FIFA 14 Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 578 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pure Shot promises to let FIFA fans feel what it is like to connect with the perfect strike while a brand new ball physics system called Real Ball Physics ensures the trajectory of the ball behaves as it would in real life. With Teammate Intelligence in FIFA 14, players have betterPure Shot promises to let FIFA fans feel what it is like to connect with the perfect strike while a brand new ball physics system called Real Ball Physics ensures the trajectory of the ball behaves as it would in real life. With Teammate Intelligence in FIFA 14, players have better decision-making and teams play smarter on both the attack and defense to bring the beauty of the game to life. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
FIFA 14 - Gameplay Sizzle
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Sep 23, 2013
    100
    FIFA 14 is far from a revolutionary release, and it's arguably inferior to the much improved PES 2014 in terms of pure footballing gameplay. That said, FIFA 14 is the most complete virtual footballing experience available today. Whether in single or multiplayer, there's enough to keep fans busy well into the new football season and beyond.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    92
    This is the best version so far, but also the less innovative. It feels like EA Sports is absolutely focused on next gen consoles, so there are few additions here. However, it is as fun as always, and the best football simulator this year for current consoles.
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    90
    Some minor visual issues aside, EA came, saw and emerged victorious: FIFA 14 improves on a number of key features and establishes itself again as the best soccer game out there.
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    86
    While gamers anxiously await the arrival of next generation games in November, EA Sports reminds us that there are still great games on this generation. While not completely perfect, FIFA 14 delivers on its promise of an improved and lasting gameplay experience.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    85
    FIFA 14 has a lot of new elements, but unfortunately the most prominent new elements aren't executed flawlessly. This makes FIFA 14 a very enjoyable soccer experience, but with bizarre situations arising from time to time that mess things up quite a bit. The new additions to FIFA Ultimate Team are successful though.
  6. Sep 25, 2013
    82
    I’m not sure if it’s the best game in the series, but it kept me playing for hours on end, and that’s enough for me. The visual and audio competence supported by the rock-solid gameplay is a winning combination, and just goes to show how much EA has perfected the major-league game formula.
  7. Oct 10, 2013
    78
    FIFA 14 is a fun game and will appeal to football fans as the classic style of gameplay, aside from the frenetic tempo of the matches, largely remain and snatching victory from the jaws of defeat still tastes as sweet as ever; it’s just a shame that it all feels so familiar.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 178
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    FIFA 14 rocks!!!!! Its the best football game till date. Much more realistic features, improved gameplay than FIFA 13.Awesome game play muchFIFA 14 rocks!!!!! Its the best football game till date. Much more realistic features, improved gameplay than FIFA 13.Awesome game play much slower, which makes it more realistic. Some genuine improvements, particularly in terms of animation, physics, artificial intelligence, and Ultimate Team. Top notch presentation and the usual full suite of licences. Go for it guys.. Worth Buying the game. Expand
  2. Oct 23, 2014
    9
    FIFA 14 is the most realistic FIFA yet. The commentary is incredible. It even mentions previous results. At first defending is a hard taskFIFA 14 is the most realistic FIFA yet. The commentary is incredible. It even mentions previous results. At first defending is a hard task with multiple skill moves unleashed against you, but with practice you can keep clean sheets but I would say FIFA 14 is attack biased. The attack is slick and precise. A brilliant game Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2013
    5
    Graphically it is a good game, and when compared with the first FIFA generation, change is evident. The game modes uneventful, and quiteGraphically it is a good game, and when compared with the first FIFA generation, change is evident. The game modes uneventful, and quite complete in this sense, as the whole saga. Its gameplay is painful, destroys the whole game, the games are too slow, the players seem orthopedic when they have to control the ball, the pass system is complicated, the AI defense is too rocky, do a good shot on goal is difficult, and if you succeed, the goalkeeper makes a good stop you, they all look international. The defense tactic, without comment, the biggest step back from the FIFA series. In a video game, the most important is the gameplay, and is a very big step back in the FIFA series, which debunks other work. In summary, good graphics, good and fun game modes, but a very bad gameplay. FIFA Best of all, it's FIFA 11, as of this saga to fallen sharply.

    Now in Spanish, my native language.

    Gráficamente es un buen juego, y si lo comparamos con el primer FIFA, de la generación, el cambio es evidente. Los modos de juego sin novedades, y bastante completo en este sentido, como toda la saga. Su jugabilidad es penosa, destroza todo el juego, los partidos son demasiado lentos, los jugadores parecen ortopédicos cuando tienen que controlar el balón, el sistema de pases se ha complicado, la IA de la defensa es demasiado rocosa, hacer un buen remate a portería es difícil, y si lo consigues, el portero te hace una buena parada, que parecen todos internacionales. La defensa táctica, sin comentarios, el mayor paso atrás de la saga FIFA. En un videojuego, lo mas importante es su jugabilidad, y es un paso atrás muy grande en la saga FIFA, que echa por tierra el resto del trabajo. En resumen, buenos gráficos, buenos y divertidos modos de juego, pero, una muy mala jugabilidad. El mejor FIFA de todos, es el FIFA 11, a partir de este la saga a caído en picado.
    Expand
  4. Feb 10, 2014
    2
    in July 2013 i was one of those people who was really excited about fifa 14 and the hype about it's major improvements. Like a lot of people iin July 2013 i was one of those people who was really excited about fifa 14 and the hype about it's major improvements. Like a lot of people i pre-ordered the ultimate edition of the game. Little to my surprise this game was absolutely woeful. I have played fifa 13's ultimate team last year and although the amount of **** was high, that game was still enjoyable most of the time. Before the game came out EA's producers boasted by how realistic fifa 14 is and how improved it is. We all know EA, a bunch of money whore liers who try to steal money of us. Fifa 14 is anything but a realistic game, especially when it comes to headers. IMO this is the worst thing and the most annoying thing about this game. Headers in this game are undeniably ridiculously over powered to the top. Every **** cross is a **** goal whether it is a player with 68 heading or whether it is a player with 90 heading. When a cross goes in you see your defenders sleeping or taking a coffee and when the ball approaches the attacker they suddenly realise and try the get it, but obviosly this fails.The worst thing about crosses is you try to stop the players from crossing but if they manage to cross they you are **** caused you can't really do anything about it. IMO crosses absolutely ruin the game for me. Another thin is the slow paced feel of fifa 14. Players move slower then my grandma who is 100 years old with a broken hip bone and arthritis in her knees. Dribbling is near impossible because of the extremely sluggish feel of the players. Sometimes it's like they are walking on clogs. Another thing is obviously the over powered over the top through balls. When a player gives an over the top chip through ball your defenders seem to not know what the **** they are doing. It's like they don't see the ball going over them and heading towards the attacker. Also some of the over the top through balls are impossible to pull of in real life football but on fifa everything is possible cause EA said it's so **** realistic -_-. Also i should not forget the high amount of rebound goals one concede. You can have a petr cech with 99 everything and still concede rebound goals .It's ridiculous because the parried balls magically fall onto the attacker's feet and all he has to do is tap it in.
    Overall i could right a **** book about this **** hole of a game. I am usually the type of guy who does not hate on games but this game did it for me a long time ago and i absolutely **** despise it. I hope fifa 15 is actually better and EA take the time to realise that fifa 14 is **** Thanks for reading :)
    Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2014
    0
    Fifa is a joke, EA sports aren't even trying anymore. It is just fifa ultimate team with something on the side. I used to love career mode inFifa is a joke, EA sports aren't even trying anymore. It is just fifa ultimate team with something on the side. I used to love career mode in fifa, but now it is just there so that they can say it is there, nothing you do has any influence outside the pitch. the team sheets (rosters) does not fit the real world. özil was in madrid fellaini was in everton (there are more), hell not even all of the kits are there, they just made some up in some of the same colors (chile's national team's kits)
    the gameplay is terrible, no realism at all, no tactical influence, dribble and shoot that is it, you can change the tactics, but all you really control is the player with the ball.
    (the menu is extremely slow)
    the game needs realism, tactics, and effort, but right now it has nothing, and to be honest the only reason to buy this game is FUT (Fifa Ultimate Team) which also is lazy.
    Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    0
    Still the same thing. FOOTBALL.... Same thing as any other Fifa game, oh yes graphics look about 0.1% better. I still cannot belive peopleStill the same thing. FOOTBALL.... Same thing as any other Fifa game, oh yes graphics look about 0.1% better. I still cannot belive people like these type of games Expand
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    0
    DON'T BUY THIS GAME!

    You don't play this game. You just follow the script. All the matches are scripted by EA. They decide when you win,
    DON'T BUY THIS GAME!

    You don't play this game. You just follow the script. All the matches are scripted by EA. They decide when you win, when you lose, everything is scripted.

    And it's just the same thing of FIFA 13, just slower, I don't know why

    It's sad because I was a FIFA fan since FIFA 98, and this is the end of the line for this series for me. Another title that's a copy of the previous one and full of script.

    What I most like in videogaming was the fact that we can decide our destiny, we decide what happens in the screen. EA, since FIFA 12, destroyed this: you don't play a football videogame, you just follow the script the game definied for each match

    Run away from this crap
    Expand

See all 178 User Reviews

Trailers