a 9, but has minor, yet manageable issues that make the game quite difficult (notably the tire wear which is extremely difficult to manage, or at least it has been for me). The AI prove quite a decent challenge with the difficulty raised with this tire wear challenge, where you need to be much more consistent and strategic compared to earlier releases. Expand
  2. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    first of all, it's extremely addictive. very good visuals, polished gameplay. it's extremely hard if you increase the difficulty. it's thefirst of all, it's extremely addictive. very good visuals, polished gameplay. it's extremely hard if you increase the difficulty. it's the best F1 game i've played & one should most definitely try it. Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    While I wasn't thrilled that codemasters decided to charge more money for content that was already complete, F1 2013, in my opinion is theWhile I wasn't thrilled that codemasters decided to charge more money for content that was already complete, F1 2013, in my opinion is the best in the series. I for one can't tell you if this is a simulation of F1 or not, I have never driven an F1 car, but the steep learning curve of the previous games thankfully returns. The classic content is a nice addition, the classic cars are hard to tame but absolutely a thrill to drive, which in the end makes you long for an 80's Mclaren even more. The core game seems much more responsive, I felt the controls in 2010 were to twitchy, and in 2012 they were slightly unresponsive. F1 2013 gave me a feeling of more control. The AI is improved, and they get into more race incidents than in previous games, which makes me feel better about my less then stellar driving. Blah blah if you are a fan of this series you probably have the game already, if you are someone looking for a challenging but rewarding racing game, this is it.

    .
    Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    F1 2013 is the best in Codemasters' F1 franchise. The team at Codemasters Birmingham
    should be proud of what they have achieved yet again.
    F1 2013 is the best in Codemasters' F1 franchise. The team at Codemasters Birmingham
    should be proud of what they have achieved yet again. Sure it's not perfect, but the game
    makes small but noticeable steps forward. Tyre management and strategy elements make
    racing on any distance thrilling, as does the improved AI and weather system, whilst new
    classic content and other modes add new depth never before experienced in Formula One
    games. The handling model is incredibly thrilling and satisfying. It's the best it's even been
    by a significant margin. Don't listen to all the negativity, while there are still a few problems,
    they have been blown way out of proportion and as a massive Formula One fan myself, I
    assure you that you will enjoy this game more than any other Formula One game before
    Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2014
    8
    So uhm, I got the game for the PS3. I’ve been watching F1 for a few years and I love the sport, and this franchise was one of the reasons ISo uhm, I got the game for the PS3. I’ve been watching F1 for a few years and I love the sport, and this franchise was one of the reasons I bought the console in the first place. The game didn’t disappoint me. The first thing you notice is just how much you can adjust the difficulty. You can play this game pretty casually, or turn off all assists, pump up the AI skill, hook up a steering wheel and throttle/break pedals (let’s face it, without many of the assists you can’t really drive properly with the standard Dualshock controller. The nature of F1 being what it is you’ll definitely get sore thumbs after a race of half or full distance regardless of difficulty/assists). The graphics aren’t that great, I mean the cars look ok but the circuits look pretty bland. Of course there’s probably not much room for improvement as far as the PS3 version is concerned (never played the game on PC but I read its graphics are pretty impressive), and graphics aren’t really that big of a concern as long as the gameplay is solid. And it kinda is but don’t get me wrong there’s some major issues with the game:
    - AI cars make very bad starts. It’s *very * easy to pass 6-7 cars on the first corner since they seem really eager to slam on the breaks way more than they need to. On the Professional AI setting (only Expert is harder) this is still an issue that takes away from the realism of the race
    - AI cars hesitate to make a move on you even when they’re tremendously faster, like 2-3 seconds a lap faster
    - The “fuel strategy” menu that pops up before the race is bugged. When you select “cautious” as your fuel strategy you’re supposed to have fuel for 5 extra laps. However this only works intermittedly as more often than not you get fuel for just 1 extra lap
    - The biggest issue of all: tyre wear scaling is way too punishing to the point of being unrealistic. Yes it’s true that in the 2013 season tyre wear played a major role in each race, but I feel it wasn’t realistically portrayed in the game, where, if you fail to pit in time the gearbox apparently has trouble shifting up. As a result the engine revs like no tomorrow and you end up losing tons of time not in corners (as you’d expect) but rather on straight lines. I kinda doubt tyre wear works like that in the real F1... (to be fair, I don’t know if this is an issue if you shift gears manually)
    - Track condition changes way too radically when it rains (or stops raining). I can’t tell you how many races have been ruined by this. This is a common scenario: the track seems fit for intermediate tyres, so you pit and guess what? half a lap later your tyres overheat and you have to put on dries, even though the track is clearly pretty wet. Half a lap later, the track is suddenly too wet for dries and you have to pit again to put on inters. What’s more frustrating is that this appears to happen only right after you pit. It’s generally a good idea to save before each pit stop (the Mid session save feature is pretty awesome), at least in changeable conditions. Also, AI opponents are clearly not affected by the weather the same way the player is. On one occasion there were 3 laps left and it started raining really hard (everyone was on inters until then). The car was clearly undrivable with inters but the leaders didn’t pit and this didn’t affect their lap times at all. What the hell?
    All that said, the game is a must if you like F1 (although by the time you read this , F1 2014 will have probably come out). I’ve put over 50 hours in the game and I don’t regret my purchase. This is an AAA title for all F1 fans regardless of its shortcomings.
    Collapse
  6. Apr 10, 2014
    8
    F1 2013 is a refreshed version of the 2012 installment. While it won't be ground breaking, it'll be fun and solid. Points for bringing backF1 2013 is a refreshed version of the 2012 installment. While it won't be ground breaking, it'll be fun and solid. Points for bringing back the classic cars which almost carries the whole game. Career mode is decent, multiplayer fun, and the classic car mode makes this game a must buy for every Formula One fan out there. Expand
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    First of all, I have played F1 2010, F1 2012, and this is the worst F1 game. F1 2010's lack of development and ingenuity was forgivable. F1First of all, I have played F1 2010, F1 2012, and this is the worst F1 game. F1 2010's lack of development and ingenuity was forgivable. F1 2012 the handling was perfect. there was only room for making it fun. So I was expecting F1 2013 to have the immerse and fun experience to make an awesome game. Unfortunately, F1 2013's handling is nightmare, a lot of understeer in low speed corner and massive oversteer in high speed corners, lose back-end, a lot of wheel spin, and finally a very depressing player interface, racing game experience is so boring Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Trailers