Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
Buy On
  1. Sep 23, 2013
    100
    FIFA 14 is far from a revolutionary release, and it's arguably inferior to the much improved PES 2014 in terms of pure footballing gameplay. That said, FIFA 14 is the most complete virtual footballing experience available today. Whether in single or multiplayer, there's enough to keep fans busy well into the new football season and beyond.
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    96
    FIFA 14 is a beautiful send-off to the waning current generation of gaming, and a perfect example of what has become the most authentic and entertaining sports game around.
  3. Sep 23, 2013
    95
    For once, FIFA 14 could divide its fan base. Being more and more realistic, the game becomes more and more demanding. Don't misunderstand us: this is the main reason why FIFA 14 is better than FIFA 13. Passing the ball, building your chances: that's what this new FIFA is about. And exceptional players are only a solution if you make them play for the team. With the new features in Career Mode and the release of a 2-players Seasons Mode, it's certainly the best FIFA ever, and the best football game for now.
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    95
    Electronic Arts keeps polishing the best soccer game on the planet: FIFA 14 is a predictable but outstanding achievement. Its matches show a thoughtful pace and the new ball protection mechanics fit perfectly in the formula. Simply put it's a must buy for every soccer enthusiast out there.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    92
    This is the best version so far, but also the less innovative. It feels like EA Sports is absolutely focused on next gen consoles, so there are few additions here. However, it is as fun as always, and the best football simulator this year for current consoles.
  6. Play UK
    Oct 16, 2013
    90
    Offers a wonderful package that rewards those who are willing to adjust to it. [Issue#236, p.72]
  7. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Oct 7, 2013
    90
    Another fine refinement of one the best games of football on the market. [November 2013, p79]
  8. Oct 3, 2013
    90
    FIFA 14 on the PS3 is brilliant. However, I can't help but feel that there is more coming to those looking at buying the next-gen consoles.
  9. Sep 26, 2013
    90
    Some minor visual issues aside, EA came, saw and emerged victorious: FIFA 14 improves on a number of key features and establishes itself again as the best soccer game out there.
  10. Sep 25, 2013
    90
    Although many users begin to request more, FIFA 14 is still a spectacular soccer game that we effusively recommend.
  11. Sep 25, 2013
    90
    FIFA 14 is the best title in the franchise so far. As the icing of the cake for a project that started alongside this console generation, this last installment revamps certain playability and technical issues, which makes it the best FIFA title in the last few years.
  12. Gameplay is the best it’s been on PS3, and presentation is improved, too, with Jeff Stelling’s pre-match, half-time and post-match links upping the broadcast feel yet again. Whatever your thoughts on annual sports games, you really mustn’t miss this one unless you want to spend the next nine months feeling like a defeated play-off finalist.
  13. Sep 23, 2013
    90
    FIFA 14 isn’t a major landmark for the series in terms of innovation. Unlike recent iterations, it doesn’t ask you to relearn key skills. But the changes have made FIFA more attacking, fun, welcoming, and attractive, and ultimately it’s a stronger experience.
  14. Sep 23, 2013
    90
    Thanks to the gameplay changes alone, FIFA 14 is an essential purchase for any football gaming fan. It feels so different that it may even gain back long-term fans lost along the way, though there’s also a risk that EA Sports might lose a few for the same reasons.
  15. Sep 23, 2013
    90
    Still not perfect, but FIFA 14 is the new benchmark for sports simulations because of its depth, flexibility and hugeness.
  16. Sep 23, 2013
    88
    The kinds of shots players get off are varied due to how they strike the ball (and with which foot), and the controls hit a sweet spot of being easy to pull off and capable of letting you engineer some incisive attacks. These aspects are not to be underestimated, as they give you confidence going forward and the ability to score from some new areas.
  17. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Oct 1, 2013
    86
    The AI of your fellow teammates has been ramped up considerably, making them wide open for a pass much more often. Exciting duels, where the ball changes owner multiple times are not just an exception anymore, they are to be expected. [October 2013 p.74]
  18. Sep 26, 2013
    86
    FIFA 14 doesn’t take any major leaps forward, instead focusing on fine-tuning the major innovations the series has taken in the last couple of years.
  19. Sep 23, 2013
    86
    While gamers anxiously await the arrival of next generation games in November, EA Sports reminds us that there are still great games on this generation. While not completely perfect, FIFA 14 delivers on its promise of an improved and lasting gameplay experience.
  20. CD-Action
    Nov 14, 2013
    85
    The best simulation of football, but only slightly better than its predecessor. If you’re planning to buy a new console I recommend waiting for the next-gen Fifa 14. [12/2013, p.48]
  21. Sep 27, 2013
    85
    FIFA 14 still is a very good, very complete soccer game. And whilst the tweaks, changes and additions to the core mechanics are well executed, overall the progress made is smaller than last year.
  22. 85
    FIFA finally feels different. The pace on the pitch is slower and more deliberate, but greater player control makes for some exciting and realistic football.
  23. Sep 23, 2013
    85
    FIFA 14 has a lot of new elements, but unfortunately the most prominent new elements aren't executed flawlessly. This makes FIFA 14 a very enjoyable soccer experience, but with bizarre situations arising from time to time that mess things up quite a bit. The new additions to FIFA Ultimate Team are successful though.
  24. Sep 23, 2013
    85
    FIFA 14 has dragged the franchise out of videogame purgatory and injected character back into it with some significant gameplay improvements. AI oddities and a poor interface fail to mar a genuinely rewarding and enjoyable football experience.
  25. Sep 23, 2013
    85
    Maybe FIFA 14 isn't a great leap, but it's a nice update for its gameplay.
  26. Sep 23, 2013
    85
    FIFA 14 is unmistakably the best footie for the current-gen consoles to date. It feels both realistic and authentic and pays homage to The Beautiful Game we have grown to love. It’s just too bad the graphics of the game can’t keep up with the gameplay anymore; but our educated guess is that next-gen will change that entirely.
  27. Sep 25, 2013
    82
    I’m not sure if it’s the best game in the series, but it kept me playing for hours on end, and that’s enough for me. The visual and audio competence supported by the rock-solid gameplay is a winning combination, and just goes to show how much EA has perfected the major-league game formula.
  28. Oct 29, 2013
    80
    FIFA 14 is a well done game and should keep fans interested for another season.
  29. games(TM)
    Oct 23, 2013
    80
    There's nothing significant to complain about really. [Issue#140, p.104]
  30. Oct 16, 2013
    80
    The players may still look like strange rubber men and the commentators still spout lines that you've already heard hundreds of times before, but FIFA 14 manages to do just enough to keep its lead on the competition.
  31. Sep 24, 2013
    80
    FIFA 14 does a terrific job of differentiating levels of soccer competition around the world, which is rare. But there are so many different modes of play that players of just about any skill level or familiarity can hop into FIFA 14.
  32. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    Every year it becomes a predictable conclusion, but FIFA 14 earns the description as the ultimate soccer game. EA Sports created a dynamic, unpredictable and enervating soccer experience. The same can't be said for the visuals, which feel dated and cold. The lack of new modes and small annoyances which have persisted throughout the years are things we'll let slip, but the need for next-gen is large.
  33. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    Despite the lack of a defining new feature to attach itself to, FIFA 14 is far more than the sum of its parts. It's a fundamentally different experience to last year's game, and an entertaining one at that, moving the series ever closer to the realism it so proudly strives for. The only competition FIFA has this year is itself.
  34. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    The fact a project of this thundering size gets finished at all – let alone once every 12 months – is of course a minor miracle of hard work and management, but it can only be lauded for greatness if that's what it's reaching for. FIFA 14 seems content with better rather than best.
  35. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    As much as I know I will play it all year, though, I would like to feel a greater sense of progression next time. Hopefully EA Sports will find the next-generation consoles inspiring.
  36. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    FIFA 14 is undoubtedly the best football game to date, even though it does not innovate as much as its predecessor.
  37. Oct 10, 2013
    78
    FIFA 14 is a fun game and will appeal to football fans as the classic style of gameplay, aside from the frenetic tempo of the matches, largely remain and snatching victory from the jaws of defeat still tastes as sweet as ever; it’s just a shame that it all feels so familiar.
User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 571 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 180
  1. Sep 28, 2013
    3
    Dear oh dear. You know, I don't actually know how EA have managed to do this, but from having a game that was, on the whole, a good effort inDear oh dear. You know, I don't actually know how EA have managed to do this, but from having a game that was, on the whole, a good effort in FIFA 13, they've actually managed to take about 5 steps backwards. Even worse, despite having the engine already in place etc, this is the buggiest FIFA yet. So, before we move on to the gameplay itself, let's just take a look at what you can enjoy:

    - Goalkeepers being beaten for crosses by forwards (leading to goals) even though all they have to do is pick the ball out of the air
    - Offsides being given when the player is clearly onside. Not even close to being offside.
    - CPU players on your team actually running off the pitch during attacks.
    - Players falling over each other ALL THE TIME.
    - Fouls being given for nothing, and in other cases not being given even though a player has just hacked someone down brutally off the ball.
    - The chance of a goal going in from every corner due to players, seemingly, being unmarked constantly, and the ease of which attacking players beat opposition players in the air.

    You might say 'ah, he's whining because this has happened against him!'. I'm afraid not I scored 3 goals in one match alone from corners and I honestly believe my hapless opponent could do nothing to stop any of them.

    So, now on to gameplay.

    Isn't it fun to play a nice fluid football game? It sure is! Well you won't find it here. I've seen panzers turn faster than these players. Sprinting is pretty much pointless now, as ball control has been nerfed. The route to victory this year is simply to walk around the pitch as the defenders are, equally, awful to maneuver. Most of the games I've played against people online have relied on me just walking towards the opposition and them either a) missing me or b) the ball bobbling off their defender. Ladies and gentleman, this ball *does not stick* to anything. Just try and tackle someone, I dare you! They should have named the game Association Pinball for what it's worth.

    Don't worry though there's a saving grace once you bobbled your way across the pitch, those generous people at EA have made shooting even more of a doodle than it was last year. I just lost 7-1 (don't laugh, it's not funny), to a series of air through balls (once again, nerfed to the extent that you'd think every player was Ozil) which were all perfectly finesse lobbed into the net first time by the opposition forward.

    Simply put, this game is not fun to play. The best way I can describe it is to say that it's akin to controlling an over-80's pub team, that have sold their souls to the devil in return for the cultured striking power of Lionel Messi at his best.

    This has been rushed out I'm afraid, and I'm sick to death of games companies screwing people in this manner now. The menus are still as sluggish as last year, and there's a general lack of polish to everything. Did I pay for this tripe?

    PS: I wonder why the official metacritic scores are so high?! It's almost like EA had them in their pockets or something...again.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 29, 2013
    0
    I've played fifa since Fifa10 and spent alot of time with each years release. I've never bought PES, but seriously consider it now. Fifa14I've played fifa since Fifa10 and spent alot of time with each years release. I've never bought PES, but seriously consider it now. Fifa14 SUCKS!! It's like a boring arcade game for kids. Almost as if EA's trying to take away anything fun with the game. "Hey! Let's make the players slower and crash even more! Maybe that'll make the game more realistic?!?!" To score in this game all you need is long through balls, crosses and/or corners. Headers are so overpowered to the point of parody. Then you have those out of the blue long through balls. Yepp, push 2 buttons and your wingers or strikers are one on one with the goalie. Pathetic and no fun at all. Fifa 12 kept me interested the whole year. Fifa13 was also ok, but Fifa14 is getting boring after a couple of days.
    Other things like lag and unplayable games due to poor matchmaking is still there. I'd say every third game I play is ruined by lag.

    I'm an above average Fifa player and won 850 and lost about 300 online games in last years Ultimate team.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    1
    This is probably the worst Fifa game in years. The game has good modes, but the gameplay is horrible. A downgrade from Fifa 13. SometimesThis is probably the worst Fifa game in years. The game has good modes, but the gameplay is horrible. A downgrade from Fifa 13. Sometimes change is not good, and this game is an example. Full Review »