User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 926 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 926

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 19, 2012
    6
    Good first impressions. Great graphics and excellent game world. Yeah there's a little bit of screen tearing in the PS3 version but nothing to effect your enjoyment. The story and characters aren't that great but who cares about that. Good shooting and fun vehicle sections, yes there's better shooters and better racers but for an open world game not bad at all. The problems stem from theGood first impressions. Great graphics and excellent game world. Yeah there's a little bit of screen tearing in the PS3 version but nothing to effect your enjoyment. The story and characters aren't that great but who cares about that. Good shooting and fun vehicle sections, yes there's better shooters and better racers but for an open world game not bad at all. The problems stem from the design. First the game is constantly nagging you with annoying pop ups on the screen telling you to press start just to read up on something you've just discovered. These pop ups cannot be turned off either. To make matters worse NPC's will repeat the same line of dialogue over and over again every few seconds to remind you of your next objective. Level design in the main missions will leave you with a sense of de ja vu. Every cliche is present and correct. An escort mission, a turrets section, one of those levels where you have to plant sem tex on 3 targets with glowing sections then get clear. Far Cry 3 is at it's best when it let's you approach missions how you want such as when hunting or taking over camps. Unfortunately your also tasked with quite a lot of busy work such as collecting relics and memory cards and letters, none of which are very interesting and just feel like they're there to keep you playing longer. There's also a twisted morality here which allows you to kill as many innocent animals as you want but try killing the identical, bland faced inhabitants and the game will kill you. That's right you just straight out drop dead without even the thrill of being chased down as you would in say Grand theft Auto or Red Dead Redemption. Most of these issues I could forgive but the game's difficulty curve is broken as it actually gets easier the more you play. XP and money is earned all too easily and by the time you reach the games final stages your 'll have all the best weapons and be virtually indestructible. Having created such a visually stunning environment for you to get lost in it's such a shame there's not many fun things for you to do in it. Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2013
    5
    I'm really not sold on open world games. Yes, it would be nice to have a game that was a sandbox shooter, that had SO MUCH for you to do! FarCry 3 didn't do this for me. After the initial surprise of the intro, the game became repetitive and boring real quick. Attack that checkpoint, do those quests, complete a little more of the story, repeat. Granted, I only played it up to Vaas,I'm really not sold on open world games. Yes, it would be nice to have a game that was a sandbox shooter, that had SO MUCH for you to do! FarCry 3 didn't do this for me. After the initial surprise of the intro, the game became repetitive and boring real quick. Attack that checkpoint, do those quests, complete a little more of the story, repeat. Granted, I only played it up to Vaas, but the game failed to shine in that time span, so as far as I'm concerned, that's as far as I needed to go.

    But it's not a terrible game, and I would recommend it OVER most other shooters I've played in the last year. After all, just because I didn't like it, doesn't mean no one will.
    Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2012
    6
    This game is a decent shooter, the weapons are satisfying to use and there is some intense shooting, there is option to an stealth aproach and is satisfying to cleanse an outpost of enemies without been seen. However, this game isn't Skyrim tropical island version, if you are expecting deep RPG mechanics and involving side quests you are going to be dissapointed. It is a game about a guyThis game is a decent shooter, the weapons are satisfying to use and there is some intense shooting, there is option to an stealth aproach and is satisfying to cleanse an outpost of enemies without been seen. However, this game isn't Skyrim tropical island version, if you are expecting deep RPG mechanics and involving side quests you are going to be dissapointed. It is a game about a guy with guns that shoot other guys with guns, outside the main storyline, you just kill alot of guys with red shirts for no real reason but only for your amusement, its a Call of Duty on a island, less scripted and with more options. If compared with Call of Duty, its a more complex game, but when compared with other open world games it's a little too shallow. Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2012
    6
    Starting playing at warrior difficulty and immediately noticed that the game was way too easy. I died by random acts of bad luck more than by my enemies bullets.

    Hunting requires no skill at all and using syringes only makes it a complete waste of gamer time. You will find many objects in the game, as if they first tried to pull off a crafting element into the game, but then settled
    Starting playing at warrior difficulty and immediately noticed that the game was way too easy. I died by random acts of bad luck more than by my enemies bullets.

    Hunting requires no skill at all and using syringes only makes it a complete waste of gamer time.

    You will find many objects in the game, as if they first tried to pull off a crafting element into the game, but then settled to all those useless items simply taking space in your pack sack and making you go through the motion of selling them (15$ for a Queen of hearts, really?)

    Storyline is very thin and linear. Side quests are ridiculously identical: radio, outpost, memory card, sell items, buy ammo and repeat...

    The only cool feature in the game is taking over outposts - this is where the game comes alive for a couple of minutes. Radio towers are a real bore though... and racing to get a pack of medical supplies is another badly incorporated activity on the island. Too bad they were not more inspired by Fallout when designing the island and your adventures on it. I think even Dead island did a better adventure job than this sorry game (no dis Dead island).

    For some really odd reason Ubisoft has a bad habit of giving historical and contextual descriptions to immerse the player in the game (for instance Far cry 3 and Assassin creed 3). But the low class humor that punctuate these little lessons is rather childish and is borderline racist amongst other things. In any case, concluding with an asinine remark at the end of each paragraph really `wakes` the gamer up and reminds him that he`s reading a geeky programmers comment rather than experiencing the game. Hope they grow out of it.

    I am only 12 trophies shy of platinum, so I did not play 15 minutes and jumped to conclusions. I will say that on the bright side, this is an easy game to get platinum: the achievements only require you to perform feats that do not require grinding for 10+ hours of mundane tasks like Dishonored or LA Noire.
    Expand
  5. Jan 1, 2013
    6
    An absolutely stunning game in many ways, with combat that lets you play your own way and a memorable cast of characters that revolutionize the way video games can portray human beings, physically and emotionally. The main bad guy throughout the game, Vaas, who is featured on the cover of the game, is particularly well written and modeled, seeming truly insane and lifelike throughout theAn absolutely stunning game in many ways, with combat that lets you play your own way and a memorable cast of characters that revolutionize the way video games can portray human beings, physically and emotionally. The main bad guy throughout the game, Vaas, who is featured on the cover of the game, is particularly well written and modeled, seeming truly insane and lifelike throughout the time he was in the game. However, the game was only about 10 hours long for myself, and I took my time playing it. The open world was spacious but I didn't really see the point in exploring it, I already had all the firepower and cash I needed and the side missions never really gave me anything to go with. The multiplayer felt tacked on, and I found it buggy in many ways, although I would expect that to be fixed in future patches, I just couldn't play it for anymore than an hour before I found it boring and broken. For how stunning this game is, it's cut short sadly quickly, and this is why this game doesn't deserve the high scores everyone keeps heaping onto it. It just leaves a disappointing taste in your mouth, like there could have been more, and for that I give it a 6 out of 10. It'll probably be another case of developer DLC overload making up for the lack of content originally provided with the game, something that has become sickeningly frequent with today's could be great video games. If you're thinking about buying this game, just be aware of how little game you'll be actually getting, and that your money could be better spent elsewhere. An amazing game ruined on account of lack of content. Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2013
    5
    Going to sell this back now after completing a few missions. I just can't get into it. I don't get the high scores, maybe I missed something but it's far from Skyrim with guns. I've played hours upon hours getting to level 68 in Skyrim and I had to force myself to keep giving this another try before giving up on it. The gameplay is average and the mission text blocks a big chunk of theGoing to sell this back now after completing a few missions. I just can't get into it. I don't get the high scores, maybe I missed something but it's far from Skyrim with guns. I've played hours upon hours getting to level 68 in Skyrim and I had to force myself to keep giving this another try before giving up on it. The gameplay is average and the mission text blocks a big chunk of the screen (as others have noted). It reminds me a lot of AC3, which looks good visually but has disjointed gameplay and less-than-compelling missions. Ubisoft, what hapened? Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2012
    6
    GOOD STUFF:
    - Enemy AI.
    - Good selection of weapons. - Graphics. - RPG elements. - Player animations. - Good analog acceleration. - Able to push stuck vehicles. - Able to turn off crossair. - Good music. BAD STUFF: - Unacceptable framerate. - Repetitive map. - Unable to remap controller buttons. - Boring secondary missions. - No sense of speed in vehicles. - Not able to
    GOOD STUFF:
    - Enemy AI.
    - Good selection of weapons.
    - Graphics.
    - RPG elements.
    - Player animations.
    - Good analog acceleration.
    - Able to push stuck vehicles.
    - Able to turn off crossair.
    - Good music.

    BAD STUFF:
    - Unacceptable framerate.
    - Repetitive map.
    - Unable to remap controller buttons.
    - Boring secondary missions.
    - No sense of speed in vehicles.
    - Not able to wait or sleep.
    - Only a few minigames.
    Expand
  8. Feb 28, 2013
    7
    The gameplay in this game is genuinely good, and actually does a pretty good job of making the repetitive tasks, like activating radio towers and liberating outposts, seem new and fresh with each new area. I enjoyed playing the game, though I never felt that it did anything particularly new or innovative. The story, however, is complete rubbish. The writer of the game claims that it wasThe gameplay in this game is genuinely good, and actually does a pretty good job of making the repetitive tasks, like activating radio towers and liberating outposts, seem new and fresh with each new area. I enjoyed playing the game, though I never felt that it did anything particularly new or innovative. The story, however, is complete rubbish. The writer of the game claims that it was supposed to satirize the stereotypes abundant in other games, but that doesn't come through at all. I suspect the writer said this to keep away the criticism that the game's story is racist and offensive. So if you're looking to play a fun game that involves killing hundreds of people and animals while roaming a large open world, this is your game. If you're looking for a game that has an intelligent story that satirizes the problems in modern games, play Spec Ops: The Line. Expand
  9. Mar 25, 2013
    7
    Far Cry 3 is a real mixed bag. Some parts are really quite breath taking, the island is beautiful, some of the sections of the campaign are surprising, with some cool twists and turns, but it also feels like it has all been done before. A lot of the game reminds me of just cause 2 tropical island, sandbox design, driving, flying and shooting etc. and in turn i play the game with a kind ofFar Cry 3 is a real mixed bag. Some parts are really quite breath taking, the island is beautiful, some of the sections of the campaign are surprising, with some cool twists and turns, but it also feels like it has all been done before. A lot of the game reminds me of just cause 2 tropical island, sandbox design, driving, flying and shooting etc. and in turn i play the game with a kind of "been here, done this" attitude. Overall, good fun, but ive played this type of game before... Expand
  10. Apr 27, 2013
    6
    While the gameplay is good, there is a huge rift between it and the story which makes the story somewhat redundant. Gunplay works well, and crafting upgraded pouches is a good idea although it gets quite boring trying to find the animals when the map doesn't give a good indicator of locations. I began to feel for his friends, so it's a shame that interactions with them is kept to aWhile the gameplay is good, there is a huge rift between it and the story which makes the story somewhat redundant. Gunplay works well, and crafting upgraded pouches is a good idea although it gets quite boring trying to find the animals when the map doesn't give a good indicator of locations. I began to feel for his friends, so it's a shame that interactions with them is kept to a minimum. Co-op is linear and boring, and multiplayer is a poor imitation of Call of Duty. Expand
  11. Jan 3, 2013
    5
    Far Cry 3 is a very weird game to say the least, i couldn't find myself liking the game as much as i wanted too however i could not put the controller down. the game sits in the middle for me as it is a little repetitive sandbox. Of course when i first played the game i found it incredibly fun however the chores of getting weapon holsters and all that forced me to explore places, which isFar Cry 3 is a very weird game to say the least, i couldn't find myself liking the game as much as i wanted too however i could not put the controller down. the game sits in the middle for me as it is a little repetitive sandbox. Of course when i first played the game i found it incredibly fun however the chores of getting weapon holsters and all that forced me to explore places, which is not good for the players who would rather stick to the story line and not have to go back and forth through the map. The animals can be a pain as you have just finished killing a whole load of enemies only to be one-hit by a passing tiger. i found myself in that situation alot and in the end forced me to stop playing the game, their is only so much unfairness in a game i can take before i realize i'm being played for a fool. the only other thing to say would be that the graphic and cut-scenes are nice and the main villain is excellent. the ending is a bit too much of a cliff-hanger and none of them really satisfy me. the only complaint is that when you're character gets "high" it can become a little boring chasing a house down a linear path, so overall its a little too much of a time waster.

    In the end i would say i am in the middle of the game, its not a great game but certainly i would have bought it. my suggestion would be to buy the game if you have a lot of patience.
    Expand
  12. Feb 2, 2013
    6
    The campaign, despite a storyline so far fetched and ridiculous it is nearly offensive ("you are a generic white guy with no survival or military skills at all- please lead our native tribe to victory chosen one!"), is absolutely amazing simply because of the incredibly detailed world it is set in. The jungle feels alive, the conflict between the natives and pirates seems urgent andThe campaign, despite a storyline so far fetched and ridiculous it is nearly offensive ("you are a generic white guy with no survival or military skills at all- please lead our native tribe to victory chosen one!"), is absolutely amazing simply because of the incredibly detailed world it is set in. The jungle feels alive, the conflict between the natives and pirates seems urgent and everywhere, and there is just so much to do away from the main game (like hunting, racing, crafting, etc.) it almost makes your head spin. However, the multiplayer component featured in this game had no attention paid to whatsoever- it is bugged (I have reached the level 40 almost 8 times now only to be reset everytime), dysfunctional, and the game itself will fight you at every turn in your enjoyment of it. The map editor, which would in theory make DLC obsolete because it would provide new environments to play on a daily basis, is bugged and restrictive, and the process with which user created content is shared is so flawed only the worst, most simple maps make it into the game's rotation. It is nearly outrageous that slight fixes would have filled in this egregious gap and made this without a doubt the game of the 2012. Unless these issues are addressed, you will see a lot of used copies of this game showing up on store shelves in the near future. Expand
  13. Dec 29, 2012
    6
    The game is great fun to play, everything from raiding bandit outposts to exploring caves and going on hunting expeditions. Even the level editor is fantastic and expansive for it being ingame. All this fun however, is bogged down by constant freezes and crashes you'll experience, which isn't much of the developer's fault as it is the outdated hardware they're trying to use with it.
  14. Feb 3, 2013
    7
    Great game for as far as the story mode. What happened to vehicles and somewhat glitch free in multiplayer though? Then there are the disgusting things you can do to the best player on the losing team it just tries to be over the top in some areas and ends up being distasteful.
  15. Dec 11, 2012
    7
    Actually,this is an really AWESOME sandbox shooting game for those players who is new to the Far Cry series...but for the FANS...there is some TINY---VERY TINY disappointment in this game...especially...those total Far Cry 2 fans..... First of all, there's NO GUN JAMMING in this game...many people may ask "Isn't that nice ?"...Well, for those FPS player who wants to have a smoothlyActually,this is an really AWESOME sandbox shooting game for those players who is new to the Far Cry series...but for the FANS...there is some TINY---VERY TINY disappointment in this game...especially...those total Far Cry 2 fans..... First of all, there's NO GUN JAMMING in this game...many people may ask "Isn't that nice ?"...Well, for those FPS player who wants to have a smoothly gunfight like the COD..."YES.".....but for those FC2 fans...that was really unacceptable...cuz it's fun and it's realistic for those hardcore FPS players....i know that sometime the mechanism is quite frustrating,but it is its feature---FUN and DANGEROUS, isn't it ? Second,the MONEY....yeh...i know that earning money fast isn't bad...but in Far Cry 3 ....it's just too damn fast !!! It just makes all this survival feeling game become tooo EASY for those hardcore FPS player or those who struggle finding diamonds in FC 2....(and yes, prefer the diamonds in FC 2) Third,there is no SLEEPING SYSTEM in these game..so..if you want to have a night walk of stealthy killing...you have to wait----till the sun set......and that's really damn long... And last, the HEALING SYSTEM is really really worse than FC2...it's just too "easy" for me---a FC2 player. So,if you are new to these kind of game....i highly recommend it ........it's a must buy for sure..........but for those FC2 fans...i think they should think twice whether you are ready to let go those fun experience and accept those new things... Still, i'll give this game a 8.3/10 for bringing soo much fun to me. Expand
  16. Jan 7, 2013
    7
    This is a better Far Cry but not as good as the first. The hunting is super fun and Ubisoft has made another great shot i the gaming world. The voice-acting was better than Far Cry 2 and Far Cry 3 has delivered the best PS3 survival game though the con was that the A.I kept things at a low level when it comes to enemy gunfire.
  17. Dec 25, 2012
    7
    You stand in the speedboat staring at the water. Soon you spot your prey, the telltale fin of the shark skimming through the water. Your reflexes fire into gear and you pull that trusty RPG out of your pack and blow ol' Nessie (err Shamu) out of the water... This is what Far Cry 3 does best. Part of me feels like Far Cry 3 deserves a better score than the 7 it is about to receive from me.You stand in the speedboat staring at the water. Soon you spot your prey, the telltale fin of the shark skimming through the water. Your reflexes fire into gear and you pull that trusty RPG out of your pack and blow ol' Nessie (err Shamu) out of the water... This is what Far Cry 3 does best. Part of me feels like Far Cry 3 deserves a better score than the 7 it is about to receive from me. I really did have a lot of fun on the island but there were just several unforgivable things that really bogged down my experience. Don't get me wrong Far Cry 3 is a decent game and even a great one, but at the same time it fails on a couple things that would have made the experience so much better.

    Story: You play as "Jason Brody" (no I
    Expand
  18. Mar 30, 2013
    7
    I am not a big 1st person shooter fan anyway but I wasn't all that impressed with it. I know some love it but I just couldn't get into it. Maybe I didn't make it far enough to where the real fun started
  19. Jun 26, 2013
    6
    Pretty nice game, extremely bland and silly story though. I never felt anything for any character in the game. However the gameplay was very fun and there was some good variation and progression. Fun to play but ultimately I didn't really care about why I was playing it. The sidemissions were utterly pointless and for once I didn't care about doing them at all. Normally I want to completePretty nice game, extremely bland and silly story though. I never felt anything for any character in the game. However the gameplay was very fun and there was some good variation and progression. Fun to play but ultimately I didn't really care about why I was playing it. The sidemissions were utterly pointless and for once I didn't care about doing them at all. Normally I want to complete every mission availible. Expand
  20. Jan 13, 2014
    6
    I really tried to like this game. At the beginning, this game looked so promising and amazingly good. I am generally easy to please, but there were too many fundamental flaws that bothered me significantly.

    The most egregious flaw is the terribly overcompensating poor AI. I could snipe a guard from 200m away and it barely misses the enemy yet fifteen enemies in an entire compound know
    I really tried to like this game. At the beginning, this game looked so promising and amazingly good. I am generally easy to please, but there were too many fundamental flaws that bothered me significantly.

    The most egregious flaw is the terribly overcompensating poor AI. I could snipe a guard from 200m away and it barely misses the enemy yet fifteen enemies in an entire compound know EXACTLY where I am immediately after the miss (with a silencer no less!). I’ve played plenty of stealth games before, but the mechanics in this one are one of the worst because it significantly hampers the stealth aspects.

    Farcy 3 is mostly a sandbox game. It is fun at first, but many elements like finding relics are tacked on. Overtaking enemy compounds are wildly fun at first, but quickly become tedious.

    The game is kind of split into two parts. The meat of the story is in the first half. I found no reason to play the second half as the story tapers off significantly, and the difficulty skyrockets to laughable heights. This left me very little reason to keep going.

    Everything about the weapons is top notch. Their looks, feel, and use are one of the best of any shooter. This was one of the best aspects of the game.

    Although somewhat unimportant, another head-scratcher was the wild animals that deplete your health way too easily. Getting attacked by a komodo dragon is worse than getting a point black bullet by an AK47. Additionally, falling from very short heights took away a lot of health.

    The game seems like the graphics should be good. They are very pretty if not moving. I had an insanely bad framerate/screen tearing problem that was far and away the worst of any PS3 game I’ve played this gen. It was almost unplayable.

    The game is mostly good, but the bad parts are really bad in my opinion. The premise was amazing, but the execution was mediocre.
    Expand
  21. Jun 5, 2013
    6
    What I've realised is that almost all of my problems are the same ones that I have with Assassin's Creed, which makes sense given that it's made by the same people.

    The game takes a few seconds to open any chest, or loot a body, or skin an animal. It isn't a significant amount of time, and I guess to some this complaint will be very spergy. But I have to watch these same animations over
    What I've realised is that almost all of my problems are the same ones that I have with Assassin's Creed, which makes sense given that it's made by the same people.

    The game takes a few seconds to open any chest, or loot a body, or skin an animal. It isn't a significant amount of time, and I guess to some this complaint will be very spergy. But I have to watch these same animations over and over, when they may as well be instant. What do these animations serve; realism? They still aren't that realistic. Instead, every time I do one of these repetitive tasks, that take a few seconds, I feel time slipping away. This game is fun to play if you just want something to suck up all your time (hence why the box for the Lost Expedition edition brags about "40 extra minutes of gameplay" as if length equals quality), but not if you want a game where you'll be 100% engaged at all times.

    Climbing the radio towers isn't a fun mechanic, and is even more repetitive than Assassin's Creed, which at least had the climbing-parkour-puzzle mechanic to go with it. Clearing the outposts is fun but... the problem is, once you clear the area, there are no dynamic enemies in this area any more. That means, there's no tension if I need to go from the checkpoint to a mission marker, the travel time is boring. It suffers from the problem that the single player campaign missions are easily the best part of the game everything else feels like filler.

    This game doesn't flesh out its open world mechanics to the extent of something like Skyrim or New Vegas, which is maybe too hard a bar to expect. But it doesn't have as many fun things to do between missions as something like Saints Row or GTA either. Every "open world" aspect of this game is just totally half-assed.

    I know I'm late to the party on this game, and I'll probably still finish it... and give Blood Dragon a shot. I don't hate this game overall nor do I hate AC (I still haven't played the third one after being disappointed by Brotherhood and Revelations...) I just feel like there's something insidious and dull about the way Ubisoft do open world and now I'm worried Watch_Dogs will have the same damn problems.
    Expand
  22. Apr 18, 2014
    5
    The immaturity and unbelievability of the main character and his friends destroys what could have been a solid story. One minute you're off killing dozens of islanders in ways that even elite special forces would be hard pressed to manage, and the very next moment you are back to talking like a college frat boy; it's very irritating. The graphics are bright and colorful, but the sideThe immaturity and unbelievability of the main character and his friends destroys what could have been a solid story. One minute you're off killing dozens of islanders in ways that even elite special forces would be hard pressed to manage, and the very next moment you are back to talking like a college frat boy; it's very irritating. The graphics are bright and colorful, but the side missions are either typical searches for worthless collectibles, or the "thrill" of jumping your way to the top of radio towers to press a button. The best part about this game was the chaining of kills by using throwing knives which was admittedly a cool feature, but it wasn't often that enemies would be grouped close enough together to pull it off. The multiplayer co-op was a snooze fest, and I didn't bother with any of the other deathmatch since their weren't any trophies for it, but I heard it was terrible anyway. I had intended to try out the map editor when I first started the game, but after completing everything else I just wasn't motivated. All in all, a good looking but shallow open-world game with very little replay value. Expand
  23. Mar 19, 2013
    5
    One of the biggest drawbacks in history of gaming to gameplay. It literally takes every bad element of sandbox games and throws them at you. There is no sense of accomplishment when doing side quests/side missions and take outposts. All that happens is you see a gradual influence in the presence of friendly forces, which has been done better in way older games. The hunting mechanic isOne of the biggest drawbacks in history of gaming to gameplay. It literally takes every bad element of sandbox games and throws them at you. There is no sense of accomplishment when doing side quests/side missions and take outposts. All that happens is you see a gradual influence in the presence of friendly forces, which has been done better in way older games. The hunting mechanic is laughably unrealistic and provides no real advantage to completing. The AI of both the animals and human enemies is the least creative and shallow I have seen in a long time. Overall, a decent game which gives you a great first impression but the shallow gameplay quickly overwhelms you. Expand
  24. May 4, 2013
    5
    First off, Far Cry 3 is not by any means a dark game about survival and madness. It tells a fanastic story of violence and insanity, but that only addresses the story, which is activated by walking to story mission activation points designated on your map (like more than a few other games) and then the Far Cry 3 becomes a movie. Anyone like me who wants to spend some time playing the gameFirst off, Far Cry 3 is not by any means a dark game about survival and madness. It tells a fanastic story of violence and insanity, but that only addresses the story, which is activated by walking to story mission activation points designated on your map (like more than a few other games) and then the Far Cry 3 becomes a movie. Anyone like me who wants to spend some time playing the game will spend most of their time trotting about a beautiful island completely carefree while driving cars off cliffs and blowing stuff up.
    ****IN SHORT: This is a cool cinematic game with an open world cartoon playground on the side.
    Expand
  25. ahw
    Aug 9, 2013
    5
    Mediocre game. The type of game that demonstrates how professional game reviewers do not have enough time to put into the games they review to give it a proper evaluation.

    On the front end, FC3 is a very fun game. There's a lot to do: aside from progressing in the stories there are a plethora of quests and challenges to tackle. There's also some free-roaming content for those that
    Mediocre game. The type of game that demonstrates how professional game reviewers do not have enough time to put into the games they review to give it a proper evaluation.

    On the front end, FC3 is a very fun game. There's a lot to do: aside from progressing in the stories there are a plethora of quests and challenges to tackle. There's also some free-roaming content for those that don't enjoy claustrophobic, linear games.

    However, it only takes a few hours to experience everything FC3's open world has to offer. Upgrades and craftable items are quickly maxed hour early in the game, eliminating the incentive to hunt wildlife. You'll find more than enough treasure just by progressing through the story missions, making free roaming treasure hunts rather pointless.

    The story has some well thought out sequences, such as a few creative drug-induced hallucinogenic scenes, but overall is rather unlikable because every single character in the game is a douche. Including the player-controlled protagonist. You play as a douche-y, college-aged, Los Angeles rich kid whose fancy tropical vacation gets interrupted when you and your douche-y friends get kidnapped by the local drug cartel. Needless to say, I wasn't very emotionally invested in rescuing the player-character or his friends.

    Also, the player-character falls for the same stupid traps set up by the villain more times than Wile-E-Coyote gets fooled by the Roadrunner. Spoiler Alert: your character will rush blind into a room and get jumped by the antagonist about a half dozen times in the game. No worries though, the player-character's idiocy is matched by the antagonist, who, despite capturing you multiple times throughout the game, decides that a bullet to the brain isn't fancy enough and takes a page from a James Bond villain by trying to finish you off in a manner that inevitably leaves open the possibility of your escape.

    A third of the way into the game, I played on hoping the story got better. Two-thirds in the game, the only inertia carrying me on is my OCD need to finish things I start. Hopefully I can save some time for any fellow OCD gamers out there: just don't start. It does not get better.
    Expand
  26. Oct 22, 2013
    7
    I bought my first PS3 a month back when I was ill for 3 weeks with flu and needed something to do. Up until then I hadn't even seen a PS3 in the flesh and hadn't played a game in a long time (were going back to the speccy/megadrive days). I thought "I'll buy GTA 5" (since it's meant to be the best game ever?) Well...It wasn't (to cut a long story short). In fact, it was so bad I tookI bought my first PS3 a month back when I was ill for 3 weeks with flu and needed something to do. Up until then I hadn't even seen a PS3 in the flesh and hadn't played a game in a long time (were going back to the speccy/megadrive days). I thought "I'll buy GTA 5" (since it's meant to be the best game ever?) Well...It wasn't (to cut a long story short). In fact, it was so bad I took it back to the shop the next day. Anyway, the reason I mention all this is because Far Cry 3 (and the uncharted series) was a little breath of light for me during this time (which I had the flu). I'm going to start this review by giving this game a 10/10, and then subtract points from there concerning things that do irritate me about the game. First I'll do the 'in a nutshell' part. Basically in this game your brother has been killed by a maniac on an island full of pirates and wild animals. Your task is to get those responsible. You do this by following the storyline and by taking over enemy bases (every base is unique and you'll have to plan your attacks carefully), for example you can sneak in and cut off the alarms, you might have to get past guard dogs. You might want to unlock a trapped animal the enemy has kept captive in a cage. You might have to identify every enemy before you attack (see who is a sniper, who is heavily armed etc)...its all about planning and its a lot of fun and to unlock more of the map you have to get control of radio towers. You have to climb these horrible things...they are very high and at the top youll hear the wind howl and the tower creak and groan and wobble. I'm quite scared of heights and this part of the game freaks me out a little, but it's a great idea and again; every tower is different and seem to get harder to scale! There is a great choice of weapons in the game, guns, arrows, knives, body armour, medikits etc. You can craft items such as arrows and various drugs to give you some kind of edge (medicines, hunters instinct etc etc). Personally i think they over glorified the drug thing in this game, with scenes where you take drugs etc and just on the whole, so I'm deducting a point from the game for that, although the bit where you have to find the mushrooms to heal your friends and you go on a 'trip' is so damn well cool I'm going to reinstate that point so were back up to 10/10! I have a few gripes about this game. One of them is when you kill an enemy you hold a button to 'loot' the body or take his weapons. It's the same button for both and it can be irritating trying to put the pointer on the right bodypart to do each function. The skill points in the game are so good (more time underwater/faster reload etc) that I will overlook this and keep the score at 10. There is one thing i really dont like about the game and that's the crocs. Your just swimming along minding your own business and....ARRRRGHH. You don't hear it or see it coming and before you know it, it's right in your face and your in it's jaws. Yep it gives me a scare everytime and I don't like that to be honest especially when i was already half dead with flu. I'm deducting a point for that. Some kind of sign would be better if a croc was nearby, like a slight vibration or something to prepare the gamer! I've only unlocked the top half of the map so cant comment on the game overall, so ill add another point, bringing us back to 10/10 for being too impatient to wait till I completed the game to review it. The game overall is great. I have one major issue though...the ham acting of the characters...And the way I spend hours going from one killing spree to the next (even sometimes killing my own men when they rudely tell me to 'check out the bulletin board for more work' when they laze around doing nothing letting me do it all and saying 'were the men' and when i capture a base they say 'this was all me', (like they did all the work!' I can't resist killing them. As far as im concerned i just want revenge on Vaas (who killed my bro) then im off home. So anyway...there i am killing hundreds of elite soldiers and taking no crap, then you go back to play the storyline and your character is talking like a little worried, timid almost in tears when a bullet comes within 20 feet of him. I'm going to deduct a point for that. My final score for this game is going to be 7/10 with everything considered. I don't have room to write a longer review here, but it's a good, honest 7/10. It's a good game...I'm hard to please. There is always room for improvement. This is a really super game and one that i think everyone should own. It's a big world to play around in and you can play it at your leisure doing a little part a day. It's always a thrill taking over more of the island and trying to infiltrate and enemy base and take it over without being spotted etc. It's an awesome game, just not 'perfect' in everyway, but one of the best games I've played so far...ever. Expand
  27. Sep 1, 2014
    6
    Overrated game. Story is okay, but missions are very repetitive. Biggest problem for me is that the frame rate and screen tearing are terrible on PS3. 20 fps is unplayable.
  28. Jun 20, 2014
    6
    Great visuals but repetitive missions and bad characters.Far cry 3 had the potential to be one of the greatest game ever but something makes it bad.This thing is probably the story because it's too repetitive.
  29. Jun 24, 2014
    7
    Far Cry 3 is a very fun but badly designed game, the game was advertised as a First Person Shooter with survival elements but after you play the game, you notices the broken design choices, it obvious that Ubisoft dumb down the game for more casual players from Call of Duty and Far Cry 2 haters.

    The Broken design choices comes in the ability to Fast-Travel and the Machine Shops, to put
    Far Cry 3 is a very fun but badly designed game, the game was advertised as a First Person Shooter with survival elements but after you play the game, you notices the broken design choices, it obvious that Ubisoft dumb down the game for more casual players from Call of Duty and Far Cry 2 haters.

    The Broken design choices comes in the ability to Fast-Travel and the Machine Shops, to put it simpler, in the Game you have to capture enemy outposts to unlock new Sidequest and a Fast-Travel point, also, in every Fast-Travel point there is a Machine that allows you to buy and change your weapons, however, in the game there are some isolated shops on the islands, and they have no reason to exist since you can Fast-Travel to an Captured Outpost and Change/Buy your weapons there, the other thing is the amount of details you never see since you re always fast traveling from one point to another like seeing Rebel Islanders (The Rakyat) partying and shooting to the air, seeing Islanders (you can save) that are about to be executed by Pirates/Mercenaries and some other minor random events you never see because of the fast-travel.

    The Characters and Story are there but varely, Jason s friends and the Doctor appears and disappears from the Story without rime or reason, Vaas, the guy in the Cover of the game, only appears a few times and later confusinly dies (one of the developer had to confirm that he died) and theres all this talk about the indiscriminate killing of Islanders and the war the Rakyat rages against both the Pirates and Mercenaries but you never see a skirmish between the factions except for one mission in the game.

    Overall, since this is the PS3 version, the game will work fine for most of the time until you try the Map Editor and the Multiplayer, The Map Editor will cause an permanent framerate drop on the single player until you decide to restart the game and the Multiplayer sometimes will get stuck in the Map loading screen for no apparent reason.
    Expand
  30. Jun 21, 2015
    6
    Far Cry 3 is generally most favored of the three latest Far Cry games. IMO it's the worst. The jungle is too boring and repetitive. The combat is okay, but it is way too easy. As is the whole game. It is too easy and the lack of challenge really hurts the gameplay. Many people are praising Vaas as the ultimate villain in video games. The voice acting of the character sure is good, but itFar Cry 3 is generally most favored of the three latest Far Cry games. IMO it's the worst. The jungle is too boring and repetitive. The combat is okay, but it is way too easy. As is the whole game. It is too easy and the lack of challenge really hurts the gameplay. Many people are praising Vaas as the ultimate villain in video games. The voice acting of the character sure is good, but it can't make the game amazing. There is one dialogue with Vaas and the game's other antagonist which made me laugh and tip my hat, but that's it. The story is alright I guess, but Ubisoft made some pretty cheap cop out concerning the story.

    This is something that I just cannot overlook. The game builds up to awesome confrontation with the villain. And how does this play out? In a hallucination/dream sequence. That was something that royally pissed me off. As a player you are pinned down by enemies and the main boss. Then from a flick of a switch you transport into a dreamworld with shining disco lights and quick time events. Then after you have killed every single enemy in this disco dream, you wake up in the and see a blood-splattered room with all the enemies dead. That is something unacceptable and I'm disgusted how many people are either too stupid to care or just let that fly. That singlehandedly killed the story for me and the game offered nothing to redeem itself.

    Worst Far Cry ever made there is no question.
    Expand
  31. Jan 12, 2013
    0
    If you've played Walking Dead or tried to play some expansions for Bethesda games you know what lag can do to a game, well this game has the same problems. This alone should scare you off, but there is more.

    I bought this game for two reasons Multiplayer with map editor. Are you ready for this? You cannot take your created maps and make a lobby with multiple maps. Even if you make a
    If you've played Walking Dead or tried to play some expansions for Bethesda games you know what lag can do to a game, well this game has the same problems. This alone should scare you off, but there is more.

    I bought this game for two reasons

    Multiplayer with map editor. Are you ready for this? You cannot take your created maps and make a lobby with multiple maps. Even if you make a lobby with your one map, nobody will show up. You can leave it sit there for ten minutes and your name will be the only one. What is the point of making a map no one will ever play, including yourself. They also have some nazi register bullcrap to make sure everyone pays for it. Now ask yourself why less than 1000 people are playing the multiplayer at any given time, I'll tell you why, because it is unpolished, controls are wonky and the maps created by people who are paid to design maps are awful.

    The other reason I bought it was because I read it has survival aspects, being mgs3 was one of my favorite games I figured hell yeah. Well got some bad news there as well. You don't kill things for meat, you kill things for skin to make stupid **** so you can actually carry enough ammo to take out a group of three people. And of course you need specific animal skin for specific items. You also get to pick some herbs, and the map shows you exactly where they are, along with all the "hidden" relics, of course you could just not unlock the radio tower that opens the map but then you would not know where the bad guys bases were. What do you get to do with these herbs? If you guessed make potions that you inject with a syringe you are right, which means you are as stupid as the game creators. Congrats! Just don't accidently pull out your C4 everytime you try to use anything like I do.

    Other problems, limited loot and yet there is no chest in the safe house! Saving every minute so that you don't lose all the **** you crafted, because god knows upgrades don't warrant an autosave. Cliche acting that is neither so bad its good, or good. Driving that makes Grand Theft Auto 4 look like Burnout, with of course get from A to B in the allotted time or kids will die without their meds. Little do they know getting anywhere in the game on the ATV is so great a challenge the time limit was completely unnecessary. This game as many of late has the 30 minute intro that is set in stone so don't go outside the mission zone. Did I mention a camera that as far as I can tell doesn't take pictures nor dispense candy.

    Basically this is another Mercenaries 2 game that you will get bored with first day and never play again. Warning this game has RPG elements which forces you to play the game to gain xp so that you can actually play the game. Imagine if Hitman had to learn how to drag a body.
    Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Brilliant in concept, truly great in execution despite a few stumbles. A must own title. [January 2013, p68]
  2. Jan 7, 2013
    70
    Despite being hampered by a well meaning, but ultimately interfering, plot, Far Cry 3 has evolved into a decadent, playful and exciting title. Be it quality programming, dumb luck or a mixture of them both, the game plunges you into a thick, gloopy world of sugary gameplay, shimmering visuals, intoxicating audio as well as a great deal more. It's long, stupid and buckets of fun - just what you need to burn away the winter blues.
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    90
    Far Cry 3 is a terrific and is one of the best games I've played in a long time. Far Cry 3's main draw is the deep and engaging campaign, but the multiplayer modes are also serviceable enough to keep you playing for a long time.