User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 718 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 84 out of 718

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    I heard that this game was an amazing open world free choice game and yes there is a big open world but free choice isn't really to say. You only ever have 2 ways of really doing things right and wrong that's not really ultimate choice. It's great that there is a big open world but that's one of this games biggest downfalls. You get a quest find out that's it's somewhere on the other side of the map you haven't been and have to spend an hour getting there constantly saving every 10 minutes cause there's SO many bugs in this game. This is what let me down the most. How can a game be released with so many critical bugs. I know bugs in software happen and to fix them you usually break something else but come on. At the moment I'm trying to do The Pitt add on and the game is running at a slide show if at all. There are some many game breaking bugs that the game isn't enjoyable to play in the slightest. The only reason I'm still playing is cause I'm a completist and don't want to feel like I wasted 34 bucks. Also another terrible feature about the game is the shooting mechanics it never seems to actually go where you want to and trying to aim with the controller is nearly impossible (now you know why we have VATS the devs couldn't make a shooter engine). Even if you do opt for manual shooting the games frame rate drops to a standstill whenever a gun fight occurs. I do not understand how this is such a highly regarded game IT SUCKS DON'T BUY IT. Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. for what was a very creative and fun game series, fallout NV and 3 set an all time low. Sure, fallout 3 and NV pulled the series to 3d and open, and i admit it was kind of fun, but that fun was ruined by the major bugs, freezes, glitches and crashes i experienced on my copy. it happened on my PC,ps3 and 360 copies so its not my system. This is a very crap game that does not deserve a sequel. If 4 gets made, it must not be developed by obsidian and not use that crap gamebryo engine. I cant even tell you how bad the DLC makes it. Its unplayable after 3 hours gameplay. its like it purposly freezes to tick you off! Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2013
    4
    Fallout 3 was sitting on my shelve for years. The first time I tried to play it I got so bored in the vault that I never even made it out. Recently I've been having trouble finding a good game to play because I've played just about everything already so I decided to give Fallout 3 another shot. Once I got out of the vault it started to get better and I thought it was going to be great. But now I'm into it maybe ten or twelve hours and it is just so boring. There is this great big world out there but nothing to do in it. The first person shooting is just horrible (how cool would this game be if you got to blast your way through the world on your way to your quest points). I get killed over and over until I get lucky and escape with a couple of health bars left--whoopee. I can't find anything of any real value to sell so I have no money to stock up on anything. I have to drink out of toilets to get my health back because I can't even afford stimpacks. I can't find a larger backpack so I can't even pick up more loot once my pack is full which happens pretty quickly. Everything gets broken and it costs more to repair it than the item is even worth. The missions are just dreadful. I've been playing for hours trying to deliver a stupid letter going here and then going there and here and there having to save every five seconds in case I get killed, having to talk to boring, stiff, monotonous characters with no personality. When I kill some creature it's not exciting it's just a relief because now I can continue walking, and walking, and walking. If it wasn't for online walkthrough advice I wouldn't even have gotten this far. I mean, who would have thought that to find the "family" you had to go into that certain building, then into that certain room, then into that certain passageway, then through that certain tunnel, then backtrack to go the other way, then bride someone, then oh come on already I'm just trying to deliver a stupid letter!! Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2010
    4
    Bah, Fallout 3. When I bought it, I thought it was going to be interesting, but I was horribly mistaken. The world is HUGE! A little bit too huge, I f you ask me. I couldn't get very far without getting lost. The map doesn't help very much, and during the time when I was lost, I was pwned by around 4 big monster deals with miniguns.I'm not afraid to say that me and Dogmeat didn't last long, especially with the crappy weapon life. Why didn't they make the weapon health system like Oblivion? Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2010
    4
    It's a good game but the console version should be avoided at all costs! I have never had so many bugs and crashes in a game before. This is what could happen if you port a game meant for the PC on a console. All those bugs and crashes ruined the game for me and I heard New Vegas was the same. Play the PC version, not this.
  6. Apr 11, 2012
    4
    For most people, Fallout 3 will be a wonderful experience. For me... I just couldn't get my head around shooting at something like an FPS but never being able to hit it because of level stats. If you're not supposed to use the FPS aiming system, why put it in the game? If physically aiming at a guy's head with a sniper rifle counts for nothing, why bother giving us a scope? I know it's an RPG and you're supposed to use the VATS system, but the hybrid aspects of the game just totally killed it for me. Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2012
    2
    I don't know where to startâ
  8. May 8, 2012
    0
    I really did hate everything about this game. It just wasn't for me at all. Especially the control setup.. But pretty much everything was hot garbage in my opinion.
  9. Apr 13, 2013
    0
    too many freezes during the game. It's an absolute shame. Each time i play, at one point, my console stop working, only with this damn game. One advice to Bethesda: learn to program games.
  10. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucksthis game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucksthis game sucks this game sucks this game sucks Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Oct 27, 2010
    76
    Until you can play the game without unpredictable crashing and quirky issues surprising you it's going to be tough to find the maximum amount of fun I know this title can offer.
  2. 100
    This is the kind of hugely ambitious game that doesn't come around very often, and when it does, you'd be a fool not to play it and enjoy the hell out of it and look forward to the day (next-next-gen?) when the fidelity of open-world RPGs takes another big step closer to the uncanny valley's far side.
  3. 94
    It's rare that a game can hit the mark in so many different and often conflicting areas. Fallout 3 offers freedom without sacrificing a focused story. It delivers fantastic combat without forgoing a deep role-playing system. The characters you meet are engaging and oftentimes hilarious without feeling out of place in this harsh world.