User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 762 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 87 out of 762

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    I heard that this game was an amazing open world free choice game and yes there is a big open world but free choice isn't really to say. You only ever have 2 ways of really doing things right and wrong that's not really ultimate choice. It's great that there is a big open world but that's one of this games biggest downfalls. You get a quest find out that's it's somewhere on the other sideI heard that this game was an amazing open world free choice game and yes there is a big open world but free choice isn't really to say. You only ever have 2 ways of really doing things right and wrong that's not really ultimate choice. It's great that there is a big open world but that's one of this games biggest downfalls. You get a quest find out that's it's somewhere on the other side of the map you haven't been and have to spend an hour getting there constantly saving every 10 minutes cause there's SO many bugs in this game. This is what let me down the most. How can a game be released with so many critical bugs. I know bugs in software happen and to fix them you usually break something else but come on. At the moment I'm trying to do The Pitt add on and the game is running at a slide show if at all. There are some many game breaking bugs that the game isn't enjoyable to play in the slightest. The only reason I'm still playing is cause I'm a completist and don't want to feel like I wasted 34 bucks. Also another terrible feature about the game is the shooting mechanics it never seems to actually go where you want to and trying to aim with the controller is nearly impossible (now you know why we have VATS the devs couldn't make a shooter engine). Even if you do opt for manual shooting the games frame rate drops to a standstill whenever a gun fight occurs. I do not understand how this is such a highly regarded game IT SUCKS DON'T BUY IT. Expand
  2. Jul 18, 2013
    4
    Fallout 3 was sitting on my shelve for years. The first time I tried to play it I got so bored in the vault that I never even made it out. Recently I've been having trouble finding a good game to play because I've played just about everything already so I decided to give Fallout 3 another shot. Once I got out of the vault it started to get better and I thought it was going to be great. ButFallout 3 was sitting on my shelve for years. The first time I tried to play it I got so bored in the vault that I never even made it out. Recently I've been having trouble finding a good game to play because I've played just about everything already so I decided to give Fallout 3 another shot. Once I got out of the vault it started to get better and I thought it was going to be great. But now I'm into it maybe ten or twelve hours and it is just so boring. There is this great big world out there but nothing to do in it. The first person shooting is just horrible (how cool would this game be if you got to blast your way through the world on your way to your quest points). I get killed over and over until I get lucky and escape with a couple of health bars left--whoopee. I can't find anything of any real value to sell so I have no money to stock up on anything. I have to drink out of toilets to get my health back because I can't even afford stimpacks. I can't find a larger backpack so I can't even pick up more loot once my pack is full which happens pretty quickly. Everything gets broken and it costs more to repair it than the item is even worth. The missions are just dreadful. I've been playing for hours trying to deliver a stupid letter going here and then going there and here and there having to save every five seconds in case I get killed, having to talk to boring, stiff, monotonous characters with no personality. When I kill some creature it's not exciting it's just a relief because now I can continue walking, and walking, and walking. If it wasn't for online walkthrough advice I wouldn't even have gotten this far. I mean, who would have thought that to find the "family" you had to go into that certain building, then into that certain room, then into that certain passageway, then through that certain tunnel, then backtrack to go the other way, then bride someone, then oh come on already I'm just trying to deliver a stupid letter!! Expand
  3. AM
    Sep 13, 2009
    4
    I was really really looking forward to this , and had to wait ages before coming under 15 quid. So one day I snapped it up for 11 , I was over the moon , then I got home , and sadness washed over me . After all the acclaim it got , I thought it'd be amazing , but oh no , it was just horrible , from the wierd start to when you escape the vault , it just was such a mess.Terrible I was really really looking forward to this , and had to wait ages before coming under 15 quid. So one day I snapped it up for 11 , I was over the moon , then I got home , and sadness washed over me . After all the acclaim it got , I thought it'd be amazing , but oh no , it was just horrible , from the wierd start to when you escape the vault , it just was such a mess.Terrible graphics , stupid talking and quests that have you just running round doing bugger all , and since the world is so huge , there should be lots to do , that is fun , but it just wasn't. It was like taking a massive cool world and then filling it with 1960s ish rubbishness (if that's a word), the only good thing is the title , because me and the game had a massive Fallout. Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. for what was a very creative and fun game series, fallout NV and 3 set an all time low. Sure, fallout 3 and NV pulled the series to 3d and open, and i admit it was kind of fun, but that fun was ruined by the major bugs, freezes, glitches and crashes i experienced on my copy. it happened on my PC,ps3 and 360 copies so its not my system. This is a very crap game that does not deserve a sequel. If 4 gets made, it must not be developed by obsidian and not use that crap gamebryo engine. I cant even tell you how bad the DLC makes it. Its unplayable after 3 hours gameplay. its like it purposly freezes to tick you off! Expand
  5. NaveedIqbal
    Dec 14, 2008
    0
    Me being a huge fan of the fallout series spent 80 pounds( roughly 160 dollars) on the collectors edition the second it was available for purchase and half an hour into the game I was shocked with the HUGE volume of bugs the were ignored by bethesda. I feel conned and want my money back. DO NOT PURCHASE.
  6. JohnK.
    Nov 11, 2008
    0
    I was looking forward to this game being a huge fan of Fallout 1 and 2. I have played this game several hours and I am extremely disappointed in the end product. There are so many bugs that I cannot believe they are taking people's money for this game. If you check the Bethesda Fallout 3 PS 3 Hardware forum you will see what I am talking about. I am not only talking about minor I was looking forward to this game being a huge fan of Fallout 1 and 2. I have played this game several hours and I am extremely disappointed in the end product. There are so many bugs that I cannot believe they are taking people's money for this game. If you check the Bethesda Fallout 3 PS 3 Hardware forum you will see what I am talking about. I am not only talking about minor graphical glitches (which there are many of - ex. black screen for haircuts), I am talking about GAME ENDING bugs. The game will freeze in certain areas, your controller will stop working, and the only thing you can do is reset your system. This happens during one of the main storyline quests, making progression impossible. This also happens during various sidequests and sometimes while exploring. In other areas, when trying to exit/enter an area, the game will load a black screen and will require another reset. These are not fixed simply by reloading the game in an earlier save point and going back. It is something about the particular area that is bugged. You cannot do anything to progress. NPCs also have a habit of disappearing/dying from spawning at a great height then falling to their deaths. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. THE GAME IS BROKEN. Expand
  7. SHODAN
    Nov 5, 2008
    0
    In comparison to the earlier Black Isle Studios Fallouts, Bethesda's Fallout has: One-dimensional, illogical and forgettable characters with little to no personality. Simple, linear, unoriginal narrative. Poorly-written narrative. Poorly-written dialogue. Poorly-voiced dialogue. None of the series' trademark moral ambiguity. No real freedom (there are unkillable NPCs, In comparison to the earlier Black Isle Studios Fallouts, Bethesda's Fallout has: One-dimensional, illogical and forgettable characters with little to no personality. Simple, linear, unoriginal narrative. Poorly-written narrative. Poorly-written dialogue. Poorly-voiced dialogue. None of the series' trademark moral ambiguity. No real freedom (there are unkillable NPCs, unavoidable combat etc.). No real choices or consequences. Tactical combat has been removed. Importance of skills/perks/traits removed. Traits removed. Psychologically and emotionally complex quests no longer present. Nuclear power was a feared thing in post-apocalyptic Fallout, and the issue was dealt with intelligently with much subtle social commentary. In Fallout 3, you can shoot nuclear-powered cars with your nuclear catapult (early in the game...), in a town built around an unexploded nuclear bomb. Fallout 3 fails to deal with any of the interesting human issues that Fallout did. The game lacks any semblance of thoughtfulness. It's also shorter. And easier. The game abuses and contradicts established lore. Fallout 3 fails to even pathetically imitate it's decade-old predecessors' design, originality or meaningfullness. Let alone exceed it. Even when considered, unfairly, outside the context of being a sequel, it is an exceptionally arrogant, incompetent and poorly designed game all on its own. The animations are clunky and awkward. AI is atrocious. Combat is awkward. World textures and character models are ugly and lacking. Art direction is poor. Much of the crowded (who would have thought nuclear winter would be so claustrophobic?) "wasteland" is sloppily and lazily copy-pasted from place to place. The musical score is uninspired and in the style of LOTR-esque epic-fantasy (in fact it sounds very similar to Oblvion...) - which is completely inappropriate in this game's setting. To top it off, the whole thing is buggy and poorly optimized. And Bethesda's attitude towards the original games' fans has been utterly pathetic. Expand
  8. JonD.
    Nov 12, 2008
    4
    I just didn't get it at all, after some great presentation setting my hopes up for a quality gaming experience, it fell away to what looks like a PC game circa 2005. Everything felt cluttered, unprofessional, tired and clichéd, from HUDs to game design. No feeling of atmosphere is generated, just a remote, detached experience, like never fully connecting with the game. An I just didn't get it at all, after some great presentation setting my hopes up for a quality gaming experience, it fell away to what looks like a PC game circa 2005. Everything felt cluttered, unprofessional, tired and clichéd, from HUDs to game design. No feeling of atmosphere is generated, just a remote, detached experience, like never fully connecting with the game. An initial mission left me lost, wandering directionless in both goal and location. A further attempt to get sucked in led to a depth free encounter that left me reaching for the eject button. If you liked Oblivion, you'll love this, if however you want a true next gen title (like so many of the others on release this Christmas) avoid. Expand
  9. AlexPrince
    Nov 24, 2008
    3
    Visually very impressive once you get outside the Vault, but really not very interactive as a game. Almost exactly the same as Oblivion, so if you don't like that, don't bother with this.

    I will admit to only spending 2-3 hours on it, but REALLY BORED after the first 30 minutes and only kept going because i thought 'this has to get better'!
    Not for me.
  10. DavidGreen
    Dec 16, 2008
    3
    The graphics were nice. Outside of that, the game was a complete puzzle. The following question kept repeating in my head throughout the 3 hours of playtime I had with the game before I gave it back - "what in the heck am I doing?" This is the first game I got a serious headache from ... AND I've played all the Tomb Raider games to the end.
  11. Sep 27, 2010
    4
    Bah, Fallout 3. When I bought it, I thought it was going to be interesting, but I was horribly mistaken. The world is HUGE! A little bit too huge, I f you ask me. I couldn't get very far without getting lost. The map doesn't help very much, and during the time when I was lost, I was pwned by around 4 big monster deals with miniguns.I'm not afraid to say that me and Dogmeat didn't lastBah, Fallout 3. When I bought it, I thought it was going to be interesting, but I was horribly mistaken. The world is HUGE! A little bit too huge, I f you ask me. I couldn't get very far without getting lost. The map doesn't help very much, and during the time when I was lost, I was pwned by around 4 big monster deals with miniguns.I'm not afraid to say that me and Dogmeat didn't last long, especially with the crappy weapon life. Why didn't they make the weapon health system like Oblivion? Expand
  12. Dec 14, 2010
    4
    It's a good game but the console version should be avoided at all costs! I have never had so many bugs and crashes in a game before. This is what could happen if you port a game meant for the PC on a console. All those bugs and crashes ruined the game for me and I heard New Vegas was the same. Play the PC version, not this.
  13. Apr 11, 2012
    4
    For most people, Fallout 3 will be a wonderful experience. For me... I just couldn't get my head around shooting at something like an FPS but never being able to hit it because of level stats. If you're not supposed to use the FPS aiming system, why put it in the game? If physically aiming at a guy's head with a sniper rifle counts for nothing, why bother giving us a scope? I know it's anFor most people, Fallout 3 will be a wonderful experience. For me... I just couldn't get my head around shooting at something like an FPS but never being able to hit it because of level stats. If you're not supposed to use the FPS aiming system, why put it in the game? If physically aiming at a guy's head with a sniper rifle counts for nothing, why bother giving us a scope? I know it's an RPG and you're supposed to use the VATS system, but the hybrid aspects of the game just totally killed it for me. Expand
  14. Apr 7, 2012
    2
    I don't know where to startâ
  15. May 8, 2012
    0
    I really did hate everything about this game. It just wasn't for me at all. Especially the control setup.. But pretty much everything was hot garbage in my opinion.
  16. Apr 13, 2013
    0
    too many freezes during the game. It's an absolute shame. Each time i play, at one point, my console stop working, only with this damn game. One advice to Bethesda: learn to program games.
  17. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucksthis game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucksthis game sucks this game sucks this game sucks Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Oct 27, 2010
    76
    Until you can play the game without unpredictable crashing and quirky issues surprising you it's going to be tough to find the maximum amount of fun I know this title can offer.
  2. 100
    This is the kind of hugely ambitious game that doesn't come around very often, and when it does, you'd be a fool not to play it and enjoy the hell out of it and look forward to the day (next-next-gen?) when the fidelity of open-world RPGs takes another big step closer to the uncanny valley's far side.
  3. 94
    It's rare that a game can hit the mark in so many different and often conflicting areas. Fallout 3 offers freedom without sacrificing a focused story. It delivers fantastic combat without forgoing a deep role-playing system. The characters you meet are engaging and oftentimes hilarious without feeling out of place in this harsh world.