Fallout: New Vegas PlayStation 3

Fallout: New Vegas Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 510 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest game in the post-nuclear RPG series is being developed by many members of the Fallout 1 and 2 team at Obsidian Entertainment using the Fallout 3 engine.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Dec 13, 2010
    95
    There are a few glitches but even so, these do not hamper the gaming experience and if you're looking for value for money, than you have come to the right place my apocalyptic brothers and sister.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    91
    The way New Vegas' story plays out is incredibly immersive, providing a real sense that you're playing a key part in shaping the future of the world. It's not a million miles away from Fallout 3 but it's big, crazy and very entertaining and that's all that really matters.
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    More of the same in the best possible way.
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    82
    Fallout: New Vegas is difficult to classify. It is not really an add-on, because it tells a completly new story. If you love Fallout 3, you may as well cheat on it with New Vegas, no harm done.
  5. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Dec 13, 2010
    80
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  6. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    It's rather clear: Fallout New Vegas is everything Fallout 3 should have been. Well, in terms of freedom and storyline that is, since from a technical side, it's as disappointing as ever. All we can do is pray and hope for their colleagues id Software to lend Bethesda a decent engine - Obsidian couldn't do miracles with what Bethesda's coders gave them, and sometimes it even ruins some nice gameplay ideas like their crafting system. But in the same manner everyone overlooked the flaws of Fallout 1 & 2 because their creators were storytelling geniuses, Obsidian's work on New Vegas is good enough to make us forget about all the lesser details - except maybe the overall lack of challenge.
  7. Oct 22, 2010
    60
    Creatively, New Vegas gets almost everything right. Mechanically and technically, it's a tragedy. So, it's a simultaneously rewarding and frustrating game, the gulf between what it is and what it could be a sizeable stretch indeed.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 140
  2. Negative: 17 out of 140
  1. Oct 24, 2010
    10
    I'm still not sure why this game is receiving such low scores. I see Fallout New Vegas as a vastly improved Fallout 3. The gameplay is moreI'm still not sure why this game is receiving such low scores. I see Fallout New Vegas as a vastly improved Fallout 3. The gameplay is more fun with the new iron sights, the story is more intricate and well told, the sounds have been improved and it's LESS glitchy than Fallout 3. Now... I really hate having my PS3 crash because of a game, and Fallout New Vegas has crashed my system twice now, but it isn't nearly as bad as Fallout 3 as far as stability. If it weren't for the occasional crashes and glitches, i'd give this game a 10... but all things considered, I think a 9 would be reasonable. Again, this game is better in every way than Fallout 3. Expand
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    Fallout New Vegas is a great game, no question.

    First, the positive things about this game. + The mainstory is entertaining enough to tie you
    Fallout New Vegas is a great game, no question.

    First, the positive things about this game.
    + The mainstory is entertaining enough to tie you to your TV screen. Each character has his own way to talk.
    + The fighting system is well balanced. With the V.A.T.S it gets a strategic touch. The shootouts are very exciting.
    + The S.P.E.C.I.A.L system (your skillsystem) gives you the option to customize your character the way you want him/her to be.

    Now the cons.
    - The graphics look lousy in comparision to other games and especially on the PS3 there is an awful lot of edge flickering!
    - The A.I. is non existant
    - Monotone environment
    - Many bugs and crashes
    - Many loading screens
    Expand
  3. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    I loved Fallout 3 to pieces so this could be biased, however I feel New Vegas simply failed to provide the level of atmosphere that 3 did. TheI loved Fallout 3 to pieces so this could be biased, however I feel New Vegas simply failed to provide the level of atmosphere that 3 did. The map is smaller and less populated, and instead it seems Obsidian spent more time creating a wider array of weapons, armour and items which admittedly adds to the game. The story is all over the place and seems more like a tour to get you to see all the locations, and it is very linear. The game flows better, however frequent freezing really breaks the fun. Expand
  4. Mar 4, 2012
    8
    this game is better then fallout 3 the map is bigger there are more weapons they added factions iron sights and more towns the only problemthis game is better then fallout 3 the map is bigger there are more weapons they added factions iron sights and more towns the only problem with this game is it crashes alot still and it is ran on the same engine as it did last time which makes it feel like a huge dlc but still the best game in the fallout series Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    It's not as good as fallout 3, but still a decent game. The game is fairly buggy, but it works. Graphics are decent as per the usual. As shortIt's not as good as fallout 3, but still a decent game. The game is fairly buggy, but it works. Graphics are decent as per the usual. As short as the main quest was in fallout 3, this one takes that title by far. The map is not as big, and there aren't as many quests as the former game had. Still a fun game, and new vegas is an interesting change of pace from the desolate wastes of the series. The faction system took a lot away from the game, as opposed to adding anything new or interesting. Customizing your weapons is a welcomed addition, as is the inclusion of iron sights. Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2011
    7
    frame rate issues are very significant the larger your save file becomes. i love the game but after putting 25 hours in it turns into a choppyframe rate issues are very significant the larger your save file becomes. i love the game but after putting 25 hours in it turns into a choppy mess. i was so excited about the iron sights and new scopes but i found myself forced into using vats due to the frame rate problems. don't buy this for ps3. Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game until you come to find that the game doesn't end as Fallout 3 with the DLCs, where you could continue playing the same player after you finish the main game. I really don't get this from the developers, it's just lazy and ridiculous. If you want to play any DLC you have to load a previous save file as if you have never finished the game. Freaking stupid. Expand

See all 140 User Reviews