User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 818 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 818

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    9
    I have only rented the game a few times over the last month. I have enjoyed every hour thus far. I plan to purchase the game soon. There is so much to do. The map is large. So much terrain to cover, and so many things to craft. I like trying to go stealth. Sneaking up on the NPC from behind is so satisfying. Those damn Komono dragons can be a bit annoying, but I don't think I've faced anything yet. I like the fast travel option. So much customization with weapons it brought back R6 memories. Can't wait to play it again, and ü ultimately make the purchase. Overall, I like it A Lot and highly recommend that you check it out. Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    I liked Far Cry 2 thought it was going in the right direction but wasn't executed right. It was just very bare bones and felt rushed in the end. Far Cry 3 on the other hand gives it every thing the last game needed. It just feels like its done right. There is a ton of stuff to do in the game . A decent amount of guns to pick from which can be upgraded. You can also upgrade your character with perks. The game play mechanics have been upgraded for the better from the last now moving stealthly in the brush actaully feels right . The graphics are fantastic. You get a Huge and lovely looking open world to explore . The voice acting is great. Pretty much every thing about this game was done top notch out side of the very weak story and the main character who feels pretty lame . also there is the Boss battles or lack there of. Instead of boss battles you get theese QTE events wich just feel kinda lame to replace a boss fight. i really wanted to take Vaas out my self not hit a series of buttons to do it. Over all though its a great game and alot of fun and it took me about 30 hours to complete it . Well worth the purchase if you want a deeper FPS experiance. Expand
  3. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    Superb game top notch presentation, extremely addictive and fun gameplay and a nice story. The open-world feeling is so exciting and empowering a true delight! A must buy.
  4. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    ------- Mother of God. ------- That is all I have to offer for a one liner, this game is a bag of bloody mature as all hell fun. I simply cannot believe the overall quality and execution of this game and game world. Also, anything that you have read about the story being crap is totally unfounded. The story is most definitely not of the calibre of say MGS, but it is very enjoyable with characters that are a joy to be with throughout the game world. The variety of goings on in the world is also without comparison. I have never experienced hunting such as this, run gunning thorough the jungle, and stalking man and beast in this way in any game before. *** My most favorite part of this game is the tripped out MAX PAYNE style darkness and visions, I am not going to say anything else but they are in my mind worth $20 alone. *** I cannot really get across how much this game blew me away. I bought FC2, and it was a turd. This is a gilded 24 karat gold Barret 50 with your name on it wrapped in a bow. ENJOY! Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    So, as others will note, the gameplay and the map editor and various elements such as those are quite good. But overall I was blown away by the graphics. I'm almost of the mind to surmise this title is showing us what kinds of graphics we'll be seeing in the next upcoming consoles. It seems ahead of its time in that regard. I've never seen characters so smooth and without polygonic elements whatsoever. The trees, the textures of the ground, even the water look Expand
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Surprisingly, this game is very similar to Assassin's Creed 3. I don't know if Ubisoft intended this or not, but the free-roam element and the way you run around like an acrobat up onto different pieces of architecture, is very similar. The side mission mechanics are also very similar. There are elements of mystery and detective work that unravel a more complex story than perhaps you would have predicted for such a shooter title, uncovering letters and secret objects all over the island. It is different from AC3 in various ways as well. Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2012
    6
    GOOD STUFF: - Enemy AI. - Good selection of weapons. - Graphics. - RPG elements. - Player animations. - Good analog acceleration. - Able to push stuck vehicles. - Able to turn off crossair. - Good music. BAD STUFF: - Unacceptable framerate. - Repetitive map. - Unable to remap controller buttons. - Boring secondary missions. - No sense of speed in vehicles. - Not able to wait or sleep.
    - Only a few minigames.
    Expand
  8. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    One of the best FPS ever made worthy of being mentioned in the same sentence as great FPS such as Bioshock or Half Life 2. Open world exploration and amount of content has been vastly improved over Far Cry 2. Amazing graphics, a very interesting story, fun mini games. The only bad thing about FC3 is it's multiplayer, it's terrible. The single player campaign is so strong however that it makes up for all the flaws in the MP. Expand
  9. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    I was addicted from the bat. The story gripped me, the combat absorbed me, and the world became something I wanted to explore every inch of. I regret nothing by Platinuming this fantastic game. Jason becomes a character that you care about a lot because you watch him become a badass before your eyes. Some of the side characters are dull and unexciting, but that is for a reason. They are dull because they haven't evolved to the world that you have and it is the first time that I've been happy that characters were not strong and exciting. Now, after all of this, why am i not giving this the perfect 10/10? Sadly, the multiplayer feels tagged on. The modes are uninspired and uninteresting. The Co-op can be quite fun the server rooms are not the most accepting. If you wanted to play a specific a level, be prepared to spent a lot of time waiting for the 3 people to join your quest cause online quick matches usually only stays on one mission. So beyond the online components of the game, the single player is one of the best experiences in FPS's I've ever played. Expand
  10. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    First time playing a Far Cry game. Truly engrossing. GOTY? Without question.

    Beautiful, deep, rewarding, crisp, varied, purposeful, fun, addictive.

    Gotta love chain takedowns!
  11. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    Far Cry 3 is one of my favorite games of all time. I picked it up expecting a quick knock-around FPS type of experience. What I found was far closer in spirit to Skyrim. The open world is amazing! It's atmospheric, immersive and full of hidden temples, old Japanese war forts and half sunken ships to explore. there are so many fun things to do that you'll always be distracted away from the main story; scaling radio towers, assaulting enemy strongholds, doing hunting challenges, playing poker, bounty hunting, searching for ancient relics, finding lost WWII letters on dead Japanese troops, looting chests... The list could go on. Far Cry 3 is one of those games where just getting from A to B is insanely good fun. You never know what you're going to run into. Maybe there will be a waterfall just waiting for a crazy jetski jump. Or perhaps you'll stumble across a volcano and do a bit of rock climbing. Or a group of friendly NPCs needing to be saved from a deadly tiger attack. It's just so much fun! The combat also gives you complete freedom. Go Metal Gear style, disable alarms, sneak around with a knife and drag dead bodies into bushes or simply smash through the front gates in a car with an RPG in hand. Or how about taking up position somewhere above the enemy with a sniper rifle. Or maybe lacing the road with C4 and mines and then luring the enemy out to you. So many choices. SO MUCH FUN! I can't recommend this game enough. From intense combat to relaxing exploration, Far Cry 3 does it all perfectly! Expand
  12. Jun 26, 2013
    6
    Pretty nice game, extremely bland and silly story though. I never felt anything for any character in the game. However the gameplay was very fun and there was some good variation and progression. Fun to play but ultimately I didn't really care about why I was playing it. The sidemissions were utterly pointless and for once I didn't care about doing them at all. Normally I want to complete every mission availible. Expand
  13. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    I'm new to the Far Cry series but I can honestly say has to be the best of the bunch and is simply one of the greatest games I've played in a very long time. With so much to do but never tedious I'm really in love with every single thing about this game. The story mode has me hooked and just when I think it can't get any better it does. After reading all of the great reviews on this game I'm so glad I went ahead with this purchase because its a blast. I've played one many great games in my 39 years but this is simply breathtaking and genius in every way possible. I strongly urge you to take the chance on this and avoid any negative reviews because its got my vote for a late Game of the Year contender. Expand
  14. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    As of writing this my past experiences with Far Cry have only been of hatred. That is not the case with this game. Ubisoft has managed to take a struggling franchise and turn it into a triple A action thriller. if you have not played a Far Cry game skip the 1st 2 and just get this one. the voice acting is spot on and so is the action packed experience. the story starts off very strong but then kinda slides in quality about half way through but over all it is satisfying and worth playing through. another thing i love about this game is the fact that you can build up your character from being a little wimp into a big bad a$$ which is awesome instead of being a military trained hard head who starts off strong and ends in about the same place he started. also the game lets you be awesome all the way through instead of having some abilities and then only letting you reach your full potential just before the final boss. other than Vaas and Sam most of the characters aren't really developed all that well and i cant even remember their names but it does not take away from the experience and the story still flows well. there is so much t do in this game that the title "Skyrim with guns" is an appropriate title since you can follow the story or go off and do your own thing like capturing outposts, hunting to increase the amount of things you can carry or hunt down the hundreds of collectible items in the game. another thing that makes this game what it is are the random encounters through out the world like the rebels in a fire fight with the enemy or after just scouting out a base and getting your plan of attack all figured out then in walks a tiger and clears the base for you. the AI in this game is great as well they are very realistic in the fact that if one enemy sees you every one does not know where you are until they actually see you and if they see a dead body they will freak out and wonder what is going on but they will not instantly know you were the killer and hey will hunt to try to find the cause of the person's death. the graphics are alright with a few exceptions with cut in and sometimes warped textures but this is to be expected with such a big and open world game. i have not touched the multiplayer yet since i have been so caught up in the campaign so i cant say anything about that. this game is almost a perfect game and i believe it will get many GOTY nominations if not awards anyone who loves gaming should pick this up because once you start playing you will not want to stop until you have finished the game to its entirety Expand
  15. May 26, 2013
    8
    Far Cry 3 is the next episode in the Far Cry universe. Far Cry 3 is an open world FPS that takes place on an tropical island. It has improved elements over it's previous version but also a lot of similar game play elements. The game play hasn't changed much from Far Cry 2 which include car driving and shooting mechanics. But some of the things that have been added new to this version is weapons (including a bow), side quests, mini games, crafting and animals that you can hunt. Hunting animals is a way to upgrade your weapons and items by crafting the skins of the animals you hunted. The crafting elements works well and is very easy to understand and use (you can also craft from plants for healing and combat purposes). For me the biggest negative for Far Cry 3 is that I didn't fall in love with the single player main characters. But not all characters in game are dull. Some of the NPC characters were interesting. While the multiplayer is very basic and doesn't do anything different than the previous COD does. It does entertain you for awhile but I recommend sticking with single player first. Graphics and sounds are beautiful. Far Cry 3 water elements are one of the best I've seen up to now in any game. Another favorite thing for me was taking over enemy camps by either sneaking in with your stealth like abilities or guns blazing. Other interesting elements to note are, RPG like level ups for your main character and customize weapons. Much more can be said about Far Cry 3 but I will leave that up to you to discover for yourself. If you liked Far Cry 2 than you will enjoy Far Cry 3 even more! Expand
  16. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    Got this on launch date and I just beat the game and here is my verdict. The game is sandbox style but it is also set up in a way where you can get to parts of the island quicker via vehicles/other means. This is good because if you are like me I do not like games where you have to walk for 45 mins just to get to your destination. There is a lot to do in this game from the main story to side quests, however I found the side quests to be a little boring,more or less just there for filler. You choose the way you want to play this game which is a plus. The music is good and the sounds are good, I know a lot of people like the graphics but I thought them to be nothing special,but they are still decent for a sandbox game. Framerate dips are there,but that will only be an issue for nitpicky people. The storyline is pretty decent aswell. In Far Cry 3 you do not have to worry about your guns jamming all the time like in Far Cry 2. The multiplayer is also great deals of fun. Although not perfect, still might be a contender for GOTY. We will see. Expand
  17. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    I'm just gonna add one thing: the best controls for a character in all my PS3 games. They're intuitive, well mapped, and the character does what you're expecting. Should be a standard for all future action games! At last, no more cursor/messages telling you where to go, what to do, and what button to push. Back to old school!
  18. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    This comes from someone who HATED Far Cry 2. This is not the ultimate, perfect game I keep hearing people praise about. But, trust me, it's ALMOST there. Engaging story, beautiful (gigantic) island to explore, great vilains (you'll not forget Vaas anytime soon) and a couple of twists along the way. This game is AWESOME. I can see this suiting any audience, not only FPS players. I myself don't like FPSs very much but I just could not put this down. It got me hooked for more than 20 hours (and I left so much left to be completed). This game cannot be missed and I have to praise not only FC3 but Ubisoft for releasing such an authentic (sometimes daredevil of a game) on a moment where everything is just similar to everything. Great title, PURE ENTERTAINMENT. Expand
  19. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    For me im a multiplayer gamer and I am in love with the competitive online mode. It reminds me heavily of COD 4 as it only contains a few kill streaks (none of which are even over powering) and fast intense gun fights. Then it adds other features to the formula such as revives, battle crys, ziplines, realistic weapon handling and a brilliantly deep unlocks progression system. Overall the gun play and just basic flow of the online competitive is simply perfect, I can say without a doubt I will be spending a long time on this titles mp modes. Unfortunately at the moment it looks like this game has not sold well and the player count is a little low. Also for this review I have not even tried the map editor or co-op aspects of online yet either because of the AMAZING singleplayer game. First of all the voice acting is top notch as it nears perfection. Proof of that is Vaas, who might be the best video game character I have ever witnessed. Then comes the meat and potatoes which is the gameplay which I can best describe as a jungle shooter meets Skyrim. There is simply so much to do and tell you about that I can not cover it in this review, go watch gameplay or reaad about it else where. Bottom line Far Cry 3 is a once in a generation shooter, it pushes the fps genre so high I doubt anything will catch it. Expand
  20. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Far cry 3 is game of the year IMO. The whole game feels polished to perfection. There are so many ways to complete you objective I feel like a kid in a candy shop! Even just getting around the island give you choices. Jet ski, boat, jeep, walking, truck...or maybe hand gliding, there all great fun! The best story driven FPS I have every played, and I have played lots. Do yourself a favor and buy this game, you will not regret it! Expand
  21. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    My bro snatched this up for me (thanks kev) and so far the multiplayer is so cool I haven't been able to pull away from it long enough to scope out the single-player. It is way better than I anticipated and I'm pretty picky about fps multiplayer. Lots of fresh ideas, killer sound and presentation, but best of all its fun. It has some cool team mechanics but you can also run and gun like a beast if you want. Finally some fresh fps blood. The only problem is I gotta work in the morning! XD Expand
  22. Feb 28, 2013
    7
    The gameplay in this game is genuinely good, and actually does a pretty good job of making the repetitive tasks, like activating radio towers and liberating outposts, seem new and fresh with each new area. I enjoyed playing the game, though I never felt that it did anything particularly new or innovative. The story, however, is complete rubbish. The writer of the game claims that it was supposed to satirize the stereotypes abundant in other games, but that doesn't come through at all. I suspect the writer said this to keep away the criticism that the game's story is racist and offensive. So if you're looking to play a fun game that involves killing hundreds of people and animals while roaming a large open world, this is your game. If you're looking for a game that has an intelligent story that satirizes the problems in modern games, play Spec Ops: The Line. Expand
  23. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    I did not have so much fun and emotions since... wow, hard to say, but it was a long time ago. The game is pretty nice also (even on PS3!). One or two things should be improved such as the vehicle driving (bad view where sometime to do not see the road anymore... and handling is strange too). Sometime you die falling from, what, 3 meters ? But these are rare moments, and the rest is pretty good!
  24. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    GOTY candidate through and through. Multiplayer modes feel tacked on and should be overlooked. However, the single player truly shines, giving the player complete freedom and an infinite number of ways to approach most objectives. Particles effect, lighting, and most model/character detail is spot on. Sound design is wonderful. The island really is a living paradise with heavy undertones of violence and greed. Sadism and murder contrast greatly with the beautiful scenery, and certain characters certainly steal the show(even if they are killed off early to progress the story). I was a bit let down by the ending, and killing most of the "bosses" turns into simplified quick-time events(which was a greatly missed opportunity in my opinion. All qualms aside though, Far Cry 3 is a wonder to behold, and the take-downs and liberation of island camps is always a blast. Pick it up if you're into open-world sandbox games, or if you love FPS's... you won't be disappointed. 10/10 Expand
  25. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    Just finished the campaign about an hour ago.....holy chit! This game is simply epic. Freedom, level design, hunting, all great features. The main character can be a little douche at times, but all in all, this game is awesome.
  26. Dec 18, 2012
    8
    1. Story line: Far Cry 3 has been by far the best FPS game I have played this year. The story line was pretty well written; while it felt a bit rushed and leaves more questions than answers though, it
  27. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    The developers truly learned from their mistakes, this time around the insanely fun gameplay and characters will keep you interested enough to see the journey through. This is one of the better open world sandbox games this gen, everything in it has a meaning, you gain different rewards from collectibles, killing enemies, exploring and hunting animals, nothing in this game feels really shallow or anything. It also has multiplayer, both co-op (including split-screen co-op, yay!) and competitive multiplayer, even though you might need other online buddies to get together a good game. Still, you will get plenty of value from the singleplayer, it's rare to have such a complete package, and kudos to Ubisoft for making this happen. With everything so good in this game, I give it a 9/10. Expand
  28. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    I can't even begin to describe how great this game is. Open world to explore, good selection of weapons, animals to hunt, stealth gameplay that works amazingly, and a wingsuit. The plot is decent, nothing to write home about. The gameplay is really fun and fluid. The visuals are some of the best on consoles. The multiplayer is fantastic as well.
  29. Jan 1, 2013
    6
    An absolutely stunning game in many ways, with combat that lets you play your own way and a memorable cast of characters that revolutionize the way video games can portray human beings, physically and emotionally. The main bad guy throughout the game, Vaas, who is featured on the cover of the game, is particularly well written and modeled, seeming truly insane and lifelike throughout the time he was in the game. However, the game was only about 10 hours long for myself, and I took my time playing it. The open world was spacious but I didn't really see the point in exploring it, I already had all the firepower and cash I needed and the side missions never really gave me anything to go with. The multiplayer felt tacked on, and I found it buggy in many ways, although I would expect that to be fixed in future patches, I just couldn't play it for anymore than an hour before I found it boring and broken. For how stunning this game is, it's cut short sadly quickly, and this is why this game doesn't deserve the high scores everyone keeps heaping onto it. It just leaves a disappointing taste in your mouth, like there could have been more, and for that I give it a 6 out of 10. It'll probably be another case of developer DLC overload making up for the lack of content originally provided with the game, something that has become sickeningly frequent with today's could be great video games. If you're thinking about buying this game, just be aware of how little game you'll be actually getting, and that your money could be better spent elsewhere. An amazing game ruined on account of lack of content. Expand
  30. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    "Did I ever tell you what the definition of insanity is?" These words are just a few of the memorable moments of not only the greatest game to grace our consoles this year..but a game in serious contention for one of the best games this side of the current generation of consoles.
    Not only was that sentence uttered by one of the most entertaining but disturbing villains of our time, Vaas
    Montenegro, but he continues this rant with a few choice swear words to explain insanity as repeating the same thing over and over again, I seen this as a subtle middle finger to the other first-person shooters of this generation, and who can blame anyone for believing this.
    Far Cry 3 not only changes the rules... it brings open-world gaming and first-person shooting together in a combined sense of beauty and realism that we rarely come close to seeing anymore in money spinning game-a-year blockbusters.
    We play as Jason Brody, an adrenaline junkie student who is participating in sky-diving holidays with a group of friends. This leads them to Rook Island, a beautiful paradise but with dire consequences waiting behind the green grass and deep oceans.
    What catapults this game above the likes of Assassin's Creed, is the sheer freedom involved here. Don't get me wrong, this takes many cues from AC, but this game deserves more credit for being truly open-world. Whether you are skinning animals to make larger weapon holsters, wrestling with a shark to stop it tearing you to shreds, or taking to the skies with a hand-glider or wing suit, the opportunities are endless. The map is incredibly large but used to its upmost potential, undiscovered ruins, caves, treasures or rare animals, FC3 is a force to be reckoned with. Beautiful landscapes with sprawling beaches and an excellent variety of vehicles make this a truly endlessly entertaining experience.
    Vaas is the clear standout of this game.. with not nearly enough screen time he isn't done justice but when he's there, he's there. A dangerously accurate personality,and mannerism combo similar to the cunning insanity of the Dark Knights joker, easily one of the most frighteningly terrific villains we've ever seen.
    With all this and much more..this is a truly unforgettable game that never ceases to amaze.
    Expand
  31. Jan 11, 2013
    9
    Man, was this game fun! The island environment is great and so are the characters. The gameplay is fluid and the skill tree aspect is interesting and allows you to develop into a true warrior on the island. The only drawback is some of the repetitive side missions and story plot but that shouldn't keep anyone from at least giving this game a shot.
  32. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Far Cry 3 é um sopro de originalidade na atual geração de FPS, que apesar de algumas mudanças se resume à só matar e ir daqui para lá. Uma ótima jogabilidade, gráficos soberbos e um vilão que dá ódio desde o primeiro instante.Se você tem que escolher um FPS para as férias, sua escolha está aqui...
    Abraço e fiquem com Deus!
    Expand
  33. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    Really good game. PROS: story, gameplay, graphics, audio, world. CONS: Framerate, pop in textures, co-op, multiplayer. Ending is a little weak but overall great game
  34. Jun 14, 2013
    2
    This is a fantastic game, one of the best games of the year! Good story, lead character, open world is evlolved beautifully and immerses you almost instantaneously, gameplay is pick up and really enjoyable! What's not to like? Oh, and the animals are the best designed and 'brought to life' you could want in a game! Loved it so much, I platinumed it, and not many games grip me for that long!
  35. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    It's pretty great. I dunno why it's so addictive. There's so much to do (see). Killing baddies never gets old. You feel like a secret-agent-badass most of the time. Story's entertaining, and surprisingly the acting is good. I'm so used to awful acting in games, it's defiantly a trip. Oh god, the facial animations, they're good, almost creepily good. I say it's a buy. --only gripe, it's really easy (even on hard). Again it doesn't change how fun it is. Expand
  36. Jan 11, 2013
    9
    This is one of the better games to come out of 2012. The graphics are gorgeous. The gameplay is smooth. The voice over work is superb. The music is sublime. And while the story might seem a little "by the numbers", the villains are not. And the evolution of your character is also done very organically. The co-op is lame, and I haven't even tried the multiplayer, but the single player campaign alone is worth the price of admission. Do not pass up this gem from Ubisoft. Expand
  37. Dec 29, 2012
    6
    The game is great fun to play, everything from raiding bandit outposts to exploring caves and going on hunting expeditions. Even the level editor is fantastic and expansive for it being ingame. All this fun however, is bogged down by constant freezes and crashes you'll experience, which isn't much of the developer's fault as it is the outdated hardware they're trying to use with it.
  38. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    Puts other FPS games to shame. How is this for excellence: a superb main mission is in play which is as good as it gets and fully engaging...meanwhile layered directly below and fully accessible is a fully realized world where you can go anywhere and do anything and boy is there a lot to do. Dozens of great weapons, dozens of great vehicles...how about a dive suit, a parachute, a hang glider, a jet ski, a zipline, a speedboat or a nice long swim to get where you are going? And if you swim, remember the sea has beautiful marine life and sharks and crocodiles. I could go on indefinitely...just go get the game and have a blast. Expand
  39. Jan 28, 2013
    8
    Far Cry 3 is dark, twisted, and incredibly fun. It does have its troubles, and has some weak moments in its story in between some amazing segments, but it delivers a great shooter experience.
  40. Dec 19, 2012
    6
    Good first impressions. Great graphics and excellent game world. Yeah there's a little bit of screen tearing in the PS3 version but nothing to effect your enjoyment. The story and characters aren't that great but who cares about that. Good shooting and fun vehicle sections, yes there's better shooters and better racers but for an open world game not bad at all. The problems stem from the design. First the game is constantly nagging you with annoying pop ups on the screen telling you to press start just to read up on something you've just discovered. These pop ups cannot be turned off either. To make matters worse NPC's will repeat the same line of dialogue over and over again every few seconds to remind you of your next objective. Level design in the main missions will leave you with a sense of de ja vu. Every cliche is present and correct. An escort mission, a turrets section, one of those levels where you have to plant sem tex on 3 targets with glowing sections then get clear. Far Cry 3 is at it's best when it let's you approach missions how you want such as when hunting or taking over camps. Unfortunately your also tasked with quite a lot of busy work such as collecting relics and memory cards and letters, none of which are very interesting and just feel like they're there to keep you playing longer. There's also a twisted morality here which allows you to kill as many innocent animals as you want but try killing the identical, bland faced inhabitants and the game will kill you. That's right you just straight out drop dead without even the thrill of being chased down as you would in say Grand theft Auto or Red Dead Redemption. Most of these issues I could forgive but the game's difficulty curve is broken as it actually gets easier the more you play. XP and money is earned all too easily and by the time you reach the games final stages your 'll have all the best weapons and be virtually indestructible. Having created such a visually stunning environment for you to get lost in it's such a shame there's not many fun things for you to do in it. Expand
  41. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    i love this game i found game to be most thriling hand gliding animal skinning etc i found it to be most best game 10 out of 10 but found ending to be let down
  42. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Absolutely in love with this game. A huge, beautiful and great, living world with many of things to do besides the very well executed missions. While Ubisoft tried to make their previous installment Far Cry 2 immersive it almost went controversy and a little too realistic. Jamming guns, a lack of hud mode and an overall lack of gameplay features drive you away from the experience. In Far Cry 3, things have changed. With the new introduced RPG elements, abilities to craft and the ability to use stealth against your enemies, it actually became lots of fun to travel instead of frustrating. Far Cry 3 offers us what the openworld genre is supposed to offer, while the previous installment was good, it lacked many things that other openworld games had to offer. Besides the addictive singleplayer campaign, there's also a little uninspired, but yet so fun multiplayer with a huge map editor, allowing the people who love to be creative almost unlimited hours of fun. The 6 hour Coop is pretty interesting also, but i personally see much more potential in the Map editors sandbox mode, allowing you to put AI in your maps. Imagine if Ubisoft skipped this whole coop and made it possible for the player to create their OWN coop, each with it's own map and objective. This way, the AI that Ubisoft introduced us,would be where it really belongs to. Now Far Cry 3 isn't flawless, but offers so much fun and an almost unlimited amount of replay value, making it my personal Game Of The Year 2012. Expand
  43. Jan 13, 2014
    6
    I really tried to like this game. At the beginning, this game looked so promising and amazingly good. I am generally easy to please, but there were too many fundamental flaws that bothered me significantly.

    The most egregious flaw is the terribly overcompensating poor AI. I could snipe a guard from 200m away and it barely misses the enemy yet fifteen enemies in an entire compound know
    EXACTLY where I am immediately after the miss (with a silencer no less!). I’ve played plenty of stealth games before, but the mechanics in this one are one of the worst because it significantly hampers the stealth aspects.

    Farcy 3 is mostly a sandbox game. It is fun at first, but many elements like finding relics are tacked on. Overtaking enemy compounds are wildly fun at first, but quickly become tedious.

    The game is kind of split into two parts. The meat of the story is in the first half. I found no reason to play the second half as the story tapers off significantly, and the difficulty skyrockets to laughable heights. This left me very little reason to keep going.

    Everything about the weapons is top notch. Their looks, feel, and use are one of the best of any shooter. This was one of the best aspects of the game.

    Although somewhat unimportant, another head-scratcher was the wild animals that deplete your health way too easily. Getting attacked by a komodo dragon is worse than getting a point black bullet by an AK47. Additionally, falling from very short heights took away a lot of health.

    The game seems like the graphics should be good. They are very pretty if not moving. I had an insanely bad framerate/screen tearing problem that was far and away the worst of any PS3 game I’ve played this gen. It was almost unplayable.

    The game is mostly good, but the bad parts are really bad in my opinion. The premise was amazing, but the execution was mediocre.
    Expand
  44. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    Do I dare say this is a poor man's red dead redemption? Even then that would've been a compliment. This is a great game. The pros were the likable characters, decent story although rather generic, The guns were fun to experiment around with (use the flamethrower fun as heck and OP'd), the stealth aspect was great as you can plan ahead how you want to approach the game; and trust me you'll want to use stealth. This game also screams repitiveness, but that's the farthest from the truth, if you capture outposts; all of them have different layouts and different types of enemies; all relics and letters of the lost are a challenge to find cause they're all hidden carefully and differently. The multiplayer was decent but not something I'll see myself playing a year from now. What keeps this from getting a 9 or 10 from me? Well there's nothing really in this game that I haven't seen before, you'll think they took aspects from some other video games and jammed it into one. The boss fights were also rather lackluster and a major disappointment from me. The ending was also lackluster. But overall it's a geat game. Expand
  45. Feb 21, 2013
    8
    Some of the best character animation and voice work ever. The characters feel like real people and not just videogame characters so it helps make the game feel grounded. There are some good surprises in the game story wise. One of the best open world games. The game gets a bit long winded near the end though, but overall it's a solid shooter.
  46. Mar 25, 2013
    7
    Far Cry 3 is a real mixed bag. Some parts are really quite breath taking, the island is beautiful, some of the sections of the campaign are surprising, with some cool twists and turns, but it also feels like it has all been done before. A lot of the game reminds me of just cause 2 tropical island, sandbox design, driving, flying and shooting etc. and in turn i play the game with a kind of "been here, done this" attitude. Overall, good fun, but ive played this type of game before... Expand
  47. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    Thriller game I loved it. The upgrade system is awesome. The variety of missions and the magnificent open world really made me enjoy this game very much.
    I played the co-op as well and it was fantastic.
    I just wished few things to be added or modified on the game. Like stealth mechanism. Many parts required stealth and it wasn't easy do it unless you go sniping from far.
    Overall awesome game.
  48. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    Wonderful game. I do not play alot of games, as I enjoy the GTA series and things of that nature and hate 1st person games. However this game is great. Great story, characters, graphics, etc. Love it.
  49. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    It is Skyrim with guns - only difference is, the PS3 version works. I'm just kidding (somewhat), but the game definitely takes the best aspects of games such as the afroementioned Skyrim as well as Assassins Creed. I don't want to go into too much detail, because it really has to be experienced to be truly appreciated - do yourself a favour, sell your empty wallet if you have to, get this game ! You will not regret it. Expand
  50. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    This may very well be the best game of 2012 and possible even one of the greatest open world shooters of all time. Do yourself a favor and buy this game.
  51. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    An amazing game, featuring stunning visuals and gameplay.. The combat system allows you to play the game your own way, whether it be like rambo or hitman, or a combination of both himbon! and many other play styles.. The story could be strong, but its easily over looked when there is so much to do and explore.. This has quickly become one of my top 5 favorite games of all time, I would rank it up there with the GTA Series, Elderscrolls, dark souls and halflife.. The co-op adds many more ours of fun and a social immersion into the tropical island paradise/hell.. Get this game you won't regret it, definitely worth the $70 Expand
  52. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    Nice job Ubisoft! After a fail of Far Cry 2 with crappy driving I was happy to see Far Cry 3 was coming out but was kinda scared to see if they fixed the issues with far cry 2. I was wrong.... This is a great open world fps game. The stealth is good, there is even poker, killing animals and the FLAMETHROWER!!!!!!!!! The story missions are great fun and the side missions are even fun too. They fixed the issues with the driving, better graphics and just a better game then far cry 2. The multiplayer is great fun too. The weapons are balanced good, the game modes are fun, and there is even the MACARENA!!!!!!! (at the end of the online game that is) The co-op is also fun too. It's like uncharted 3 where there is cutscenes showing the characters or anything else. This is one of the best fps games of the year and it is definitely a buy or a rent. Expand
  53. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    This game is great if you give it a chance and use the weapons and tools at your disposal. I did nt like this game at first at all it took me around my 6 to 8 hour mark before I started having fun with it but now it is a blast to play. I give it a 9 because it is an acheivment as far as scope and the graphics still being really good. There is pop in a little but most important to me is I haven't noticed any slow down when it gets busy on screen. That is the worst for a game IMO. If you rate this game lower than a 7 or 8 then you either didn't play it or didn't give the game its fair shot. Oh yeah the multiplayer is not for me it just isn't as good as the other shooters I play online but a really good single player game. Expand
  54. Jun 5, 2013
    6
    What I've realised is that almost all of my problems are the same ones that I have with Assassin's Creed, which makes sense given that it's made by the same people.

    The game takes a few seconds to open any chest, or loot a body, or skin an animal. It isn't a significant amount of time, and I guess to some this complaint will be very spergy. But I have to watch these same animations over
    and over, when they may as well be instant. What do these animations serve; realism? They still aren't that realistic. Instead, every time I do one of these repetitive tasks, that take a few seconds, I feel time slipping away. This game is fun to play if you just want something to suck up all your time (hence why the box for the Lost Expedition edition brags about "40 extra minutes of gameplay" as if length equals quality), but not if you want a game where you'll be 100% engaged at all times.

    Climbing the radio towers isn't a fun mechanic, and is even more repetitive than Assassin's Creed, which at least had the climbing-parkour-puzzle mechanic to go with it. Clearing the outposts is fun but... the problem is, once you clear the area, there are no dynamic enemies in this area any more. That means, there's no tension if I need to go from the checkpoint to a mission marker, the travel time is boring. It suffers from the problem that the single player campaign missions are easily the best part of the game everything else feels like filler.

    This game doesn't flesh out its open world mechanics to the extent of something like Skyrim or New Vegas, which is maybe too hard a bar to expect. But it doesn't have as many fun things to do between missions as something like Saints Row or GTA either. Every "open world" aspect of this game is just totally half-assed.

    I know I'm late to the party on this game, and I'll probably still finish it... and give Blood Dragon a shot. I don't hate this game overall nor do I hate AC (I still haven't played the third one after being disappointed by Brotherhood and Revelations...) I just feel like there's something insidious and dull about the way Ubisoft do open world and now I'm worried Watch_Dogs will have the same damn problems.
    Expand
  55. May 28, 2013
    9
    This is a great fun game with a really good story. The game is only about 15hrs. but worth anything you want to pay for it. For an aging PS4 the graphic are pretty good but there are a lot of frame drops in the game.
  56. Dec 14, 2012
    10
    απλα απιστευτο, το παιχνιδι ειναι ενα αριστουργημα !!! χαρηκα καθε στιγμη που επαιξα μαζι του και μου εδωσε ατελειωτες ωρες χαρας και διασκεδασης. ευχομαι και σε ενα 4ο μερος και να ειναι ακομα καλυτερο απο αυτο !!! Expand
  57. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 got me hooked since the opening to the game, and only got better as the story unfolded. The only thing bad I can say and why I haven't rated it as a 10, is because the character Vaas should've had a much bigger role in the game, especially when it came to the end. I love having a chance to sneak up to my oppenents and off them. That's what I would've done instead of going all guns blazing. Expand
  58. Aug 7, 2013
    9
    I simply hated FC2 and needless to say that i was sceptic about this one. But the main reasons i hated FC2 were solved in this installation. The endless driving and respawning guard points. Instead FC3 has hostile guard posts that after freed become safe havens and fast travel spots. Brilliant. The visuals and the gameplay are flawless and the storyline holds together almost to the end. The end itself well... let's just say that it crumbled too fast in a clumsy way. Exception made to the helicopter mission (does anyone heard about a film called Apocalypse Now?). It puts a smile on your face. But then again the rest is awesome and Vaas steals the game in terms of character. Great villain, scary and unstable. Expand
  59. Jan 28, 2013
    5
    I'm really not sold on open world games. Yes, it would be nice to have a game that was a sandbox shooter, that had SO MUCH for you to do! FarCry 3 didn't do this for me. After the initial surprise of the intro, the game became repetitive and boring real quick. Attack that checkpoint, do those quests, complete a little more of the story, repeat. Granted, I only played it up to Vaas, but the game failed to shine in that time span, so as far as I'm concerned, that's as far as I needed to go.

    But it's not a terrible game, and I would recommend it OVER most other shooters I've played in the last year. After all, just because I didn't like it, doesn't mean no one will.
    Expand
  60. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Far Cry 3 is hell of a game. It's placed in tropical island where you and your friends get imprisoned by a bad guy called Vass Montenegro , who is sociopathic murderer, pirate and smuggler. Characters are very well done and they are believable. Your character is afraid of killing anyone at the start of the game and it fells like you actually are unexperienced killer , who wants to free his friends and kill Vass for everything he has done. As you get deeper into the game your character meets native beauty called Citra who is leader of the tribe against Vass who is actually her brother. When it gets to action this game is perfect. You can upgrade and modificate your weapons , gather plants to create syringes which can heal you or give you a buff for some ammount of time. You can also hunt down many different animals and skin them to create larger inventory bag , bigger ammo pouch , syringe pouch and everything you need to expand your current holdings space. Game is filled with outposts you can liberate and then fast travel through them via the map, or you can just drive with your jeep and enjoy the scenery. I can highly recommend this game , as its one of the best games released this year and its packed with one hell of a fun !! Expand
  61. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    It's the best shooter I played in a while ! It has great mechanics, great graphics and cool weapons. Since it's an open world, you can concentrate on doing the main missions or doing a lots of sidequests.
  62. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This game for me is a shoe in for game of the year, it has everything I could ever ask for in a game. However is not without its very very minor faults.
    The first thing I noticed in this game are the incredible graphics and the downright awesome and STUNNING setting. This map is huge, but not so huge that its a laborious task to get around. Entwined with the abilities to hunt, dive and
    liberate sections of the map, it makes for great gameplay. The story is solid and maintains through the whole game, the characters are memorable and really quite amusing sometimes. The control system is similar to that of Call of Duty making it familiar and easy to grasp for most players (I should assume) and the stealth abilities are a great feature. Leading from that you have the ability to upgrade Jason's abilities through his mystical tattoo thing.. Unlocking new abilities as you complete challenges and missions.
    The occasional flaw would have to be the slow context pooping when you synchronise a radio tower, and the sometimes glitchy driving. Overall, this is a FANTASTIC game, certainly worth playing through, especially if you are a fan of open world games with endless possibilities. 100%
    Expand
  63. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    The people giving this game zeros are either smokin that powder or are N.B.I (Natural Born Idiots). This game leaves me speechless. I dont see any flaws other than mayb the graphics could use a little tweaking.
  64. Jan 5, 2013
    5
    Going to sell this back now after completing a few missions. I just can't get into it. I don't get the high scores, maybe I missed something but it's far from Skyrim with guns. I've played hours upon hours getting to level 68 in Skyrim and I had to force myself to keep giving this another try before giving up on it. The gameplay is average and the mission text blocks a big chunk of the screen (as others have noted). It reminds me a lot of AC3, which looks good visually but has disjointed gameplay and less-than-compelling missions. Ubisoft, what hapened? Expand
  65. Feb 3, 2013
    7
    Great game for as far as the story mode. What happened to vehicles and somewhat glitch free in multiplayer though? Then there are the disgusting things you can do to the best player on the losing team it just tries to be over the top in some areas and ends up being distasteful.
  66. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Totally improved over Far Cry 2 in every aspect.
    Great and fantastic looking island, with tons of freedom and activities. The RPG is a great addition and gives you a sense of progress. Technically brilliant and great port on console.
    Finally fast travel system in the singleplayer, with even low load times, great add. The multiplayer feels much different then any other shooter around,
    more slow and realistic movements, big maps.
    Overall you cant miss this game, excellent in every aspect.
    Expand
  67. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    A First person game should be like Far Cry 3. It is an unexpected , extraordinary and amazing game. This game can not be expressed by words, when you play you realizes what what I felt. Visuals, gameplay and story it's all you need and it is all you will get.
  68. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    This game is beautiful. The engineering of the entire game is just amazing, how they created the gameplay. If you bought the last game and enjoyed it, this is definitely a game worth buying. The main thing I like is that it puts the game back into the hands of the player unlike an interactive movie *cough*COD*cough*. You can do whatever you want, whenever you want. You can hunt to get all the capacity upgrades, explore both islands, climb all of the radio towers, get all the bases, etc. even before you do the story. The one thing I didn't love was the lack of weapon variety. It seemed that there weren't enough weapons to really have a huge variation with. The visuals and physics are beautiful, the knife assassinations are amazing, vehicles are an amazing addition to the game, the characters are colorful, etc. Expand
  69. Jan 9, 2013
    8
    This is a very good game, although a very flawed one. The story, characters, and ending are all very well written and extremely enjoyable but that seems to be where the exceptional parts of this game ends. The landscape at first is beautiful, but once you get past about 30 minutes of walking around in the seemingly same area as you were before you realize that the entire landscape is just one long boring jungle walk. Fallout did it well when they would add random interactive events when you walk around, to make sure your attention is caught. Then come the side quests, very boring tedious quests that just consist of either fetch quests or something similar, all very boring. I personally enjoy the Wanted Dead quests that ask you to kill a pirate leader with a knife (don't worry this isn't any type of spoiler.), while the hunting quests outside of rare animals were quite boring. The story is very good, often surprising you, but it seemed too short for me; the characters were also very interesting, Vaas was great..... for about the first two times, after that he was annoying as hell. Sam, Hoyt and Willis though were all unique and interesting characters though. This game is fun, I don't know if it's worth 65 of your hard earned dollars, some may enjoy this game more than me. This game gets a 7.7 from me. Expand
  70. Kyr
    Jan 16, 2013
    10
    Far Cry 3 is the best FPS i've ever played since Battlefield, is simply amazing how you can do almost everthing, between just gathering a plant to skin a shark. Good graphics,good gameplay, this game certainly deserves Goty.
  71. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    You play as Jason Brody, and set off on your adventure trying escape from some serious bandits. Lucky for you, your brother was in the army and gets you out safely. Whilst about the escape, he is shot in the head and you a left to run far far away. This scared feeling is what drives your character to kill, hunt and to save your other siblings and friends. You meet a great cast of characters, none of which are forgettable, and all carry a great addition to the story. Té multiplayer aspects of the game, although they don't lack too much, aren't very fun. Few types, and a variety of weapons from the single player don't stand out too much. They also created a system where as you are awarded CDs, disk drives, memory sticks, etc. after a match. You must unlock their contents by use of a decoding in game or iOS app. A simple addition which I don't highly regard but they're trying new things. The graphics across all game modes are just astounding, from the glimmer of the sun off the sea, the the dark caverns and waterfalls, it is a magnificent sight for sore eyes. Complimentary to the standard of graphics, sounds are very realistic but get quite repetitive after taking over your 20th gang hideout. Climbing the radio towers which scatter the island are also very repetitive. You can only get enough off, hop, grab, walk, hop, walk. Even thought the single player is among the greatest of the year, and the map editor and multiplayer and simple yet fun additions. The co-operative mode which is included, is probably the dullest and most boring part of any game I played all year. The only reason I trekked through the 6 hour, 6 chapter cooperative story of 4 slaves searching an island for the capturer, was to get the 6 bronze trophies awarded for them, 1 for each. If you want an amazing immersive single player with spectacular graphics, story, and sound, with a mediocrely easy platinum. This is for you. If your in it for the coop, don't waste your money. Single player: 9/10 Multiplayer/Map editor: 7/10 Co-operative: 3/10 The single player is enough to buy this game without hesitation and try at the multiplayer could just get you hooked. Just don't touch the cooperative game modes Expand
  72. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    Simply amazing, havent played a game this good in some time. There's loads of things to do around the two islands. The story mode is a bit short but it's well conducted.
  73. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    2012 hasn't been a great year for gaming in my opinion. A lot of let downs with a few good games. Most games I played this year ended up being traded in. Now with the release of Far Cry 3, I'm looking forward to a great holiday season. A lot about this game excited me from graphics, story, game play, multi-player(note I'm not that big on multi-player modes), the list goes on. The co-op has it's own story. The multi-player is innovative and fun!!! The single-player campaign is insanely amazing!!! The detail in all aspects of this game is just mind blowing. I appreciate the craft that was put into this game and I'll be playing this one for a while. Easily game of the year for me. Expand
  74. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    Great game. Not really innovating, but what it does, it does right. Very fluid, very involving. Side activities are somewhat repetitive, but not forced, so it is good. Very manageable. Similar to Fallout 3, but very user friendly. Enemy AI smarter than real pirates. All in all, must buy.
  75. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This game is incredible, everything about it is incredible the free roam the guns the graphics everything. The story is just amazing shows you the main characters inanity take a turn for the worst as he tries to save his friends. The only thing I'm not big on is the multiplayer really badly balanced and not much people play. Besides from the this game is amazing! 10/10
  76. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Best game of this year, nuff said. And no, I'm not a fanboy. What can I say, it's a truly epic game with a great and intense story that is both dark and engagingly emotional. The graphics on consoles and on PC are both superb and one of the best looking game of this generation. Brian Tyler is the composer of the game's soundtrack, and to be honest, it's eargasmic. I love the soundtracks a lot and it also fits well with every scene. The gameplay is smooth compared to Far Cry 2. There's a lot of content and the map editor has seen some huge improvements! Expand
  77. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    -Epic game.
    -Best fps i have ever played.
    -phenomenal graphics.
    What i most like about far cry 3 is that there is some sort of anticipation you feel while playing the game. Call it anticipation, excitement or whatever, i am glued to this game from last night. It feels so real. And ofcourse VAAS is EPIC.
  78. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    A great game with great story and outstanding characters.Gameplay is truly amazing and so addictive that you'll play this game for months.Ubisoft did a great job with Far Cry 3 and it is definitely a Game of The Year .
  79. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    This game took me by surprise! I was not expecting to get engulfed into this world as much as I was. I'm about 6 hours into this game and I'm hooked. The main story and how it's folding out is great! It has side quests and yeah some of them are boring and monotonous but you don't have to do them...but a lot of them actually add something to the RPG elements of the game. It's not just a fetch mission with little reward. People seem to be dismissed by the graphics for some reason, personally I find them to be phenomenal...especially for an open world game on current gen hardware. Definitely becoming one of my favorite games this gen! Expand
  80. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    A game that distills the best elements of the Red Dead Redemption, Uncharted, Assassin's Creed, Grad Theft Auto, Skyrim, and of course Far Cry 2, then improves and reconfigures them in a highly creative and engrossing way. No open world has felt as alive and memorable since the Red Dead Redemption. No open world was as large, rich, beautiful, detailed, realistic and rewarding at the same time. A real masterpiece. Expand
  81. Dec 11, 2012
    7
    Actually,this is an really AWESOME sandbox shooting game for those players who is new to the Far Cry series...but for the FANS...there is some TINY---VERY TINY disappointment in this game...especially...those total Far Cry 2 fans..... First of all, there's NO GUN JAMMING in this game...many people may ask "Isn't that nice ?"...Well, for those FPS player who wants to have a smoothly gunfight like the COD..."YES.".....but for those FC2 fans...that was really unacceptable...cuz it's fun and it's realistic for those hardcore FPS players....i know that sometime the mechanism is quite frustrating,but it is its feature---FUN and DANGEROUS, isn't it ? Second,the MONEY....yeh...i know that earning money fast isn't bad...but in Far Cry 3 ....it's just too damn fast !!! It just makes all this survival feeling game become tooo EASY for those hardcore FPS player or those who struggle finding diamonds in FC 2....(and yes, prefer the diamonds in FC 2) Third,there is no SLEEPING SYSTEM in these game..so..if you want to have a night walk of stealthy killing...you have to wait----till the sun set......and that's really damn long... And last, the HEALING SYSTEM is really really worse than FC2...it's just too "easy" for me---a FC2 player. So,if you are new to these kind of game....i highly recommend it ........it's a must buy for sure..........but for those FC2 fans...i think they should think twice whether you are ready to let go those fun experience and accept those new things... Still, i'll give this game a 8.3/10 for bringing soo much fun to me. Expand
  82. Dec 13, 2012
    6
    This game is a decent shooter, the weapons are satisfying to use and there is some intense shooting, there is option to an stealth aproach and is satisfying to cleanse an outpost of enemies without been seen. However, this game isn't Skyrim tropical island version, if you are expecting deep RPG mechanics and involving side quests you are going to be dissapointed. It is a game about a guy with guns that shoot other guys with guns, outside the main storyline, you just kill alot of guys with red shirts for no real reason but only for your amusement, its a Call of Duty on a island, less scripted and with more options. If compared with Call of Duty, its a more complex game, but when compared with other open world games it's a little too shallow. Expand
  83. Dec 13, 2012
    6
    Starting playing at warrior difficulty and immediately noticed that the game was way too easy. I died by random acts of bad luck more than by my enemies bullets.

    Hunting requires no skill at all and using syringes only makes it a complete waste of gamer time.

    You will find many objects in the game, as if they first tried to pull off a crafting element into the game, but then settled
    to all those useless items simply taking space in your pack sack and making you go through the motion of selling them (15$ for a Queen of hearts, really?)

    Storyline is very thin and linear. Side quests are ridiculously identical: radio, outpost, memory card, sell items, buy ammo and repeat...

    The only cool feature in the game is taking over outposts - this is where the game comes alive for a couple of minutes. Radio towers are a real bore though... and racing to get a pack of medical supplies is another badly incorporated activity on the island. Too bad they were not more inspired by Fallout when designing the island and your adventures on it. I think even Dead island did a better adventure job than this sorry game (no dis Dead island).

    For some really odd reason Ubisoft has a bad habit of giving historical and contextual descriptions to immerse the player in the game (for instance Far cry 3 and Assassin creed 3). But the low class humor that punctuate these little lessons is rather childish and is borderline racist amongst other things. In any case, concluding with an asinine remark at the end of each paragraph really `wakes` the gamer up and reminds him that he`s reading a geeky programmers comment rather than experiencing the game. Hope they grow out of it.

    I am only 12 trophies shy of platinum, so I did not play 15 minutes and jumped to conclusions. I will say that on the bright side, this is an easy game to get platinum: the achievements only require you to perform feats that do not require grinding for 10+ hours of mundane tasks like Dishonored or LA Noire.
    Expand
  84. Dec 23, 2012
    3
    This is the worst shooter since Syndicate. The awful bloom effect, the open world (if you could even call it that) is lacking severely. Vaas is the worst, most predictable villain in years and Jason has no personality, simply another silent fps protagonist. I want my money back.
  85. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    This is the best game I have played in a very long time. The story is awesome. Kind of a just cause 2, assassins creed with a hint of skyrim but executed in a unique way. Graphics are 2nd to none. Other game developers have a lot to learn from Ubisoft Montreal. Thank you for releasing a quality , finished product with absolutely no bugs( that I can find). The coop multi is fun. The regular multiplayer could be awesome if folks would drop the tired cod series. This multi is far better if you give it a chance and fill up some lobbies. This is truly a first class title!! Expand
  86. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    Far Cry 3 is a well-paced First Person Shooter with some Role Playing Game elements that are combined to deliver this year's best shooting experience.

    The story shares some similarities with some older film epics but certain characters feel unique to FC3. The game plays in various ways within its nature, as a shooter. The player has enough freedom to choose how some missions will be
    played, but in their majority they tend to be linear... A well-paced and down right awesome type of linear.
    Moreover, the player can hunt a wide variety of passive and aggressive animals, in all planes of the horizon, with any preferable means or with certain weapons for unique animals in side-quests. There are also, side-games like sharpshooting, knife throwing and poker (best version I've seen in a while), and other side-quests that will keep one interested.
    The player can navigate through the huge island without any loading screens, and by air (gliding only), sea (jet skis, boats), and land (cars, quad bikes). The game features a unique and very welcome cover system, as well as a platforming system that works well.

    Bullets lack any ballistic modelling and as a result, sniping someone from long distances isn't as challenging as it could be, even at harder difficulties. However Those who seek a challenge of such nature will find it in using the bow & arrow (Rambo-style). Yeah folks, things can also go boom!

    The world is open but the design is linear. Example, if you want to get to the top of a mountain, you can't just climb any rock from anywhere around the mountain. You'll have to find the path. That said, you're not limited by invisible walls, so in theory, you could still climb from anywhere provided the means.
    Destruction is also present with some destructible objects, though they have little to no effect on how the world plays.

    There are some issues with the frame rate on ps3 that become more and more present as time passes. With my first gen ps3, I had to endure a frame grind during the last bit of the mission "Black Gold", where the frame rate dropped to almost zero. After the mission ended, I rebooted my system, and everything seemed to be back to normal, though I highly doubt I will be replaying that mission. Hopefully it will be patched, if not already.

    Multiplayer:
    The game features a full fetched multiplayer with interesting modes, a wide range of maps, weapons, and weapon attachments to choose from. Unfortunately, the lack of dedicated servers means that one will get frustrated a lot more often than one should.
    The map editor is a big improvement over older instalments, and lots of work has been put to making it as accessible to the average user as possible. Though, if one is playing on ps3, one should save OFTEN since it will freeze on ya. Hopefully this too will be patched soon.

    Aesthetically the game looks awesome, with vibrant colours and a world that begs for interaction. 2012 should not pass without you trying this amazing game.
    Suggested platform: PC
    Expand
  87. Dec 18, 2012
    9
    Sharks, tigers, pirates, quad bikes, 50 cal. sniper rifles and one truly massive archipelago; baby I'm home! NOTABLE FEATURES: a wide variety of tactics can be employed to liberate outposts, from sniping from afar with a silenced 50 cal. to rolling in, equipped with an RPG, a dozen Molotov and flamethrower to-boot. Side missions are a blast: shooting birds for target practise, racing against the clock to a destination in a number of vehicles, scaling swaying and creaking radio towers and hunting ferocious wildlife armed with a bow. SETTING: Outstanding - The Rook islands are gorgeous, driving through them is a pleasure in and of itself and at times feels like a wildlife safari. GAMEPLAY: Excellent - Just keeps getting better and better, as your character builds up his armoury and abilities. The storyline missions are very linear; the gameplay excels on your own adventures as you take out outposts and traverse the tropical, blood soaked paradise. GRAPHICS: Outstanding - the best of the FPS genre in this generation. Even better on PC, but PS3 is still magnificent. Story: Weak - Vass is a terrifying and exhilarating villain but aside from him, there is not much going on here. Pathetic main group of characters and boring tribal stereotypes pervade the cast of 'good guys'. Vass is the only element breathing life into the story line and without him it would have all the emotion of rotting corpse. +Sandbox - do what you want, go where you want, use what you want. +Stunning tropical paradise is a lovely backdrop. +Jason's wing suit, leap off a cliff and glide through the air like a winged possum. -Forgettable Story -linear story missions CLOSING THOUGHTS: Come for the buffet of thrilling side missions this game offers up, but don't expect anything from the storyline missions. Expand
  88. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    No one can hear your cry in this far away Rook island that was 3 minutes ago. My friends, prepare to experience one of the best games of 2012. Far Cry 3 is an amazing first person shooter that makes you fell like a jungle warrior like no game I know, especially when you go around with a bow taking down pirates and deer while trying not to get clawed by a tiger. When it comes to gameplay, far cry 3 exceeds all expectations. You can blind fire in first person, create amazing kills from below in the water or from above on a zip line and not mention the game's extreme realism. Well, by that I mean when it comes to the shooting mechanics, falls as well as swimming and not by the story or tigers taking 50 bullets to die. When it comes to the plot (don't worry I'm not going to tell you any spoilers) it is moderately good, not amazing but that doesn't mean its a bad one. The map of the game is huge and you'll never get bored exploring even if you're not shooting anything while you do it. As far as guns go, let me just say, there is a lot, several paints to add and weapon add-ons like silencers. There is not one mission in far cry 3 that fails to entertain me with each one drastically different and unique from running across minefields to burning weed and even fighting your own monster hallucinations. Every missions gives you the option of stealth or guns blazing (expect two or three) which makes the missions even more interesting. Now concerning animals, you need them to upgrade things like the amount of ammo you carry and its very entertaining to track down these animals. There are also several side missions like taking over outposts that are guarded by pirates which allow you to fast travel once taken but I won't go into depth about that. The only thing I really didn't like about this game is the multiplayer which I feel it's much like a crappy rundown of games like call of duty or battlefield and when the host quits well, I don't think I would like to write down my reactions.

    Overall, Far Cry 3 is one of my favourite first person shooters with stunning graphics and incredible characters which I forgot to mention. I can say that if you like first person shooters, you won't regret this one.
    +Huge, adventurous and detailed world which can entertain for ages
    +Great Graphics and characters
    +Incredible gameplay and missions
    +Awesome combat with extreme realism and "big" guns
    -Poor Multiplayer
    9.3
    Expand
  89. Jan 7, 2013
    7
    This is a better Far Cry but not as good as the first. The hunting is super fun and Ubisoft has made another great shot i the gaming world. The voice-acting was better than Far Cry 2 and Far Cry 3 has delivered the best PS3 survival game though the con was that the A.I kept things at a low level when it comes to enemy gunfire.
  90. Dec 25, 2012
    7
    You stand in the speedboat staring at the water. Soon you spot your prey, the telltale fin of the shark skimming through the water. Your reflexes fire into gear and you pull that trusty RPG out of your pack and blow ol' Nessie (err Shamu) out of the water... This is what Far Cry 3 does best. Part of me feels like Far Cry 3 deserves a better score than the 7 it is about to receive from me. I really did have a lot of fun on the island but there were just several unforgivable things that really bogged down my experience. Don't get me wrong Far Cry 3 is a decent game and even a great one, but at the same time it fails on a couple things that would have made the experience so much better.

    Story: You play as "Jason Brody" (no I
    Expand
  91. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    A truly incredible experience. Whilst some say the story was basic and bland, I was drawn in nonetheless. I had great difficulty choosing a moment to put the controller down to stop playing, I was completely immersed into the virtual world of the game. The graphics are above average, a strong palette of color and effective use of lighting. Fires in the night time will create an orange glow and cast realistic shadows into the environment, each tree has a remarkable amount of detail and the water is amazing. The gameplay is solid, a smooth camera mechanic, exciting gun play and a variety of moves that take the first person shooter standard up several notches. The animations are above average, there is a talented use of motion-capture however the frame rate drops on occasion for short periods of time. It's a shame how little attention was payed to the other characters of the game aside from the main cast of heroes and villains. Your friends are given very little time in the spotlight, this dampens the game's true potential slightly but this can easily be ignored as the rest of the game is fantastic. Outside of the Single player is an enjoyable co-op mode of reasonable length both capable of being played in either split screen or online with 3 others. The multilayer is average at best, nothing new but fun for a time killer. The map creator was an unnecessary feature, however it is capable of drawing in your attention for a short time. Unfortunately the map creator's limitations make the likelihood of any incredible creations being made very slim. In conclusion, Far Cry 3 is a must buy. The story is of a reasonable length and I was drawn in further every step of the way. The soundtracks are nothing special but shine towards the end in particular. You're definitely getting your money's worth in purchasing this game as it is literally stacked with hours and hours of content. The trophies have been set out perfectly so there are no ridiculous grinds, and you will enjoy unlocking each and every one of them. Small collectables have been scattered throughout, instead of being a useless mark of progress they will affect your character's skill tree and XP. Far Cry 3, 10/10. A must buy for the PS3 Expand
  92. Dec 30, 2012
    4
    What à dissapointment, i mean people dont have taste anymore. They made a good game into a mix of call of duty. If they woul cut this blurry action sequences with blinking bodies and ugly weapons and with ugly rapid shots it would be a decent follow up. Also it has to many "have seen it before" sequences and the name Jason what the **** is that name all about. CoD had the same name. Don't do me wrong barcause I was thinking all thrue the game if I like it or not because there are som good **** in it, but all in all its a **** game who have degraded it to mainstream. What the **** where developers thinking and you lazy games for rating it so high? Hmmm to make money and think of what the others games have so they can make it sellable for kids. No problem for me that the storys about youths and vaas was great but to make it like à pixie action game there was the line. Loved the first and second game this i will sell in à instance and talk **** about for ages. There is quantity over quality these days and the producers and developers have become ****y lames of excuses...bring back real games i tell you...and pokerplaying that has copies from ex Red Dead R as other things was good but when you play à long time of poker you have this annoying guy repeatingly nagging about what you have been done all over again. Also you have so mutch money you cant spend em all becouse you get all wepons for free when you climb stupid towers. There are ugly glitches and buggs as well all over the game wich there are in all games but come on telling me that this is beutiful and perfect design in war games pffff. However the car crashes into water and on land are great. And sound and music perfect. For me this is modern call of duty at best even if I hate what they did to that game. So therefor ill give it a 5.. Ubisoft you where one my heroes in the past but you have become a retard sellout for these lame of excuse of gamers and even wrecked Splinters Cell....come on!!!! Expand
  93. Dec 31, 2012
    8
    I dont like fps pretty much but let me tell you something this one is pretty good,the main story is not that long but you'll have some fun with it...the hunting is easy but it gets boring in a while..crafting is simple..they're some alternative missions but theyre pretty boring...but people if you want a game that have a lot of fun in it definately buy this i promess you'll love it ;) ...gameplay 8.5,camera 10,controls 8.5,fun 8.5,sound 8 , music 8 replayability 7 = 83 = 8 Expand
  94. Jan 3, 2013
    5
    Far Cry 3 is a very weird game to say the least, i couldn't find myself liking the game as much as i wanted too however i could not put the controller down. the game sits in the middle for me as it is a little repetitive sandbox. Of course when i first played the game i found it incredibly fun however the chores of getting weapon holsters and all that forced me to explore places, which is not good for the players who would rather stick to the story line and not have to go back and forth through the map. The animals can be a pain as you have just finished killing a whole load of enemies only to be one-hit by a passing tiger. i found myself in that situation alot and in the end forced me to stop playing the game, their is only so much unfairness in a game i can take before i realize i'm being played for a fool. the only other thing to say would be that the graphic and cut-scenes are nice and the main villain is excellent. the ending is a bit too much of a cliff-hanger and none of them really satisfy me. the only complaint is that when you're character gets "high" it can become a little boring chasing a house down a linear path, so overall its a little too much of a time waster.

    In the end i would say i am in the middle of the game, its not a great game but certainly i would have bought it. my suggestion would be to buy the game if you have a lot of patience.
    Expand
  95. Apr 18, 2014
    5
    The immaturity and unbelievability of the main character and his friends destroys what could have been a solid story. One minute you're off killing dozens of islanders in ways that even elite special forces would be hard pressed to manage, and the very next moment you are back to talking like a college frat boy; it's very irritating. The graphics are bright and colorful, but the side missions are either typical searches for worthless collectibles, or the "thrill" of jumping your way to the top of radio towers to press a button. The best part about this game was the chaining of kills by using throwing knives which was admittedly a cool feature, but it wasn't often that enemies would be grouped close enough together to pull it off. The multiplayer co-op was a snooze fest, and I didn't bother with any of the other deathmatch since their weren't any trophies for it, but I heard it was terrible anyway. I had intended to try out the map editor when I first started the game, but after completing everything else I just wasn't motivated. All in all, a good looking but shallow open-world game with very little replay value. Expand
  96. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    Amazing game, you're free to do want you want, all the missions are really different (hunting, sneaking between enemies...). Many interesting side missions. Just great
  97. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    This is truly one of the most magnificent games of this year. It has beautiful locations, and great visuals. Combat is truly amazing and a pure masterpiece. Story is well written, though it would be more better if they added more to the characters such as Vaas : the face of Far Cry 3. Multiplayer is actually better than expected, and really fun to play. Coop is a little draw back, it wasn't as enjoyable, it was plain linear and a bit short. The characters in Coop were not interesting nor fun to play as. But don't get me wrong, i would only say you should play Coop if you got 3 friends with you. But that's not it, there is also Map editor which is truly amazing. On PS3 it is a little slacky, and the controls are a to get use to type. But none of the less, Far Cry 3 is a well deserving game in the top 5 of the year. Go get it! Expand
  98. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    It's more like a 9.5, but it's definitely better than a 9.0, so I had to go with 10. There is very little wrong with this game. The world is amazing to look at and to run through. The story is solid, and the game plays great. If you like first-person shooters or even if you don't give this game a try
  99. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    For the first time in my life I have given a 10/10 for a game. I could nit pick and talk about things I would like to see but they are so insignificant it would be petty of me. Far Cry 3 has, for me, set a benchmark for this genre of game. If you liked, loved or hated Far Cry 2 it really doesn't matter as this new installment is far superior. Imagine a gorgeous detailed and lush tropical island overrun by modern day pirates with so many ways to play the game its hard to fathom. Looking at the pure mechanics of the game and some key improvements over Farcry 2:

    - Game saves are automatic for any type of mission and you can save more often. Farcry 2 was ridiculous for this and I would rage quit when I died after 1 hour of playing and not being able to save.

    - You really make a difference. In Farcry 2 you clear an outpost and 2 min later they are back. In Farcry 3, if you liberate an enemy base, your crew drive in and it becomes a friendly and makes the roads safe. A real feeling of making a big difference.

    - Variety - more weapons, more ways to play, under water caves, swimming, hand gliding across terrain and scenery is so much more detailed and lush. - You obtain equipment by completing various missions but also by killing and skinning animals. Animals are realistic and will attack or run away so it requires stealth and use of drugs to do effectively. Farcry 2 had diamonds to pick up but in Farcry 3 there are numerous missions and exploration to be done it really adds a new element to the game. The best thing about Farcry 3 is the feeling of having complete control over your destiny. A lot of games give you the illusion of space but in Farcry this is really the case. The open end gameplay is a joy and by playing you really find yourself making up your own story. e.g. In a recent session I went hunting animals to gather skins to build more equipment. I stumbled across a hand glider on top of a steep hill and decided to fly across the ocean to a new beacon. I manage to make it across and skim the top of an enemy base and end up crashing into some trees. 2 guards rush out and I pick them off with my sniper rifle and using stealth make my way up to the beacon and what is like akin to a jumping game, I navigate up the broken radio tower to remove the blackout on my map to reveal a new area. I then proceeded to scout the nearby enemy camp and by stealth, I manage to knife or use my bow/sniper rifle to pick of the rest without raising the alarm. All this happened because I decided to hunt some animals for skins. Can't speak highly enough of this game and to date it is now my no1 game on the PS3. Mind blowing.
    Expand
  100. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    Farcry 3 is a pretty fantastic mix of everything average gamers look for in modern games. Farcry 3 features many different optional missions that will urge you to explore Rook Island without totally derailing you from your mission. I wouldn't call it linear by any means, It is "open world" but not so open that it is intimidating, the game despite having options made available to veer from the main quest are not so overwhelming that you feel you will never complete them. Farcry 3 allows you to choose just how long you want to spend exploring the island, some days I just dedicated them to removing all those diamonds off my map or making all the red go away! The menu also has this very handy log that lets you know just how much of what you have left before collecting rewards, something that I was very grateful for. The controls aren't wonky or awkward, I personally did not experience any lag or long load times. The visual setting is beautiful and the combat is typical but not in a boring way. It's not a complicated game but it will def keep you engaged in it for periods much longer than you would expect. In it simplicity lies it's genius. It gives you the feel of your own island where you do whatever the hell you feel like doing but not so much that you get distracted from the plot. I thought it was absolutely fantastic, simple, functional, and just generally fun. I have and will continue to recommend this game to my friends. I give it a 10 because I don't feel there is anything to improve on. Game on! Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Brilliant in concept, truly great in execution despite a few stumbles. A must own title. [January 2013, p68]
  2. Jan 7, 2013
    70
    Despite being hampered by a well meaning, but ultimately interfering, plot, Far Cry 3 has evolved into a decadent, playful and exciting title. Be it quality programming, dumb luck or a mixture of them both, the game plunges you into a thick, gloopy world of sugary gameplay, shimmering visuals, intoxicating audio as well as a great deal more. It's long, stupid and buckets of fun - just what you need to burn away the winter blues.
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    90
    Far Cry 3 is a terrific and is one of the best games I've played in a long time. Far Cry 3's main draw is the deep and engaging campaign, but the multiplayer modes are also serviceable enough to keep you playing for a long time.