Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 289 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Inspired by Lionel Messi, experience the freedom and control to be more creative in attack. Face an opponent to threaten attack while moving with the ball in any direction utilizing precise dribble touches to dodge tackles, or turn and shield the ball, holding off defenders for longer stretches. With Complete Dribbling it’s easier to be more dangerous in 1v1 opportunities. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    100
    This is the icing on the cake of a great generation of football games. FIFA 13 achieves excellence in almost everything: gameplay, modes, social elements and online experience.
  2. Sep 20, 2012
    94
    FIFA 13 is the most realistic and complete football game available, full of content to keep us busy till the end of the season. It looks for imperfection in every match –when controlling the ball, shooting, passing, etc.– in order to bring an experience closer to real football, something that some players might not like, even though we consider it's a fresh addition to the gameplay. Once again, the football game we would recommend.
  3. It's very good, as we now expect. This year's installment just isn't a revolutionary leap. [Nov 2012, p.81]
  4. 90
    EA Sports keeps its football/soccer franchise at the top with more realistic Match Days and gameplay in FIFA 13. The formula hasn't changed much, but the overall package is once again as good as it gets.
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    90
    While it does more iterating than innovating this year, FIFA stands alone atop a somewhat small heap of competition to remain the soccer game you want if you only want one soccer game.
  6. Sep 24, 2012
    88
    FIFA 13 captures a lot of the passion and pageantry of world football, but beneath the surface its gameplay flaws can hinder the beautiful movements that truly make the sport great.
  7. Sep 25, 2012
    40
    FIFA's action on the attack and near the goal has always been subpar, but I've cut it some slack in the past due to upgrades and improvements in other areas. Not this year-this is as weak an effort as I've seen from FIFA in a decade, and the whole affair screams "Roster Update 2013" from the get-go.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 93
  2. Negative: 37 out of 93
  1. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    FIFA is amazing!! The franchise made a massive leap with FIFA 11, this has improved incrementally with FIFA 12 and FIFA 13.

    FIFA 13 is the
    best sports game to date. Collapse
  2. FRG
    Jul 24, 2013
    10
    is way better than PES 2013,is more realistic and is more fun.Its better than any soccer game i ever played in my life,finally a good one!.Absoluty worth picking up. Expand
  3. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    Good game but sometimes excellent W. a. A. Olol Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2012
    6
    They dumb down the First touch and the control of the ball, so you can no longer dribble the ball like a professional players but more like a 12 years old kid who just learn to play this game.
    It does give the casual gamers a better chance to score.

    They did somewhat improve the shooting mechanics, as it was too easy to shoot in the predecessor. This time you can shoot with the swerve and often time this swerve tend to get in between post or leave you wondering what if.

    I suppose of you have never watch or play football, this game would appeal to you, but two weekends ago I saw Shinji Ono pluck the ball out of a air and I said GOD, howcome not even Messi could do that in FIFA 13, then I realize it is only a game and could never ever replicate real football.
    Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    4
    What the hell was EA Sports thinking when they made this game its just so bad compared to fifa 12. Okay im not that bothered with the first touch system because i really come across it but its the brain dead AI its just so bad in defense they run out of possession and in attack they will not make runs. Also EA said they fixed the impact engine lies its probably even worse when my player gets taken out he will stay on the floor for about 10 seconds and he's not even injured. The only good thing about this game is probably the career mode were the glitches don't really come into play. Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2012
    2
    I threw my controller against the wall several times playing this game, so incredibly frustrating. this is just from online FUT play, i havent even tried single player yet:
    1. every single player can blast perfect shots from 40 yards out. every game consists of just peppering the keeper from outside the box until a few go in.
    2. keepers suck and even top rated ones are always out of position and let stupid goals in.
    3. First touch is awful. Good teams are better and ball sticks to their feet, but lower teams cant pass worth a crap. gone are the days of beating barcelona with a 3 star team online, good luck just trying to keep possession.
    4. All defenders seem to be rated 99 in standing tackle, skills are useless as its impossible to dribble around anybody.
    5.all goals just seem like result of bullsh*t plays, either a defender does something stupid, or it autoswitches when its not supposed to, or a keeper punches a ball right to the attacker. I played over 200 games already and at first i thought i just needed to adjust, but now its clear that its much worse than fifa 12. there is not sense of excitement or clever play, its all just dumb luck and team rating.
    Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2013
    0
    LOL, I couldn't play this game in local multiplayer because I had a wired PS2 controller connected as Player 2 instead of a freaking Wireless PS3 controller. No, seriously, that's EXACTLY what it said, something along the lines of "You can't play with a wired controller!"

    What a joke. Good thing the game was borrowed from the same friend who tried to play on my system. The rest of the game is not that bad but this just killed it for me.

    Also, online passes? Really? That was the nail in the coffin. 0/0
    Expand

See all 93 User Reviews