User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 6 out of 29

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 25, 2012
    4
    As is typical with Bethesda games there are constant freezing issues and my system locks up repeatedly while playing it. As much as I enjoyed the quests and additional content the game is virtually unplayable. Don't waste your money.
  2. Feb 28, 2013
    8
    Well this is a personal favourite, the quests, the storyline, towns, weapons are all bigger and better than fallout 3. Its a shame this fantastic game is overshadowed by glitches, lags and constant freezing.
    They dont occur very regularly, but when they do, you have to reset the system. Frustrating, but if your willing to sacrifice the occasional reset then i highly recommend Fallout:New Vegas
  3. Mar 12, 2012
    2
    So so so sorry i got this. SAME as last compilation, Fallout 3: GOTY... This freezes and crashes non stop. Makes it litterally unplayable and they dont care. The wont fix it, they wont patch it. They instead release a broken game that somehow got past Q&A. My advice? DONT buy this game. It is a complete disaster. I took it back to gamestop and got my money back thank god. Bought a GOOD game, called GTA IV. Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2012
    2
    Well, it only took about 40 minutes of play time to encounter my first game-breaking bug, requiring me to do a hard shut off and restart of my PS3. There is a fantastic amount of content on this game, but hard to say at this point how much of it will actually be accessible due to bugs. Since Beth has effectively fixed Skyrim on this platform (I longer have any complaints, after many many hours of gameplay), I'm hoping they'll patch this game up as well. If not, I'll wind up trading it in for a bag of peanuts, no doubt. Expand
  5. May 9, 2012
    0
    Do research before even considering buying the fallout NV ultimate edition, I had never encountered this much terror in the normal fallout NV version. After barely 3 hours of playing the game I had started to get incredible lag and it happens every hour or two now rendering the game almost entirely unplayable unless you reset your PS3 system. I don't know if there is a way to fix it but it doesn't seem so - the only solution is a temp fix by resetting system but the lag will come back. Have problems with sound dying/audio becoming un-sync more often in this game. I will hear gunshots late and people will be moving lips but they won't say anything right away. I really liked this game when I played it originally and was hoping to play the DLC but I don't know if it's going to be possible for me, this is worse then the lag us PS3 users were getting on Skyrim. Unfortunately you may as well mark this version a lost cause and not purchase the Ultimate Edition. Bethesda doesn't patch old games, I'm sure Obsidian is the same way. I'm giving this game a 0 because it's just not playable and it's never going to be fixed, it's a joke that something like this could be released I seriously doubt it was tested at all for quality assurance. My save file was a little under 4 MB before I started experiencing severe lag and when that happens you just gotta give it up. I'm not sure who to blame for this mess but.. Obsidian & bethesda you both make me sick. Expand
  6. Dec 17, 2013
    0
    This game is completely unplayable. The game freezes constantly! And when it doesn't it lags severely. After the first 2 hours I honostly did not have 30 minutes without at least some serious lag and at least one total freeze. this game should never have been released like this!
  7. Dec 8, 2013
    5
    Fallout: New Vegas has an interesting story, multiple factions to side with and a huge world to explore. Unfortunately, Fallout: New Vegas and the Ultimate Edition in particular suffers from severe lag issues that kick in after several hours of play.

    The game ran fine for the first 20 hours but after that the performance became progressively worse and after 60 hours it became
    unplayable, with the framerate in single digits and my character unable to move. Expand
  8. Jun 15, 2014
    7
    Definitely an improvement over Fallout 3 in almost every way, from the music and scenery, to the variety in weapons as well as the main story, its all very solid. There is an issue of frame rate drops on this version compared to the original release, but there are some ways to alleviate the problem, like turning off autosaves and rebuilding the PS3's database every couple of hours. Lonesome Road and Old World Blues were by far the best of the DLC, while Honest Hearts was quite mediocre, and Dead Money, while interesting, suffered from EXTREME frame rate slowdown at one point which is impossible to alleviate in any way and which makes it barely completable. The base game is still the primary focus though, and enjoyable throughout. The only issue I have in terms of actual game design is the way the game gives you XP after finishing the main questline, but then the credits roll and you are forced to reload the save file. What's the point in that?! Some sort of post game result would have been more rewarding. Expand
  9. Jan 6, 2014
    5
    I would of loved to give this game a higher mark I really would but 1 thing held me back and it was a huge problem. After your save file is over 10 mb you can expect massive slow down and frequent crashing unless you turn your PS3 off every couple of hours and turn it back on. This mixed with Bethesda's unwillingness still not to fix the problem led to returning the game and demanding a refund. I had no such problem with the 360 version. With out this slow down and crashing this game would have got a solid 8 from me or maybe a 9 if I was feeling generous, but after returning a game I wanted to play after only gtting through half of it I don't have it in me. Expand
  10. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    One of the best role-playing games out there. It's a shame the game has as many glitches as it has, but the fun questing, flexible character development, music, and branching story make for an experience that is both worth it and filled with replay ability.(played the game twice, still haven't seen and done everything)
    +Flexible Story
    +Great Value
    +DLC Packs included
    -Runs Poorly
    -Still bugs
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 2 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Feb 27, 2012
    88
    You don't have Fallout: New Vegas and you like the franchise? Then the Ultimate Edition is a perfect way to get hours of action RPG gameplay for low money, because the Ultimate Edition combines the great basic game with all patches and DLCs.
  2. Feb 13, 2012
    90
    Everything there was minus the bugs. That has to be enough for one step up the score-ladder. Yes, but only because New Vegas doesn´t reduce itself to just more stuff, but also offers a high level of storytelling that even in RPGs can´t be found that often.