Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 563 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pure Shot promises to let FIFA fans feel what it is like to connect with the perfect strike while a brand new ball physics system called Real Ball Physics ensures the trajectory of the ball behaves as it would in real life. With Teammate Intelligence in FIFA 14, players have betterPure Shot promises to let FIFA fans feel what it is like to connect with the perfect strike while a brand new ball physics system called Real Ball Physics ensures the trajectory of the ball behaves as it would in real life. With Teammate Intelligence in FIFA 14, players have better decision-making and teams play smarter on both the attack and defense to bring the beauty of the game to life. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Sep 23, 2013
    100
    FIFA 14 is far from a revolutionary release, and it's arguably inferior to the much improved PES 2014 in terms of pure footballing gameplay. That said, FIFA 14 is the most complete virtual footballing experience available today. Whether in single or multiplayer, there's enough to keep fans busy well into the new football season and beyond.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    92
    This is the best version so far, but also the less innovative. It feels like EA Sports is absolutely focused on next gen consoles, so there are few additions here. However, it is as fun as always, and the best football simulator this year for current consoles.
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    90
    Some minor visual issues aside, EA came, saw and emerged victorious: FIFA 14 improves on a number of key features and establishes itself again as the best soccer game out there.
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    86
    While gamers anxiously await the arrival of next generation games in November, EA Sports reminds us that there are still great games on this generation. While not completely perfect, FIFA 14 delivers on its promise of an improved and lasting gameplay experience.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    85
    FIFA 14 has a lot of new elements, but unfortunately the most prominent new elements aren't executed flawlessly. This makes FIFA 14 a very enjoyable soccer experience, but with bizarre situations arising from time to time that mess things up quite a bit. The new additions to FIFA Ultimate Team are successful though.
  6. Sep 25, 2013
    82
    I’m not sure if it’s the best game in the series, but it kept me playing for hours on end, and that’s enough for me. The visual and audio competence supported by the rock-solid gameplay is a winning combination, and just goes to show how much EA has perfected the major-league game formula.
  7. Oct 10, 2013
    78
    FIFA 14 is a fun game and will appeal to football fans as the classic style of gameplay, aside from the frenetic tempo of the matches, largely remain and snatching victory from the jaws of defeat still tastes as sweet as ever; it’s just a shame that it all feels so familiar.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 178
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    FIFA 14 rocks!!!!! Its the best football game till date. Much more realistic features, improved gameplay than FIFA 13.Awesome game play muchFIFA 14 rocks!!!!! Its the best football game till date. Much more realistic features, improved gameplay than FIFA 13.Awesome game play much slower, which makes it more realistic. Some genuine improvements, particularly in terms of animation, physics, artificial intelligence, and Ultimate Team. Top notch presentation and the usual full suite of licences. Go for it guys.. Worth Buying the game. Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2014
    9
    MESSI! A sound step up from FIFA 13; new tricks, skills, soundtrack as well as an awesome career mode. You can definitely tell the differenceMESSI! A sound step up from FIFA 13; new tricks, skills, soundtrack as well as an awesome career mode. You can definitely tell the difference between playing Bayern Munich and Atletic Bilbao. The combination of passing, shimmies, flicks and dummies adds to an already comprehensive sense of realism. The goalkeeping walls are increasingly harder to breech, as the developers have introduced an array of chips, deft shots, headers, overhead kicks and speedy dribbling to counter this.
    On the downside-corners are relatively easy to score from, passes still feel a little awkward when running at speed, some of the fouls are a little soft and the career mode takes a while to load.
    Aside from those things, well worth splashing the cash for. Vamos Barca!
    Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    5
    Well... Am going to my tv and start to play FIFA 13... Oh wait!!! is FIFA 14!!!... I know we football fans spend year after year our money toWell... Am going to my tv and start to play FIFA 13... Oh wait!!! is FIFA 14!!!... I know we football fans spend year after year our money to buy the latest versión of our beloved football games, is like a religious pilgrim each year to the videogame store, i love videogames, i love football and i DONT love Fifa anymore... Reason??? It is the same game as 12,13 and i can go on and on and on... dont take me wrong, there is a saying, if it is not broken dont fix it... But i think EA just made some little improvements and repacked fifa 13. We are in a new age for videogames, the next gen is around the corner, and EA is lazy to not improve whit a new engine like the japaneses. It is more of the same, if i want new transfers added, maybe is a better idea to sell a dlc for fifa 13 because i cant see a significant improvement or any dramatical change in fifa 14. It's like Barbie lol.. the same doll...ohh!!! but it comes whit a new hat WTF!!! Expand
  4. Sep 25, 2013
    1
    This is probably the worst Fifa game in years. The game has good modes, but the gameplay is horrible. A downgrade from Fifa 13. SometimesThis is probably the worst Fifa game in years. The game has good modes, but the gameplay is horrible. A downgrade from Fifa 13. Sometimes change is not good, and this game is an example. Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2014
    0
    Fifa is a joke, EA sports aren't even trying anymore. It is just fifa ultimate team with something on the side. I used to love career mode inFifa is a joke, EA sports aren't even trying anymore. It is just fifa ultimate team with something on the side. I used to love career mode in fifa, but now it is just there so that they can say it is there, nothing you do has any influence outside the pitch. the team sheets (rosters) does not fit the real world. özil was in madrid fellaini was in everton (there are more), hell not even all of the kits are there, they just made some up in some of the same colors (chile's national team's kits)
    the gameplay is terrible, no realism at all, no tactical influence, dribble and shoot that is it, you can change the tactics, but all you really control is the player with the ball.
    (the menu is extremely slow)
    the game needs realism, tactics, and effort, but right now it has nothing, and to be honest the only reason to buy this game is FUT (Fifa Ultimate Team) which also is lazy.
    Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    0
    Game plays like absolute crap. It's all slowed down and sluggish compared to last year. The touches when receiving the ball are a joke. YouGame plays like absolute crap. It's all slowed down and sluggish compared to last year. The touches when receiving the ball are a joke. You try to control it as it comes into you but ends up 6 yards in front. Apart from the redesign the rest of the game is garbage. Expand
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    0
    DON'T BUY THIS GAME!

    You don't play this game. You just follow the script. All the matches are scripted by EA. They decide when you win,
    DON'T BUY THIS GAME!

    You don't play this game. You just follow the script. All the matches are scripted by EA. They decide when you win, when you lose, everything is scripted.

    And it's just the same thing of FIFA 13, just slower, I don't know why

    It's sad because I was a FIFA fan since FIFA 98, and this is the end of the line for this series for me. Another title that's a copy of the previous one and full of script.

    What I most like in videogaming was the fact that we can decide our destiny, we decide what happens in the screen. EA, since FIFA 12, destroyed this: you don't play a football videogame, you just follow the script the game definied for each match

    Run away from this crap
    Collapse

See all 178 User Reviews