Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 524 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pure Shot promises to let FIFA fans feel what it is like to connect with the perfect strike while a brand new ball physics system called Real Ball Physics ensures the trajectory of the ball behaves as it would in real life. With Teammate Intelligence in FIFA 14, players have better decision-making and teams play smarter on both the attack and defense to bring the beauty of the game to life. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Sep 23, 2013
    100
    FIFA 14 is far from a revolutionary release, and it's arguably inferior to the much improved PES 2014 in terms of pure footballing gameplay. That said, FIFA 14 is the most complete virtual footballing experience available today. Whether in single or multiplayer, there's enough to keep fans busy well into the new football season and beyond.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    92
    This is the best version so far, but also the less innovative. It feels like EA Sports is absolutely focused on next gen consoles, so there are few additions here. However, it is as fun as always, and the best football simulator this year for current consoles.
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    90
    Some minor visual issues aside, EA came, saw and emerged victorious: FIFA 14 improves on a number of key features and establishes itself again as the best soccer game out there.
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    86
    While gamers anxiously await the arrival of next generation games in November, EA Sports reminds us that there are still great games on this generation. While not completely perfect, FIFA 14 delivers on its promise of an improved and lasting gameplay experience.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    85
    FIFA 14 has a lot of new elements, but unfortunately the most prominent new elements aren't executed flawlessly. This makes FIFA 14 a very enjoyable soccer experience, but with bizarre situations arising from time to time that mess things up quite a bit. The new additions to FIFA Ultimate Team are successful though.
  6. Sep 25, 2013
    82
    I’m not sure if it’s the best game in the series, but it kept me playing for hours on end, and that’s enough for me. The visual and audio competence supported by the rock-solid gameplay is a winning combination, and just goes to show how much EA has perfected the major-league game formula.
  7. Oct 10, 2013
    78
    FIFA 14 is a fun game and will appeal to football fans as the classic style of gameplay, aside from the frenetic tempo of the matches, largely remain and snatching victory from the jaws of defeat still tastes as sweet as ever; it’s just a shame that it all feels so familiar.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 167
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    FIFA 14 rocks!!!!! Its the best football game till date. Much more realistic features, improved gameplay than FIFA 13.Awesome game play much slower, which makes it more realistic. Some genuine improvements, particularly in terms of animation, physics, artificial intelligence, and Ultimate Team. Top notch presentation and the usual full suite of licences. Go for it guys.. Worth Buying the game. Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    Year on year FIFA has continued to innovate in order to deliver the most authentic football experience available and this year they have yet again.. And in doing so, have become the subject of much debate. Personally, I like what the guys at EA Sports are doing. Rather than standing still and making minor tweaks they are always expanding and looking to move forward. For sure, this year it can be frustrating, that goes without saying but after a while playing FIFA 14 you begin to appreciate what they're trying to achieve. 13 was another improvement and as an avid football fan I loved it. After playing the demo I wasn't overly impressed but the real thing is different. Most noticeably a players first touch can prove to be brutal or beautifu, it depends on the calibre and quality of player. The passing within FIFA is so crisp and smooth that it plays a treat. You can actually attempt to play like Barcelona. But at the same time, for example if you are playing as a lower league team, you can now play the direct, long ball football by launching the ball to your target man something that you weren't able to do in previous outings. And it shows just how much it depends on your team, the quality and the players you have at your disposal. A major improvement has also been made in the crossing department. It was always a challenge to score from open play when crossing but now it's more frequent! Defending as ever is also key. With a variety options to prevent your opponent from scoring. Arguably the most important area this year round is in midfield. That's were the battle is. There's not just a change in the gameplay but in the Career mode it's an overhaul. The introduction of the Global Transfer Network has seen the players rating system abolished! No longer can you simply search for a player based on their overall and sign them up, now it's a much more in-depth requirement before you decide upon snapping up a player. The jury is still out with regards. In terms of bringing through the youth in the career it's very helpful and it will aid you in the transfer market but at times it just seems drawn out and can be a time waster. Regardless of that, you can change it to your own choice but it doesn't stop you from enjoying FIFA at it;s free flowing best. The fun game modes are also back, this year with more added to the line up. It's always a decent alternative. Ofcourse, FIFA online is where the real action is at. Whether it's the casual one v one or a team match it's always good to test yourself against the best around the world. FIFA Ultimate Team once more delivers the goods and EA Sports are fully committed in making this as great as it possibly can. Picking and swapping players to ensure you have the best team at your disposal!

    Ultimately, FIFA 14 is another step forward. Some will be frustrated but if you adjust and adapt then you will thoroughly enjoy this years outing! THankfully with next gen around the corner FIFA seems to be in really safe hands and it's exciting moving forward! Still firmly in the Champions League spots, FIFA is the best footballing experience to date.
    Collapse
  3. Dec 29, 2013
    5
    I really don't know where to start. after a few months now, I love the game but hate this game. so many little things make the game good(licensed teams, new shooting mechanics, new scouting system for career) but then there's those things that drive u mad. players standing as the ball goes past them., ur players turn like tanks while the computer turns like messi. this is more of an review of career mode and I tell u now. u have moments of absolute joy(scoring a winner, winning with Newport county against Manchester city in the capital one cup final) and then all those bitty and frustrating moments of players falling over, not marking when if they had intelligence they would, making a tackle but some how the ball finds them again. it kills me to say it but this game sucks. how can play if you are not able to control a game then why should I play it. almost forget auto selecting is worse. selects a guy no where near the opponent. really ea. if they fixed all those little problems then gg fifa but comn on. ur lucky this year as pes was just as bad but remember this. professional football players don't turn like tanks and look like there gonna collapse like a granny on crack. I do love this game but u have to be patient and not have a temper because I go fakking mental like I do watching my real life team. U have good moments that make u come back for me and then moments that make want to never ever play this game again just like my team. some games they win and some they lose but Christ almighty this game is MAD AS HELL. gg ea. Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2013
    1
    FIFA 14 is the worst FIFA of the franchise,the headed goals overpowered transform the game in a garbage, this game was the biggest crash EA has already made, undoubtedly. Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2014
    0
    I just bought the Fifa14 game and seriously wish I had read these reviews before doing so. This Fifa game is the worst of all. It is so clunky and disjointed. The screens are terribly slow to load, navigating is ridiculous.

    Come to game play and the only real word to describe it is horrible. Every second kick is offside. in one game, I had 11 offsides, while the CPU had 5 offsides itself. I'm serious, offside from a goal kick? Off side from a free kick, EA, do you actually know the rules of football? Offside if the player gets involved, not if he's over the other side of the pitch. are you serious? In the same game, the CPU must have some boot on him, 3 times he kicked it out for a goal kick, from his own goal kick, like wtf?

    Also, would have thought with the commentary, that you would know the names of teams and players by now, after 21 years of producing a football game, after all, they're built into your game. Commentators talk about "the team who won" etc, without saying the name of the team, same with "the player who scored deserved to score" again, use his name!!

    I find it astonishing that EA Sport have gone so far backwards with their gaming. Fifa 14 is without doubt the worst game to play or navigate. There is no way I will purchase Fifa 15, it would need a complete, start from scratch rebuild. I thought Fifa 12 was average, compared to Fifa 8 & 9, but my god, Fifa 14 is an absolute bomb. I want my money back!!
    Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    0
    The worst Fifa of all time. Players move with the agility of a bus. 70% of the crosses are goals. Players are slow, they can't change pace or direction without losing the ball. EA has done a great job of undoing all the good things they have done for the series in the past 5 years. Please fix this as soon as possible EA. Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2013
    0
    Despite my better judgement I decided to buy Fifa 14 this year after skipping the last game because it was so buggy. Now after having the game for only 1 day the FUT market is already down, all the items are stuck at completing. Nothing ever changes with Fifa, they take your money and then worry about the problems that come after that. Same old Fifa, same old problems! Expand

See all 167 User Reviews