User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 289 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 289

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2011
    3
    I think we should all respect EA for what they have TRIED to do with FIFA but thats not to say it works.

    From a FIFA player who sat ranked 7th in the UK, I can honestly say 12 is a step backwards.

    EA have almost compeltely abandoned making even the most obvous AI improvements. Defenders still stretch for over-the-top balls you know they won't get (same animation aswell). Players making
    off the ball runs continue to do so until they are 15+ yrds offside (i could go on...). With the 2 MAJOR new features however, I guess we could perhaps forgive EA for this... on 2nd thoughts no, the AI should improve every single year, it should be priority.


    the 2 major new features aimed to change footballing games forever.

    The first is the impact engine. And engine which calculates players spede, momentum, point of contact, and then makes them fall over accordingly. Unfortunatly however, this feature is still very much in development. It offers nothing to the game right now other than players flying up into the air and doing 360's and giving away very soft penalties. The way this feature functions right now... i'd expect to see a better version in a beta to be honest.

    The 2nd feature is "tactical defending" which again is a let down. I was excited to hear about this new feature hoping to would offer a whole new dimension of skill to defending. It does at first, as it takes some getting used to, but eventually when you figure it out, it starts to make for very boring games, and i'll explain.

    They now have a button called "contain" - by holding contain, you don't need to worry about using the directional stick - contain will mirror-image the attacker for you. You always maintain a distance of about 2 yards away aswell. It's very boring and forces your opponents to go backwards or play more passes. There is also very little skill in this - you are merely holding 1 button and alow the CPU to position your defender perfectly, every single time. I would actually say that the previous defence system required more skill as you didn't have this miracle "contain" button. It's a horible system that has changed the dynamic of the game - for the worse.
    Collapse
  2. Sep 28, 2011
    4
    Fifa 2012 is in my opinion not impressive. As with all previous versions this one has the same old problem where EA has worked hard on graphics but the player movements are all similar i.e. they look like zombies with their heads down and also execution of techniques are not user friendly and ridiculous. I would just add one thing to it, its a game for young people, under age may be. Its not for adults who want realism and proper usage of techniques. Its like always a disappointment. Nothing has changed. Besides, FIFA 2012 by EA is a commercial title. It lacks one important thing i.e. Game Play. Expand
  3. Oct 7, 2011
    3
    Not a waste of money, but almost...

    I bought this game as I am a great soccer fan, all the previous FIFAs were great, but this FIFA has not enough innovation, for exemple the impact engine is useless...
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    4
    ok seeing as my review was removed for what I dont know heres another...I have been a Fifa fan since 09 I was a pro fan before that. Fifa for me back then started to play like pro did ie it became fun. Fifa 11 for me was the writing on the wall that somthing was starting to "break". Fifa 12 has confirmed that. When you start to play Fifa 12 you think mans this is good..looks great, the tactical defending is different, good career mode, online is a gunna be a blast..yada yada yada....After you play it for a few hours you will become severely frustrated with the game, the tactical defending is hard and while some poeple will say "na you just gotta get used to it"...it will frustrate you. I am an avid football gamer and this will annoy you. Also the Ai is retarded. It only seems to go forward when you use the one two pass and when you are in or near the penalty box. The game is slooooow as well...you will want to turn it up to fast to get a decent game. As for the "player impact" the new so called engine..thats a joke, players will fall in all sorts of crazy ways ..its just not realistic..that definatly needs some work. So sorry Fifa lovers this is not the best iteration ..EA have tried something new I'll give them that, but you'll get fed up with this game unless your a Fanboy. Expand
  5. Oct 4, 2011
    0
    This game lack diversity and without champions and europa league it does not feel real. The only good thing about FIFA is the only mode but Konami managed to offer a smooth online expierence in this year's pes. Thats why PES2012 overall is the best soccer game of this decade and PES2013 maybe will be even better than PES6. FIFA is to commercial, its only about moneymaking. Try Master League Online on PES, which free-to play, its the best game mode in any soccer game. Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2011
    2
    I'm a huge FIFA fan and FIFA 12 is almost a good game.
    ALMOST.
    Who in the world would think that letting the player control the GK in online modes would be a good idea?
    It's a HUGE exploit. Just press Select and watch the CPU doing your job for you.
    So now, playing online means: Your opponent will only attack, the CPU will defend for him.
    A HUGE mistake, EA. HUGE
  7. Nov 11, 2011
    3
    Technically it is nice, but What is the most important in a game ? to Play !!! Play !!! Play !!! This FIFA12, as FIFA11 is boring to play. No fun. Don't buy this sh... !!!
    Don't buy PES2012 too... Which is worse than FIFA12 !!!
    My advice: buy PES2011, you'll save your money and will play to a great and FUN soccer game !!!
  8. Dec 6, 2011
    3
    Over the years its fair to say that Fifa has made some serious ground on pro evo and in recent years been the better game peaking last year. Again this year I have played both and I just cant believe what a step back Fifa 12 has taken, its age old problems are there in that the game is too slow and the pitch is too small, but it just plays like football for dummies. Its like its almost impossible to mis place a pass or a shot. The graphics are good, the commentary superb, but when these aspects are getting called out as the games good points and not the actual game play its not a good sign. Expand
  9. Dec 6, 2011
    1
    The game must be one of the worst game published in at very long time. Have EA even played the game to check if it was acceptable. The players you dont control are very lame. They cant take the ball even though the ball i 1 meter next to him. Besides that the players dont make runs nearly enough. They just dont move. I could go on for 100 pages.
  10. Jan 26, 2012
    3
    I can almost see the point of the new defending system, when it works it does look realistic, but there are major problems - on occasion you can end up covering a player with two men and he just runs off down his own end of the pitch and knocks it out for a very attacking throw-in. Endless tactical fiddling still hasn't left me with a team where people go for overlapping runs at the right time either, players will stick rigidly to their positions even on the most daring 'free form' setting (well, except if you play as Barcelona!), which is again incredibly frustrating, since there's no longer a button to trigger this action. Final and biggest frustration is reserved for Ultimate Team - this was one of my favourite features in the older versions of the games and has been utterly ruined by the decision to make it an online only feature - so far as I can see there is no good reason for this, and though I have a good broadband connection, I have yet to be able to make it through any game on this mode without being kicked off the servers. Really hoping Konami get their act together, the only way I can see these issues getting fixed is if EA has some proper competition once again Expand
  11. Oct 10, 2011
    4
    I don't care about online because i love single mode (carrer mode) and i have to say this game is very boooooring. Too slow gameplay, unbetable AI and all matches seems sames. The ways you can score are sames every time. It is the most overrated game so far. I enjoyed fifa until Fifa 10 and World cup 2010.
    Very boring game.
  12. Dec 17, 2011
    0
    The game has a lot of improvements but Tactical Defending ruined it. Also, they're focusing only in the online part, the AI is a joke, the games are fixed, there are matches that you can't win no matter how many times you repeat it and every team plays like barca when they're in possession of the ball even if its a 1-star team, the only difference its that they wont score.
  13. Nov 19, 2011
    2
    This game is absolutely brilliant...if you support a top flight team. FIFA appears fluid and outstanding. But as a supporter of a team in a lower league, FIFA becomes completely unplayable. Passes go wayward, shots from mere yards go flying wide. FIFA has tried to become the most realistic game, and has failed miserably. I don't remember going to watch a low league football match and not seeing one shot on target. Unless you play on beginner mode, you are going to find little luck trying to build your way up in career mode. Buying new players is equally impossible. Budgets are pitifully small, and completely unrealistic. A League 2 football club has more than £12,000 to spend on players. As I said, this is a great game if you plan on staying as higher league clubs, but dare to go lower and it becomes unbelievably poor. What happened to FIFA of the old days when stringing 4 passes together was possible? This game is a shadow of what it was, spoiled by an unrealistic target of making it true to life. I do not want to play a realistic football video game, I want to play a football game that is fun. Until the fun element returns to FIFA, I feel it will continue going downhill. Expand
  14. Nov 7, 2011
    0
    Getting more and more frustrated with this game. Seems to me only the selected player is defending (when controlling the whole team). The other defenders just run around the opponent's attackers without trying to get the ball from them, making it damn near impossible to effectively defend against enemy attacks. Attacking yourself doesn't go much better either, since the same problem arises, and your fellow A.I.-ed team members, no matter how good your team, are like they've never played a single football match before this one. Nobody is looking for an opening in the defensive lines, if you stop running allowing your fellow team members to run into openings they either run in completely wrong directions or just stop running alltogether. When you actually come to shooting the chances of the ball hitting the posts or the frame of the goal is like 400% higher than scoring. In the past 7 matches I've hit the frame about 18 times and got to score about 3 goals. It's so damn annoying, after playing this for a few matches I get so sick and tired of the way it handles I just shut it down. Forgot about the keeper causing completely unnecessary corners diving onto the ball when it's not needed and by the diving pushes the ball over the back line, the defenders being so damn moronic it leads to multiple own goals on occassion out of pure stupidity of the AI, the players being offside not being clever enough to not chase the ball, passes going to hell cuz it's impossible to specify which player should get it when you got 3 attackers running in a pretty much same area on the field, in some cases the game passes somewhere completely different from where you tell it to pass, the player you get by pressing L1 is sometimes beyond illogic, not to mention the screen freezes while playing a match, aswell as random loss of detailed frames from time to time. Alltogether I'm not getting any fun out of this game. My advice is to stick with Fifa 2011, and not get this waste of money. Expand
  15. Oct 13, 2011
    0
    The GK exploit ruins this game on H2H online modes!
    If someone wants to play against the AI CPU, there is the offline modes.
    If someone like to play like a gk, put it as option in the pre-config, previously to online selection. (taking it off would be better).
    An exploit is always an exploit. and online, it kills the online spirit and the human factor.
    online is made to play against
    humans, not AI CPU!
    Hope they removed it in the next very very faraway patch...
    It would be a good policy from EA, to announce a decision about this issue
    Expand
  16. Oct 16, 2011
    3
    A complete step back in the wrong direction. Sinse having a ps3 i changed from pro evo to fifa because I was impressed by fifas fast flowing gameplay and relastic version of the beautiful game. In fifa 12 i am now considering going back to pro evo. Defending has become impossible , fifa must be the first football game ever when by clicking a standing tackle button a player kicks mid air and miss times the tackle almost 9/10 times. The new defnding startegy is shocking it gives to much advantage to the attacking team all the time. Penalties are a joke nearly every time u get near an oppostion player in the box and press curcle u can garentee it will be a penalty. It seems like there trying too hjard to be realstic, why couldnt they just stick to what they already have wich was good. All the options on the game are brillinat i can credit fifa for that, but when completing an ultimate team match suddeny it dosent record it and u lose the game. Players are also overated, how is robben rated 90 and Fulham a 4 and a half star team. Keepers parry nearly every shot which has reminded me alot of pro evo. Hopefully new updates will come out to give u the option of going back to the old defneding like in every other single football game that has been released. FIFA 12 YOUR A LET DOWN. Expand
  17. Oct 19, 2011
    0
    The AI is the worst of any FIFA game ever. They wanted to make the defense more "realistic" but made it so your computer defenders do absolutely nothing unless you control them and no offensive players make runs on their own.
  18. Oct 29, 2011
    0
    Fifa same old s**t different title the fact that people still waste there money on this game completely confuses me this is just save your money for skyrim or another big release this year
  19. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    After several years of improvements to the game, FIFA 12 is a disaster of an update. The new impact engine delivers ridiculous outcomes and is basically broken, leading to frustration and infuriating unpredictability. You might say that this is part of football, well that is fair comment, but this is supposed to be a fun game and not a total simulation. The result is often 2 AI controlled defenders running into each other at crucial moments and falling over.
    The new defending makes it so easy to score online you end up with more 8-5 results than 2-1's because you can basically jink around as an attacker and unless you have the timing of , well a computer basically, the attacker gets through for a clear strike on goal.
    The animations on tricks have all changed to make them useless except for the double tap ahead which allows players to swan through defenders like they were ghosts.
    I am trading the game in I hate it so much, which, having played FIFA religously since FIFA09, is a sad state.
    Expand
  20. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    what a waste of money, the worst fifa game i have certainly played, i feel the graphics are the same as fifa 09 and i prefare and still play fifa 11, absolutly terrable
  21. Nov 15, 2011
    4
    its ok. graphics are better game play is fun but they are lacking alot and its because people just keep buying it its the same game! with minor tweaks is bs! and the new engines in place i barely see i mean impact engine nonexistent never happens tackle ? really cmon man what about including cups or the world cup a whole game! fifa 98 still the best game
  22. Mar 25, 2012
    1
    FIFA is the only football (I'm not from USA) gaming franchise that I like to play since the 90s. Mainly for the licensed teams and players but after FIFA 08 the improved gameplay was noticeable. But I can also tell this is the last iteration I'd buy. The cheating AI that, no matter what you do, scores as if it was scripted and the eternal loading times (more that five minutes to start a game) are a game breaker experience for me now. Expand
  23. May 6, 2012
    3
    While I will admit this FIFA is easily the most realistic football game around. I will also admit, the stuff that all the people that are paid to review these games are afraid to admit, this game, has so many bugs in it that it's destroyed.
    Player development in career mode is broken, players on other teams will develop much quicker than your players (one player called Leandro, went from
    71, to 79 in 1 season, then when I signed him in a new season, he only went to 74). refs make very poor decisions, defenders are lazy, the auto switch rarely switches to the best player for you to use, and even when you press L1 it'll switch to a stupid player. The online is broken, pro clubs lags a lot. The only good aspect of the game is Ultimate Team. But I even had that glitch on me and I lost my entire team. Phoned EA up, they refused to give me the club value coins to get a new squad, so I actually asked them for a refund and they never replied Expand
  24. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    I think we should all respect EA for what they have TRIED to do with FIFA but thats not to say it works.

    From a FIFA player who sat ranked 7th in the UK, I can honestly say 12 is a step backwards.

    EA have almost compeltely abandoned making even the most obvous AI improvements. Defenders still stretch for over-the-top balls you know they won't get (same animation aswell). Players making
    off the ball runs continue to do so until they are 15+ yrds offside (i could go on...). With the 2 MAJOR new features however, I guess we could perhaps forgive EA for this... on 2nd thoughts no, the AI should improve every single year, it should be priority.


    the 2 major new features aimed to change footballing games forever.

    The first is the impact engine. And engine which calculates players spede, momentum, point of contact, and then makes them fall over accordingly. Unfortunatly however, this feature is still very much in development. It offers nothing to the game right now other than players flying up into the air and doing 360's and giving away very soft penalties. The way this feature functions right now... i'd expect to see a better version in a beta to be honest.

    The 2nd feature is "tactical defending" which again is a let down. I was excited to hear about this new feature hoping to would offer a whole new dimension of skill to defending. It does at first, as it takes some getting used to, but eventually when you figure it out, it starts to make for very boring games, and i'll explain.

    They now have a button called "contain" - by holding contain, you don't need to worry about using the directional stick - contain will mirror-image the attacker for you. You always maintain a distance of about 2 yards away aswell. It's very boring and forces your opponents to go backwards or play more passes. There is also very little skill in this - you are merely holding 1 button and alow the CPU to position your defender perfectly, every single time. I would actually say that the previous defence system required more skill as you didn't have this miracle "contain" button. It's a horible system that has changed the dynamic of the game - for the worse.
    Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Mar 29, 2012
    90
    All in all, FIFA 12 is another spectacular game in the series. The differences between this game and the real thing continue to be chipped away at, and with the depth of material available in this title you can really submerge yourself into beautiful game.
  2. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    FIFA 12 takes realism to an all-time high in sports games. The innovative changes in gameplay mechanics, much needed changes to career mode, and additional online modes makes this one of the most complete FIFA packages to date. If you're a true football fan, you'd be remiss to pass up FIFA 12 - even if you own FIFA 11.
  3. Nov 27, 2011
    86
    There's a feeling that FIFA might be running out of ideas. [Issue#210, p.83]