Far Cry 2 PlayStation 3

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 230 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 230
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 30, 2015
    8
    AFRICA!
    After having played both Far Cry 3 and 4 I have to say that this is my favorite of the three. I might be writing this through my nostalgia goggles, so bare with me. The beauty of Africa is just stunning. There is a lot of variety in the game's world. There is the deep jungle areas, large savannah's, wet swamps and dry desert areas. In Far Cry 3 it was just jungle, jungle, jungle
    AFRICA!
    After having played both Far Cry 3 and 4 I have to say that this is my favorite of the three. I might be writing this through my nostalgia goggles, so bare with me. The beauty of Africa is just stunning. There is a lot of variety in the game's world. There is the deep jungle areas, large savannah's, wet swamps and dry desert areas. In Far Cry 3 it was just jungle, jungle, jungle and green, green, green.

    The story and voice acting is decent and oh, the accents. The main villain is interesting enough. And there's nothing better than being victorious after slaying a handful of enemies. Because unlike the later Far Cry games, this game is actually challenging. You have a very limited health and ability to heal. And the battles really feel like battles. The tension is real when you have to hide behind your car when taking fire from all sides. And the music just fits the game and atmosphere perfectly.

    (I played this game in 2010 I'm just now writing the review.)
    Expand
  2. Feb 11, 2015
    10
    This is a beautiful, awesome game with a p highly entertaining multiplayer, and detailed systems in single player with a decent plot. This is a very good game, especially for how old it is, and I recommend it to any gamer.
  3. Jan 10, 2015
    7
    Far Cry 2

    Game-play:The game have some standards FPS mechanics but it is very difficult compered to other FPS.

    Story:The story is not that good and it is the main reason i give this game 7.

    Graphics:I really like the graphics they are very realistic.

    Notes:The game have lot of weapons to use and a big map to explore.This is a good game and i recommend it to any FPS fan.
  4. Jul 21, 2014
    5
    La desilusión que me llevé con Far Cry 2 fue enorme. Los trailers tenían tan buena pinta que me liaron para comprar este aburrido, repetitivo y soso juego. Gráficamente se salva (siendo del 2008 tiene buenos gráficos), el fuego es lo que mas llama la atención. Pero de que sirve eso si la historia no tiene gancho y las misiones siempre son iguales. A las dos horas ya estas aburrido. No hayLa desilusión que me llevé con Far Cry 2 fue enorme. Los trailers tenían tan buena pinta que me liaron para comprar este aburrido, repetitivo y soso juego. Gráficamente se salva (siendo del 2008 tiene buenos gráficos), el fuego es lo que mas llama la atención. Pero de que sirve eso si la historia no tiene gancho y las misiones siempre son iguales. A las dos horas ya estas aburrido. No hay puntos de viaje rápido en las casas, solo en cuatro estaciones de bus y eso hace que tengas que recorrer todo el mapeado para llegar a los sitios, algo realmente tedioso. Hay lugares de enemigos que aunque los mates si te alejas y vuelves estan ahí otra vez. De vez en cuando ves zebras pero parecen hechas de cartón y no sirve de nada matarlas. El multijugador también tenía potencial (ese creador es bastante bueno) pero se queda en un online cutre y casposo, con unos controles tan toscos (tanto del hombre como de los vehículos) es casi imposible matar a alguien. En definitiva, no merece la pena que lo compréis, id directamente a por el 3, el cual sí es un gran juego y no este... Expand
  5. Jul 4, 2014
    8
    As I have played this game much. I will recommend to spend this game 15$. The story mode isn't that good. It's little bit boring even it have open world and stuff. But the multiplayer is just "olalaa"! It's still have the best FPS gaming multiplayer lobbies ever in realistic war games. You have editor were you can create your own multiplayer games and lobbies with game modes likeAs I have played this game much. I will recommend to spend this game 15$. The story mode isn't that good. It's little bit boring even it have open world and stuff. But the multiplayer is just "olalaa"! It's still have the best FPS gaming multiplayer lobbies ever in realistic war games. You have editor were you can create your own multiplayer games and lobbies with game modes like domination, tdm and capture the flag. One of great masterpieces of gaming history. But still 8/10. Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    95/100: Even though Far Cry 2 is at time of writing an old game already, it's so super fun to play this game. The story is very good and the setting of the game is really nice and enjoyable. Everything you can do in this game is pointed out so good. The multiplayer is very dead at the moment but if you are able to play it because there are enough people online, it's very enjoyable as well.95/100: Even though Far Cry 2 is at time of writing an old game already, it's so super fun to play this game. The story is very good and the setting of the game is really nice and enjoyable. Everything you can do in this game is pointed out so good. The multiplayer is very dead at the moment but if you are able to play it because there are enough people online, it's very enjoyable as well. You can play this open world game for hours and hours without it's losing its fun! Expand
  7. May 28, 2014
    5
    I don't feel necessarily like I've played this game enough to write a review (about 4 hours) but the fact that I can't bring myself to play it again should tell you it kinda sucks. You have to drive around for hours and hours (this isn't GTA so this isn't really a virtue, driving is kind of frustrating especially given the lack of a useful map/GPS), every few hundred meters you'll beI don't feel necessarily like I've played this game enough to write a review (about 4 hours) but the fact that I can't bring myself to play it again should tell you it kinda sucks. You have to drive around for hours and hours (this isn't GTA so this isn't really a virtue, driving is kind of frustrating especially given the lack of a useful map/GPS), every few hundred meters you'll be attacked by random people, by the way is unique in that EVERYONE is an enemy (except the handful of characters that help you out during missions), they'll attack you for no reason even if you don't provoke them at all. The story line seems very uninteresting and the character models are pretty lame (also the music is very subdued and boring). Generally the graphics are the strong point of this game but still don't believe the hype, this isn't nearly as good as Far Cry 1 (which wasn't great either). Expand
  8. Apr 23, 2014
    6
    Tedious and repetitive, especially with all the time spent driving, though still fairly enjoyable. The story isn't outstanding, but unlike most shooters, it's actually pretty believable which is nice for a change. The graphics are great for a game released in 2008, even though the colors are a little washed out. The explosions in particular are excellent, sending shrapnel and and debrisTedious and repetitive, especially with all the time spent driving, though still fairly enjoyable. The story isn't outstanding, but unlike most shooters, it's actually pretty believable which is nice for a change. The graphics are great for a game released in 2008, even though the colors are a little washed out. The explosions in particular are excellent, sending shrapnel and and debris flying everywhere, and usually without any drop in frame rate. Some of the things keeping this from being a better game are the dumb AI, enemies constantly chasing you in trucks causing you to have to get out and repair your vehicle, and a few glitches here and there forcing you to reload your saves. Expand
  9. Aug 23, 2013
    7
    At the time it was probably passable but now it's just ok. The story is at best, good. Even though it is an open world game, I still felt a lot of restriction.
  10. Jan 29, 2013
    2
    This game sucks period. The graphics are decent, gameplay decent but other than that, its ASS.frnefnhrehvbevwenvwkvbwehvbwhjvbwhvkbwrklvbkhvhwbvhwbvkrthjvbr3hwvhjb
  11. Jan 26, 2013
    4
    I have to tell that i was pretty eager on starting this game. After 4 hours and 12% completion i got definitely BORED to hell with the driving and the endlessly re-spawning of guard points. The games is gorgeous but i just can't stand this anymore. Far Cry 2 is done for me.
  12. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    Underrated. A very good FPS with impressive graphics, and it's HARD! Definitely not a place for **** If you can't take the heat stay out of Africa.
  13. Aug 14, 2012
    7
    Playing Far Cry 2 on the PS3, is quite fun. The impressive technical graphics shines even in PS3. But, from the amazing graphics that Far Cry 2 haves, sometimes the game laggs, which can be annoying. So, I was expecting that PC version is way better, and It is. However, the story mode is incredible, because of It's sandbox gameplay, and It haves one of the most difficult combat out there.Playing Far Cry 2 on the PS3, is quite fun. The impressive technical graphics shines even in PS3. But, from the amazing graphics that Far Cry 2 haves, sometimes the game laggs, which can be annoying. So, I was expecting that PC version is way better, and It is. However, the story mode is incredible, because of It's sandbox gameplay, and It haves one of the most difficult combat out there. About the multiplayer, is fun, but not great. You rarely can get addicted from the multiplayer, because It's not revolutionary. Still, fun. And the map editor It's perfect, where you can create your own map. 75 out of 100 Expand
  14. Aug 14, 2012
    7
    What can I say. It's stands out as a stunning game visually. Exploring Africa is cool, but there are things in this game that piss me off. This open world game is a mess. Filled with bugs, bad AI and a crap load of **** out to get you. The missions can be compelling but I felt more in the end that it was a decent enough game. Give it a shot if you like open world games, but good luck. It's hard.
  15. May 9, 2012
    9
    Far Cry 2 is a beautiful shooter, and unique. When I played for about one day, I was not really impressed, but when I continued to play, It grows on me. This game is with extreme gameplay, very realistic graphics and beautifully great. Multiplayer is interesting and intense. Multiplayer haves some unique things that you will be impressed by them. There's even map editor, which is a greatFar Cry 2 is a beautiful shooter, and unique. When I played for about one day, I was not really impressed, but when I continued to play, It grows on me. This game is with extreme gameplay, very realistic graphics and beautifully great. Multiplayer is interesting and intense. Multiplayer haves some unique things that you will be impressed by them. There's even map editor, which is a great bonus. But there's a problem, the plot is uninteresting. Still, this game is amazing, and with a really long campaign experience that delivers a lot of fun (9.3) Expand
  16. Feb 24, 2012
    1
    Ok here goes. The bugs are massive. The graphics are good. The storyline is terrible. The enjoyment is almost non-exsistent. Example: When you have to drive from one side of map to the other side is not fun. Then when the A.I spawns almost instantly in spots you just cleared is also not fun. They should spawn in a day or two. Also the A.I are bullet sponges. When I can fire half a clip ofOk here goes. The bugs are massive. The graphics are good. The storyline is terrible. The enjoyment is almost non-exsistent. Example: When you have to drive from one side of map to the other side is not fun. Then when the A.I spawns almost instantly in spots you just cleared is also not fun. They should spawn in a day or two. Also the A.I are bullet sponges. When I can fire half a clip of a ak47 in them and they stay up is retarded, but they can kill me with 5 or 6 bullets on easy is just stupid. Sorry just had to rant. Expand
  17. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    The graphics is ok gameplay is a little boring AND repetitive the AI can be annoying but overall its great for those who like this kinda game so if you wanna a first person shooter skyrim style then try it out
  18. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    This game is for hardcore shooter fans who want a difficult but rewarding experience. Do not go into this game expecting a Call of Duty rip off that holds your hand to a ridiculous extent. However, once you finally get into the game, you will soon find yourself driving around the jungle in a Jeep Wrangler while being pursued by a convoy a South African mercenaries with RPGs andThis game is for hardcore shooter fans who want a difficult but rewarding experience. Do not go into this game expecting a Call of Duty rip off that holds your hand to a ridiculous extent. However, once you finally get into the game, you will soon find yourself driving around the jungle in a Jeep Wrangler while being pursued by a convoy a South African mercenaries with RPGs and Flamethrowers. A great game from beginning to end. Expand
  19. Jun 29, 2011
    4
    The graphics are beautiful, but that alone can't compensate all the flaws this game has. The missions are boring and repetitive, you'll spend an awful lot of time driving around to reach your goal which is also boring. While driving around you'll also encounter scout posts where you'll be attacked, and the worst is that the enemies respawn there every mission, which makes for a frustratingThe graphics are beautiful, but that alone can't compensate all the flaws this game has. The missions are boring and repetitive, you'll spend an awful lot of time driving around to reach your goal which is also boring. While driving around you'll also encounter scout posts where you'll be attacked, and the worst is that the enemies respawn there every mission, which makes for a frustrating experience.The AI is horrible. they don't take cover or try to flank, the only thing they do is walk straight towards you while shooting at you. The stealth mechanic is broken as once an enemy catches a glance of you all enemies will immediately know the EXACT spot where you are and will continue to follow you around until either you or they are dead. The story is dull and virtually non-existant. The characters are all one-dimensional and the voice acting is atrocious; all characters talk extremely fast and sound emotionless.
    Don't believe the hype and stay away from this game, it truly was a chore to play.
    Collapse
  20. May 24, 2011
    9
    FARCRY 2 isthe most slow and relaxed fps ever but this helps it it.i love the lethality of the weapons it brutal. never gve up the flamethorwer as this game has the mot relistic fire in a game EVER! the guns jam,the viechles are all **** and driving everywheres rubbish. i cant help love this game though as it can be fun to try and work out the stories in your head as it is soFARCRY 2 isthe most slow and relaxed fps ever but this helps it it.i love the lethality of the weapons it brutal. never gve up the flamethorwer as this game has the mot relistic fire in a game EVER! the guns jam,the viechles are all **** and driving everywheres rubbish. i cant help love this game though as it can be fun to try and work out the stories in your head as it is so confusing.the online line mapmaker is legend but the death matchs sre broken. for all its faults though you cant help love farcry 2. Expand
  21. May 18, 2011
    9
    Everything in this game feels 'just about right'. Gameplay lacking all those trendy fluid-healths, auto-aims or quick-saves is original challenging enough without reaching frustrating moments. First-person experience, where you can see your hands constantly interacting with world is not only immersive, it's almost claustrophobic. Buddies, lending you helping hand when you need it most andEverything in this game feels 'just about right'. Gameplay lacking all those trendy fluid-healths, auto-aims or quick-saves is original challenging enough without reaching frustrating moments. First-person experience, where you can see your hands constantly interacting with world is not only immersive, it's almost claustrophobic. Buddies, lending you helping hand when you need it most and requiring same service when they're in trouble themselves, behaves like real human beings and you really care about their fate. But it's Africa what steals the show completely. Map, with it dense jungles, shanty towns and open savannas, sets quality level so high that no other game can think of using same environment without being called Far Cry 2 clone.

    Just about right.
    Expand
  22. Apr 23, 2011
    0
    where do i start i hated this game with every fiber of my being. it had so many problems and that isnt even counting the glitches and bugs. it may look good but other than that it is garbage. every single person is an ennemy which means as soon as you see people get out of your car and start shooting and on top of that they are so dumb it is easy to take them all out with carful timing.where do i start i hated this game with every fiber of my being. it had so many problems and that isnt even counting the glitches and bugs. it may look good but other than that it is garbage. every single person is an ennemy which means as soon as you see people get out of your car and start shooting and on top of that they are so dumb it is easy to take them all out with carful timing. there is also no mini map which means you have to pull out the map at every fork to see which way to go and it is very time consuming and gets very tedious. great idea for a game but unfourtunatly they failed to deliver and i advise you stay away from this game and dont even rent it Expand
  23. Nov 10, 2010
    5
    Repetetive Repetetive Repetetive Repetetive Repetetive, black people dont speak afrikaans like a white guy graphics good but hate being attacked every 2 seconds by some random people, this game could have been really awesome but it was ruined next far cry i dont want to see these mistakes.
  24. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    despite some glitches and quirks, the game is gritty and easy to immerse yourself in completely. the story is relatively a "point A to point B" plot, but it does allow for the player to decide how to handle certain missions. i was frustrated at first, having to battle through checkpoints constantly with substandard weapons, but once i gained in my reputation and upgraded my weapons, idespite some glitches and quirks, the game is gritty and easy to immerse yourself in completely. the story is relatively a "point A to point B" plot, but it does allow for the player to decide how to handle certain missions. i was frustrated at first, having to battle through checkpoints constantly with substandard weapons, but once i gained in my reputation and upgraded my weapons, i became a killing machine, very much like "The Jackal", the man that i was trying to find and kill in the game. i wouldn't pay full price for it, but as a discount title, or as a rental, go for it. Expand
  25. C.Davenport
    Sep 21, 2009
    9
    The amount of immersive detail is stunning. You'd be hard-pressed to find a title with more environmental authenticity. The waist-high grass in the savanna sways with the wind currents sweeping over the plains and fast moving thunderstorms rush up on you without warning. If you wanted, you could actually sit and watch massive cloud formations slowly creep by as the sun arcs across The amount of immersive detail is stunning. You'd be hard-pressed to find a title with more environmental authenticity. The waist-high grass in the savanna sways with the wind currents sweeping over the plains and fast moving thunderstorms rush up on you without warning. If you wanted, you could actually sit and watch massive cloud formations slowly creep by as the sun arcs across the sky before dipping over the horizon, casting some of the most spectacularly replicated lighting effects ever produced in any game.The world is simply breathtaking. The gameplay is relatively easy to pick up, fitting neatly into most recognized FPS conventions. Gameplay does begin to feel a bit stale at times, as the repetitive nature of some missions and almost all transportation leaves something to be desired. Gunplay is a mixed bag with a good variety of weapons that perform to varying levels of adequacy, nothing exceptional here. The weapon degradation system is original and does serve to spice up combat, as you'll never know when a weapon is going to jam up on you, or even fail completely and backfire. Vehicles are sturdy and handle realistically, but are affected by damage quickly. The voicework is competent, if a but hurried, but the writing and casting are spot on. The AI is relatively simple, but effective. Vehicle mounted enemies will use the turret, while the drivers dismount initially use the vehicle for cover before attempting to flank you. Other enemies use similar tactics, scrambling for cover after the first few shots, then some while advance to suppress you and draw fire while other attempt to flank you. With an environmental model so accurate, the key to stealth in Far Cry 2 is following a few essential guidelines. 1) Only work at night. This significantly limits the enemy field of vision. 2) Headshots are necessary. Even with the dart rifle. If an enemy makes noise while he's dying, everybody can hear it. Avoid the machete when multiple enemies are close for this reason. 3) Move after you shoot. Multiple shots form the same spot will expose your position. For any gamer interested in an intriguing story and entertaining gameplay, rest assured that the totality of the package redeems any lackluster components. Not a must-buy, but a definite must-play. Expand
  26. MatthewJ
    Aug 6, 2009
    3
    No relevance to the first 'Far Cry' which was the stimulus to buy and clearly a sales stategy. Graphics are nice but it all stops there. Missions are repetitive. Everyone shoots at you therefore there is never a need to check people out before attacking (too basic in this day and age). Buddies are just annoying, even the rescue feature is dreadful. The AI is an insult to your No relevance to the first 'Far Cry' which was the stimulus to buy and clearly a sales stategy. Graphics are nice but it all stops there. Missions are repetitive. Everyone shoots at you therefore there is never a need to check people out before attacking (too basic in this day and age). Buddies are just annoying, even the rescue feature is dreadful. The AI is an insult to your intelligence. If you like sniping the game gets around this by having vechicles appear out of nowhere and run you over forcing close combat. Storyline inflexible and boring. A dull waste of time and disappointment unless you like staring at fancy graphics. Avoid at any price! Expand
  27. AL
    Jul 25, 2009
    6
    OVERRATED! Whilst it is a good first person shooter, with some very impressive graphics, it has severe weaknesses. My main annoyance with this game is the respawning enemies, which is basically just the game cheating in trying to kill you! The game map is huge and when you travel you need to drive in a vehicle. However the game spawns enemies in jeeps who come out of nowhere, are OVERRATED! Whilst it is a good first person shooter, with some very impressive graphics, it has severe weaknesses. My main annoyance with this game is the respawning enemies, which is basically just the game cheating in trying to kill you! The game map is huge and when you travel you need to drive in a vehicle. However the game spawns enemies in jeeps who come out of nowhere, are impossible to outrun and ALWAYS shoot your car to bits. Then you are left in the situation of being on foot and underfire.... then if you kill them and use their jeep to travel to your destination, everything is quiet for a few minutes then the game goes and respawns another group of enemies in jeeps who shoot your vehicle to bits. It's neverending and made the game unplayable!! I also felt that the whole malaria tablets thing was extremely annoying and detracted from the gameplay. I strongly agree with Jerry S's comments that it just feels extremely repetitive. This could have been one of the best games out there, but sadly falls well short. Expand
  28. DavidCarr
    Jun 12, 2009
    10
    I adore this game. I've completed it but I keep going back to it. It's not for everyone as you need to enjoy it's slow pace and tactical nature. The graphics are awesome in HD and some of the vistas are jaw-dropping in their beauty. I see some of the negative comments and I'm saddened and bewildered, truly.
  29. me
    May 22, 2009
    9
    This is a not a fast paced run and gun FPS.
    It is a slow adventure in an open world setting. You can do missions in any order you like. The setting is ideal for tactical approach of the targets with sniper rifles and silent weapons. It is very realistic with great attention to detail. Strongly recommended for sniping action and hours of gameplay similar to RPG games. Overall a great game!
  30. Max
    Mar 15, 2009
    7
    Far Cry 2 is one of the best games I've played on the PS3.But there are a lot of problems. Every time i play, there is at least 10 glitches. Also, i was walking on a cliff, and when i tried to go just a little bit higher on a place where i could actually walk, the game stopped me. WTF!!! Also, the enemies are just too hard to kill. I had an MG and i wasted 25 bullets to kill one Far Cry 2 is one of the best games I've played on the PS3.But there are a lot of problems. Every time i play, there is at least 10 glitches. Also, i was walking on a cliff, and when i tried to go just a little bit higher on a place where i could actually walk, the game stopped me. WTF!!! Also, the enemies are just too hard to kill. I had an MG and i wasted 25 bullets to kill one person. Guard outposts are the worst. They're constantly reoccupied and there are usually 7 people at 1.I hate them.But the good things are awesome. The graphics are amazing and the missions are fun and complex. The storyline is also amazing.Its a good game if you're not too harsh on a few(okay, a LOT) of glitches and tough enemies. Expand
  31. BrianJ
    Feb 18, 2009
    10
    I'm only giving this game a 10 because everyone else is not giving Ubisoft THE BENEFIT OF THE DOUBT! I mean come on now! They are one of the leading developers in the industry and they wouldn't even think about releasing a finished product unless they were possitive that it would be recieved well by the masses. Now having said that, I think Far Cry 2 isn't truly deservable I'm only giving this game a 10 because everyone else is not giving Ubisoft THE BENEFIT OF THE DOUBT! I mean come on now! They are one of the leading developers in the industry and they wouldn't even think about releasing a finished product unless they were possitive that it would be recieved well by the masses. Now having said that, I think Far Cry 2 isn't truly deservable to carry on the Far Cry name in many aspects BUT it's still a wonderfully crafted fps and should have a home in any fps fans collection. Anyone who loves a mixture of open-world gameplay and intense fps action should definitely pick this one up! Expand
  32. giuseppes
    Feb 13, 2009
    9
    I bought this game and when I initially played it I thought it was overhyped and not that good. When I started to get into it and played past the 3 hour mark I started to like it more and more. This is a game that you must play for a few hours before deciding its fate. It is a really good game if you give it a chance. The only thing I didnt like is the fact that sometimes you will shoot I bought this game and when I initially played it I thought it was overhyped and not that good. When I started to get into it and played past the 3 hour mark I started to like it more and more. This is a game that you must play for a few hours before deciding its fate. It is a really good game if you give it a chance. The only thing I didnt like is the fact that sometimes you will shoot someone and they just wont even react to the bullet and shoot you half to death, but other than that and the driving around (which isnt too bad) this game is kick a$$. Expand
  33. DamianL
    Feb 9, 2009
    6
    I'll start with the positives...the game looks great, the idea of freedom to take on your missions how you want is great and online is pretty good if you can find a match but man does this game get boring quick!!! I was put off from the start by the most boring intro ever, then all the missions were basically the same travel for ages here then kill him or blow up that. Whats with all I'll start with the positives...the game looks great, the idea of freedom to take on your missions how you want is great and online is pretty good if you can find a match but man does this game get boring quick!!! I was put off from the start by the most boring intro ever, then all the missions were basically the same travel for ages here then kill him or blow up that. Whats with all the diamonds? You can only spend so many then what? Most annoying for me was weapons that broke after a days use...guess what more travelling to replace at arms shop. Online the game took forever to load and those playing couldnt make up there minds causing more delays. Hate to say it but as soon as I finished this i traded it in. For online stick to COD W.A.W. Rant over. Expand
  34. BradA
    Jan 25, 2009
    9
    I don't understand what the gripes are. This game is amazing. I own the COD's, resistance, rainbow 6's etc....I keep going back to this one. The environment effects are amazing. The fact that your weapon can jam up after alot of use helps and the action points online help also. If you sit back and camp you wont get many points. All in all this game isn't perfect, but I don't understand what the gripes are. This game is amazing. I own the COD's, resistance, rainbow 6's etc....I keep going back to this one. The environment effects are amazing. The fact that your weapon can jam up after alot of use helps and the action points online help also. If you sit back and camp you wont get many points. All in all this game isn't perfect, but it is close. Nothing beats driving out of the jungle into a herd of gazelle which you "accidently" run over. It is touches like this that really make this game a must buy. The map editor is also very precise and once you get the controls down you can create some very nice play areas. Expand
  35. RedLeader
    Jan 17, 2009
    5
    This game had the potential to be the game of the year, however the glitches that can be found ingame are numerous and often game-breaking. The AI is awesome one minute, but downright cheating the next. Let me give you an example: If I buy the camoflauge and am crouched in tall grass, behind a tree, in the shade, at NIGHT...a sniper would NOT be able to locate me no matter how hard it This game had the potential to be the game of the year, however the glitches that can be found ingame are numerous and often game-breaking. The AI is awesome one minute, but downright cheating the next. Let me give you an example: If I buy the camoflauge and am crouched in tall grass, behind a tree, in the shade, at NIGHT...a sniper would NOT be able to locate me no matter how hard it tried...in real life. That's not the case in Far Cry 2. Ironically, being crouched in the day time behind a small bush is apparently sufficient cover to hide from a patroling guard. However, if you attempt to stealthfully kill said guard with your machette or a silenced weapon, EVERY guard in the entire area is immediately alerted to your presence. There is no excuse for this game to be so broken. For what it's worth, when the game is working properly, this game deserves a 10 for awesomeness, but when it isn't, it's not even fun. Expand
  36. PeterT
    Jan 16, 2009
    8
    A very enjoyable game, with only a few minor problems and bugs. Well worth getting a copy. There are few things more fun in any game I have come across than taking out a group of enemies who are sniping at you from long grass than to simply toss a petrol bomb in their general direction, then watch as the beautiful far cry 2 fire effects either kill your enemy for you or force them out of A very enjoyable game, with only a few minor problems and bugs. Well worth getting a copy. There are few things more fun in any game I have come across than taking out a group of enemies who are sniping at you from long grass than to simply toss a petrol bomb in their general direction, then watch as the beautiful far cry 2 fire effects either kill your enemy for you or force them out of cover for you to pick off. And of course there is infinite joy to be had from wounding an enemy and waiting for his friends to try to assist him before you lay waste to them all. Although I do have to admit to feeling a little sad when one of my acquaintances died in my arms and there was noting I could do to help him except load him up on morphine :( - (Joseph WHY!). Definitely worth the price for such a great game. Expand
  37. AllenW
    Jan 7, 2009
    10
    Quite possibly the coolest game I have ever played. I thought GTA was going to hold that title forever, but FARCRY2 is above and beyond any other game I have played. --I didn't even want to go to work-- The versatility and life-like accuracy of the weapons is amazing. When using the weapons, there is no little cross hair to use. You must use the open sights (or scope if equipped) to Quite possibly the coolest game I have ever played. I thought GTA was going to hold that title forever, but FARCRY2 is above and beyond any other game I have played. --I didn't even want to go to work-- The versatility and life-like accuracy of the weapons is amazing. When using the weapons, there is no little cross hair to use. You must use the open sights (or scope if equipped) to aim the weapon. The recoil is life-like. Very intense. A well designed game... My only complaint; the game wasn't long enough... I could have played for months!!! Expand
  38. JerryS
    Jan 5, 2009
    1
    The user score was not that high before. I checked this site 1 month ago for far cry 2 and the user score was much lower. This game wastes your time by making you drive back and forth in your jeep and clearing the same outpost you cleared 5 minutes ago. It purposely tried to make the game repetitive and long. By "open ended game" they mean very repetitive. It's a shame too because The user score was not that high before. I checked this site 1 month ago for far cry 2 and the user score was much lower. This game wastes your time by making you drive back and forth in your jeep and clearing the same outpost you cleared 5 minutes ago. It purposely tried to make the game repetitive and long. By "open ended game" they mean very repetitive. It's a shame too because the scenery, the engine, the gameplay could have been really well used to make a fun FPS and multiplayer. Could is the key word. I give it a 1 to negate the other inflated high scores that have been recently added suspiciously. Expand
  39. RobertV.
    Dec 29, 2008
    7
    Potentially great game wrapped in an awkward package. The graphics are great, the GTA-style sandbox theme is also fantastic, but it fails on several points. For one, I felt the characters in-game weren't diverse enough. The environment looks fantastic, and there's a lot of it, but that's also where the problem is. From the beginning on, missions will employ the use of Potentially great game wrapped in an awkward package. The graphics are great, the GTA-style sandbox theme is also fantastic, but it fails on several points. For one, I felt the characters in-game weren't diverse enough. The environment looks fantastic, and there's a lot of it, but that's also where the problem is. From the beginning on, missions will employ the use of almost the entire map, 50 square kilometers by the way,yet the in-game vehicles are all limited to 60 MPH, making every drive extremely long. This makes getting around anywhere really boring, especially when you're shot at by guards every few miles and find yourself stranded without a vehicle. Overall, the idea is great, the game engine is great, and the weapon designs were great. It just needs another developer and another game to combine those elements and take out the annoyances and redundancies and it'll be a 10. Expand
  40. Raphaelhallo
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    When you start you say: WOW OMG! The graphics are just stunning!!! And when you play you feel that your in the game...The gameplay is good. I didn't finnish the game yet but, heard that it's 40 hours (of pure fun!). I love the story "kill the jackal". It's simpe I just love this game!!!
  41. TomN
    Dec 19, 2008
    10
    This is a mind blowing game. Fire is outrageously cool, and so are the weapons. Driving cars feels extremely realistic. Don't listen to the bad reviews, because if you try, its the most fun game you'll ever play. Many people don't like it because of the repetitiveness, but they just don't have something called 'imagination'. There are hundreds of ways to This is a mind blowing game. Fire is outrageously cool, and so are the weapons. Driving cars feels extremely realistic. Don't listen to the bad reviews, because if you try, its the most fun game you'll ever play. Many people don't like it because of the repetitiveness, but they just don't have something called 'imagination'. There are hundreds of ways to approuch each mission, here are a couple of examples: - Normal shooting. - Ramming a jeep into the enemies while throwing molotovs through the windows. - Make a fire around their camp, then wait and let the wind blow the fire right into their base. - Snipe enemies and use silencer's to do a secret 'attack'. - Place a bomb onto your vehicle, park it into their base and explode it, causing their base to burst into flames, slaughtering enemies. And the long driving, it's fun for me. For the game I would give a 9, but for myself a 9.5, but with the map editor and multiplayer it defenitely deserves a boost to ten. Make some rally or other race tracks, invite your friends and have fun online! How about a fortress? With the game mode set to defend the camp? There is so much of opportunity in this game! I would highly recommend it to GTA lovers. Expand
  42. JordanF
    Dec 17, 2008
    4
    When you have to force yourself to play a game you know there
  43. KevinK.
    Dec 16, 2008
    9
    The graphics and effects in this game are very well done. The scenery is just amazing and the special effects are astounding (particularly the fire effects). The detail put into this game really sperates it from others. Single player has a free to roam concept, and the world is massive (More than 50km2 and no loading). This is the games greatest benefactor and also it's biggest The graphics and effects in this game are very well done. The scenery is just amazing and the special effects are astounding (particularly the fire effects). The detail put into this game really sperates it from others. Single player has a free to roam concept, and the world is massive (More than 50km2 and no loading). This is the games greatest benefactor and also it's biggest problem. Since the world is so massive, it is often very time consuming to do just 1 mission. It can take ~20 minutes just to get to where you need to go, in a vehicle. Sometimes, you are stuck on foot for a good 5-10 minutes before you can even find that vehicle. On the flip side, the missions are most of the time fun to do and you often find yourself immersed in a huge fire fight sometime during them. Picking what mission to do and how to execute them, also puts a "Fable" like experience into the game. The console versions only have predefined save points, which is a real let down in such a massive world. FC2 also has a real-time day / night cycle and a dynamic weather system. When you get harmed in the game, healing yourself can be a pretty gruesome task. You will be finding yourself ripping bullets out of your limbs, popping broken bones back into place, and sometimes pulling out shrapnel. The multiplayer is another aspect of this game that they made very well. It has a variety of different sized maps (The game even has a map editor). So there are plenty of things you can do with a map, and rarely get that repetitive feel. There is also a decent amount of guns to choose from, and upgrade to, via the leveling system. Sadly, there are not many game modes to select from, and a 16 person cap is very generic. Overall, this game is just stunning and is a must buy. Expand
  44. Nikko
    Dec 12, 2008
    10
    The most immersive and satisfying and gripping game on the ps3 I have ever played and easily the most addictive (playing till controller needs recharging etc)... however it is gripping because it has so much freedom of approach and tactics and thus feeds imaginative people who like to be transported and do stuff that is relaistic (actual time, night and day, weapon aging and utilisation, The most immersive and satisfying and gripping game on the ps3 I have ever played and easily the most addictive (playing till controller needs recharging etc)... however it is gripping because it has so much freedom of approach and tactics and thus feeds imaginative people who like to be transported and do stuff that is relaistic (actual time, night and day, weapon aging and utilisation, recoils, fire effects etc etc etc)... The only reason why people don't like this game is either b/c they do not value life on games and thus die and get annoyed cos have to take 20 minutes to reach same geographical spot (this is the game's strength dweebs, it puts pressure on and creates tangible need for tactics, patience and scrambling, white knuckl;e gun battles, sprinting for cover etc etc etc etc etc..... knobs...) "if you like FPS you won't like Far Cry 2!!"???? Listen dickhead, that is BS! It isn't lame and lakcing like most FPS of that is what you mean, if you are saying it's awesomeness will upset you if you are a waste of space, then yes, you are right. Go play lemmings. thus not every1 likes it - becos many people are dicks. straight up. Best game on the ps3. Unless you don't like the grip of realism and combat and would rather fight ufos, speace monsters or float around in dead space to annoying and not remotely scary industrial sound effects and ridiculous 'monsters' (had lights off, sound up and just laughed at the stupidness and fristration of it all..... I kill people, not fantastuical bullcrap....... phhhfttttt, give me an extension of reality and immerse me over trying to sell unrealistic, nonsensical, horseshit to me ANYday of the week.... african environment simply PRIMO!!! Boats, trucks, townships, waterfalls, animals, car repairs, explosions - and everything relaistic and varying and awesome. 10/10.... repetitve? Only in the broadest ideology or assessment.... that is argumentative. Dead Space is simple and repetitive then also cos it is ONLY in space.... dicks. Your approach and tactics and mood changes constantly and dictates what happens, but, again, if you are a dim-witted, robot, then the game will appear lacking. It's just U. 85 average? That is bollocks. it is a straight 9.5 or 10/10 game. End of story. Expand
  45. AaroS.
    Nov 8, 2008
    6
    If you are a FPS fan, you WON'T like this. It's boring, linear, but very long game. The biggest problem has to be that the main idea DOES NOT work. Go there and kill that guy... twenty hours and only that crap. Presentation dissapointed me too. Some cool effects, but in overall it's not that cool. The developers said that this palce is completely for free roam, but If you are a FPS fan, you WON'T like this. It's boring, linear, but very long game. The biggest problem has to be that the main idea DOES NOT work. Go there and kill that guy... twenty hours and only that crap. Presentation dissapointed me too. Some cool effects, but in overall it's not that cool. The developers said that this palce is completely for free roam, but that's a big lie... You can't do almost anything you want and all you have to do is do boring missions. Just don't waste your money to this. Buy Resistance 2, Gears 2, Mirror's Edge, Fallout 3, LittleBigPlanet or CoD: WoW rather than this... This game is OK(=6/10), but NOT worth of 60 bucks not even 30... Small plus': The map editor and online. Without those this is 4/10. Just save your money and buy something better... Expand
  46. matthurd
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    i loved the campaign to this game took 20+ hours on easy on infamous now i like the online although some things are frustrating it has user created ranked matches which means you make a lobby and others join which means you can be booted for no reason also at the end of a ranked match u end up back at the main online screen so unlike cod n halo you cant stay in a lobby till the next match
  47. StuartR
    Oct 31, 2008
    8
    I am not sure whether I love or hate this game. It is beautiful to look at. The combat is immersive. I do get frustrated that it can take forever to drive somewhere then you get killed and have to restart at the last save point which can result in another 20 minute hike. I want to love it....but.....
  48. AndyP.
    Oct 28, 2008
    9
    If you you
  49. Jun 29, 2011
    0
    The graphics are beautiful, but that alone can't compensate all the flaws this game has. The missions are boring and repetitive, you'll spend an awful lot of time driving around to reach your goal which is also boring. While driving around you'll also encounter scout posts where you'll be attacked, and the worst is that the enemies respawn there every mission, which makes for a frustratingThe graphics are beautiful, but that alone can't compensate all the flaws this game has. The missions are boring and repetitive, you'll spend an awful lot of time driving around to reach your goal which is also boring. While driving around you'll also encounter scout posts where you'll be attacked, and the worst is that the enemies respawn there every mission, which makes for a frustrating experience.The AI is horrible. they don't take cover or try to flank, the only thing they do is walk straight towards you while shooting at you. The stealth mechanic is broken as once an enemy catches a glance of you all enemies will immediately know the EXACT spot where you are and will continue to follow you around until either you or they are dead. The story is dull and virtually non-existant. The characters are all one-dimensional and the voice acting is atrocious; all characters talk extremely fast and sound emotionless.
    Don't believe the hype and stay away from this game, it truly was a chore to play.
    Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    Whatever happens you'll believe it's a real world and a fantastic setting for the action. It's not as dense or as varied as, say, Oblivion - you'll go somewhere, kill everyone, every mission - but it's utterly convincing and engrossing. [Dec 2008, p.98]
  2. Edge Magazine
    80
    Combat is thrilling – each weapon packing a solid, vicious blast; movement suggesting heft and momentum. [Dec 2008, p.80]
  3. 83
    Even if I find the multiplayer too staid, I find the possibility of cool user-made levels (via the easy map editor) tantalizing. Like any good Grand Theft Auto, Far Cry 2's overall package makes up for any individual flaws -- enough for it to be on a short list of best FPS games this year -- and so it's fitting to summarize it as...well, GTA: Mogadishu.