Fallout: New Vegas PlayStation 3

Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
Buy On
  1. Dec 19, 2010
    70
    There is a lot of fun to be had. I just want to convey all that I had experienced with the game. It's left up to you to decide if you want to drop the money on it.
  2. Oct 25, 2010
    70
    The RPG aspect is so dominant that we forgive the technical issues and the lack of artistic ambition […] Deep but ugly, the sign of games that last.
  3. 70
    In spite of Fallout: New Vegas being plagued with bugs, it still manages to take what is familiar and make it work. Sadly, I'm still not sure if putting in the hours is worth the effort just yet because of the random crashing that occurs, and that can really break your patience if you forgot to make that last important save file.
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    70
    The fact that the many issues with glitches and bugs weren't ironed out of this release would be unforgivable if the core game wasn't so tirelessly compulsive and complex. As it is, we have to warn our readers that there are some serious problems here. Your enjoyment of the game will largely depend on how much you're willing to forgive the issues.
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    65
    Obsidian Entertainment has bolstered the series with an array of fantastic additions, including crafting and Hardcore mode, but it's hard to appreciate them in light of incessant bugs and unfulfilling quests.
  6. Oct 22, 2010
    60
    Creatively, New Vegas gets almost everything right. Mechanically and technically, it's a tragedy. So, it's a simultaneously rewarding and frustrating game, the gulf between what it is and what it could be a sizeable stretch indeed.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 532 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 142
  2. Negative: 17 out of 142
  1. Oct 24, 2010
    10
    I'm still not sure why this game is receiving such low scores. I see Fallout New Vegas as a vastly improved Fallout 3. The gameplay is moreI'm still not sure why this game is receiving such low scores. I see Fallout New Vegas as a vastly improved Fallout 3. The gameplay is more fun with the new iron sights, the story is more intricate and well told, the sounds have been improved and it's LESS glitchy than Fallout 3. Now... I really hate having my PS3 crash because of a game, and Fallout New Vegas has crashed my system twice now, but it isn't nearly as bad as Fallout 3 as far as stability. If it weren't for the occasional crashes and glitches, i'd give this game a 10... but all things considered, I think a 9 would be reasonable. Again, this game is better in every way than Fallout 3. Full Review »
  2. Oct 19, 2010
    4
    I love everything about fallout 3 but this game does not get a free pass to a high rating. The fact of the matter is this game has so manyI love everything about fallout 3 but this game does not get a free pass to a high rating. The fact of the matter is this game has so many bugs it does not score more than four. Nice try, but a name similar to another game isn't how ratings work. Fix the bugs and it gets a higher score. My vote is not for the genre or the franchise but this game as a single entity. I personally give this game a four, a very low score because simply put I find the game broken. My personality type has no patience to replay an area over again until it works. Its mystical the first time and I only want to experience it once. Bugs or glitches that require a reload ruin the game to the point that I'm not interested in it at all. With 3 systems and at least 500 games on each there are regretfully better choices and Fallout New Vegas is close enough to Fallout 3 you may as well just stay put with Fallout 3 and spare yourself the headaches of wishing Fallout New Vegas didn't have the problems it has. As I mentioned nice try, I like the Fallout franchise but as with anything in life you have to earn a reputation and a game full of bugs and problems is a game full of bugs and problems even if it is Fallout 3 based Full Review »
  3. Nov 1, 2010
    2
    The first hours of Fallout New Vegas was like walking on clouds. I loved everything about it, the atmosphere, the astethics and the gameplay.The first hours of Fallout New Vegas was like walking on clouds. I loved everything about it, the atmosphere, the astethics and the gameplay. But as I ventured out in the gigantic wastelands the glitches appeared and a freezing hell started.

    After 20 hours of gameplay I'm now stuck becuase the game keeps freezing my PS3. My question is how the hell could a game that is so broken get released?
    Full Review »