Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 909 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With Far Cry 3, players step into the shoes of Jason Brody, a man alone at the edge of the world, stranded on a mysterious tropical island. In this savage paradise where lawlessness and violence are the only sure thing, players dictate how the story unfolds, from the battles they choose toWith Far Cry 3, players step into the shoes of Jason Brody, a man alone at the edge of the world, stranded on a mysterious tropical island. In this savage paradise where lawlessness and violence are the only sure thing, players dictate how the story unfolds, from the battles they choose to fight to the allies or enemies they make along the way. As Jason Brody, players will slash, sneak, detonate and shoot their way across the island in a world that has lost all sense of right and wrong. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Dec 21, 2012
    100
    Ubisoft's balance of open world gameplay and FPS action really hits the mark, and overall the game does a fantastic job in providing players with an interesting, immersive gaming experience.
  2. Dec 2, 2012
    96
    So here we are again with another instalment from the Far Cry universe that definitely goes beyond the previous games. With a relatable protagonist, a story that truly draws you in from the very first moments of the game, Far Cry 3 also contains a very sturdy game engine that almost makes it the perfect game. It just flows so well from the first to the last level... and the vehicles are just awesome.
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    91
    Co-op is always a blast, the campaign is lengthy and ceaselessly involving, and the promotion of freedom and player choice is amazing.
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    For as large as Far Cry 3′s setting is, there's an elegant conciseness to the game's story mode. It'll still take tens of hours for completionists to get through, but the fast travel and dense map ensures you always have something meaningful to do within minutes.
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    Far Cry 3 delivers a delightfully compelling narrative in a beautiful open world environment. The single-player is captivating from start to finish, and while the multiplayer lacks inspiration, it offers a decent distraction if you're looking for some fun in the sun with friends.
  6. Dec 4, 2012
    86
    It's a fun first person shooter. One with story issues and awful characters, but also with hunting and manta rays and hang gliding over beautiful scenery.
  7. Jan 7, 2013
    70
    Despite being hampered by a well meaning, but ultimately interfering, plot, Far Cry 3 has evolved into a decadent, playful and exciting title. Be it quality programming, dumb luck or a mixture of them both, the game plunges you into a thick, gloopy world of sugary gameplay, shimmering visuals, intoxicating audio as well as a great deal more. It's long, stupid and buckets of fun - just what you need to burn away the winter blues.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 191
  1. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    An amazing game, featuring stunning visuals and gameplay.. The combat system allows you to play the game your own way, whether it be likeAn amazing game, featuring stunning visuals and gameplay.. The combat system allows you to play the game your own way, whether it be like rambo or hitman, or a combination of both himbon! and many other play styles.. The story could be strong, but its easily over looked when there is so much to do and explore.. This has quickly become one of my top 5 favorite games of all time, I would rank it up there with the GTA Series, Elderscrolls, dark souls and halflife.. The co-op adds many more ours of fun and a social immersion into the tropical island paradise/hell.. Get this game you won't regret it, definitely worth the $70 Expand
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Far cry 3 is one of the best games. I usually do not write reviews however i could not but write one. I couldnt
    Give it anything but a 10. At
    Far cry 3 is one of the best games. I usually do not write reviews however i could not but write one. I couldnt
    Give it anything but a 10. At first i felt it is complex however after being immensed in the game and the pleasure it is really a great game. I would rank it next after skyrim if not same. If anybody has similar games please sharE. I usually dont like ubisoft games like assasins creed but this one blew me of my seat. Far fry 3 you will always remain a nice memory in my gaming mind. Bravoo
    Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    So, as others will note, the gameplay and the map editor and various elements such as those are quite good. But overall I was blown away bySo, as others will note, the gameplay and the map editor and various elements such as those are quite good. But overall I was blown away by the graphics. I'm almost of the mind to surmise this title is showing us what kinds of graphics we'll be seeing in the next upcoming consoles. It seems ahead of its time in that regard. I've never seen characters so smooth and without polygonic elements whatsoever. The trees, the textures of the ground, even the water look Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    You play as Jason Brody, and set off on your adventure trying escape from some serious bandits. Lucky for you, your brother was in the armyYou play as Jason Brody, and set off on your adventure trying escape from some serious bandits. Lucky for you, your brother was in the army and gets you out safely. Whilst about the escape, he is shot in the head and you a left to run far far away. This scared feeling is what drives your character to kill, hunt and to save your other siblings and friends. You meet a great cast of characters, none of which are forgettable, and all carry a great addition to the story. Té multiplayer aspects of the game, although they don't lack too much, aren't very fun. Few types, and a variety of weapons from the single player don't stand out too much. They also created a system where as you are awarded CDs, disk drives, memory sticks, etc. after a match. You must unlock their contents by use of a decoding in game or iOS app. A simple addition which I don't highly regard but they're trying new things. The graphics across all game modes are just astounding, from the glimmer of the sun off the sea, the the dark caverns and waterfalls, it is a magnificent sight for sore eyes. Complimentary to the standard of graphics, sounds are very realistic but get quite repetitive after taking over your 20th gang hideout. Climbing the radio towers which scatter the island are also very repetitive. You can only get enough off, hop, grab, walk, hop, walk. Even thought the single player is among the greatest of the year, and the map editor and multiplayer and simple yet fun additions. The co-operative mode which is included, is probably the dullest and most boring part of any game I played all year. The only reason I trekked through the 6 hour, 6 chapter cooperative story of 4 slaves searching an island for the capturer, was to get the 6 bronze trophies awarded for them, 1 for each. If you want an amazing immersive single player with spectacular graphics, story, and sound, with a mediocrely easy platinum. This is for you. If your in it for the coop, don't waste your money. Single player: 9/10 Multiplayer/Map editor: 7/10 Co-operative: 3/10 The single player is enough to buy this game without hesitation and try at the multiplayer could just get you hooked. Just don't touch the cooperative game modes Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    I'm just gonna add one thing: the best controls for a character in all my PS3 games. They're intuitive, well mapped, and the character doesI'm just gonna add one thing: the best controls for a character in all my PS3 games. They're intuitive, well mapped, and the character does what you're expecting. Should be a standard for all future action games! At last, no more cursor/messages telling you where to go, what to do, and what button to push. Back to old school! Expand
  6. Aug 26, 2013
    8
    Far Cry 3 is an amazing game with a big free roaming world with a variety of animals, weapons and bad guys.It's a survival game with a vastFar Cry 3 is an amazing game with a big free roaming world with a variety of animals, weapons and bad guys.It's a survival game with a vast world and a new amazing story.Its gameplay is different from Far Cry 2 and one thing that they have added is animals that you can skin them and make a variety of things, like ammo pouch.The multiplayer is good and difficult.The co-op is funny to play with your friends and talk with headsets.Generally i believe that Far Cry 3 is the best Far Cry ever. Expand
  7. Jul 17, 2013
    1
    I hoped that, being this the third instalment of a sequel, it might have a chance of actually being something good. The only good thing thatI hoped that, being this the third instalment of a sequel, it might have a chance of actually being something good. The only good thing that comes out of it is the idea behind it all, which is a shame. It feels and looks like you're playing a 128 bits console and it is so repetitive... the whole picking items up and crafting stuff is confusing, boring and not very believable. You can hide but there is no cover option, which makes a whole sense in this type of game. What brings me down the most is the disapointment you get whren you realise it does not take advantage of PS3's capabilities... Expand

See all 191 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.