User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 762 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 87 out of 762

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    Fallout 3 is a massive game and to this day I still haven't even scratched the surface, but I've played for about 10 hours on my current character and it manages to at least nearly equal Oblivion. It's not quite as amazing as Oblivion was when it released, but it comes close. The combat is great and the quests dynamic. There's little to complain about, except for the bugs which are commonFallout 3 is a massive game and to this day I still haven't even scratched the surface, but I've played for about 10 hours on my current character and it manages to at least nearly equal Oblivion. It's not quite as amazing as Oblivion was when it released, but it comes close. The combat is great and the quests dynamic. There's little to complain about, except for the bugs which are common in every Bethesda game. Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    Wow. Only 5,000 character reviews allowed? That's not nearly enough to describe the beauty of this game. But anyways, guess what? This game is one of the best games ever. Bioshock and Fallout 3 are the best FPS-RPG hybrids in the world. And guess what? They both came out for the PS3 at roughly the same date. Bioshock came a week earlier on the PS3, and I say the PS3 because Bioshock didn'tWow. Only 5,000 character reviews allowed? That's not nearly enough to describe the beauty of this game. But anyways, guess what? This game is one of the best games ever. Bioshock and Fallout 3 are the best FPS-RPG hybrids in the world. And guess what? They both came out for the PS3 at roughly the same date. Bioshock came a week earlier on the PS3, and I say the PS3 because Bioshock didn't come out on the PS3 until about a year after every other version. Anyways, what can I say? You're born, and you make your gender, name, looks, etc. Then you're suddenly 1 year old, and you're introduced to the actual mechanics. Then you're 10, and you're given your Pip-Boy, along with a BB-Gun for your birthday. Then you're 16, and you have to take a test to see where you fit into in the world. Then you're 19, and for some reason, your dad is gone. He disappeared and escaped from your home, vault 101. Vaults are underground shelters, and were created because of the ongoing Nuclear War. Everyone is looking for you since they apparently think you know where he is, which you really don't. After a few tasks, you get out into the real world. Now, this is all the reason why this game got a 9 instead of a 10. The intro, and that's really my only grudge, other then a few glitches. The real world is nothing like you're used to. It's a barren wasteland that you don't even recognize. You go to a nearby town to find more about your father and where the hell he went, and that's about the point that I got to. Now, the great thing about this game is the amount of options. You can choose to shoot the head, the torso, the right arm, the left arm, the weapon, the right leg, and the left leg in the brilliant system known as V.A.T.S. You can choose side quests. You can choose to save people. You can choose to kill people. Even the conversations have options. No matter what, you always have a say in what you do. The combat is the weakest part, though. Even though that's not saying much. That's like saying that 1 YouTube video is worse then the best YouTube video. The combat doesn't feel like how combat in a FPS should be. Bioshock did combat better. But other then that, this is one of the greatest games in existence. And this is where I draw the line. Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2010
    8
    read it if you are new to fallout series
    I never played any of the fallout games. I bought it because i have some friends that love it and i decided to give it a try. I played the game for a few hours and simply couldnt understand what was going on.. or what should i do... I was completely lost.
    After a few months i decided to give it another try, and it took a while but i learned to
    read it if you are new to fallout series
    I never played any of the fallout games. I bought it because i have some friends that love it and i decided to give it a try. I played the game for a few hours and simply couldnt understand what was going on.. or what should i do... I was completely lost.
    After a few months i decided to give it another try, and it took a while but i learned to enjoy the game. It can be really exhaustive sometimes, but in a general it was good fun and in a way, a masterpiece of freedom of choices, I must confess i was really disappointed by the ending , i actually ended the game thinking I was in a side mission.. But the game is like this: most of the times you end up choosing a path without really knowing what will be the consequences. Although this is its weakest point its also the best thing about the game.
    Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    Not much to say about this game, other than that the hours I have logged playing it show me how much I thoroughly enjoyed it. The characters are realistic and interactive, and the story is very personal and well written. The one real complaint I had was that after the final mission we could not roam the wasteland afterwards, however one of the DLC fixed that.
  5. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    I was hesitant to pick up this game because I had not played the former fallout games. But when i finally took the plunge, I had no regrets. It obviously runs on the same engine as oblivion, but with major improvements. Loved this game, the moment i stepped out of the vault and into the capital wasteland. Kept me busy for around 100 plus hours. The only thing I wish it had was a buggy orI was hesitant to pick up this game because I had not played the former fallout games. But when i finally took the plunge, I had no regrets. It obviously runs on the same engine as oblivion, but with major improvements. Loved this game, the moment i stepped out of the vault and into the capital wasteland. Kept me busy for around 100 plus hours. The only thing I wish it had was a buggy or some kind of bike to get you around quicker. The usual glitches appear here, as they did in oblivion. Main storyline is ridiculously short, and lackluster, but the side quests are awesome and well thought up. Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    If there were ever a time to call a video game art this would be it..
    This game is nothing short of a master piece, unique and interesting characters, fantastic dialogue and story, an unbelievable amount of things to do without out it ever feeling repetitive or bland..

    Definitely worthy of the hype!
  7. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    A great game, a change of perspective in RPG, amazing story-line a must buy and play, like all other Bethesda games had some problems in the launch, but like always they fixed with the patches, game is amazing, suck you in, game play difficulty can be changed on the run, like the other Bethesda titles and everything else that makes a perfect game.
  8. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Amazing voice acting, amazing story line, gameplay, DLC, quests, exploring. What more could an RPG player ask for? Bethesda just excels at everything in the RPG category! 10/10
  9. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Utterly amazing. Long hours of game-play, amazing story line, many side quests, large map, and amazing DLC. This is my favorite game, my previous being Fallout: New Vegas.
  10. Jan 10, 2011
    9
    Looking for a fun rpg with a huge open world? Fallout 3 is for you. It has some nice graphics with long quests. The only problem is that it crashes sometimes, but its rare that it will happen.
  11. May 28, 2011
    10
    As with GTA,turning the series into 3D has worked phenomenally.An utter brilliant game and worthy of the many awards it received.Though not without the oddglitch or annoyance,Fallout 3 is one of the best games ever made and will steal a hundred hours of your time without trying.The DLC packs are mainly excellent with Broken Steel and Point Lookout being the better of them.Buy it and waitAs with GTA,turning the series into 3D has worked phenomenally.An utter brilliant game and worthy of the many awards it received.Though not without the oddglitch or annoyance,Fallout 3 is one of the best games ever made and will steal a hundred hours of your time without trying.The DLC packs are mainly excellent with Broken Steel and Point Lookout being the better of them.Buy it and wait impatiently for Fallout 4. Expand
  12. Yggdrasil
    Nov 17, 2008
    6
    Tries to catch the spirit of the old Fallout-Games but is only partly successful. Graphics look nice, but character-animation and graphics are a little outdated (Oblivion-engine). Some graphical hick-ups and minor bugs (GOAT-test does not start under certain conditions, etc.). In my opinion the game is only "worth" around 70-75%, but not 100%.
  13. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    now if you are a fan of games like oblivion and morrowind . fallout 3 is your game with guns instead of swords and a nuclear waste land instead of a medevil setting. Fallout 3 improves alot of what the prevous games did . the first much faster load times , alot less buggy and glitchy then the others , the combat system is the most fun of the 3. now i never played the prevous fall out gamesnow if you are a fan of games like oblivion and morrowind . fallout 3 is your game with guns instead of swords and a nuclear waste land instead of a medevil setting. Fallout 3 improves alot of what the prevous games did . the first much faster load times , alot less buggy and glitchy then the others , the combat system is the most fun of the 3. now i never played the prevous fall out games i know i heard a few people saying they liked the older way better and didnt care of the elder scrolls style update they did . i really cant comment since i hadnt played the originals but i know what i like and i really like this game. there are a Ton of things to do in this game , a story that not amazing is entertaining enough to keep you moving foward , lots of places to explore , going good or evil makes for a fun replay . i dont know how Grand Theft Auto 4 beat this out for game of the year . Expand
  14. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    This is a great enjoyable game which i have completed several times. Although it freezes quite often and is very annoying to play on the ps3. also the add-ons for this game add plenty more hours of game play and unique items,weapons and armour.
  15. dlord
    Jan 26, 2009
    6
    too long, too many repetitive side missions and worst of all game kept freezing!!!! did enjoy playing but too many problems and life is too short for that!
  16. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    For me, there weren't any bugs, especially in the PS3 GOTY version. I had a great time playing this game and was able to get 100% and all the trophies in about 80 hours. This was a great game through and through, and deserved to be GOTY 2008. Only about 5 freezes throughout my experience with this game, and all of them were caused by trying to do glitches. Buy this game if you wantFor me, there weren't any bugs, especially in the PS3 GOTY version. I had a great time playing this game and was able to get 100% and all the trophies in about 80 hours. This was a great game through and through, and deserved to be GOTY 2008. Only about 5 freezes throughout my experience with this game, and all of them were caused by trying to do glitches. Buy this game if you want something new. I wasn't disappointed at all with this game. With Oblivion getting me hyped for this release, i wasn't surprised on how good this game was. 10/10 Expand
  17. Apr 16, 2011
    7
    I bought the Game of the year addition with all of the five dlc created for it. It only cost me $20. Considering that this was game of the year back in 2007, it hasn't age very well. The graphics pretty dull for a Bethesda game that had put out Oblivion the year before this one. But like Oblivion, the npcs have no personality and you find yourself in a very lonely non-interactive worldI bought the Game of the year addition with all of the five dlc created for it. It only cost me $20. Considering that this was game of the year back in 2007, it hasn't age very well. The graphics pretty dull for a Bethesda game that had put out Oblivion the year before this one. But like Oblivion, the npcs have no personality and you find yourself in a very lonely non-interactive world doing people favors. Its not suppose to be a shooter game, although you can attempt to use your controller to take shots at enemies but you'll waste rounds and get killed very quickly. Instead you need to rely on something called V.A.T.S that is an automatic targeting system that allows you to create damage against your enemies. So in essence, it's Fallout 3's way of using the RPG standard of tactical combat effected by your level and skills, just like another game that came out that same year, Mass Effect. Unlike Mass Effect though, it doesn't have a story to make you want to keep coming back to play. The whole story is that your Dad has left the security of the vault without telling you why and you leave to go find him, or not. It's an open world, so if you wish to go and collect old ashtrays, books, and bottlecaps for trade and wander the Wasteland. I never knew the Post-Apocalyptic world could be soooooo boring. Expand
  18. AdamH
    Nov 5, 2008
    5
    As a big fan of the previous canon Fallout games, I was very excited about Fallout 3. I bought the game the first day and sold it the 2nd day. After thinking about it, I do honestly think it's what a modern Fallout game would translate to. That being said, I had major problems with the game. For one, there should be a more expedient way to create a character (after the first time). As a big fan of the previous canon Fallout games, I was very excited about Fallout 3. I bought the game the first day and sold it the 2nd day. After thinking about it, I do honestly think it's what a modern Fallout game would translate to. That being said, I had major problems with the game. For one, there should be a more expedient way to create a character (after the first time). Second, for as far as I got before returning it, the game's V.A.T.S. system is far too powerful. I played a peaceful speech based character on Very Hard. Never put a point into Small Guns, but the vast majority of my enemies went down in a spray of close range headshots from my starting pistol without touching me. A non-combatant character should not be able to take down an entire group of raiders - these people kill people for a living. Overall, the game will be a big favorite of some players, but a great disappoint to some. Expand
  19. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    I heard that this game was an amazing open world free choice game and yes there is a big open world but free choice isn't really to say. You only ever have 2 ways of really doing things right and wrong that's not really ultimate choice. It's great that there is a big open world but that's one of this games biggest downfalls. You get a quest find out that's it's somewhere on the other sideI heard that this game was an amazing open world free choice game and yes there is a big open world but free choice isn't really to say. You only ever have 2 ways of really doing things right and wrong that's not really ultimate choice. It's great that there is a big open world but that's one of this games biggest downfalls. You get a quest find out that's it's somewhere on the other side of the map you haven't been and have to spend an hour getting there constantly saving every 10 minutes cause there's SO many bugs in this game. This is what let me down the most. How can a game be released with so many critical bugs. I know bugs in software happen and to fix them you usually break something else but come on. At the moment I'm trying to do The Pitt add on and the game is running at a slide show if at all. There are some many game breaking bugs that the game isn't enjoyable to play in the slightest. The only reason I'm still playing is cause I'm a completist and don't want to feel like I wasted 34 bucks. Also another terrible feature about the game is the shooting mechanics it never seems to actually go where you want to and trying to aim with the controller is nearly impossible (now you know why we have VATS the devs couldn't make a shooter engine). Even if you do opt for manual shooting the games frame rate drops to a standstill whenever a gun fight occurs. I do not understand how this is such a highly regarded game IT SUCKS DON'T BUY IT. Expand
  20. Jul 18, 2013
    4
    Fallout 3 was sitting on my shelve for years. The first time I tried to play it I got so bored in the vault that I never even made it out. Recently I've been having trouble finding a good game to play because I've played just about everything already so I decided to give Fallout 3 another shot. Once I got out of the vault it started to get better and I thought it was going to be great. ButFallout 3 was sitting on my shelve for years. The first time I tried to play it I got so bored in the vault that I never even made it out. Recently I've been having trouble finding a good game to play because I've played just about everything already so I decided to give Fallout 3 another shot. Once I got out of the vault it started to get better and I thought it was going to be great. But now I'm into it maybe ten or twelve hours and it is just so boring. There is this great big world out there but nothing to do in it. The first person shooting is just horrible (how cool would this game be if you got to blast your way through the world on your way to your quest points). I get killed over and over until I get lucky and escape with a couple of health bars left--whoopee. I can't find anything of any real value to sell so I have no money to stock up on anything. I have to drink out of toilets to get my health back because I can't even afford stimpacks. I can't find a larger backpack so I can't even pick up more loot once my pack is full which happens pretty quickly. Everything gets broken and it costs more to repair it than the item is even worth. The missions are just dreadful. I've been playing for hours trying to deliver a stupid letter going here and then going there and here and there having to save every five seconds in case I get killed, having to talk to boring, stiff, monotonous characters with no personality. When I kill some creature it's not exciting it's just a relief because now I can continue walking, and walking, and walking. If it wasn't for online walkthrough advice I wouldn't even have gotten this far. I mean, who would have thought that to find the "family" you had to go into that certain building, then into that certain room, then into that certain passageway, then through that certain tunnel, then backtrack to go the other way, then bride someone, then oh come on already I'm just trying to deliver a stupid letter!! Expand
  21. AM
    Sep 13, 2009
    4
    I was really really looking forward to this , and had to wait ages before coming under 15 quid. So one day I snapped it up for 11 , I was over the moon , then I got home , and sadness washed over me . After all the acclaim it got , I thought it'd be amazing , but oh no , it was just horrible , from the wierd start to when you escape the vault , it just was such a mess.Terrible I was really really looking forward to this , and had to wait ages before coming under 15 quid. So one day I snapped it up for 11 , I was over the moon , then I got home , and sadness washed over me . After all the acclaim it got , I thought it'd be amazing , but oh no , it was just horrible , from the wierd start to when you escape the vault , it just was such a mess.Terrible graphics , stupid talking and quests that have you just running round doing bugger all , and since the world is so huge , there should be lots to do , that is fun , but it just wasn't. It was like taking a massive cool world and then filling it with 1960s ish rubbishness (if that's a word), the only good thing is the title , because me and the game had a massive Fallout. Expand
  22. Nov 17, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. for what was a very creative and fun game series, fallout NV and 3 set an all time low. Sure, fallout 3 and NV pulled the series to 3d and open, and i admit it was kind of fun, but that fun was ruined by the major bugs, freezes, glitches and crashes i experienced on my copy. it happened on my PC,ps3 and 360 copies so its not my system. This is a very crap game that does not deserve a sequel. If 4 gets made, it must not be developed by obsidian and not use that crap gamebryo engine. I cant even tell you how bad the DLC makes it. Its unplayable after 3 hours gameplay. its like it purposly freezes to tick you off! Expand
  23. NaveedIqbal
    Dec 14, 2008
    0
    Me being a huge fan of the fallout series spent 80 pounds( roughly 160 dollars) on the collectors edition the second it was available for purchase and half an hour into the game I was shocked with the HUGE volume of bugs the were ignored by bethesda. I feel conned and want my money back. DO NOT PURCHASE.
  24. TylerC.
    Oct 28, 2008
    9
    I pre-ordered this at gamestop and I can't wait to go pick it up and play this all night tonight! This gmae looks amazing and the fact that it's a RPG and a shooter, makes it even better. I also am getting LBP, so I will have plenty to do within the week.
  25. adamm
    Aug 8, 2009
    5
    I was really , really REALLY looking forward to this , i spent months looking around for it cheap and just couldn't believe when i saw it for 13 quid !
    I even traded in Tomb raider underworld for 6 , taking off 6 quid for the game aswell ! Then the game loaded up , my heart swelled up , and i nearly vomited at the graphics , and the story lacked any form of dramatic oomph. It's
    I was really , really REALLY looking forward to this , i spent months looking around for it cheap and just couldn't believe when i saw it for 13 quid !
    I even traded in Tomb raider underworld for 6 , taking off 6 quid for the game aswell ! Then the game loaded up , my heart swelled up , and i nearly vomited at the graphics , and the story lacked any form of dramatic oomph. It's just so buggy , it could've been a 3 out of 10 if i played for more than 2 hours . I miss you now lara...
    Expand
  26. BaltazarH
    Jan 16, 2010
    9
    Amazing game. The Developers went to great lengths to fill D.C. with interesting characters and millions of things to do. Gives the player a lot of freedom to play however he/she desires. When you talk about a game that is worth every dollar money, Fallout is it. The only reason it gave it a 9 was because it crashed on me 20% of the time that I was playing it...but it's such a great Amazing game. The Developers went to great lengths to fill D.C. with interesting characters and millions of things to do. Gives the player a lot of freedom to play however he/she desires. When you talk about a game that is worth every dollar money, Fallout is it. The only reason it gave it a 9 was because it crashed on me 20% of the time that I was playing it...but it's such a great game that I just kept resetting and saving often...make sure to get the Game of the Year Edition. Expand
  27. Sammy
    Feb 4, 2009
    8
    Fallout 3 is most definitely a terrific game, yet its far from perfect. The world Bethesda created is truly amazing. The Wasteland is huge and is definitely rewarding to explore. The story is intriguing and well written, and the amount of voice acting in the game is incredible. The biggest enhancement to gameplay comes from the VATS system. It offers a refreshing change of pace and never Fallout 3 is most definitely a terrific game, yet its far from perfect. The world Bethesda created is truly amazing. The Wasteland is huge and is definitely rewarding to explore. The story is intriguing and well written, and the amount of voice acting in the game is incredible. The biggest enhancement to gameplay comes from the VATS system. It offers a refreshing change of pace and never gets old. However, the game suffers from many of the same problems as its predecessor, Oblivion. While the environment is highly detailed, the graphics in the game are somewhat of a letdown. There are low resolution textures, character models are mediocre at best, and the animations are surprisingly horrid. The character animations are so stiff and awkward that they become a distraction in key story moments. Unlike other players of the PS3 version, I did not experience many bugs at all with the most recent patch. The framerate and draw distance can falter at times, but it's nothing deal breaking. Gameplay is generally varied and well-paced, yet objectives are often unclear and fighting super mutants does get old after a while. Also worth noting is the excruciatingly slow walking speed of the character. Oblivion had a horse to make up for this, but in Fallout the player has no choice but to take it nice and slow. Overall, Bethesda depicts a clear and disturbing vision, although it is often clouded by a storm of minor faults. Expand
  28. JohnK.
    Nov 11, 2008
    0
    I was looking forward to this game being a huge fan of Fallout 1 and 2. I have played this game several hours and I am extremely disappointed in the end product. There are so many bugs that I cannot believe they are taking people's money for this game. If you check the Bethesda Fallout 3 PS 3 Hardware forum you will see what I am talking about. I am not only talking about minor I was looking forward to this game being a huge fan of Fallout 1 and 2. I have played this game several hours and I am extremely disappointed in the end product. There are so many bugs that I cannot believe they are taking people's money for this game. If you check the Bethesda Fallout 3 PS 3 Hardware forum you will see what I am talking about. I am not only talking about minor graphical glitches (which there are many of - ex. black screen for haircuts), I am talking about GAME ENDING bugs. The game will freeze in certain areas, your controller will stop working, and the only thing you can do is reset your system. This happens during one of the main storyline quests, making progression impossible. This also happens during various sidequests and sometimes while exploring. In other areas, when trying to exit/enter an area, the game will load a black screen and will require another reset. These are not fixed simply by reloading the game in an earlier save point and going back. It is something about the particular area that is bugged. You cannot do anything to progress. NPCs also have a habit of disappearing/dying from spawning at a great height then falling to their deaths. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. THE GAME IS BROKEN. Expand
  29. SHODAN
    Nov 5, 2008
    0
    In comparison to the earlier Black Isle Studios Fallouts, Bethesda's Fallout has: One-dimensional, illogical and forgettable characters with little to no personality. Simple, linear, unoriginal narrative. Poorly-written narrative. Poorly-written dialogue. Poorly-voiced dialogue. None of the series' trademark moral ambiguity. No real freedom (there are unkillable NPCs, In comparison to the earlier Black Isle Studios Fallouts, Bethesda's Fallout has: One-dimensional, illogical and forgettable characters with little to no personality. Simple, linear, unoriginal narrative. Poorly-written narrative. Poorly-written dialogue. Poorly-voiced dialogue. None of the series' trademark moral ambiguity. No real freedom (there are unkillable NPCs, unavoidable combat etc.). No real choices or consequences. Tactical combat has been removed. Importance of skills/perks/traits removed. Traits removed. Psychologically and emotionally complex quests no longer present. Nuclear power was a feared thing in post-apocalyptic Fallout, and the issue was dealt with intelligently with much subtle social commentary. In Fallout 3, you can shoot nuclear-powered cars with your nuclear catapult (early in the game...), in a town built around an unexploded nuclear bomb. Fallout 3 fails to deal with any of the interesting human issues that Fallout did. The game lacks any semblance of thoughtfulness. It's also shorter. And easier. The game abuses and contradicts established lore. Fallout 3 fails to even pathetically imitate it's decade-old predecessors' design, originality or meaningfullness. Let alone exceed it. Even when considered, unfairly, outside the context of being a sequel, it is an exceptionally arrogant, incompetent and poorly designed game all on its own. The animations are clunky and awkward. AI is atrocious. Combat is awkward. World textures and character models are ugly and lacking. Art direction is poor. Much of the crowded (who would have thought nuclear winter would be so claustrophobic?) "wasteland" is sloppily and lazily copy-pasted from place to place. The musical score is uninspired and in the style of LOTR-esque epic-fantasy (in fact it sounds very similar to Oblvion...) - which is completely inappropriate in this game's setting. To top it off, the whole thing is buggy and poorly optimized. And Bethesda's attitude towards the original games' fans has been utterly pathetic. Expand
  30. JonD.
    Nov 12, 2008
    4
    I just didn't get it at all, after some great presentation setting my hopes up for a quality gaming experience, it fell away to what looks like a PC game circa 2005. Everything felt cluttered, unprofessional, tired and clichéd, from HUDs to game design. No feeling of atmosphere is generated, just a remote, detached experience, like never fully connecting with the game. An I just didn't get it at all, after some great presentation setting my hopes up for a quality gaming experience, it fell away to what looks like a PC game circa 2005. Everything felt cluttered, unprofessional, tired and clichéd, from HUDs to game design. No feeling of atmosphere is generated, just a remote, detached experience, like never fully connecting with the game. An initial mission left me lost, wandering directionless in both goal and location. A further attempt to get sucked in led to a depth free encounter that left me reaching for the eject button. If you liked Oblivion, you'll love this, if however you want a true next gen title (like so many of the others on release this Christmas) avoid. Expand
  31. AlexPrince
    Nov 24, 2008
    3
    Visually very impressive once you get outside the Vault, but really not very interactive as a game. Almost exactly the same as Oblivion, so if you don't like that, don't bother with this.

    I will admit to only spending 2-3 hours on it, but REALLY BORED after the first 30 minutes and only kept going because i thought 'this has to get better'!
    Not for me.
  32. DavidGreen
    Dec 16, 2008
    3
    The graphics were nice. Outside of that, the game was a complete puzzle. The following question kept repeating in my head throughout the 3 hours of playtime I had with the game before I gave it back - "what in the heck am I doing?" This is the first game I got a serious headache from ... AND I've played all the Tomb Raider games to the end.
  33. Joshb
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    So i got fallout after all the youtube videos and checking out the reviews from people i trust and after playing the game for 4 hours it is not leaving my ps3 that said i am not 1 to criticize heavily on stupid glitches it plays great the world is so huge you have to explore everything and the story is great. That said i keep going and going i want to play this game several times just to So i got fallout after all the youtube videos and checking out the reviews from people i trust and after playing the game for 4 hours it is not leaving my ps3 that said i am not 1 to criticize heavily on stupid glitches it plays great the world is so huge you have to explore everything and the story is great. That said i keep going and going i want to play this game several times just to see the way things play out with every choice. it is easily the best game of 2008. Gta 4 was great but this is something else. If you liked Elder Scrolls IV or you are a fan of real time rpgs. pick this up. my brother watched me play for about an hour then left to go pick it up. Expand
  34. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    Ironic that the game takes place in 2077, yet I feel nothing will surpass this glorious piece of emotion evoking digital art for perhaps 8 decades. Fallout 3 is open, yet constricted. Enormous but precise. It's simplified complexity. This game boils everything beautiful about playing an action adventure game into some of the most simple pleasures. It's as if I'm watching an over theIronic that the game takes place in 2077, yet I feel nothing will surpass this glorious piece of emotion evoking digital art for perhaps 8 decades. Fallout 3 is open, yet constricted. Enormous but precise. It's simplified complexity. This game boils everything beautiful about playing an action adventure game into some of the most simple pleasures. It's as if I'm watching an over the top action movie and fast forwarding to all of the action packed sequences and replaying them in slow motion over and over. The character development is unmatched for anything in it's genre, along with some of the most convincing voice acting I've ever come by. Fallout 3 is, was, and always will be, the future. Expand
  35. Sep 27, 2010
    4
    Bah, Fallout 3. When I bought it, I thought it was going to be interesting, but I was horribly mistaken. The world is HUGE! A little bit too huge, I f you ask me. I couldn't get very far without getting lost. The map doesn't help very much, and during the time when I was lost, I was pwned by around 4 big monster deals with miniguns.I'm not afraid to say that me and Dogmeat didn't lastBah, Fallout 3. When I bought it, I thought it was going to be interesting, but I was horribly mistaken. The world is HUGE! A little bit too huge, I f you ask me. I couldn't get very far without getting lost. The map doesn't help very much, and during the time when I was lost, I was pwned by around 4 big monster deals with miniguns.I'm not afraid to say that me and Dogmeat didn't last long, especially with the crappy weapon life. Why didn't they make the weapon health system like Oblivion? Expand
  36. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    This game is decent, for an RPG lover it will be a fun experience from start to end. The atmosphere and is well crafted and you will immerse yourself in the setting. The main problem I had with this game was the combat, it's super simple and after a while it gets repetitive and boring. This game would have been a classic if it wasn't for the silly combat.
  37. Dec 14, 2010
    4
    It's a good game but the console version should be avoided at all costs! I have never had so many bugs and crashes in a game before. This is what could happen if you port a game meant for the PC on a console. All those bugs and crashes ruined the game for me and I heard New Vegas was the same. Play the PC version, not this.
  38. Apr 11, 2012
    4
    For most people, Fallout 3 will be a wonderful experience. For me... I just couldn't get my head around shooting at something like an FPS but never being able to hit it because of level stats. If you're not supposed to use the FPS aiming system, why put it in the game? If physically aiming at a guy's head with a sniper rifle counts for nothing, why bother giving us a scope? I know it's anFor most people, Fallout 3 will be a wonderful experience. For me... I just couldn't get my head around shooting at something like an FPS but never being able to hit it because of level stats. If you're not supposed to use the FPS aiming system, why put it in the game? If physically aiming at a guy's head with a sniper rifle counts for nothing, why bother giving us a scope? I know it's an RPG and you're supposed to use the VATS system, but the hybrid aspects of the game just totally killed it for me. Expand
  39. Jan 1, 2011
    9
    I say this game would be a ten but the problem is that it has too many bugs and freezing issues. Other than that this game is amazing. So amazing I beat it 4 times, and there are very few games I beat more than once
  40. Mar 24, 2011
    8
    this game was pretty good i loved it and i have played through a couple times but i wish that it had a few more side misions or that it wasnt always the same ending and would it have killed them to do more misions i mean the map is absolutly HUGE but there is only a couple places that things actually happen in but i still loved it and will play through it many more times in the future andthis game was pretty good i loved it and i have played through a couple times but i wish that it had a few more side misions or that it wasnt always the same ending and would it have killed them to do more misions i mean the map is absolutly HUGE but there is only a couple places that things actually happen in but i still loved it and will play through it many more times in the future and is a must buy especially now that it is only 15$ Expand
  41. May 1, 2011
    6
    Generally decent with okay graphics. Quests and NPCs are dull and repetitive, making for some very boring moments. The weapons are good, but are very overpowered, even on the Very Hard difficulty setting. The enemies aren't very varied, so you will often encounter many of the same enemies. The voice acting is okay but is ruined by horrible lip syncing in nearly every character. The 360 andGenerally decent with okay graphics. Quests and NPCs are dull and repetitive, making for some very boring moments. The weapons are good, but are very overpowered, even on the Very Hard difficulty setting. The enemies aren't very varied, so you will often encounter many of the same enemies. The voice acting is okay but is ruined by horrible lip syncing in nearly every character. The 360 and PC versions run smoothly and look fine, but unfortunately the PS3 version pushes the console to its very limits and thus crashes often. The textures look washed out and the same goes for the graphics. Also very glitchy. All in all, a game that received more hype than it deserved. Expand
  42. Jun 5, 2011
    6
    A bit repetitive but overall fairly fun. Biggest complaint is that the enemies don't get harder the longer you play. Also, after you get to level 4 or so there's no need to search anything (lockers, desks, etc.) other than the enemies you kill.
  43. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    Story: 9 out of 10
    Graphics: 8 out of 10
    Gameplay: 9 out of 10
    Fun: 10 out of 10 (depending on difficulty)
    Controls: 9 out of 10
    Ease to Learn: 8 out of 10
    Length: 9 out of 10
    Re-play: 10 out of 10
    Audio: 8 out of 10
    Bugs/Glitches: 5 out of 10
  44. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    Its a good game, But it gets old quick. If you want a really good game cheack out Skyrim Best game outIts a good game, But it gets old quick. If you want a really good game cheack out Skyrim Best game out there!...........................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  45. Apr 7, 2012
    2
    I don't know where to startâ
  46. May 8, 2012
    0
    I really did hate everything about this game. It just wasn't for me at all. Especially the control setup.. But pretty much everything was hot garbage in my opinion.
  47. Mar 23, 2013
    6
    You can do a lot, but this is easily holds the most instances freezing up I've ever had on a PS3 game. The combat is pretty clumsy too. I applaud the scope and premise, but wish it played smoother.
  48. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    This is the Fallout 3 that I came to know and love but on PS3! The only downside is how it runs on PS3. If you can get past occasional lag, then this will be an unforgettable experience. Disregard the naysayers and pick this up!
  49. Apr 13, 2013
    0
    too many freezes during the game. It's an absolute shame. Each time i play, at one point, my console stop working, only with this damn game. One advice to Bethesda: learn to program games.
  50. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucksthis game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucksthis game sucks this game sucks this game sucks Expand
  51. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    I never played the originals, so I can't judge this game as a fan of them. But Fallout 3, in my honest and humble opinion, is the best game of last generation. There is no other game (apart from the recent Grand Theft Auto 5) where i started playing it and watched with child like wonder (ironic considering its explicit adult content.) Sure it has its issues, the overall story isI never played the originals, so I can't judge this game as a fan of them. But Fallout 3, in my honest and humble opinion, is the best game of last generation. There is no other game (apart from the recent Grand Theft Auto 5) where i started playing it and watched with child like wonder (ironic considering its explicit adult content.) Sure it has its issues, the overall story is forgettable but not insultingly terrible. The graphics are only serviceable but improved significantly by the incredible art design. There are glitches, lots of them, but it's forgivable considering the scope of the game and the hardware. But all these minor issues are easily outweighed by everything Bethseda did right; such as; longevity, cool thought out quests, a great soundtrack (original and the radio tracks) and the outright amazing lore of the post apocalyptic world. Seriously if you haven't played this game, go to the store and buy the GOTY edition for like £25. It seriously offers ten fold the content some new, £55 games do on the next gen consoles. Expand
  52. Sep 13, 2014
    6
    I am The Destroyer. I will break games, complain about the littlest detail, and tell you whether or not the game is worth buying. A lot of things to say, but can't due to the 5000 character limit. The review is based on the original Fallout 3 game for PS3, without DLC.

    1. Story In the beginning, you are growing up with your father in an underground bunker called a Vault, located in the
    I am The Destroyer. I will break games, complain about the littlest detail, and tell you whether or not the game is worth buying. A lot of things to say, but can't due to the 5000 character limit. The review is based on the original Fallout 3 game for PS3, without DLC.

    1. Story
    In the beginning, you are growing up with your father in an underground bunker called a Vault, located in the north-western parts of Washington D.C. As you grow up it gives you the various tutorials on how to play the game. Once it's done, **** hits the fan, and your father leaves the vault with no explanation. The story revolves around you, the Lone Wanderer, trying to find your father in the Capital Wasteland, a world that was desecrated by nuclear war. Now as you get further in, the story won't feel all that interesting compared to other video games you may have played, but by the end it will feel like it has a meaning.

    2. Voice Acting
    Unfortunately most of the voice acting isn't all that great. In fact, it unbalanced! Super Mutants sound constipated when talking. Civilian and town resident voice lacking enthusiasm in anything they do or say. Even the voice actors of the raiders and robo mechs have more believability than the characters you speak to during the main storyline. Guess that what happens when you have to roleplay 30 different characters in a single game: you get tired of it. Fortunately, it won't take you out of the Fallout moment.

    3. Graphics and Visuals
    Gameplay was put before the graphics this time. Even in HD it still has the looks of an original Xbox or PS2 game. While some areas are withstand-able to look at, other areas are downright ugly and can take you out of the Fallout 3 moment.

    4. Gameplay
    Gameplay refers to combat, customization & level up, and various areas you can explore within the game. Put it all together and it's deserves the highest rating possible!

    -Battle System-
    There are many different ways you can play the battle system in this game. You can play stealthy, snipe them, run in guns blazing, place frag mines down and have your foes run into them as they chase you, or just blow their guts out with the good-old fashion Missile Launcher. And these are just examples. You'll find other ways to play this game, each tactic feeling more satisfying as the other.

    -Customization-
    The customization looks pretty but the level up system is quite broken. Any perks that give you a skill point increase with no special ability is essentially worthless! And if you don't level yourself correctly, you can easily screw yourself in the worst possible fashion! A sour taste is left in your mouth at lvl 20 when you realize you should have picked this "perk" at level 5 or 10. You'll wind up having to do multiple playthroughs just to get the perfect stats that you desire, leaving you frustrated in between.

    -Exploration-
    Though the graphic aren't great to look at, the exploration was. It's an epic feeling to enter an abandoned building or subway to find what's inside. When traversing the overworld, you are in constant pressure of being attacked by various dangers of the wasteland! Areas that may feel bland & boring can change at a moments notice as some nasty creature spawns from nowhere and forces you to utilize your survival tactics. Any game that makes you feel that much suspense deserves phrase!

    5. Soundtrack
    The soundtrack is highly forgettable, including the radio stations! No disrespect to music legends such as The Ink Spots, Jack Shaindlin, and many others, or Bethesda for making the generic music, but none of these tracks fit in a shooting game. Fortunately it gives you the option to turn off the music all-together so it isn't that bad.

    6. Bugs & Glitches
    This is where the experience destroys you! They're everywhere! ... EVERYWHERE!!!! Bugs existing in every single quest. Bugs that still aren't fully listed on fallout.wikia.com . If it didn't trigger on your first playthrough, it will be waiting for you on another playthrough! Without spoilers, here are some game ruining bugs that can happen to you...

    - Friendly NPCs will randomly become hostile even though you didn't wrong them in anyway.
    - Big Town residents found dead inside their houses. (not outside)
    - NPCs missing dialogue, or won't talk upon interaction.
    - Game frequently crashing when traversing the Wasteland!!!
    - Quest characters disappearing from the game, making the quest impossible to finish.
    - Companions disappearing from the game, with no way to hire new ones.

    7. Personal Enjoyment
    Completely gone when the bugs start.

    8. Overall Verdict
    While the game has some amazing ideas, it flaws from massive bugs even after it's final patch. It's a shame for a masterpiece to become a disaster. For this reason alone I cannot give a recommendation to you consumers as to whether or not you should buy this game. The overall verdict is a 6 out of 10. With each bug experience being different, buying this game will be at your own risk.
    Expand
  53. [anonymous]
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    I have been a long time action adventure fan and shooter fan. But this is the most complete revolution in gaming since GTA3. The branching story, weapons, DLC, just keep this game going. This is probably my favorite game of all time. I loved the retro sci fi elements right down to the retro soundtrack that I didn't expect to like. The conversations are interesting, the combat is I have been a long time action adventure fan and shooter fan. But this is the most complete revolution in gaming since GTA3. The branching story, weapons, DLC, just keep this game going. This is probably my favorite game of all time. I loved the retro sci fi elements right down to the retro soundtrack that I didn't expect to like. The conversations are interesting, the combat is deep, it allows a semi turn based or real time shooter combat. Keeping an eye on loot is never boring, collecting the rare guns in this game is fun. This is one of the few games I haven't stopped playing after beating it. Expand
  54. MichelSabbagh
    Jan 7, 2009
    10
    9.5 actually. I never played a Fallout game before. But, I did when I got Fallout 3 for PS3 on Christmas. This game...is amazing. The soundtrack, the characters, the story, the atmosphere, the gameplay, the graphics: All of these factors are just succesful. There are some odd gameplay and deign choices, but I simply enjoyed this excellent RPG. BUY IT. It's my GOTY of 2008.
  55. philipc
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    this game like oblivion has a lot of things available for the user to do and gives the user a lot of free will in the way you go about doing missions. it creates a very realistic feel of a post apocalyptic world. this goes to far after a few hours you begin to feel depressed at that there is no hope for this world(mainly the music on the radio). thankfully the story has strong impact on this game like oblivion has a lot of things available for the user to do and gives the user a lot of free will in the way you go about doing missions. it creates a very realistic feel of a post apocalyptic world. this goes to far after a few hours you begin to feel depressed at that there is no hope for this world(mainly the music on the radio). thankfully the story has strong impact on the waste. giving hope to a place where there was none. despite it being kind of depressing the game was well done and well told giving the player a lot of choice of what happens. Expand
  56. MitchB.
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    This game was superb. Only comparable game I have played was Metal Gear Solid. The vast selection of things to do. The wide diversity of characters and items. And when you think you might have beat it. Theres still more, trust me, from add-ons to random encounters. The game never ends.
  57. AnonymousMC
    Nov 10, 2008
    8
    First off, this game has a great story, and so much to explore I lose hours of time searching every area I come across. The size of the world and everything there is to see and do really makes you feel like a part of the experience.

    There are some poor glitches I've come across that are kind of annoying. I've gotten stuck maybe a dozen times and have had to reload from my
    First off, this game has a great story, and so much to explore I lose hours of time searching every area I come across. The size of the world and everything there is to see and do really makes you feel like a part of the experience.

    There are some poor glitches I've come across that are kind of annoying. I've gotten stuck maybe a dozen times and have had to reload from my last save, the AI companies, though effective and nice to have, are riddled with glitches and the AI could be better. I don't know how much time I've spent pushing companions from stuck locations, zoning in and out of areas so they enter with me, and they have a tendency to run off and engage everything around them.

    With the undertaking of the size of the world and everything there is to see and do, I find the aforementioned issues pale in comparison to the actual game itself. When I first started playing the game, I really didn't like it a whole lot, however, now I'm damn near addicted and can't wait to uncover more of the map and see everything the game has to offer.
    Expand
  58. DouglasAder
    Feb 3, 2009
    10
    When advising people on games, its important that they understand what genres they like first. What a game gets rated is meaningless if it is not your genre. I rated this game a ten because it is well made but more importantly is the best mix of two majors genres to date: Shooter and RPG. Oblivion did a decent job of combining the two, but it had more of an RPG feel than a Shooter.When advising people on games, its important that they understand what genres they like first. What a game gets rated is meaningless if it is not your genre. I rated this game a ten because it is well made but more importantly is the best mix of two majors genres to date: Shooter and RPG. Oblivion did a decent job of combining the two, but it had more of an RPG feel than a Shooter. This is a dead even mix. If you like both Shooter Games and Role Playing Games, this is a must buy. Expand
  59. JimmiM
    Mar 29, 2009
    10
    Seriously, don't miss it! Its like all your post apocalyptic wet dreams all realized in one slick package. Fantastic pacing, creepy atmosphere. A truly massive open world to explore & conquer. One of the best games I've played in years (& I've been playing them a long time!).
  60. SpencerH.
    Jul 23, 2009
    9
    An amazing game from start to finish. Tons of content and side quests. The gameplay is fun and different, and the world is enormous. A few technical issues keep it from being perfect though, including framerate drops and occasional freezing. Overall, a must have for anyone.
  61. JamesD
    Jan 21, 2010
    9
    Fallout 3 has so many things going for it. A large open world, crazy mutants, diverse characters and some of the greatest fun known in videogaming. It looks rough around the edges but Fallout 3 has a classy retro style that makes its appeal so much more focused. Those who play it thinking it's an FPS will be disappointed but those who want an awesome RPG experience may look no Fallout 3 has so many things going for it. A large open world, crazy mutants, diverse characters and some of the greatest fun known in videogaming. It looks rough around the edges but Fallout 3 has a classy retro style that makes its appeal so much more focused. Those who play it thinking it's an FPS will be disappointed but those who want an awesome RPG experience may look no further. As far as immersive worlds go, this is right up here with Bioshock in terms of scope and depth to the beautifully wrecked environments. Simply put this is better than Oblivion. Expand
  62. BarryP.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    The best singleplayer experience on the PS3 bar none. It is literally a 50/50 mix of Oblivion and Bioshock, which were easily the 2 best singleplay games before this beasts release. Everything about it is epic in scope: the size of the world (just like Oblivion was), the weaponry, level up system, graphics and dialogue. This is game of the year for me and if GOW2 gets the award ahead of The best singleplayer experience on the PS3 bar none. It is literally a 50/50 mix of Oblivion and Bioshock, which were easily the 2 best singleplay games before this beasts release. Everything about it is epic in scope: the size of the world (just like Oblivion was), the weaponry, level up system, graphics and dialogue. This is game of the year for me and if GOW2 gets the award ahead of Fallout 3 there has to be some rigging going on as it just doesn't compare to this masterpiece. It's not a bowl of flashing colours graphically, don't get me wrong. It's gritty the way you kill people and quite gruesome and the environment is quite dark and creepy but that's what makes it so special. Buy it! Expand
  63. [Anonymous]
    Oct 29, 2008
    8
    It really is Fallout 3; the series' visual style and humor remain intact, and the look-and-feel really is good ol' Fallout 2 again. Aside from being faithful to the series, it's also a really good game (with a few small to medium quirks that keep it from being perfect).
  64. davidA
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    Words cannot describe the beuty of this game. Be who ever you want, do what ever you please, the scope is endless. Sure its abit glitchy, but that didnt worry me too much. The overall experience just shines. Im not sure about replay-abilty, but i will, because it is just awsome. Love it.
  65. JoeBradbrook
    Jan 24, 2009
    9
    I've been unable to put this game down since i bought it. It's huge and totally addictive, the level up system is spot on, and theres just enough variety of weapons and enemies to keep you interested throughout, without becoming overwhelmed. The only thing to stop me giving fallout 3 top marks is the amount and severiety of the bugs found in the game. Not being able to take the I've been unable to put this game down since i bought it. It's huge and totally addictive, the level up system is spot on, and theres just enough variety of weapons and enemies to keep you interested throughout, without becoming overwhelmed. The only thing to stop me giving fallout 3 top marks is the amount and severiety of the bugs found in the game. Not being able to take the GOAT test was particually annoying, as i missed out on a trophy through no fault of my own. Fallout 3 is definately worth picking up, if only for moments of pure gaming gold such as the matrix styled "tranquility lane" quest. Expand
  66. Jocelynv
    Jan 4, 2009
    7
    The game lacks personality. there is nothing epic about this game.Longevity is its strong point..besides that theres much more that could have been done with this title..I have seen many areas only to find out the same generic props lying everywhere..the story is not bad. I enjoyed completing it in about 40 hours..I wont play again.
  67. BrianTomson
    Feb 2, 2009
    10
    This was the best game i have ever played. I have beet in three times in the last week once i start playing i can't stop, it is very addicting. This totally blows away any other games i have ever played in the past, if they ever make a sequel i can not wait to get it and hopefully it will be as awesome as Fallout 3
  68. AnonymousMC
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    I cannot believe the amount of detail that the developers coded into this game -- it's easy to make a world that's nice and neat, but to make one that is very messy takes a lot of time. They sure did a great job -- this is by far the largest game I have played (number and size of maps and detail of each location).
    The main story is too short, but the endless side missions and
    I cannot believe the amount of detail that the developers coded into this game -- it's easy to make a world that's nice and neat, but to make one that is very messy takes a lot of time. They sure did a great job -- this is by far the largest game I have played (number and size of maps and detail of each location).
    The main story is too short, but the endless side missions and freedom to do whatever you want, and searching for unique and fun stuff makes this game last for months and months. I sure hope they make another one just like this.
    Expand
  69. MarkD
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    Great game but not for everyone; Action heads may not appreciate this games finer points. But if you're willing to put in the time and effort and you're not put off by the occasional glitch you'll find Fallout 3 is one of the most engrossing, imaginative games of this generation.
  70. TheLoneWanderer101101
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    This personally in my opinion is the best game ever. I love how broad it is as soon as you leave vault 101. This is a problem, though because the first time I played it I accidentally got lost and went to the school and totally got my @#s whooped by the raiders. But when I went back I realized thats when you're supposed to go to Megaton. For instance Final Fantasy X, for the most This personally in my opinion is the best game ever. I love how broad it is as soon as you leave vault 101. This is a problem, though because the first time I played it I accidentally got lost and went to the school and totally got my @#s whooped by the raiders. But when I went back I realized thats when you're supposed to go to Megaton. For instance Final Fantasy X, for the most part you walk in a straight line until you come to the airship for the second time but by then the game is pretty much over, i mean like wtf Seriously. However in Fallout 3 when you leave the vault you can go straight to Rivet City and nothing will stop you (except for maybe the raiders and super mutants) Bethesda just gives you a wide range of motion to go and fufil your hearts desire, but in doing so, you might get towns to hate you or Talon company workers attack you. If you decide to help and save whats left of the capital wasteland, then wastelanders wil reward you with fabulous prizes. If you decide to destroy it then you will still be rewarded by the slavers. Seriously, if you have any taste in RPG's then this is like a to die for must have game. Even though reaching level 20 can come by real fast, with Broken Steel coming out for the PS3 be sure to save those bobbleheads so can have max S.P.E.C.I.A.L. stats and skills as well, so that way you have a chance to level up even more. The only problem I have with this game though, and this is the biggie is that it will have you playing for hours and hours and eventually will eat up your life away (trust me I've seen it happen before with Fallout and Warcraft not a pretty sight) but if you play this game for a couple hours a week then you'll be fine as long as you just don't get carried away. The addiction of this game is like the effects of a drug its so highly addictive that it can turn people into Fallout zombies. You do not want to be like that. So those of you waiting for my review, I think the FPS/RPG combo is phenominal it makes it seem like a Sci-Fi FPS mix along with that RPG formula that just makes it so awesome. I love this game, but I stopped playing because I just go too hooked into it and decided to quit before I lost my life. Even the fact that the monsters don't have stupid AI makes the fact that Bethesda actually put effort into this game. I am disappointed that Bethesda decided to end the Fallout series with Mothership Zeta (which sucked!) I do believe Bethesda has made one that will surely stay in the books for a long long time. It's amazing how they added the fact of taking drugs and alcohol to increase your stats (which in real life actually decrease your stats if you know what I mean) and visiting random places to interact and kill random people. Since the game is so big, there is a lot of room for errors, but not all of these errors are necessarily bad, some freeze your system, where others let you get duplicate unique weapons and multiple companions. Diablo was great and all, but we have a new king now, I present Fallout 3. Really they should come up with a real wrap to the series like instead of ending the enclave war, to return the United States back to the way it was, or like destroy the Talon Company or get rid of all creatures in the Wasteland. Or they should have you destroy China once and for all, ending all of the wars and preventing future ones from happening. Anyway my review for this game is a GOOGOLPLEX out of 10. Thank you so much Bethesda, bring on more. Expand
  71. SomeReviewer
    Jan 15, 2010
    5
    Fallout 3 in it's pure form is a game that is overall lacking and unpolished. The developers did a horrible job of making sure the game shipped without bugs and failed to provide the players with a ton of content like oblivion had. The only saving grace for this game is the fact that it has a large community of mod makers who make the game better than the original developers did. I Fallout 3 in it's pure form is a game that is overall lacking and unpolished. The developers did a horrible job of making sure the game shipped without bugs and failed to provide the players with a ton of content like oblivion had. The only saving grace for this game is the fact that it has a large community of mod makers who make the game better than the original developers did. I have tried my hardest to enjoy this game countless times but, I am always overwhelmed by the constant crashes and other errors. At this point, I've gone through around 4 characters that have been unable to pass through the game due to the various bugs that the game contains. The quest in the game lack variety and the enemies are easy once you have the right weapons, overall the game is dull and gets boring when you're a high level. I would defiantly pass this one up and get TES4 instead, unless you're getting this game for under ten dollars, leave it alone because, you don't want the headaches it brings. Expand
  72. MichaelH.
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    Essentially Oblivion with some guns and post apocalyptic Washington DC. The mechanics of the gameplay are the same but seems to have a more evil/neutral/good decision making role than Oblivion. All in all you can play the main story in 10 hours or wander off and put in 100 hours doing side quests so the choice is yours.
  73. SteveG
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    I love this game. It is not "broken," though it is not perfect. This is not for people who only want to play Call of Duty 4 online and want to kill things. This is for people who want to think, solve, plan and kill things. The world you are in is very dense with lots to explore and conquer. I have played for almost 60 hours and I am loving it.
  74. BilltheWhizz
    Nov 2, 2008
    9
    First off i think that this game is better than oblivion, i don't understand why it scored less on the metacritic score. it does have a few bugs (don't go playing around in the ruble) and it can be frustrating at time's (be careful how you shoot), plus the conversation can be a tad lame; but overall a great game i can tell its going to very lengthy, well worth the money. First off i think that this game is better than oblivion, i don't understand why it scored less on the metacritic score. it does have a few bugs (don't go playing around in the ruble) and it can be frustrating at time's (be careful how you shoot), plus the conversation can be a tad lame; but overall a great game i can tell its going to very lengthy, well worth the money. one huge tip i would give is to keep plenty of different saves, and make sure you save before you do something drastic. A GOOD BUY. Expand
  75. DustinS.
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    This game is unreal. I am normally a PC MMORPG gamer and have only recently crossed-over to the console. This game has what I have been looking for, a game that includes stats, equipment upgrades, leveling, insane monsters to kill and a shooter to boot. The story line is about what I expected but the depth of the game is what kept me in it. On-liners, you owe it to yourself to get this if This game is unreal. I am normally a PC MMORPG gamer and have only recently crossed-over to the console. This game has what I have been looking for, a game that includes stats, equipment upgrades, leveling, insane monsters to kill and a shooter to boot. The story line is about what I expected but the depth of the game is what kept me in it. On-liners, you owe it to yourself to get this if you are thinking of putting down the mouse and putting some cool points back in your pocket. Expand
  76. GaryK.
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    This game reminds me of Bioshock, but most likely because Bioshock was inspired by fallout in many ways. I am not a fan of RPG games, but after getting my early copy of this game, I am truly hooked. This game is one of my favorite games of the year, it exceeded my expectations, though I fear some of the more enthusiastic fans may turn out dissatisfied.
  77. AlbertG.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    How can so many people have voted on this game if it hasn't been released yet? Votes before the release of the game should not be counted, as I highly doubt users will give this game an average of 6.7 out of 10.
  78. MatthewS.
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    Whilst hardcore players of the previous Fallout titles will have you believe that Fallout 3 isn't much of a successor, Fallout 3 takes the best things from the first 2 Fallout games and adds them to the best things from Oblivion, delivering one of the best RPGs I've ever played. Fallout 3 is sure to go down in RPG history and will win a few Game of the Year awards.
  79. TD
    Oct 31, 2008
    10
    Imagine Oblivion - on Jet and Buffout. This game is insane. People just don't understand that Fallout is not a shooter. Just because it has guns, does not mean that shooting things is the sole purpose of the game. It is a RPG. An action-RPG but an RPG none-the-less. Kids these days don't understand the concept of the game because they never played the original games, so they are Imagine Oblivion - on Jet and Buffout. This game is insane. People just don't understand that Fallout is not a shooter. Just because it has guns, does not mean that shooting things is the sole purpose of the game. It is a RPG. An action-RPG but an RPG none-the-less. Kids these days don't understand the concept of the game because they never played the original games, so they are so quick to judge. My advice, play the first two before you play this and rate it. Then you'll be able to fully appreciate what it is. As a quickie: Best graphics if played on PC, but my PS3 looks WAY better than my roommates 360. Voice acting is top-notch, gameplay is solid (VATS system is a breath of fresh air), and nothing can beat a dark-humor and sadistic Fallout story. Two thumbs way up! Expand
  80. ENOUGH!!
    Jan 10, 2009
    9
    CONGRATULATIONS. IF YOU HAVE BOUGHT THIS GAME, YOU HAVE JUST MADE THE BEST DEAL OF YOUR LIFE. Fallout 3 is packed with content to the brim. There's loads of guns to buy, and there are so many quests to partake in. The characters are beleivable, to a point, but the character models do look a bit wooden. However, this made up for by three other things. 1) V.A.T.S.-If you are obsessed CONGRATULATIONS. IF YOU HAVE BOUGHT THIS GAME, YOU HAVE JUST MADE THE BEST DEAL OF YOUR LIFE. Fallout 3 is packed with content to the brim. There's loads of guns to buy, and there are so many quests to partake in. The characters are beleivable, to a point, but the character models do look a bit wooden. However, this made up for by three other things. 1) V.A.T.S.-If you are obsessed with blowing things up in video games, this can become the sole reason for buying this game. Seeing your enemy get blown to shreds is almost too satisfying. 2) The Character Creation system. This is the first game that I have played where I had to desperately try not to kill every single person in the game. I would cause everyone else to become distateful of me due to low karma. Finally: 3) The skill set. I know that this has been implemented into a slew of games for the past year, but never have I seen it being implemented so well. If you can only buy one game this year, buy Either GTA 4 or Fallout 3. Just don't play to the ending; it'll leave a foul taste in your mouth. Expand
  81. StephenC.
    Jan 15, 2009
    7
    Pros: Huge arena Great detailing - fantastic scenario design Does RPG v. well Great HUD / inventory design cons: Bugs !! Characters / enemies clunky - unengaging Some key commands could be better thought-out Character interactions get a bit tedious.
  82. MichaelT.
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    This is the only game i have completed and then restarted straight away. I have completed it a few times and I loaded it up again as there are still bits I failed to do. You can be good or evil depending on your actions. The level of freedom and the scope of the game is immense. In my opinion this should be regarded as one of the greatest games ever made. If you don't own this for This is the only game i have completed and then restarted straight away. I have completed it a few times and I loaded it up again as there are still bits I failed to do. You can be good or evil depending on your actions. The level of freedom and the scope of the game is immense. In my opinion this should be regarded as one of the greatest games ever made. If you don't own this for the PS3, than you are missing out on an experience like no other. Words alone cannot describe how good this game is. Expand
  83. RyanBrighton
    Jan 26, 2009
    10
    The best game i've played in years
  84. Nurak
    Jan 31, 2009
    5
    Generally, I did not see what the hype was about.
    I thought the game was annoying when you had to save it before doing anything that could get you killed.

    The third person view was terrible and out of sync with the ground in my views, and the only noteable thing I could say about the game is the VATS.
  85. EricP
    Jan 7, 2009
    8
    First off, my review comes from the standpoint of having never played Oblivion. I am however a diehard Fallout fan. The storyline is pretty standard for any other in the Fallout series. Nuclear war forces people into underground "vaults" for protection. When everyone emerges, violence in the D.C. Wasteland ensues. The graphics, while not being groundbreaking or revolutionary (hence the First off, my review comes from the standpoint of having never played Oblivion. I am however a diehard Fallout fan. The storyline is pretty standard for any other in the Fallout series. Nuclear war forces people into underground "vaults" for protection. When everyone emerges, violence in the D.C. Wasteland ensues. The graphics, while not being groundbreaking or revolutionary (hence the 720p and the Oblivion engine), are still fairly decent. Subdued colors add to the "postapocalyptic" vibe and the surroundings are pretty bleak in appreance to boot (albeit somewhat redundant at times). The gameplay and battle engine (coined V.A.T.S. for Vault-Tec Assisted Targeting) is really where the fun is at. When triggering V.A.T.S., the game stops and focuses on an enemy, highlighting a specific body part of your choosing. After selecting your body part, the game enters into a cinematic scene in which you shoot said enemy. While this game was supposedly made as a 3rd PS with FPS capabilites, the 3rd person vantage point is pointless and distant. I found that the FP felt the most "natural" and useful. I really felt that Bethesda could have done a better job with maybe focusing less on repairing and maintaining weapons and more on upgrading them. There also seemed to be a lack of armour choices. The sounds are exceptional and really add to the atmosphere. Everything from crickets chirps at nitght to explosions to body parts dismembering is always entertaining. You can also listen to a radio station called Galaxy News Radio which plays old 50's type music. It's not only nostalgic, but it fits the game like a glove for unknown reasons. It somehow makes killing giant mutated creatures more interesting... The Karma system was only good to a fault, it didn't actually affect the storyline at all. I didn't feel as though enough effort was placed into the results of the bad/good karma and the dialogue/actions leading up to them. Some say there are gliches that entirely ruin the game. I have noticed gliches at times, but nothing as serious as some have advertised on their reviews. Over the course of 43 hours of total gameplay, I have only experienced about 5 game crashing gliches. Take that with a grain of salt if you truly must. Overall a very convincing sequel to the Fallout series and very addictive gameplay, but with a couple downfalls that keep it from a 10/10 in my books. Expand
  86. RobS
    Feb 24, 2009
    10
    I think this is an amazing title and has had me totally immersed for weeks. The opening stages are slow but stick with it and you will be reward exploring is a must to get the full experience of the game. The walking can be a little boring at times but as you open up more locations the jump to feature is well worth the inclusion and can save you hours of walking. All in all a must buy in I think this is an amazing title and has had me totally immersed for weeks. The opening stages are slow but stick with it and you will be reward exploring is a must to get the full experience of the game. The walking can be a little boring at times but as you open up more locations the jump to feature is well worth the inclusion and can save you hours of walking. All in all a must buy in my eye's stages above Bethesda other title Oblivian. Expand
  87. VamsiV
    Mar 18, 2009
    9
    Truly superb. This game sacrifices little to nothing for its in depth story line, and intriguing side quests. The game offers more freedoms and action packed combat without crippling the game.
  88. RichieC.
    Nov 11, 2008
    9
    I have played the Fallout 1 & 2 to death, and although this Fallout 3 far surpasses them, even though Interplay (Black Isle, Wasteland) did what they could with them. I miss the random encounter "Easter Eggs" like the Tardis, or the Elvis velvet paintings, the remains of the Dead whale in the middle of nowhere, the Bridge of Death, Star Trek etc. At least there is a UFO reference and I have played the Fallout 1 & 2 to death, and although this Fallout 3 far surpasses them, even though Interplay (Black Isle, Wasteland) did what they could with them. I miss the random encounter "Easter Eggs" like the Tardis, or the Elvis velvet paintings, the remains of the Dead whale in the middle of nowhere, the Bridge of Death, Star Trek etc. At least there is a UFO reference and weapon. This game is only missing more pop-culture references like this. Otherwise another award winning Bethesda Studios game. Expand
  89. LarryP
    Nov 10, 2008
    7
    While the game itself is great, and there's plenty to do, the fact that it ends after you complete the mainline is horrible for an enormous sandbox. It annoys me that I have to restore a game prior to the end to enjoy the rest of the content. And I also believe the mainline was way too short. Otherwise, fantastic game with great characters and memorable experiences.
  90. KevinC
    Nov 16, 2008
    9
    I got fed up with the game in the first day because of the (minor) glitches with dialog and character animations, and even wanted to trade it in. But then I played it a second time. The world feels small at first, until you realize that there are something like 117 locations to discover and tons of quests to complete. I believe that the Oblivion engine is, ironically, better suited to I got fed up with the game in the first day because of the (minor) glitches with dialog and character animations, and even wanted to trade it in. But then I played it a second time. The world feels small at first, until you realize that there are something like 117 locations to discover and tons of quests to complete. I believe that the Oblivion engine is, ironically, better suited to Fallout then it was to Oblivion. The gore is an awesome touch, and so are the radio stations - nothing beats completing a quest and then hearing the MC Three Dog talking about it an hour or two later. All in all, I haven't touched any other PS3 game since I picked this one up - VATS is awesome and doesn't get boring, the quests are fun and diverse with many different options, and the Karma system is pretty sweet. However, if you spend a long time customizing your character (and I did), bear in mind that you'll never see his or her face (except for brief moments in VATS). Expand
  91. AbeL.
    Nov 2, 2008
    6
    The game is good, but it's full of bugs, many of them game breaking. For example, the GOAT froze on me the first 4 times I tried it (and it's happened to a lot of other people), which is absolutely inexcusable. In case you don't know, the GOAT is a test that determines your skills, and you need to pass it in the beginning to continue the game. It's disgusting that The game is good, but it's full of bugs, many of them game breaking. For example, the GOAT froze on me the first 4 times I tried it (and it's happened to a lot of other people), which is absolutely inexcusable. In case you don't know, the GOAT is a test that determines your skills, and you need to pass it in the beginning to continue the game. It's disgusting that Bethesda actually released the game with this bug (and others) in it. Do they even have bug testers? Expand
  92. JosephC
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    A great game for gamers that enjoy all genres. I personally have never played Elder Scrolls or any of the older Fallout, I really don't play rpg's all that much, but I did find this game to be superb. I have yet to run into any "glitches", and the gameplay is refreshing and entertaining.
  93. MatthewW.
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    Fallout 3 is a must-own, pure and simple. Any issues are negligible when put up against this game's atmosphere, scope, and detail. It is worth $60 easily, which is my very highest praise for any video game.
  94. blamojenkins
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    just looking at the pictures and reading the reviews of this game makes me give it a ten b4 i even play it. the fact that this game is going to mix first person shooting, amazing graphics, and awsome gore with the pause combat system of kotor is driving me to the point of insanity. I can not wait this game!!!!
  95. ChristianBjørndalen
    Dec 23, 2008
    9
    A fantastic game! Bethesda has done some amazing work on the engine that gave us The Elder Scrolls, and the cool post nuclear mutant/hero atmosphere from the Fallout prequels oozes through this games' every pore. This will keep you occupied for ages if you play it like me - casually strolling 'round pickin' up side quests and enjoyin' the rippin' scenery :) Blast it!
  96. StevieP
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    Apart from a few bugs (patch has fixed most of them anyway) this is the best game i have played all year. People say that its "just oblivion with guns" like that's a bad thing.
  97. AndrewG
    Jan 17, 2009
    7
    Fallout 3 has some awesome elements to it but is very overrated. The first 5-10 hours were really impressive and engrossing - the atmosphere, the side missions, the first skill advancements, etc. But, once you get to about the halfway point, the story really deteriorates and the level cap looms on the horizon. At the end of the game, your character will probably be ridiculously dominant - Fallout 3 has some awesome elements to it but is very overrated. The first 5-10 hours were really impressive and engrossing - the atmosphere, the side missions, the first skill advancements, etc. But, once you get to about the halfway point, the story really deteriorates and the level cap looms on the horizon. At the end of the game, your character will probably be ridiculously dominant - to the point where the ending seems like just a normal battle. There are also a number of bugs that I ran in to - game crashes, getting stuck in rocks, etc. Relatively minor, but it's especially annoying at the end when the game's a chore anyway. Expand
  98. DannyH
    Jan 19, 2009
    8
    The game has a bad habit of crashing on a semi-regular basis (for me, about every three hours of game play), but checkpoints are so frequent that it will only account for 15 minutes of game play at the absolute worst. Minor glitches aside, the game is highly engrossing, with no shortage of exploration and side quests. My first playthough was around 80 hours, and I immediately restarted The game has a bad habit of crashing on a semi-regular basis (for me, about every three hours of game play), but checkpoints are so frequent that it will only account for 15 minutes of game play at the absolute worst. Minor glitches aside, the game is highly engrossing, with no shortage of exploration and side quests. My first playthough was around 80 hours, and I immediately restarted the game so I could play through again, this time being an "evil" character and making different choices in all the quests, resulting in an alternate storyline. If you're into the exploration, item collecting, and character upgrading aspect of games, you'll be completely sucked into this one. Expand
  99. candidocabrera
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    The Besto Rol in Ps3
  100. RyanV
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    I love this game. I spent a lot of time thinking of something to put in this comments section, but I can't think of anything besides this: If you like shooters, Buy this game; If you like RPGs, buy this game; If you like open world environments, buy this game; if you love kicking mutant/ghoul/bad guy/good guy ass, buy this game. Buy this game for whatever system you have.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Oct 27, 2010
    76
    Until you can play the game without unpredictable crashing and quirky issues surprising you it's going to be tough to find the maximum amount of fun I know this title can offer.
  2. 100
    This is the kind of hugely ambitious game that doesn't come around very often, and when it does, you'd be a fool not to play it and enjoy the hell out of it and look forward to the day (next-next-gen?) when the fidelity of open-world RPGs takes another big step closer to the uncanny valley's far side.
  3. 94
    It's rare that a game can hit the mark in so many different and often conflicting areas. Fallout 3 offers freedom without sacrificing a focused story. It delivers fantastic combat without forgoing a deep role-playing system. The characters you meet are engaging and oftentimes hilarious without feeling out of place in this harsh world.