Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 173 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is a spin-off that contains around eight hours of original content and features a single open-world island to explore, with many of Far Cry 3's gameplay systems and mechanics making a return.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. In a world full of shooters tackling real-world problems, it’s a refreshing palate cleanser when a game decides to give dinosaurs lasers for eyes, just because it can. Can ya dig it? [June 2013, p75]
  2. May 3, 2013
    90
    Based on the hilariously over-the-top action movies from the eighties, Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon knocks it out of the park. It's a great futuristic shooter resembling Far Cry 3 in gameplay and adding a huge amount of cheesy oneliners, dumb action and cheap entertainment. Blood Dragon is a lot of fun and an experience you won't forget anytime soon.
  3. May 10, 2013
    85
    Colt is a great lead character. He's funny, angry, and an absurdly remorseless killer. The perfect lead for Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon.
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon has everything you would expect from a perfect DLC. It's different from the main game for atmosphere, settings and game world, it is durable, the price is fully justified and gameplay doesn't betray the original Far Cry 3 model.
  5. May 16, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is loud, hilarious and injected with tons of thirty year-old testosterone. Such a cocktail demands criticism for it trying to be an easy game that thinks it can score based on popular nostalgia. Against all expectations this game turns its possible faults into strengths, that come into their own when it turns out that there's a very entertaining shooter behind all of the Last Action Hero-violence.
  6. May 8, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon does everything wrong, but not in a bad way. All of the clichés and bad lines actually make it a very funny experience. You can almost call it art.
  7. Apr 30, 2013
    70
    This parodic game takes the player back to the 80's in style. The game itself has some issues, but the hilarious story, the excellent voice acting and the extreme level of detail makes this an excellent source of entertainment for an evening or two.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. May 1, 2013
    10
    I'm really suprised that Ubisoft did this game. They're usually not very clever or creative lately, just putting out generic and predictableI'm really suprised that Ubisoft did this game. They're usually not very clever or creative lately, just putting out generic and predictable games... well not all of their titles, but many of them. Like sequels to the Tom Clancy games, for example. But this is just out of this world creative. I've never seen a gaming company do anything so satirical and ironic and hilarious. The game is actually GOOD too, especially for an arcade game. Really amazing stuff. Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    the best thing about this game is that it doesn't take itself seriously, great music gameplay and stunning looking graphics felt like I wasthe best thing about this game is that it doesn't take itself seriously, great music gameplay and stunning looking graphics felt like I was playing this game on a high end pc Expand
  3. May 1, 2013
    10
    BEST $15 DOLLAR GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    I really like this game! If he doesn't make any sense with Far Cry 3, but is good. The graphics are good and shiny. I like the ideea to do aI really like this game! If he doesn't make any sense with Far Cry 3, but is good. The graphics are good and shiny. I like the ideea to do a futuristic enviroment. What I like so much is the originality (like an '80's game :D He's remember me the old movies that I watched when I was a kid. For his price is cheep (15 so I don't critic too much. The gameplay was changed a little bit and that's sadly. I wanted an Far Cry much evolved at gameplay mecanics. Expand
  5. Nov 30, 2013
    9
    Now this is the FPS I've been waiting for. I've not had this much fun blasting bad guys since the "timesplitters" series.
    Blood dragon is a
    Now this is the FPS I've been waiting for. I've not had this much fun blasting bad guys since the "timesplitters" series.
    Blood dragon is a tribute to the action movies of the 80's. There are so many references to much loved movies of the time, it is a pleasure to discover them all. The visuals ooze 80's charm ,the guns are satisfying, the action is over the top and fun, and my god the soundtrack; its amazing.
    My only complaint is that the campaign is not long enough. The story was so much fun, the credits rolled leaving me wanting more. Sure, there's hunting missons and enemy bases to capture to keep you busy, but the story is so funny, and the characters are so likable you don't want it to end as quickly as it does.
    I really hope hope Ubisoft takes the feedback from these reviews and creates a larger stand alone sequel.
    We all need more Rex Colt in our lives. We also need titles like this to show us a FPS doesn't have to be a serious affair to be successful.
    Well done Ubisoft. More please.
    Expand
  6. May 10, 2013
    8
    I can certainly breathe a breath of fresh air. Having played through Far Cry 3, it was alright. I feel the character Vaas was extremelyI can certainly breathe a breath of fresh air. Having played through Far Cry 3, it was alright. I feel the character Vaas was extremely underplayed and should have been the main villain. Once, I beat the game Far Cry 3 I gave the game to a buddy and had no intention of picking it up again. Then Blood Dragon is released AND as a stand alone so I don't need my Far Cry 3 copy back, bodacious! This is how DLC is done and done right. Not only is this game fun, it's just damn cool. Paying hilarious and bad ass homage to the best action movies ever created. From the superb old school cut scenes to switch back into today's graphics is fun and takes you back to the olden days. Playing out much like Far Cry 3, it wont offer much in the way of ingenuity but it certainly comes packed with loads more memorable moments. The soundtrack (got it, paid for it) done by POWERGLOVE just sets the mood amazingly. Taking big reference from the Terminator soundtrack, it's just the best thing to slaughter enemies too. Additionally the voice casting is perfect. Michael Biehn from the Terminator, he plays Kyle Reese, is the perfect actor for your character Rex Powercolt.
    To be honest, the game doesn't offer much in the way of story, it's very typical but the setting, the characters, the music just make it all fit together. I really hope to see a full fledged game come out of this, aside from BioShock Infinite it's the best thing I've played so far in 2013.
    Movies Referenced: Predator, TMNT, Robocop, Terminator, Die Hard, Krull, Austin Powers, Transformers, Evil Dead and Games Referenced: Skyrim, Mortal Kombat, Mass Effect 2, Assassin's Creed
    Major kudos to Ubisoft! Excellent!
    Collapse
  7. Oct 16, 2013
    1
    Gameplay is not that great. Repetitive. It's not really that funny. Load times are ridiculous, like comically ridiculous. I'm surprised moreGameplay is not that great. Repetitive. It's not really that funny. Load times are ridiculous, like comically ridiculous. I'm surprised more people haven't taken this game to task for that. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews