F.E.A.R. 3 Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Alma returns in F.E.A.R. 3 but this time her sons Point Man and Paxton Fettel introduce divergent co-op, giving players distinctly different abilities affecting their own play as well as the experience of their co-op partner. Gamers participate in single player or co-op modes as Point Man, aAlma returns in F.E.A.R. 3 but this time her sons Point Man and Paxton Fettel introduce divergent co-op, giving players distinctly different abilities affecting their own play as well as the experience of their co-op partner. Gamers participate in single player or co-op modes as Point Man, a genetically enhanced super soldier originally introduced in F.E.A.R., or they can play cooperatively as his conniving brother Paxton Fettel, whose incredible telekinetic power has given him life beyond the grave. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Jul 25, 2011
    91
    F.E.A.R. 3 is a fantastic FPS game that blends exciting combat with plenty of scares and non-stop suspense.
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    83
    The controls are tight and responsive, the story is well-written and intriguing, that continuous fear factor is a huge bonus, and the Challenge system for ranking up forces you to experiment.
  3. Jul 10, 2011
    80
    F.E.A.R. 3 is a good shooter but never surpasses the very first F.E.A.R. game. The gameplay is very smooth and you'll be playing this campaign multiple times because of the co-op and the different gameplay elements each brother possesses. F.E.A.R. 3 lacks scary moments and that is a pity, seeing how this used to be a key element in the series.
  4. Jun 20, 2011
    78
    A welcome treat, if only for its nerve-grinding atmosphere. The campaign is far too short-with Fettel, you could probably whiz through it in three or four hours-but the multiplayer modes are a lot of fun.
  5. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Aug 2, 2011
    70
    While F.E.A.R. 3 is at its best as a solid(and fun)co-op shooter, it stumbles as an addition to the series. [Sept 2011, p.82]
  6. Jun 29, 2011
    70
    Maybe if it inspired loss of bladder control in the same way the original did - or, better still, how Monolith's Condemned did - it might have been slightly more memorable. FEAR 3 is sadly lacking in the fear department, and has subsequently lost its defining characteristic.
  7. Jul 1, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 43
  2. Negative: 4 out of 43
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    This is so much fun. Play with your buddies in multiplayer, it's a blast! The single player campaign is great, only to be made even moreThis is so much fun. Play with your buddies in multiplayer, it's a blast! The single player campaign is great, only to be made even more enjoyable by having a friend join you in a unique divergent co-op experience! Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome, much better than the second and very similar to the first, it's very violent and fun and has great atmosphere. TheThis game is awesome, much better than the second and very similar to the first, it's very violent and fun and has great atmosphere. The campaign can be replayed with two different players and there's a ranking system that makes you want to replay your favorite levels. The online portion is very original and well thought, the graphics are perfect to set the mood and the sound is simply stellar. I can only recommend it Expand
  3. Sci
    Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Great fun!!!! Played 5 hours already. Multi player is a blast...Coop is **** and controls rock...Slide kick rules....YYYEEEEAAAAHHHH...Great fun!!!! Played 5 hours already. Multi player is a blast...Coop is **** and controls rock...Slide kick rules....YYYEEEEAAAAHHHH...

    Feels like FEAR is back in spades. Crazy combat and tons of Blood, need I say more
    Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2011
    8
    Really good and solid first person shooter, but way too short, as I don't care about multiplayer or co-op. The singleplayer campaign of Fear 2Really good and solid first person shooter, but way too short, as I don't care about multiplayer or co-op. The singleplayer campaign of Fear 2 was double the length. Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2015
    8
    The FEAR series never disappoints in the third (and final) game so far. Graphically this game is one of the best I've seen on any system. JustThe FEAR series never disappoints in the third (and final) game so far. Graphically this game is one of the best I've seen on any system. Just the amount of detail put into everything from buildings to little things like a bottle on a shelf is overwhelming. I really like the way this game looks. The levels are also the best I've seen in the series - from the ghetto level to the supermarket and of course the suburbs. The developers really knocked it out of the park with this one. Plus the multiplayer modes are a lot of fun too and you can level up the more you play these modes as well as the single campaign.

    There are two negative things about this game however. The crappy co op mode. It's almost unplayable. You'd think they would have used an even ratio split screen mode like the one in Resistance:Fall of man but no, they split the screens at these awkward 30 degree angles so that you can't even really see what you're doing (this is amplified even more so on a TV screen under 30 inches). Yeah, so that's a pretty big failure. And the other thing (which many pointed out) is that the game is pretty short. I mean, you could beat it in 6 hours maybe. On that note though maybe they spent too much time designing the levels (which are huge) instead of focusing on making the game longer. The game does have a few scares, but if you're familiar with the horror genre it definitely won't make you lose any sleep. But overall I'd give this game a 8.5 if I could, a really good experience for fans of the shooter genre. Fingers crossed for a part 4.
    Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2012
    7
    the first 2 fear games are decent FPS game and the 3rd is the same . its improved in some ways and disappointing in others. for starters fearthe first 2 fear games are decent FPS game and the 3rd is the same . its improved in some ways and disappointing in others. for starters fear tries not only to be a FPS game but a horror game as well and failed at it in the first one and got better in the second and now its pretty much about as scary as the first one again. which is a shame because this game series has alot of potential to be a great horror FPS franchise but never does get it right. that not to ay FEAR 3 is a bad FPS game because it is fun and the addition of co-op play is great . the missions though very scripted are pretty fun and the game is a fair challange and enimy AI is pretty good. the slow-mo shooting is still fun to do and you can now level up which will unlock new things like a slide attack ,more ammo , more health , ect. . i wouldnt want to have paid $60 for this game and thankfully i didnt i manage to get it on sale on amazon for $18 new. id say any thing around $20 for this game is worth a purchase or atleast a rental. Expand
  7. Aug 1, 2011
    0
    Here we go again-another positive review from dazigz. This guy must really like it in the mouth. First he loves the cartel and now fear 3 .Here we go again-another positive review from dazigz. This guy must really like it in the mouth. First he loves the cartel and now fear 3 . What's next-section 8? I don't know what's scarier-this guys love of crappy games or how much he loves to pound sand. Expand

See all 43 User Reviews

Trailers