User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 853 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 853

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    An amazing game, featuring stunning visuals and gameplay.. The combat system allows you to play the game your own way, whether it be like rambo or hitman, or a combination of both himbon! and many other play styles.. The story could be strong, but its easily over looked when there is so much to do and explore.. This has quickly become one of my top 5 favorite games of all time, I would rank it up there with the GTA Series, Elderscrolls, dark souls and halflife.. The co-op adds many more ours of fun and a social immersion into the tropical island paradise/hell.. Get this game you won't regret it, definitely worth the $70 Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Far cry 3 is game of the year IMO. The whole game feels polished to perfection. There are so many ways to complete you objective I feel like a kid in a candy shop! Even just getting around the island give you choices. Jet ski, boat, jeep, walking, truck...or maybe hand gliding, there all great fun! The best story driven FPS I have every played, and I have played lots. Do yourself a favor and buy this game, you will not regret it! Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    So I read every single review on this site before I got this game, and I wanted to put in at least 10 hours of gameplay before I wrote my review. Well I just passed the 10 hour mark so here we go...

    Anyone who gives this game less than an 8/9 is completely and utterly insane!!! This is hands-down my 2012 Game of the Year, and quite possibly my Game of this Generation, tied right up
    there at the top of the list with Red Dead Redemption. It is so fun playing this game that I could just get lost for hours and hours playing, and it feels like only a half hour has gone by. There is so much to do and the map is absolutely massive, but you never get overwhelmed. When I first started it I was like, oh crap, this map is huge and there is going to be too much to do. But you soon get your bearings and realize that yes, there is tons to do, but it's all laid out very nicely for you and the pacing is so good that you never get that overwhelming feeling. I find myself oftentimes doing side mission after side mission just because they are so damn fun, and the hunting/crafting dynamic is incredibly addicting. Hunting yields you animal skins, which you can then in turn use to craft larger weapons holsters, loot rucksacks, wallets for cash, etc. Sometimes I will just go on 'hunting expeditions' and collect skins for an entire play session. It's that addicting because the more you hunt, the more and better stuff you can craft. Difficulty level is perfect in my opinion... it's challenging, but not too hard or cheap at all. The scope of the world is massive and even with it being a huge open world, the graphics are amazing. Jumping off a cliff to hangglide over the islands and beaches below is just breathtaking, and it's all done seamelessly without pop-in at all. I am SO GLAD that I got this game and I am looking forward to putting 30 hours into it. Do not listen to anyone that gives this game a mixed or negative review, they are nuts!

    In closing, and I will quote myself: "Far Cry 3 is one of the greatest video games that I have ever played in my 30+ year gaming career!"
    Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Far Cry 3 é um sopro de originalidade na atual geração de FPS, que apesar de algumas mudanças se resume à só matar e ir daqui para lá. Uma ótima jogabilidade, gráficos soberbos e um vilão que dá ódio desde o primeiro instante.Se você tem que escolher um FPS para as férias, sua escolha está aqui...
    Abraço e fiquem com Deus!
    Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    Got this on launch date and I just beat the game and here is my verdict. The game is sandbox style but it is also set up in a way where you can get to parts of the island quicker via vehicles/other means. This is good because if you are like me I do not like games where you have to walk for 45 mins just to get to your destination. There is a lot to do in this game from the main story to side quests, however I found the side quests to be a little boring,more or less just there for filler. You choose the way you want to play this game which is a plus. The music is good and the sounds are good, I know a lot of people like the graphics but I thought them to be nothing special,but they are still decent for a sandbox game. Framerate dips are there,but that will only be an issue for nitpicky people. The storyline is pretty decent aswell. In Far Cry 3 you do not have to worry about your guns jamming all the time like in Far Cry 2. The multiplayer is also great deals of fun. Although not perfect, still might be a contender for GOTY. We will see. Expand
  6. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    My bro snatched this up for me (thanks kev) and so far the multiplayer is so cool I haven't been able to pull away from it long enough to scope out the single-player. It is way better than I anticipated and I'm pretty picky about fps multiplayer. Lots of fresh ideas, killer sound and presentation, but best of all its fun. It has some cool team mechanics but you can also run and gun like a beast if you want. Finally some fresh fps blood. The only problem is I gotta work in the morning! XD Expand
  7. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    GOTY candidate through and through. Multiplayer modes feel tacked on and should be overlooked. However, the single player truly shines, giving the player complete freedom and an infinite number of ways to approach most objectives. Particles effect, lighting, and most model/character detail is spot on. Sound design is wonderful. The island really is a living paradise with heavy undertones of violence and greed. Sadism and murder contrast greatly with the beautiful scenery, and certain characters certainly steal the show(even if they are killed off early to progress the story). I was a bit let down by the ending, and killing most of the "bosses" turns into simplified quick-time events(which was a greatly missed opportunity in my opinion. All qualms aside though, Far Cry 3 is a wonder to behold, and the take-downs and liberation of island camps is always a blast. Pick it up if you're into open-world sandbox games, or if you love FPS's... you won't be disappointed. 10/10 Expand
  8. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    It's pretty great. I dunno why it's so addictive. There's so much to do (see). Killing baddies never gets old. You feel like a secret-agent-badass most of the time. Story's entertaining, and surprisingly the acting is good. I'm so used to awful acting in games, it's defiantly a trip. Oh god, the facial animations, they're good, almost creepily good. I say it's a buy. --only gripe, it's really easy (even on hard). Again it doesn't change how fun it is. Collapse
  9. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    It is Skyrim with guns - only difference is, the PS3 version works. I'm just kidding (somewhat), but the game definitely takes the best aspects of games such as the afroementioned Skyrim as well as Assassins Creed. I don't want to go into too much detail, because it really has to be experienced to be truly appreciated - do yourself a favour, sell your empty wallet if you have to, get this game ! You will not regret it. Expand
  10. Kyr
    Jan 16, 2013
    10
    Far Cry 3 is the best FPS i've ever played since Battlefield, is simply amazing how you can do almost everthing, between just gathering a plant to skin a shark. Good graphics,good gameplay, this game certainly deserves Goty.
  11. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    A great game with great story and outstanding characters.Gameplay is truly amazing and so addictive that you'll play this game for months.Ubisoft did a great job with Far Cry 3 and it is definitely a Game of The Year .
  12. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    ------- Mother of God. ------- That is all I have to offer for a one liner, this game is a bag of bloody mature as all hell fun. I simply cannot believe the overall quality and execution of this game and game world. Also, anything that you have read about the story being crap is totally unfounded. The story is most definitely not of the calibre of say MGS, but it is very enjoyable with characters that are a joy to be with throughout the game world. The variety of goings on in the world is also without comparison. I have never experienced hunting such as this, run gunning thorough the jungle, and stalking man and beast in this way in any game before. *** My most favorite part of this game is the tripped out MAX PAYNE style darkness and visions, I am not going to say anything else but they are in my mind worth $20 alone. *** I cannot really get across how much this game blew me away. I bought FC2, and it was a turd. This is a gilded 24 karat gold Barret 50 with your name on it wrapped in a bow. ENJOY! Expand
  13. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    First time playing a Far Cry game. Truly engrossing. GOTY? Without question.

    Beautiful, deep, rewarding, crisp, varied, purposeful, fun, addictive.

    Gotta love chain takedowns!
  14. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    I'm new to the Far Cry series but I can honestly say has to be the best of the bunch and is simply one of the greatest games I've played in a very long time. With so much to do but never tedious I'm really in love with every single thing about this game. The story mode has me hooked and just when I think it can't get any better it does. After reading all of the great reviews on this game I'm so glad I went ahead with this purchase because its a blast. I've played one many great games in my 39 years but this is simply breathtaking and genius in every way possible. I strongly urge you to take the chance on this and avoid any negative reviews because its got my vote for a late Game of the Year contender. Expand
  15. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    For me im a multiplayer gamer and I am in love with the competitive online mode. It reminds me heavily of COD 4 as it only contains a few kill streaks (none of which are even over powering) and fast intense gun fights. Then it adds other features to the formula such as revives, battle crys, ziplines, realistic weapon handling and a brilliantly deep unlocks progression system. Overall the gun play and just basic flow of the online competitive is simply perfect, I can say without a doubt I will be spending a long time on this titles mp modes. Unfortunately at the moment it looks like this game has not sold well and the player count is a little low. Also for this review I have not even tried the map editor or co-op aspects of online yet either because of the AMAZING singleplayer game. First of all the voice acting is top notch as it nears perfection. Proof of that is Vaas, who might be the best video game character I have ever witnessed. Then comes the meat and potatoes which is the gameplay which I can best describe as a jungle shooter meets Skyrim. There is simply so much to do and tell you about that I can not cover it in this review, go watch gameplay or reaad about it else where. Bottom line Far Cry 3 is a once in a generation shooter, it pushes the fps genre so high I doubt anything will catch it. Expand
  16. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    Just finished the campaign about an hour ago.....holy chit! This game is simply epic. Freedom, level design, hunting, all great features. The main character can be a little douche at times, but all in all, this game is awesome.
  17. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    "Did I ever tell you what the definition of insanity is?" These words are just a few of the memorable moments of not only the greatest game to grace our consoles this year..but a game in serious contention for one of the best games this side of the current generation of consoles.
    Not only was that sentence uttered by one of the most entertaining but disturbing villains of our time, Vaas
    Montenegro, but he continues this rant with a few choice swear words to explain insanity as repeating the same thing over and over again, I seen this as a subtle middle finger to the other first-person shooters of this generation, and who can blame anyone for believing this.
    Far Cry 3 not only changes the rules... it brings open-world gaming and first-person shooting together in a combined sense of beauty and realism that we rarely come close to seeing anymore in money spinning game-a-year blockbusters.
    We play as Jason Brody, an adrenaline junkie student who is participating in sky-diving holidays with a group of friends. This leads them to Rook Island, a beautiful paradise but with dire consequences waiting behind the green grass and deep oceans.
    What catapults this game above the likes of Assassin's Creed, is the sheer freedom involved here. Don't get me wrong, this takes many cues from AC, but this game deserves more credit for being truly open-world. Whether you are skinning animals to make larger weapon holsters, wrestling with a shark to stop it tearing you to shreds, or taking to the skies with a hand-glider or wing suit, the opportunities are endless. The map is incredibly large but used to its upmost potential, undiscovered ruins, caves, treasures or rare animals, FC3 is a force to be reckoned with. Beautiful landscapes with sprawling beaches and an excellent variety of vehicles make this a truly endlessly entertaining experience.
    Vaas is the clear standout of this game.. with not nearly enough screen time he isn't done justice but when he's there, he's there. A dangerously accurate personality,and mannerism combo similar to the cunning insanity of the Dark Knights joker, easily one of the most frighteningly terrific villains we've ever seen.
    With all this and much more..this is a truly unforgettable game that never ceases to amaze.
    Expand
  18. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Absolutely in love with this game. A huge, beautiful and great, living world with many of things to do besides the very well executed missions. While Ubisoft tried to make their previous installment Far Cry 2 immersive it almost went controversy and a little too realistic. Jamming guns, a lack of hud mode and an overall lack of gameplay features drive you away from the experience. In Far Cry 3, things have changed. With the new introduced RPG elements, abilities to craft and the ability to use stealth against your enemies, it actually became lots of fun to travel instead of frustrating. Far Cry 3 offers us what the openworld genre is supposed to offer, while the previous installment was good, it lacked many things that other openworld games had to offer. Besides the addictive singleplayer campaign, there's also a little uninspired, but yet so fun multiplayer with a huge map editor, allowing the people who love to be creative almost unlimited hours of fun. The 6 hour Coop is pretty interesting also, but i personally see much more potential in the Map editors sandbox mode, allowing you to put AI in your maps. Imagine if Ubisoft skipped this whole coop and made it possible for the player to create their OWN coop, each with it's own map and objective. This way, the AI that Ubisoft introduced us,would be where it really belongs to. Now Far Cry 3 isn't flawless, but offers so much fun and an almost unlimited amount of replay value, making it my personal Game Of The Year 2012. Expand
  19. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    This may very well be the best game of 2012 and possible even one of the greatest open world shooters of all time. Do yourself a favor and buy this game.
  20. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    Nice job Ubisoft! After a fail of Far Cry 2 with crappy driving I was happy to see Far Cry 3 was coming out but was kinda scared to see if they fixed the issues with far cry 2. I was wrong.... This is a great open world fps game. The stealth is good, there is even poker, killing animals and the FLAMETHROWER!!!!!!!!! The story missions are great fun and the side missions are even fun too. They fixed the issues with the driving, better graphics and just a better game then far cry 2. The multiplayer is great fun too. The weapons are balanced good, the game modes are fun, and there is even the MACARENA!!!!!!! (at the end of the online game that is) The co-op is also fun too. It's like uncharted 3 where there is cutscenes showing the characters or anything else. This is one of the best fps games of the year and it is definitely a buy or a rent. Expand
  21. Dec 14, 2012
    10
    απλα απιστευτο, το παιχνιδι ειναι ενα αριστουργημα !!! χαρηκα καθε στιγμη που επαιξα μαζι του και μου εδωσε ατελειωτες ωρες χαρας και διασκεδασης. ευχομαι και σε ενα 4ο μερος και να ειναι ακομα καλυτερο απο αυτο !!! Expand
  22. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This game for me is a shoe in for game of the year, it has everything I could ever ask for in a game. However is not without its very very minor faults.
    The first thing I noticed in this game are the incredible graphics and the downright awesome and STUNNING setting. This map is huge, but not so huge that its a laborious task to get around. Entwined with the abilities to hunt, dive and
    liberate sections of the map, it makes for great gameplay. The story is solid and maintains through the whole game, the characters are memorable and really quite amusing sometimes. The control system is similar to that of Call of Duty making it familiar and easy to grasp for most players (I should assume) and the stealth abilities are a great feature. Leading from that you have the ability to upgrade Jason's abilities through his mystical tattoo thing.. Unlocking new abilities as you complete challenges and missions.
    The occasional flaw would have to be the slow context pooping when you synchronise a radio tower, and the sometimes glitchy driving. Overall, this is a FANTASTIC game, certainly worth playing through, especially if you are a fan of open world games with endless possibilities. 100%
    Expand
  23. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    2012 hasn't been a great year for gaming in my opinion. A lot of let downs with a few good games. Most games I played this year ended up being traded in. Now with the release of Far Cry 3, I'm looking forward to a great holiday season. A lot about this game excited me from graphics, story, game play, multi-player(note I'm not that big on multi-player modes), the list goes on. The co-op has it's own story. The multi-player is innovative and fun!!! The single-player campaign is insanely amazing!!! The detail in all aspects of this game is just mind blowing. I appreciate the craft that was put into this game and I'll be playing this one for a while. Easily game of the year for me. Expand
  24. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This game is incredible, everything about it is incredible the free roam the guns the graphics everything. The story is just amazing shows you the main characters inanity take a turn for the worst as he tries to save his friends. The only thing I'm not big on is the multiplayer really badly balanced and not much people play. Besides from the this game is amazing! 10/10
  25. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Best game of this year, nuff said. And no, I'm not a fanboy. What can I say, it's a truly epic game with a great and intense story that is both dark and engagingly emotional. The graphics on consoles and on PC are both superb and one of the best looking game of this generation. Brian Tyler is the composer of the game's soundtrack, and to be honest, it's eargasmic. I love the soundtracks a lot and it also fits well with every scene. The gameplay is smooth compared to Far Cry 2. There's a lot of content and the map editor has seen some huge improvements! Expand
  26. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    -Epic game.
    -Best fps i have ever played.
    -phenomenal graphics.
    What i most like about far cry 3 is that there is some sort of anticipation you feel while playing the game. Call it anticipation, excitement or whatever, i am glued to this game from last night. It feels so real. And ofcourse VAAS is EPIC.
  27. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    So, as others will note, the gameplay and the map editor and various elements such as those are quite good. But overall I was blown away by the graphics. I'm almost of the mind to surmise this title is showing us what kinds of graphics we'll be seeing in the next upcoming consoles. It seems ahead of its time in that regard. I've never seen characters so smooth and without polygonic elements whatsoever. The trees, the textures of the ground, even the water look Expand
  28. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    As of writing this my past experiences with Far Cry have only been of hatred. That is not the case with this game. Ubisoft has managed to take a struggling franchise and turn it into a triple A action thriller. if you have not played a Far Cry game skip the 1st 2 and just get this one. the voice acting is spot on and so is the action packed experience. the story starts off very strong but then kinda slides in quality about half way through but over all it is satisfying and worth playing through. another thing i love about this game is the fact that you can build up your character from being a little wimp into a big bad a$$ which is awesome instead of being a military trained hard head who starts off strong and ends in about the same place he started. also the game lets you be awesome all the way through instead of having some abilities and then only letting you reach your full potential just before the final boss. other than Vaas and Sam most of the characters aren't really developed all that well and i cant even remember their names but it does not take away from the experience and the story still flows well. there is so much t do in this game that the title "Skyrim with guns" is an appropriate title since you can follow the story or go off and do your own thing like capturing outposts, hunting to increase the amount of things you can carry or hunt down the hundreds of collectible items in the game. another thing that makes this game what it is are the random encounters through out the world like the rebels in a fire fight with the enemy or after just scouting out a base and getting your plan of attack all figured out then in walks a tiger and clears the base for you. the AI in this game is great as well they are very realistic in the fact that if one enemy sees you every one does not know where you are until they actually see you and if they see a dead body they will freak out and wonder what is going on but they will not instantly know you were the killer and hey will hunt to try to find the cause of the person's death. the graphics are alright with a few exceptions with cut in and sometimes warped textures but this is to be expected with such a big and open world game. i have not touched the multiplayer yet since i have been so caught up in the campaign so i cant say anything about that. this game is almost a perfect game and i believe it will get many GOTY nominations if not awards anyone who loves gaming should pick this up because once you start playing you will not want to stop until you have finished the game to its entirety Expand
  29. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Far Cry 3 is hell of a game. It's placed in tropical island where you and your friends get imprisoned by a bad guy called Vass Montenegro , who is sociopathic murderer, pirate and smuggler. Characters are very well done and they are believable. Your character is afraid of killing anyone at the start of the game and it fells like you actually are unexperienced killer , who wants to free his friends and kill Vass for everything he has done. As you get deeper into the game your character meets native beauty called Citra who is leader of the tribe against Vass who is actually her brother. When it gets to action this game is perfect. You can upgrade and modificate your weapons , gather plants to create syringes which can heal you or give you a buff for some ammount of time. You can also hunt down many different animals and skin them to create larger inventory bag , bigger ammo pouch , syringe pouch and everything you need to expand your current holdings space. Game is filled with outposts you can liberate and then fast travel through them via the map, or you can just drive with your jeep and enjoy the scenery. I can highly recommend this game , as its one of the best games released this year and its packed with one hell of a fun !! Expand
  30. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Totally improved over Far Cry 2 in every aspect.
    Great and fantastic looking island, with tons of freedom and activities. The RPG is a great addition and gives you a sense of progress. Technically brilliant and great port on console.
    Finally fast travel system in the singleplayer, with even low load times, great add. The multiplayer feels much different then any other shooter around,
    more slow and realistic movements, big maps.
    Overall you cant miss this game, excellent in every aspect.
    Expand
  31. Dec 6, 2012
    0
    It's pretty great. I dunno why it's so addictive. There's so much to do (see). Killing baddies never gets old. You feel like a secret-agent-badass most of the time. Story's entertaining, and surprisingly the acting is good. I'm so used to awful acting in games, it's defiantly a trip. Oh god, the facial animations, they're good, almost creepily good. I say it's a buy. --only gripe, it's really easy (even on hard). Again it doesn't change how fun it is. Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Brilliant in concept, truly great in execution despite a few stumbles. A must own title. [January 2013, p68]
  2. Jan 7, 2013
    70
    Despite being hampered by a well meaning, but ultimately interfering, plot, Far Cry 3 has evolved into a decadent, playful and exciting title. Be it quality programming, dumb luck or a mixture of them both, the game plunges you into a thick, gloopy world of sugary gameplay, shimmering visuals, intoxicating audio as well as a great deal more. It's long, stupid and buckets of fun - just what you need to burn away the winter blues.
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    90
    Far Cry 3 is a terrific and is one of the best games I've played in a long time. Far Cry 3's main draw is the deep and engaging campaign, but the multiplayer modes are also serviceable enough to keep you playing for a long time.