User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 92
  2. Negative: 13 out of 92

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    This game is a blast. This a very co op oriented game. I'll start off with the online aspects. The online multiplayer does not have the typical competitive gametypes like deathmatch and team deathmatch. All the online multi is co op. This is one of those games where you and a few buddies can get online, and itll have you screaming, laughing, and having an overall exciting time. The campaign brings the stories of pointman, fettel, and alma full circle. While the gameplay remains much the same, the scare factor and atmosphere has changed from action- horror, to action- somewhat horror. It is a horror story with no scares. Being able to go through the campaign by yourself twice, with a freind in coop as each character, the addicting leveling system, and the stellar online multiplayer, this game should should have itself locked in your disc drive for quite some time. Way better game than the flop most were expecting Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Great games which manges to deliver a original and genuine scary single player experience, best played alone and with the curtains closed. The co-op extremely fun due to the two completely different styles of play. The atmosphere is great and this is mostly thanks to the great soundtrack and well designed levels. The gameplay itself is also good, weapons feel genuine and enemies (with great A.I) go down with allot of gore. The multiplayer manages to be original as well as extremely addictive. A refreshing game in a landscape dominated by "been there done that" shooters! Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    This is so much fun. Play with your buddies in multiplayer, it's a blast! The single player campaign is great, only to be made even more enjoyable by having a friend join you in a unique divergent co-op experience!
  4. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    This game is actually a ton of fun... Co-op Campaign, Playing as Fettel is unique and pretty sweet (you can possess enemies!), one of the best FPS cover systems period, extremely cool scoring system, and some really unique & fun Co-op Multiplayer Modes... AND because of the Scoring System and Co-op/Multiplayer the replay-ability of FEAR 3 is through the roof!!!... NOTE: This is NOT Call Of Duty nor is it trying to be COD (which I think is refreshing)... Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    Superb game; another real gem from WB who have clearly ramped up the quality of their games by several notches. Graphically stunning, excellent intuitive mechanics, addictive and well paced Campaign Mode. Even the soundtrack is notable - something which a lot of titles simply overlook. Yet to play multiplayer so cannot comment. A surprise must buy!
  6. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    This game is solid! I've been playing co-op campaign with my friend, and we are having a ton of fun with combo kills (slow-mo + radial melee blast; lifting dudes out of cover + headshots). We just got to the level with the mechs. WOW! It's a blast to rip to apart the enemies with both players piloting their own mech. As for multiplayer...I was instantly hooked on F'ing Run mode. It's the most unique game mode I've played in a while and it's quite addictive. You and 3 other buddies have to run as fast you can to avoid a giant death wall, while tons of enemies try to kill you or slow you down. This mode will get your heart racing for sure.

    My one complaint about the game is that there aren't enough mechs! I did see on one of the websites that you can pilot mechs in one of the MP modes, but I'm still trying to find it. The game is deep.

    FEAR 3 is definitely worth picking up. It's a solid FPS with a ton of different games modes that will keep you coming back.
    Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    Probably the best part about this game is it's not Call of Duty. I am so sick of fighting dumb soldiers in Iraqistan, finally a shooter that does something new. This is a great game for PS3 owners. Now that PSN is back up this is a great way to get back online. The co-op is my favorite part, multiplayer modes are pretty fun too. Some of the visuals are incredible. I must say seeing a giant fire hurricane in the sky was something I have never seen before. Expand
  8. Sci
    Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Great fun!!!! Played 5 hours already. Multi player is a blast...Coop is **** and controls rock...Slide kick rules....YYYEEEEAAAAHHHH...

    Feels like FEAR is back in spades. Crazy combat and tons of Blood, need I say more
  9. Jun 22, 2011
    9
    Its a fresh change in pace from all other FPS out right now. i really like how Fettel plays very differently from point man. Its like playing a whole other game. The AI is actually really good. The Cover System is awesome, as well as movement around the environment. The story seems a bit of a stretch from 1 & 2 but it works. Turn up the sound and play in the dark for a good experience.
  10. Jun 22, 2011
    9
    Fear continues to fill our hearts. Raging gameplay. Snide Fettel. At the same time exceeds 2 Fear Fear 3. I thought that the third part of the game will lose most of their charm, but it is not only shedding it, but changed for the better.
  11. Jun 24, 2011
    9
    First off I am so happy and pleased with this game that I would pay a hundred bucks for it. At the same time I'm extremely pissed off that it got a 77 out of a 100. These underrating big time game critcs have their stuck so far up their asses that they don't realize an extrordinary game when they see one. I give this game a 10/10 and 100/100 booyah F.E.A.R. Alma baby!!!
  12. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    Great game, fun awesome graphics, nice controls, smooth gameplay co-op play works really good, and online is very nice. A.I. is not stupid. this game is fun and refreshing, and will offer replayability. and it definetly heals the pain of spending 60 bucks on Hunted!.. Great Game WB
  13. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome, much better than the second and very similar to the first, it's very violent and fun and has great atmosphere. The campaign can be replayed with two different players and there's a ranking system that makes you want to replay your favorite levels. The online portion is very original and well thought, the graphics are perfect to set the mood and the sound is simply stellar. I can only recommend it Expand
  14. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I have played in a while .. after going through the level u unlock the brother which adds a different type of gameplay . If u r into horror type games that are basically kill everything that moves then this is.the game for u ..... Highly recommend
  15. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    Ok before I start this review, F.3.A.R. is not Call of Duty or Battlefield, it is F.E.A.R.

    This game is brilliant and by far one of the top picks for best co-operative game. The game is situated around a horror experience, so anyone looking for a typical non violent shooter should probably step aside. However the game seems to be more combat than anything with 2 players able to team up
    in the campaign to share the F.E.A.R. together or go it alone. But don't be looking for a fantastically awe inspired story that F.E.A.R. bought us a few years ago, instead the game is more situated around the gameplay, and the gameplay aspect is fantastic but it would have been nice for a more darker story to have been told rather that one simple mission. The campaign isn't extremely long but still warrants some exploration to find hidden 'psychic links' and scares. If you don't like campaigns or story that much well then you will be pleased to know the F.3.A.R. has a lot to offer with co-op and competitive multiplayer (note it is not team deathmatch style). 4 game modes situate around you and your best buddies or randoms over the online universe either trying to team up as a group or earn the most points for valuable leveling up by earning kills etc. Overall this game is brilliant, it may not be a huge blockbuster but the game certainly surprises in its co-operative aspects and is a must buy for fans of the series and horror genres. Expand
  16. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    Let's get one thing out of the way. THIS GAME IS AWESOME! It is just a blast to play. Whether you're Point Man or Fettel, you will love the game. It is short, but like some other games, like Vanquish, there is plenty of reason to replay and a great multiplayer. There are some bad textures here and there, but overall, the game looks beautiful. The actual gameplay is just about flawless. Just buy it. Go on. BUY IT! Expand
  17. Jun 24, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Game was brilliant. The graphics were great, (not amazing) but great. The campaign is really fun and it is fairly scary, (not very). The very last level is the scariest level, (when you being chased by that invisible ghost monster thing that you can't kill) and you have to destroy the memories of your past before the invisible scary monster thing kills you. Only thing bad is that I sort of lost the plot on the bridge level. I loved how difficult the game was in some parts, and easy in others, it gives it a nice challenge. Two parts I found hard were the bit where your in a back garden and theres a robot with a rocket launcher, while other guys are shooting at you, and there's a REALLY hard bit when two of the teleporting guys drop in from the ceiling at the same time. They have loads and loads of hit points and they have these really powerful automatic guns that shoot high calibre incendiary bullets. A few of these shots kill you quickly. Also, these guys can teleport into, and out of walls, which makes 2 of them hard to kill. Hint: Pick up a riot shield on that bit or you'll just get slaughtered.

    But yeah, that game is amazing and I thoroughly enjoyed playing through it
    Expand
  18. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing sure it may not have lots of scares but it still does have its moments. the graphics are amazing and the eerie sounds that give you chills were really good. the multiplayer is also really well done something different and unique. its not death match capture the flag and other modes. many people first said it was crap which got my worried but as soon as i started playing i was have the best 6 hours of 2011. this in my opinion is one of the best games to come out in 2011. not many will agree with my review but this is my opinion and i think day 1 did a fantastic job on f.e.a.r.3 and a really good way to end the series. if it is the end. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    75
    Nice multimedia as expected, but the AI has taken a dip. Fortunately, the multiplayer elements and Challenges keep things fresh.
  2. Despite a few rays of fun, F.E.A.R. 3 is a production that offers gloom, minus any impending sense of doom. As an action-based first-person shooter it's solid enough to stand alongside is contemporaries in the faceless, grey-brown ranks of the FPS genre, but it does nothing to stand out from the status quo. [September 2011 p71]
  3. Sep 14, 2011
    81
    It may not be the most epic shooter experience out there, but F.E.A.R. 3 eloquently satisfies its niche by giving us a refreshing alternative to the played out machismo theme in most of the shooters out there.