User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 23
  2. Negative: 7 out of 23

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 26, 2012
    4
    I rented from lovefilm as i thought it would be a laugh, and thats as far as it goes, it may appeal to fans of family guy. You travel through some slightly funny, lacklustre, themed worlds, with a boring attempt to shoot your way through, given some second objectives that i chose to ignore. Extra weapons, costumes, and a leveling up can be accessed through an in game store located throughout the game, but most of the weapons seem pointless. The game is very very short, so maybe worth a rent for a few chuckles, but i wouldnt buy this game. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    7
    This game is better than some people think. Granted it uses the same character models over and over and some of the dialog is pixelated sometimes and repeated throughout, it's fun with few other drawbacks. Good controls and great gameplay make Family Guy: Back to The Mutiverse what it is.
  3. Dec 1, 2012
    6
    Only for Family Guy fans, because is 4 hours of gameplay made of repetitive sessions of third person shooting and not much more. What really makes this game worth a buy are the awesome carachters that, if you love Family Guy, will make laugh from the beginning to the end.
  4. Jan 17, 2013
    7
    The controls are incredibly simple and easy to pick up, especially for gamers who have played other well-known shooter games. Each level is diverse as the bosses and the enemies offer a very different challenge, therefore you will not find the story mode repetitive. There is also a broad choice of weapons available to each character. There is good use of comedy throughout the game. In my opinion the best feature in the game is the multiplayer mode. I say this because in todays world multiplayer modes in console games are few and far between due to the ever increasing popularity of online gaming. Online gaming is a spectacular invention but it Expand
  5. Jan 20, 2013
    5
    I feel like crying. This game it was just. Horrible. Being a huge Family Guy fan I kind of had a eye out for this. It tryed to hard to be a typical 3rd person shooter, with humor and family guy slapped on top. Instead of going into my usual Graphics - Gameplay - Verdict, i'm going to say the good the bad and the ugly. The good, at points this was a good laugh, having me chuckle. Gameplay was sometimes fun and it had every voice actors from the show, giving it a nice feel. The bad, is the animations. They are so stiff, and while the gameplay was fun sometimes, it was boring %60 of the time. The complete ugly is some random characters, and them expecting you seen EVERY episode. In total, this is a 5/10, its good fun at times but only worth about 10 bucks, or a downloadable title. Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2013
    6
    This game is incredibly short and will only appeal to hardcore Family Guy fans. Aside from the novelty of being Family Guy the game is barebones for content. The jokes are recycled and overused which just makes them annoying rather than hilarious. The levels are ridiculously easy and short, just blasting your way to get to the next level. It's a rather fun game, I admit it but it just sticks way too close to its comfort zone. Atleast they tried to be creative with the design and convey the crudity and obscene humour of the show. Hell, that "Chicken Fight" level would be hilarious if I hadn't seen it before but I have. The game is only a couple of hours long which is disappointing because at that point the only content left is multiplayer which is kind of lacklustre with the modifications you'de expect, just tailored to the show's humour. Multiverse Madness I don't see the point in either. They didn't even try to be original there, just ripped off a mode that a lot of other games had and do it poorly with frustrating glitches and aiming. Overall, nothing in this game will make you mad but nothing will make you particularly happy either. Just take it for what it is, which is a decent game that you should rent if you're a huge Family Guy fan. Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2013
    8
    As a huge fan of the Family Guy TV series, I loved this game. A lot of the criticism is valid, but if you like the show you should be adequately entertained throughout the game.
  8. Mar 31, 2013
    4
    Family Guy: Back To The Multiverse is fair. It's not good or great or ingenious or so bad you want to personally toss it into a volcano, it's just fair. For one thing, the controls are actually okay, it's a simple but repetitive 3rd person shooter with a number of invisible walls. The graphics are at best, average, about as good as an upscaled cartoon ps2 game or The Simpsons game from 2007, minus the TV show style cutscenes. When you consider the vast art styles of the Multiverse in the TV show (1 of the better episodes to come out since Season 5), the level design focused more on a storied multiverse rather than a visual one. These levels are quite bland and not very pretty to look at, even for cartoon graphics (the Sly Cooper HD collection looks much better than this). The levels themselves were just okay, the bosses were a bit amusing, but just okay. Most, if not all of the jokes in this game are already in the show and are here being recycled or used within another context as dialogue, making the game funny for people who are perhaps fascinated by Family Guy and haven't heard the jokes before. But because the game is marketed at Family Guy fans or even former fans hoping the show has improved, this is more like a newer episode recycling jokes, hoping we will still be laughing at them. If you want to know if this is good value for money, I'll say sure, if you see it for £3 or $5 and not £40 or $60, like it would have been when it first came out (and if any of you did and didn't do a review about it to get your money back, I pity you). It is short enough that you could rent it on lovefilm (which is what I did) and complete it within the week (for me, 3 days to complete the story). Along with that, it is possible to obtain 71% of the trophies within 4 days. A short game, a fair rental, a "better be £5 or less" buy, and in general, just something to pass the time, and then appreciate better games during or when you're done. Expand
Metascore
40

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 6 out of 9
  1. There are more immediate giggles to be had in the Story Mode, which is rib-tickling to wade through, although "wade" is definitely the word. It really just boils down to running around dodging either projectiles or up-close Family Guy caricatures, like angry college guys with deadly melee bongs. Then you either cap 'em or bash 'em, and maybe collect a few things while being funneled towards your next inane but comical goal. [January 2013, p72]
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    19
    With some utterly appalling level design, terrible physics and the aforementioned imprecise controls, Multiverse is one of the worst tie-ins of this generation. [Issue#227, p.78]
  3. Unfortunately for Back To The Multiverse, success is not always inherited. Whereas Family Guy consistently delivers quality (except for a few hiccups here and there), the game starts exploring the deepest regions of abysmal pretty fast. [January 2013, p.82]