Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Dec 13, 2010
    95
    There are a few glitches but even so, these do not hamper the gaming experience and if you're looking for value for money, than you have come to the right place my apocalyptic brothers and sister.
  2. Dec 13, 2010
    95
    From its dusty beginning to its explosive crescendo, Fallout: New Vegas may well be the best RPG of the year.
  3. Oct 22, 2010
    95
    Fallout: New Vegas, looks and plays exactly the same as Fallout 3. But the additions that Obsidian have made push the survival angle even further to provide a much more immersive and authentic experience, and just like its predecessor New Vegas proves to be a role-playing masterpiece.
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    93
    Maybe we could have waited for some new features from Obsidian, apart for the scenario change and some new improvements in gameplay. But you could also ask why change something that works so well. The recommendation is clear: If you liked Fallout 3, don't hesitate in getting New Vegas.
  5. Dec 19, 2010
    91
    Plenty of side quests.
  6. Dec 13, 2010
    91
    Fallout New Vegas is a fantastic game that in its vast, interesting, flavour-filled world has something for everyone.
  7. Oct 25, 2010
    91
    Technical nuisances don't ruin the delight of moseying through New Vegas and sampling the huge variety of depravity-and occasional glory-that post-nuclear Sin City has to offer.
  8. Oct 20, 2010
    91
    The way New Vegas' story plays out is incredibly immersive, providing a real sense that you're playing a key part in shaping the future of the world. It's not a million miles away from Fallout 3 but it's big, crazy and very entertaining and that's all that really matters.
  9. Dec 19, 2010
    90
    From the warring factions you can align with to the companions you can recruit, no adventure will ever be the same the numerous times you play through.
  10. Oct 26, 2010
    90
    The world is huge and meticulously detailed, the mechanics are captivating, and for all the bugs the rewards of persistence are considerable.
  11. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    New Vegas is an excellent game, a great follow-up to Fallout 3 and is much more than a simple expansion.
  12. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    Despite the numerous bugs, New Vegas is a magnificent RPG, one that stands head and shoulders above its predecessor. More importantly, it's also the game that Fallout fans have been waiting for.
  13. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    It's a game we've been wanting to play for more than a decade, a real modern re-imagining of the Fallout series, complete with that deliciously black humour. But it's also more of the same, aesthetically and technically identical to Fallout 3, wonky facial animation and all.
  14. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    With a hugely expanded perk system, new traits you can use to give your character both an advantage and a disadvantage, warring factions to join or make enemies out of, plenty of new features to dig into, and better dialogue, Fallout: New Vegas is better than Fallout 3 in many ways.
  15. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    More of the same in the best possible way.
  16. Dec 13, 2010
    88
    New Vegas is packed with detail and humor, but not as engrossing as we would have liked. [Issue#198, p.80]
  17. Oct 20, 2010
    88
    Another great postatomic RPG, so similar to its predecessor that it shares the same technical problems. Nonetheless, those who loved the Wasteland will find a lot of great gameplay and fun in New Vegas.
  18. Jan 2, 2011
    86
    If you have the time and the money, this one is a must pick up regardless of all the issues holding it down.
  19. Jan 16, 2011
    85
    The technology of the newest part of the fallout series is over aged and besides the hardcore mode and the reputation-system, the new features of New Vegas are manageable. But altogether, New Vegas is a successful new part and not just an add-on, with more than 100 hours of gaming, an interesting story and a new setting to explore.
  20. Dec 13, 2010
    85
    When this game is running properly, without falling through the ground, NPC dialogue not triggering properly or enemies running through the floor, then it's a very fun journey.
  21. Dec 13, 2010
    85
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  22. Dec 13, 2010
    85
    There is no escaping the fact that Fallout: New Vegas is more or less Fallout 3. The map might be bigger, the side quests more expansive, but if you've played Fallout 3, you're not going to find anything dramatically new here.
  23. Oct 21, 2010
    85
    New Vegas is like a Huge DLC, an enormous add-on. But the formula is still fresh and deep.
  24. Oct 20, 2010
    85
    This could have been a great game, so it's a shame certain things are holding it back - still, it's addictive, interesting, highly enjoyable, and so credit where credit's due.
  25. Oct 20, 2010
    85
    Fallout: New Vegas has a good storyline and adds a lot of side-quests that keeps you going. It's great to explore the world and we can't wait for the first downloadable content.
  26. Oct 20, 2010
    84
    For lovers of Fallout 3, it's tough to go wrong with New Vegas. However, if you're strictly looking for a fresh experience it may bore you. It's a great game, but certainly not as far from its previous iteration as we hoped it to be.
  27. Oct 27, 2010
    83
    Fallout: New Vegas is an epic journey that matches the magnitude of Fallout 3.
  28. Jan 12, 2011
    82
    This game is a nice one in the Fallout franchise. It got a great new setting and a lot new quests and a few new gameplay possibilities. If you are a fan of the Fallout franchise we can tell you that you must play this game.
  29. Oct 20, 2010
    82
    Fallout: New Vegas is difficult to classify. It is not really an add-on, because it tells a completly new story. If you love Fallout 3, you may as well cheat on it with New Vegas, no harm done.
  30. Oct 20, 2010
    81
    New Vegas is disappointingly similar to Fallout 3, but the improved story and wealth of new content and features makes up for it - just.
  31. Oct 20, 2010
    81
    Very similar to Fallout 3 in 2008, the PS3 version of Fallout: New Vegas is far from perfect. Occasional crashes and noticeable performance issues are only some of the flaws you will have to endure. Still, there are lots of reasons why you will probably have a great time with New Vegas: A huge open world to explore, lots of well-written quests, interesting decisions and tons of items offer many hours of gameplay and great replay value.
  32. A wild ride, and worth the price of admission, but you've been on this one before. [December 2010 p71]
  33. Jan 15, 2011
    80
    If you are looking for a universe full of adventures and challenges, Fallout: New Vegas is your game, and for many more months.
  34. Dec 19, 2010
    80
    Despite the numerous glitches and eerily similar gameplay to its predecessor, Fallout: New Vegas is a quality game through and through with lots of replay value and slight improvements made to the formula.
  35. Obsidian has taken the dehydrated sands of apocalyptic Nevada and made them feel like a theme park of blood, blackjack, and Brahmin. [Issue#51, p.96]
  36. Dec 13, 2010
    80
    Obsidian had an admirable chance to re-define the Fallout experience but have really failed to enrapture our passions for the series. More of the same? Yes. But ultimately unlikely to be remembered as fondly as the third in the Fallout cannon.
  37. 80
    Fallout: New Vegas needed more time in the oven to work out all the kinks and bugs, but it is still a terrific experience for anyone interested in re-experiencing one of the greatest action-RPG series of our time.
  38. Oct 25, 2010
    80
    A great expansion with the same superb atmosphere as the last time.
  39. Oct 24, 2010
    80
    Fallout: New Vegas does not introduce shocking new gameplay elements, but it combines excellent atmosphere with a story that is worth checking out. The game has many memorable moments and incredible depth. Which is why it is a shame bugs, long load times and disappointing visuals take some punch away from the experience.
  40. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    There are some welcome advances here over Fallout 3 but they risk being drowned out by the cripplingly poor technology that still powers the game.
  41. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    This is a long, meaty game with replay value galore, but it feels a whole lot like Fallout 3.
  42. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    It's rather clear: Fallout New Vegas is everything Fallout 3 should have been. Well, in terms of freedom and storyline that is, since from a technical side, it's as disappointing as ever. All we can do is pray and hope for their colleagues id Software to lend Bethesda a decent engine - Obsidian couldn't do miracles with what Bethesda's coders gave them, and sometimes it even ruins some nice gameplay ideas like their crafting system. But in the same manner everyone overlooked the flaws of Fallout 1 & 2 because their creators were storytelling geniuses, Obsidian's work on New Vegas is good enough to make us forget about all the lesser details - except maybe the overall lack of challenge.
  43. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Although the quality of its base concept is undeniable, Fallout: New Vegas proves to be a basic "more of the same" title that, though proposing an incredible number of quests and different situations, is unable to assure the same kind of revolutionary experience that Fallout 3 offered us two years ago.
  44. Jan 13, 2011
    79
    If you loved Fallout 3 and are looking for more 23rd century action, then New Vegas should satisfy you to no end. If not, then you might want to pass since the new variances implemented here are not enough to change anyone's mind.
  45. Oct 25, 2010
    77
    One massive issue Fallout: New Vegas has besides all of its technical problems is that price tag. Let's face it, this is a game built on the original where the mechanics were barely touched. It's an expansion that's being charged full price for.
  46. Dec 13, 2010
    76
    Fallout: New Vegas is a solid game from beginning to end.
  47. Jan 6, 2011
    75
    It hurts to not score this higher, especially considering the incredible writing and epic amount of well-varied quests, but the rampant bugs and gameplay that is getting stale really drag this down.
  48. Oct 26, 2010
    75
    So, while the game can often feel like a buggy mess, I'm more than willing to forgive its shortcomings based on the actual fun it delivers.
  49. Oct 25, 2010
    75
    If only it was a stable product and didn't ship with so many bugs, I would've given New Vegas a higher score.
  50. Oct 20, 2010
    75
    Major technical problems blemish this enjoyable and sophisticated adventure through the western wastes.
  51. Dec 19, 2010
    70
    There is a lot of fun to be had. I just want to convey all that I had experienced with the game. It's left up to you to decide if you want to drop the money on it.
  52. Oct 25, 2010
    70
    The RPG aspect is so dominant that we forgive the technical issues and the lack of artistic ambition […] Deep but ugly, the sign of games that last.
  53. 70
    In spite of Fallout: New Vegas being plagued with bugs, it still manages to take what is familiar and make it work. Sadly, I'm still not sure if putting in the hours is worth the effort just yet because of the random crashing that occurs, and that can really break your patience if you forgot to make that last important save file.
  54. Oct 20, 2010
    70
    The fact that the many issues with glitches and bugs weren't ironed out of this release would be unforgivable if the core game wasn't so tirelessly compulsive and complex. As it is, we have to warn our readers that there are some serious problems here. Your enjoyment of the game will largely depend on how much you're willing to forgive the issues.
  55. Oct 20, 2010
    65
    Obsidian Entertainment has bolstered the series with an array of fantastic additions, including crafting and Hardcore mode, but it's hard to appreciate them in light of incessant bugs and unfulfilling quests.
  56. Oct 22, 2010
    60
    Creatively, New Vegas gets almost everything right. Mechanically and technically, it's a tragedy. So, it's a simultaneously rewarding and frustrating game, the gulf between what it is and what it could be a sizeable stretch indeed.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 399 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 129
  2. Negative: 16 out of 129
  1. Oct 19, 2010
    4
    I love everything about fallout 3 but this game does not get a free pass to a high rating. The fact of the matter is this game has so manyI love everything about fallout 3 but this game does not get a free pass to a high rating. The fact of the matter is this game has so many bugs it does not score more than four. Nice try, but a name similar to another game isn't how ratings work. Fix the bugs and it gets a higher score. My vote is not for the genre or the franchise but this game as a single entity. I personally give this game a four, a very low score because simply put I find the game broken. My personality type has no patience to replay an area over again until it works. Its mystical the first time and I only want to experience it once. Bugs or glitches that require a reload ruin the game to the point that I'm not interested in it at all. With 3 systems and at least 500 games on each there are regretfully better choices and Fallout New Vegas is close enough to Fallout 3 you may as well just stay put with Fallout 3 and spare yourself the headaches of wishing Fallout New Vegas didn't have the problems it has. As I mentioned nice try, I like the Fallout franchise but as with anything in life you have to earn a reputation and a game full of bugs and problems is a game full of bugs and problems even if it is Fallout 3 based Full Review »
  2. Nov 1, 2010
    2
    The first hours of Fallout New Vegas was like walking on clouds. I loved everything about it, the atmosphere, the astethics and the gameplay.The first hours of Fallout New Vegas was like walking on clouds. I loved everything about it, the atmosphere, the astethics and the gameplay. But as I ventured out in the gigantic wastelands the glitches appeared and a freezing hell started.

    After 20 hours of gameplay I'm now stuck becuase the game keeps freezing my PS3. My question is how the hell could a game that is so broken get released?
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 24, 2010
    10
    I'm still not sure why this game is receiving such low scores. I see Fallout New Vegas as a vastly improved Fallout 3. The gameplay is moreI'm still not sure why this game is receiving such low scores. I see Fallout New Vegas as a vastly improved Fallout 3. The gameplay is more fun with the new iron sights, the story is more intricate and well told, the sounds have been improved and it's LESS glitchy than Fallout 3. Now... I really hate having my PS3 crash because of a game, and Fallout New Vegas has crashed my system twice now, but it isn't nearly as bad as Fallout 3 as far as stability. If it weren't for the occasional crashes and glitches, i'd give this game a 10... but all things considered, I think a 9 would be reasonable. Again, this game is better in every way than Fallout 3. Full Review »