Fallout: New Vegas PlayStation 3

Fallout: New Vegas Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 532 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest game in the post-nuclear RPG series is being developed by many members of the Fallout 1 and 2 team at Obsidian Entertainment using the Fallout 3 engine.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Fallout: New Vegas TV Ad
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Dec 13, 2010
    95
    There are a few glitches but even so, these do not hamper the gaming experience and if you're looking for value for money, than you have come to the right place my apocalyptic brothers and sister.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    91
    The way New Vegas' story plays out is incredibly immersive, providing a real sense that you're playing a key part in shaping the future of the world. It's not a million miles away from Fallout 3 but it's big, crazy and very entertaining and that's all that really matters.
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    More of the same in the best possible way.
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    82
    Fallout: New Vegas is difficult to classify. It is not really an add-on, because it tells a completly new story. If you love Fallout 3, you may as well cheat on it with New Vegas, no harm done.
  5. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Dec 13, 2010
    80
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  6. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    It's rather clear: Fallout New Vegas is everything Fallout 3 should have been. Well, in terms of freedom and storyline that is, since from a technical side, it's as disappointing as ever. All we can do is pray and hope for their colleagues id Software to lend Bethesda a decent engine - Obsidian couldn't do miracles with what Bethesda's coders gave them, and sometimes it even ruins some nice gameplay ideas like their crafting system. But in the same manner everyone overlooked the flaws of Fallout 1 & 2 because their creators were storytelling geniuses, Obsidian's work on New Vegas is good enough to make us forget about all the lesser details - except maybe the overall lack of challenge.
  7. Oct 22, 2010
    60
    Creatively, New Vegas gets almost everything right. Mechanically and technically, it's a tragedy. So, it's a simultaneously rewarding and frustrating game, the gulf between what it is and what it could be a sizeable stretch indeed.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 142
  2. Negative: 17 out of 142
  1. Oct 24, 2010
    10
    I'm still not sure why this game is receiving such low scores. I see Fallout New Vegas as a vastly improved Fallout 3. The gameplay is moreI'm still not sure why this game is receiving such low scores. I see Fallout New Vegas as a vastly improved Fallout 3. The gameplay is more fun with the new iron sights, the story is more intricate and well told, the sounds have been improved and it's LESS glitchy than Fallout 3. Now... I really hate having my PS3 crash because of a game, and Fallout New Vegas has crashed my system twice now, but it isn't nearly as bad as Fallout 3 as far as stability. If it weren't for the occasional crashes and glitches, i'd give this game a 10... but all things considered, I think a 9 would be reasonable. Again, this game is better in every way than Fallout 3. Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    IMPROVMENT OVER FALLOUT 3!
    --Fallout Vegas main upgrade over fallout 3 since same engine and such similarities,,main upgrade is fine tuning
    IMPROVMENT OVER FALLOUT 3!
    --Fallout Vegas main upgrade over fallout 3 since same engine and such similarities,,main upgrade is fine tuning all mechanics. from pip-boy to the PERKS, to the Feral Ghouls. 1/2 The Companions are excellent, the other 1/2 CRAP. Veronica is awesome, and the robot that flies ED is hands down the best because of their perks. ED HAS flawless awareness/perception and alerts to ALL nearby enemies and is a workbench etc and veronica (I forget)
    Oh and the dog becomes AMAZING. you can evenm change his brain. the dr says pick a brain. And there's a handful of dogs in the game that each have different stats. But the DOG became too good and the balancing was off.. He was killing ALL the baddies..
    ---This game has two ABSOLUTELY AMAZING DLC's..Honest Hearts goes into the ebst story of the game and That's Cesaers former #1 lieutenant The Burning Man, and its set in a Arizona state park with beautiful red mountains and camping grounds. awesome. And the best weapon in the game is his awesome jacked up 45 automatic pistol..
    -The other awesome DLC was OLD WORLD BLUES. I found myself had stopped forwarding the plot in OLD WORLD BLUES and everynight I would do a coupl laps around the whole map Sniping and hunting for loot and repeat. It was set up soo perfect,,and the best sniper rifle in the game is in OWB--Christinas sniper its called. Its silenced and powerful. not .50 cal powewrful, but kills most in 1 shot, and every head shot is a kill, I say that basede on the higher level baddies, not a helmetless human, who every headshot is a kill...
    ---I went to buy The Force Unleashed2 that LUCKY DAY, and the clerk the store said he played Fallout Vegas all week and its addictive and he'll be playing it for another month atleast,,,but he made a great fact/point about TFU2, how fast I was gonna beats it and put it down. so true,. I bought Vegas and played it for 6 months STR8. The longest run ive had in my gaming history all the way back to the original Legend of Zelda and Metroid coming home from middle school...
    ----FACT-ANYONE who loved fallout 3 and has ANY ISSUES WITH VEGAS is nuts. the only thing better about Fallout 3 was the DJ Three-Dog and well the story was original. but it was pretty cool to go to Vegas as well..
    ---The Next Fallout game needs to leave the west coast totally and maybe goto Europe or Georgia or Texas.
    ---FACT BTW- VEGAS SURVIVED THE NUCLEAR HOLOCAUST IN Fallout Vegas. I wont spoil HOW or why,, but the whole city is beautiful but dirty because theres no cleaners or window washing,,but all the hotels and casino's survived..
    --Plenty of abandoned Vaults to exlore with SUPER AWESOME STORIES of tragedy,humor, and success,.Th eone wheres the president/overseer is sacrificed after 1 year in office was soooo interesting and clever and funny. The held elections and the campaigns were opposite. don't elect me cause I steal, I top shelf my wife when I tap it, I blah blah, the goal is to not get elected...
    ----This game is in my all time top 5 with Oblivion/skyrim ArKHAM City and the greats...Get the game of the year cause the add ons are the games bread and butter...I hope I convinced atleast 1 person..
    Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2014
    9
    Fallout New
    Vegas has problems in glitches, environment design, Ai, and invisible walls. Yet the game is fun and a memorable adventure into
    Fallout New
    Vegas has problems in glitches, environment design, Ai, and invisible walls. Yet the game is fun and a memorable adventure into the ruins of vegas and the war of huge factions leading to a war that will decide the fate of the Mojave. Even though the game has oh so many problems i recommend it to any role playing fans or just people looking for a fun game.
    Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    8
    I feel as though this game isn't getting the credit it deserves by some reviewers. Yeah there are some technical issues with the game... butI feel as though this game isn't getting the credit it deserves by some reviewers. Yeah there are some technical issues with the game... but people seem to forget that we live in a time where just about every game is in need of some form of patchwork along it's lifetime. Have any of you played a single game within the last few years that came straight off the shelves completely polished and in no need of some calibration?...didn't think so. Besides venting on that topic, New Vegas did exactly what I believe it should have done, be the sequel to arguably one one of the best games of 2008. I believe they have successfully built upon what made Fallout 3 so great without taking away anything to lessen the experience. Yeah, there are some minor issues with the game, one of those being the lock-ups... but just BE PATIENT! Bethesda has already announced that they are working on fixing these issues. On the positive, kudos to the developers for making the game even more immersible, the setting is truly gorgeous and I haven't even gone past the second town outside of where you start. For $60 bucks, you're not going to get much more bang for your buck, unless stress-inducing multiplayer shooters are your calling. Expand
  5. Apr 9, 2012
    8
    While not as good and atmospheric as Fallout 3, it still delivers a lot of great content to keep you playing for hours. The main story isWhile not as good and atmospheric as Fallout 3, it still delivers a lot of great content to keep you playing for hours. The main story is pretty weak, but the combat and companion system have been tweaked. Worth checking out if you loved Fallout 3, but don't expect too much change in gameplay and graphics. Expand
  6. Aug 25, 2011
    7
    I believe the phrase that has been thrown around '60 dollar expansion pack' is pretty accurate (or at least the time the game was that muchI believe the phrase that has been thrown around '60 dollar expansion pack' is pretty accurate (or at least the time the game was that much money). But there are actually a lot of improvements to game play. The main story isn't as interesting as the last game but the side missions are more interesting than the last game as are the characters. Lots of tough and interesting new enemies, factions and ways to have fun -- minigames. Once you get the hang of the Caravan, you can make a ton of caps no problem. Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game until you come to find that the game doesn't end as Fallout 3 with the DLCs, where you could continue playing the same player after you finish the main game. I really don't get this from the developers, it's just lazy and ridiculous. If you want to play any DLC you have to load a previous save file as if you have never finished the game. Freaking stupid. Expand

See all 142 User Reviews