User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 29
  2. Negative: 8 out of 29

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 5, 2013
    9
    Race, karting, fun. All these elements are in this game. I can't understand people complaining of the power-ups. They're "mostly" well-balanced except that rocket power-up that flies you to first place. I just love the challenge in this game and play again and again if I fail. Because it's FUN. And fun is what I look for in a karting game. The graphics are alright (it's good that they're not better otherwise the frame wouldn't be that good). I'd give it something like 8 but due to the ridiculous animosity, I prefer a 9). Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    As a massive Mario Kart 64 addict back in the day, I rather enjoy this game. It's a lot of fun, the tracks are very well mapped out and have great scenery to them and it's a good balance between fun and challenging.

    Some of the weapons are indeed overpowered, as others have mentioned, but the basic objective remains the same learn the track, get a good start, get to the front and stay
    there via good driving You might (will) get hit by a few missiles but if you drive well you'll win the race the weapons are there to make it more fun in my opinion... and you'll be grateful of getting a warp to 2nd place when you've had a terrible start and are lagging in 12th with a barely functioning car!

    On that note, the pit stops are extremely well done most of the time you don't even lose places you just have to check your car when they're coming up and dive off the course for a few seconds.

    Overall this is very playable, a lot of fun and I'm glad I bought it
    Expand
  3. Feb 27, 2013
    6
    It's quite fun, but flawed. Sometimes it all works great, the elements of F1 are there, such as deciding whether to use the pit lane now and lose some time, or take the hit and try to get ahead anyway. There's also a fuel mode where picking up fuel slows you down, another interesting addition. There are also famous bits of the tracks thrown in, KERS boosts, and of course all the teams and drivers (and the F1 pink Girlie team everyone has heard of). I'm also fine with no powersliding, this if F1 Race Stars, not Rally Race Stars. Then on the other hand you have the chaos that really detracts from the experience. Powerups are too frequent, especially for the AI drivers, who use them constantly and you see yourself losing several places within a few seconds, and being stuck with a malfunctioning car and limping to the pits only to lose a few more places. Not to mention the powerups someone should have been fired over, like the "teleport to first place" one, which will sometimes see someone just materialize in front of you before the finish line. There's also a boost at the start if you power your engine at the right time, but all the AI drivers seem to get it anyway as I never make up any places with the boost at the start, so what's the point? Don't get me wrong, I enjoy the game but it really needs some kind of patching or a re-think if they're going for Race Stars 2. The tracks are fun and colourful, the drivers look good and the racing, when it works, is great. Something needs to be done about the balance and randomness of it all, though. Expand
  4. Nov 6, 2014
    6
    It's a fun enough kart racer, but there's something missing that means it'll never be in the tier of Crash Team Racing or Mario Kart. In the higher difficulty the AI seems to cheat far too often and make use of the secret shortcuts, meaning you can be a comfortable 15 seconds in the lead only to be overtaken without knowing.
  5. Feb 13, 2013
    5
    F1 Race Stars does a great job being an illusion. As you stare at its colourful circuits and its cheeky bobble-headed F1 heroes, you'd be mistaken for thinking that there is some great arcade racing fun to be had. Alas all you will end up with is a sub-par Formula 1 game masquerading as a kart racer. The main frustration is that Race Stars abuses one of the most vital aspects of kart racers-balance. Too often you will toil getting to the top, only to have one of the bland weapon bubbles whisk you up and dump you down. And to top it all off you you will lose 6 places in one swoop. Too much emphasis is placed on F1, and the karting aspects take a back seat to sporadic KERS boosts and a dull sense of speed. What could've been an enjoyable counter-alternative to the yearly simulation heavy franchise, ends up being less fun and more frustrating than its visuals would accentuate. Expand
  6. Feb 28, 2013
    3
    So this is what all that experience in the field has lead to? Codemasters should surely know better. Not only is this game a blatant copy of Mario Kart, but it makes absolutely no innovations at all. The tracks are dull and uninspiring, the controls are too simple (can't even get manual you get that on MARIO KART the noobiest of the noobiest racing games!) and the driving physics are non-existent. No handbrake, no gears. Just accelerate and brake. Sure it's simple and easy to grasp but we're talking about a supposed F1 game. What's the point of having real F1 drivers (which look horrible in this game) and different teams when all cars are the same, there are no driving mechanics or any depth whatsoever and the powerups are straight copies from other games? The graphics are nice and I suppose it is a fairly simple and harmless party game but I really don't see the point in it. On one extreme we have F1 2012 a very dull, boring, unintuitive and unfriendly welcome to those unfamiliar with F1 (despite the fabulous driving physics) but on the other hand we have something so noob-friendly it's laughably pointless. Get it right Codemasters! We want something in between. Not a load of F1 jargon and having to cope with 24 badly programmed AI cars and not Mario Kart. Make an F1 game where all you do is drive round the track trying to get good times. That would work in both arcade and simulation style of racing. Expand
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    0
    While the game is fun for what it is There are no voices for Michael Schumacher or Nico Rosberg. I'm amazed that no reviewer that I can find anywhere, made any mention of this... so much for thorough in-depth reviews these days...
    The issue itself is small, but it's the spirit behind not completing the game that bothers me.
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    50
    A benign but relatively feckless take on the whole kart-racing thing. Fun, but too lightweight. [Feb 2013, p.72]
  2. Jan 12, 2013
    61
    The game itself is in need of a good bit of work. [Issue#226, p.82]
  3. Despite being a kids game, F1 Race Stars uses its license to the bone. Cars are properly branded and colored with the right sponsors and every driver of the 2012 season showed up, plus four imaginary drivers, including three women. [January 2013, p.74]