Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Old World Blues, releasing in June, you will discover how some of the Mojave’s mutated monsters came to be when you unwittingly become a lab rat in a science experiment gone awry. You’ll need to scour the Pre-War research centers of the Big Empty in search of technology to turn the tables on your kidnappers or join forces with them against an even greater threat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Aug 10, 2011
    95
    You will love it though if you chose the Weird Wasteland perk, loved the Vault filled with Garys in 3, or just don't mind playing through an extremely funny and well-written DLC pack that throws interesting surprises at you all the time, rewards exploration greatly, and packs more imagination and play-time in it than nearly every other full-priced game out there.
  2. Sep 1, 2011
    91
    Its mad humour brings the laughs, while odd weapons and perks make the gameplay feel fresh again. [Oct 2011, p.110]
  3. Jul 19, 2011
    90
    Old World Blues is one of the best Fallout DLCs yet. It's funny, it's packed with content, and it offers solid rewards for players who are looking to add to their Courier's arsenal. If you skipped on the previous two content packs, make sure to pick this one up.
  4. Jul 21, 2011
    82
    Fallout's modern interpretation may have started to show its wrinkles, but Old World Blues remedies an aging formula by resurrecting the series' latent dark humor and pushing it in the spotlight.
  5. Jul 31, 2011
    80
    Certainly a huge step up from Honest Hearts.
  6. Jul 22, 2011
    80
    A great surprise. Sure, the gameplay formula is typical Fallout -- fetch quests, exploration, killing, and moral decision making -- but it's wrapped in a genuinely humorous package.
  7. Jul 28, 2011
    67
    One of the best written DLCs for a Fallout game ever. It plays a strong part in the post-New Vegas story that the DLC packs are building, With that said, it's also one of the worst paced, with some of the most boring fetch quests you're likely to find in any Fallout game. It feels like an excuse to deliver excellent dialogue and humor, but with very few instances of quality content to actually play through.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    This DLC is easily the best. With a fun, creative plot, and plenty of hilarious quotes you and your friend circle with share for years to come, this DLC is the one you should get! Ignore what Impure says! Collapse
  2. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    Easily the best DLC to hit FO:NV and FO3 combined. It is the most well written, it's genuinely funny, and the additional weapons, enemies, perks, and side missions are all worth your time. Since the DLC seems to be getting better and better, I am looking forward to the release of Lonesome Road, the final DLC, whenever it comes out! P.S. You'll never look at your toaster the same way. Expand
  3. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    Old World Blues is one of the better DLCs to come out for New Vegas. It may even be better than those released with Fallout 3. Old World Blue harkens back to the Fallout games of yesteryear. Dark humor and wackiness have always been strong traits of the series, but this DLC offers some of the best players have seen yet. The world presented in Old World Blues is fun to explore and the quests are challenging. The downside tot his DLC is that the nagging loading and freezing issues associated with everything New Vegas still remain. Despite that one snafu, I highly recommend this DLC. Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    Not a big DLC fan, but I bought all the New Vegas DLC because I love the game so much. Old World Blues is really a fun story to play through and gives some great items in return. This DLC has alot of humor to it and I guess for $10 its worth it, I think it took me about 7 hours to go thru.

    Still not a fan of DLC, I prefer the old way with expansions that added much more content and story instead of nickle and diming people for short quests. But for New Vegas.. Old World Blues is the best of the DLC offered IMO.
    Expand
  5. Aug 2, 2011
    1
    As much as I would like to give a proper review on this, I can't. After finishing the game, you aren't allowed to use the DLC after you have paid for it. So you pay $10 -$30 for more material and are locked out of it. If you like spending many countless hours enjoying a game and then to have the game come to an end and put a cherry on top by stealing your money then by all means download this DLC from Bethesda. Now if you are smart you had waited til the $60 game dropped to $10 (in a matter of mere months) and bought it later. Some of us are retarded and gave the $60 in the beginning because we thought after Fallout 3, they would have learned their lesson on taking advantage of their customers and gave better customer service by fixing their mistakes they hastily pushed out to the public . One needs not to go far to reveal the mess that both these two last games has made. Well guess what? I don't think I'm going for a third round of this when the next game comes out. So I guess in conclusion, this company can kiss my grits. I give it a one rating as I'm sure it will be fun to play but being as how I paid for it and can't use it that's as far as I can go. Don't be a sucker. Wait for them to fix the whole game, if that's possible, then get the DLC for free on the final version that will come out inevitably. Expand
  6. Sep 9, 2011
    0
    See ImpureClient's review. Terrible. Sony better refund my money for this.