User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 219 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 219

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 29, 2011
    4
    The graphics are beautiful, but that alone can't compensate all the flaws this game has. The missions are boring and repetitive, you'll spend an awful lot of time driving around to reach your goal which is also boring. While driving around you'll also encounter scout posts where you'll be attacked, and the worst is that the enemies respawn there every mission, which makes for a frustratingThe graphics are beautiful, but that alone can't compensate all the flaws this game has. The missions are boring and repetitive, you'll spend an awful lot of time driving around to reach your goal which is also boring. While driving around you'll also encounter scout posts where you'll be attacked, and the worst is that the enemies respawn there every mission, which makes for a frustrating experience.The AI is horrible. they don't take cover or try to flank, the only thing they do is walk straight towards you while shooting at you. The stealth mechanic is broken as once an enemy catches a glance of you all enemies will immediately know the EXACT spot where you are and will continue to follow you around until either you or they are dead. The story is dull and virtually non-existant. The characters are all one-dimensional and the voice acting is atrocious; all characters talk extremely fast and sound emotionless.
    Don't believe the hype and stay away from this game, it truly was a chore to play.
    Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    This game is for hardcore shooter fans who want a difficult but rewarding experience. Do not go into this game expecting a Call of Duty rip off that holds your hand to a ridiculous extent. However, once you finally get into the game, you will soon find yourself driving around the jungle in a Jeep Wrangler while being pursued by a convoy a South African mercenaries with RPGs andThis game is for hardcore shooter fans who want a difficult but rewarding experience. Do not go into this game expecting a Call of Duty rip off that holds your hand to a ridiculous extent. However, once you finally get into the game, you will soon find yourself driving around the jungle in a Jeep Wrangler while being pursued by a convoy a South African mercenaries with RPGs and Flamethrowers. A great game from beginning to end. Expand
  3. Apr 23, 2014
    6
    Tedious and repetitive, especially with all the time spent driving, though still fairly enjoyable. The story isn't outstanding, but unlike most shooters, it's actually pretty believable which is nice for a change. The graphics are great for a game released in 2008, even though the colors are a little washed out. The explosions in particular are excellent, sending shrapnel and and debrisTedious and repetitive, especially with all the time spent driving, though still fairly enjoyable. The story isn't outstanding, but unlike most shooters, it's actually pretty believable which is nice for a change. The graphics are great for a game released in 2008, even though the colors are a little washed out. The explosions in particular are excellent, sending shrapnel and and debris flying everywhere, and usually without any drop in frame rate. Some of the things keeping this from being a better game are the dumb AI, enemies constantly chasing you in trucks causing you to have to get out and repair your vehicle, and a few glitches here and there forcing you to reload your saves. Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    Underrated. A very good FPS with impressive graphics, and it's HARD! Definitely not a place for **** If you can't take the heat stay out of Africa.
  5. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    95/100: Even though Far Cry 2 is at time of writing an old game already, it's so super fun to play this game. The story is very good and the setting of the game is really nice and enjoyable. Everything you can do in this game is pointed out so good. The multiplayer is very dead at the moment but if you are able to play it because there are enough people online, it's very enjoyable as well.95/100: Even though Far Cry 2 is at time of writing an old game already, it's so super fun to play this game. The story is very good and the setting of the game is really nice and enjoyable. Everything you can do in this game is pointed out so good. The multiplayer is very dead at the moment but if you are able to play it because there are enough people online, it's very enjoyable as well. You can play this open world game for hours and hours without it's losing its fun! Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2011
    0
    where do i start i hated this game with every fiber of my being. it had so many problems and that isnt even counting the glitches and bugs. it may look good but other than that it is garbage. every single person is an ennemy which means as soon as you see people get out of your car and start shooting and on top of that they are so dumb it is easy to take them all out with carful timing.where do i start i hated this game with every fiber of my being. it had so many problems and that isnt even counting the glitches and bugs. it may look good but other than that it is garbage. every single person is an ennemy which means as soon as you see people get out of your car and start shooting and on top of that they are so dumb it is easy to take them all out with carful timing. there is also no mini map which means you have to pull out the map at every fork to see which way to go and it is very time consuming and gets very tedious. great idea for a game but unfourtunatly they failed to deliver and i advise you stay away from this game and dont even rent it Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2010
    5
    Repetetive Repetetive Repetetive Repetetive Repetetive, black people dont speak afrikaans like a white guy graphics good but hate being attacked every 2 seconds by some random people, this game could have been really awesome but it was ruined next far cry i dont want to see these mistakes.
  8. May 18, 2011
    9
    Everything in this game feels 'just about right'. Gameplay lacking all those trendy fluid-healths, auto-aims or quick-saves is original challenging enough without reaching frustrating moments. First-person experience, where you can see your hands constantly interacting with world is not only immersive, it's almost claustrophobic. Buddies, lending you helping hand when you need it most andEverything in this game feels 'just about right'. Gameplay lacking all those trendy fluid-healths, auto-aims or quick-saves is original challenging enough without reaching frustrating moments. First-person experience, where you can see your hands constantly interacting with world is not only immersive, it's almost claustrophobic. Buddies, lending you helping hand when you need it most and requiring same service when they're in trouble themselves, behaves like real human beings and you really care about their fate. But it's Africa what steals the show completely. Map, with it dense jungles, shanty towns and open savannas, sets quality level so high that no other game can think of using same environment without being called Far Cry 2 clone.

    Just about right.
    Expand
  9. Feb 24, 2012
    1
    Ok here goes. The bugs are massive. The graphics are good. The storyline is terrible. The enjoyment is almost non-exsistent. Example: When you have to drive from one side of map to the other side is not fun. Then when the A.I spawns almost instantly in spots you just cleared is also not fun. They should spawn in a day or two. Also the A.I are bullet sponges. When I can fire half a clip ofOk here goes. The bugs are massive. The graphics are good. The storyline is terrible. The enjoyment is almost non-exsistent. Example: When you have to drive from one side of map to the other side is not fun. Then when the A.I spawns almost instantly in spots you just cleared is also not fun. They should spawn in a day or two. Also the A.I are bullet sponges. When I can fire half a clip of a ak47 in them and they stay up is retarded, but they can kill me with 5 or 6 bullets on easy is just stupid. Sorry just had to rant. Expand
  10. Aug 14, 2012
    7
    What can I say. It's stands out as a stunning game visually. Exploring Africa is cool, but there are things in this game that piss me off. This open world game is a mess. Filled with bugs, bad AI and a crap load of **** out to get you. The missions can be compelling but I felt more in the end that it was a decent enough game. Give it a shot if you like open world games, but good luck. It's hard.
  11. Feb 11, 2015
    10
    This is a beautiful, awesome game with a p highly entertaining multiplayer, and detailed systems in single player with a decent plot. This is a very good game, especially for how old it is, and I recommend it to any gamer.
  12. Aug 23, 2013
    7
    At the time it was probably passable but now it's just ok. The story is at best, good. Even though it is an open world game, I still felt a lot of restriction.
  13. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    despite some glitches and quirks, the game is gritty and easy to immerse yourself in completely. the story is relatively a "point A to point B" plot, but it does allow for the player to decide how to handle certain missions. i was frustrated at first, having to battle through checkpoints constantly with substandard weapons, but once i gained in my reputation and upgraded my weapons, idespite some glitches and quirks, the game is gritty and easy to immerse yourself in completely. the story is relatively a "point A to point B" plot, but it does allow for the player to decide how to handle certain missions. i was frustrated at first, having to battle through checkpoints constantly with substandard weapons, but once i gained in my reputation and upgraded my weapons, i became a killing machine, very much like "The Jackal", the man that i was trying to find and kill in the game. i wouldn't pay full price for it, but as a discount title, or as a rental, go for it. Expand
  14. May 24, 2011
    9
    FARCRY 2 isthe most slow and relaxed fps ever but this helps it it.i love the lethality of the weapons it brutal. never gve up the flamethorwer as this game has the mot relistic fire in a game EVER! the guns jam,the viechles are all **** and driving everywheres rubbish. i cant help love this game though as it can be fun to try and work out the stories in your head as it is soFARCRY 2 isthe most slow and relaxed fps ever but this helps it it.i love the lethality of the weapons it brutal. never gve up the flamethorwer as this game has the mot relistic fire in a game EVER! the guns jam,the viechles are all **** and driving everywheres rubbish. i cant help love this game though as it can be fun to try and work out the stories in your head as it is so confusing.the online line mapmaker is legend but the death matchs sre broken. for all its faults though you cant help love farcry 2. Expand
  15. Jan 29, 2013
    2
    This game sucks period. The graphics are decent, gameplay decent but other than that, its ASS.frnefnhrehvbevwenvwkvbwehvbwhjvbwhvkbwrklvbkhvhwbvhwbvkrthjvbr3hwvhjb
  16. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    The graphics is ok gameplay is a little boring AND repetitive the AI can be annoying but overall its great for those who like this kinda game so if you wanna a first person shooter skyrim style then try it out
  17. May 9, 2012
    9
    Far Cry 2 is a beautiful shooter, and unique. When I played for about one day, I was not really impressed, but when I continued to play, It grows on me. This game is with extreme gameplay, very realistic graphics and beautifully great. Multiplayer is interesting and intense. Multiplayer haves some unique things that you will be impressed by them. There's even map editor, which is a greatFar Cry 2 is a beautiful shooter, and unique. When I played for about one day, I was not really impressed, but when I continued to play, It grows on me. This game is with extreme gameplay, very realistic graphics and beautifully great. Multiplayer is interesting and intense. Multiplayer haves some unique things that you will be impressed by them. There's even map editor, which is a great bonus. But there's a problem, the plot is uninteresting. Still, this game is amazing, and with a really long campaign experience that delivers a lot of fun (9.3) Expand
  18. Aug 14, 2012
    7
    Playing Far Cry 2 on the PS3, is quite fun. The impressive technical graphics shines even in PS3. But, from the amazing graphics that Far Cry 2 haves, sometimes the game laggs, which can be annoying. So, I was expecting that PC version is way better, and It is. However, the story mode is incredible, because of It's sandbox gameplay, and It haves one of the most difficult combat out there.Playing Far Cry 2 on the PS3, is quite fun. The impressive technical graphics shines even in PS3. But, from the amazing graphics that Far Cry 2 haves, sometimes the game laggs, which can be annoying. So, I was expecting that PC version is way better, and It is. However, the story mode is incredible, because of It's sandbox gameplay, and It haves one of the most difficult combat out there. About the multiplayer, is fun, but not great. You rarely can get addicted from the multiplayer, because It's not revolutionary. Still, fun. And the map editor It's perfect, where you can create your own map. 75 out of 100 Expand
  19. Jan 26, 2013
    4
    I have to tell that i was pretty eager on starting this game. After 4 hours and 12% completion i got definitely BORED to hell with the driving and the endlessly re-spawning of guard points. The games is gorgeous but i just can't stand this anymore. Far Cry 2 is done for me.
  20. Jul 4, 2014
    8
    As I have played this game much. I will recommend to spend this game 15$. The story mode isn't that good. It's little bit boring even it have open world and stuff. But the multiplayer is just "olalaa"! It's still have the best FPS gaming multiplayer lobbies ever in realistic war games. You have editor were you can create your own multiplayer games and lobbies with game modes likeAs I have played this game much. I will recommend to spend this game 15$. The story mode isn't that good. It's little bit boring even it have open world and stuff. But the multiplayer is just "olalaa"! It's still have the best FPS gaming multiplayer lobbies ever in realistic war games. You have editor were you can create your own multiplayer games and lobbies with game modes like domination, tdm and capture the flag. One of great masterpieces of gaming history. But still 8/10. Expand
  21. May 28, 2014
    5
    I don't feel necessarily like I've played this game enough to write a review (about 4 hours) but the fact that I can't bring myself to play it again should tell you it kinda sucks. You have to drive around for hours and hours (this isn't GTA so this isn't really a virtue, driving is kind of frustrating especially given the lack of a useful map/GPS), every few hundred meters you'll beI don't feel necessarily like I've played this game enough to write a review (about 4 hours) but the fact that I can't bring myself to play it again should tell you it kinda sucks. You have to drive around for hours and hours (this isn't GTA so this isn't really a virtue, driving is kind of frustrating especially given the lack of a useful map/GPS), every few hundred meters you'll be attacked by random people, by the way is unique in that EVERYONE is an enemy (except the handful of characters that help you out during missions), they'll attack you for no reason even if you don't provoke them at all. The story line seems very uninteresting and the character models are pretty lame (also the music is very subdued and boring). Generally the graphics are the strong point of this game but still don't believe the hype, this isn't nearly as good as Far Cry 1 (which wasn't great either). Expand
  22. Jul 21, 2014
    5
    La desilusión que me llevé con Far Cry 2 fue enorme. Los trailers tenían tan buena pinta que me liaron para comprar este aburrido, repetitivo y soso juego. Gráficamente se salva (siendo del 2008 tiene buenos gráficos), el fuego es lo que mas llama la atención. Pero de que sirve eso si la historia no tiene gancho y las misiones siempre son iguales. A las dos horas ya estas aburrido. No hayLa desilusión que me llevé con Far Cry 2 fue enorme. Los trailers tenían tan buena pinta que me liaron para comprar este aburrido, repetitivo y soso juego. Gráficamente se salva (siendo del 2008 tiene buenos gráficos), el fuego es lo que mas llama la atención. Pero de que sirve eso si la historia no tiene gancho y las misiones siempre son iguales. A las dos horas ya estas aburrido. No hay puntos de viaje rápido en las casas, solo en cuatro estaciones de bus y eso hace que tengas que recorrer todo el mapeado para llegar a los sitios, algo realmente tedioso. Hay lugares de enemigos que aunque los mates si te alejas y vuelves estan ahí otra vez. De vez en cuando ves zebras pero parecen hechas de cartón y no sirve de nada matarlas. El multijugador también tenía potencial (ese creador es bastante bueno) pero se queda en un online cutre y casposo, con unos controles tan toscos (tanto del hombre como de los vehículos) es casi imposible matar a alguien. En definitiva, no merece la pena que lo compréis, id directamente a por el 3, el cual sí es un gran juego y no este... Expand
  23. Jan 10, 2015
    7
    Far Cry 2

    Game-play:The game have some standards FPS mechanics but it is very difficult compered to other FPS.

    Story:The story is not that good and it is the main reason i give this game 7.

    Graphics:I really like the graphics they are very realistic.

    Notes:The game have lot of weapons to use and a big map to explore.This is a good game and i recommend it to any FPS fan.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Whatever happens you'll believe it's a real world and a fantastic setting for the action. It's not as dense or as varied as, say, Oblivion - you'll go somewhere, kill everyone, every mission - but it's utterly convincing and engrossing. [Dec 2008, p.98]
  2. Combat is thrilling – each weapon packing a solid, vicious blast; movement suggesting heft and momentum. [Dec 2008, p.80]
  3. 83
    Even if I find the multiplayer too staid, I find the possibility of cool user-made levels (via the easy map editor) tantalizing. Like any good Grand Theft Auto, Far Cry 2's overall package makes up for any individual flaws -- enough for it to be on a short list of best FPS games this year -- and so it's fitting to summarize it as...well, GTA: Mogadishu.