Fight Night Champion PlayStation 3

Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
Buy On
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Mar 24, 2011
    70
    Everything that's good about Fight Night Champion is the stuff that's been least fiddled with from Round 4. [Apr 2011, p.100]
  2. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Mar 13, 2011
    70
    It's by no means a disaster but the tweaks have left it wobbling on its feet. [Apr 2011, p.84]
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    70
    It doesn't do a very good job through the story mode at introducing newcomers to the mechanics of the game and it can quickly devolve into something that hardly resembles a "sweet science" when players aren't sure what they're doing, but once you get the hang of how the game works, it's a thing of beauty.
  4. Mar 2, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Feb 28, 2011
    70
    Still the best boxing sim around but the justification for this new sequel is pretty thin, despite a number of minor improvements.
  6. Feb 22, 2011
    70
    There's just not quite enough meat on Fight Night Champion's bones to recommend it to owners of previous games, however, and Champion mode itself is little more than a brief diversion you can bash through in an afternoon.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. Apr 11, 2011
    5
    Fight Night Champions had a lot of potential after coming off a good string of previous games but after playing a good amount of this game iFight Night Champions had a lot of potential after coming off a good string of previous games but after playing a good amount of this game i felt really underwhelmed. I have been playing Fight Night games for years and have seen a good evolution in the gameplay and realism but with Champions i feel it fell flat. Overall the graphics of the game were improved but nothing to shout about, there was no major changes from FN4 but seeing as the graphics from that game were good that's not really a bad thing. In my opinion its the gameplay, presentation and the modes are the weak point of this game, I feel that the gameplay in FNC has took a step back, the new punching controls can be a bit chaotic at times and you will find your boxer throw all different kind of punches when all you wanted was two jabs, as you go on this will iron itself out but still the stick movement can be annoying. When it comes to presentation of this game it is major deja vu, all of the presentation has simply been recycled from the previous titles and put into this game. The boxer entrances are exactly the same, the arena's are exactly the same, the commentary seems mostly unchanged and that's just some of things, i understand that not every year can be different but at least do some changes and make the game feel a little more unique then just feel like a FN4 DLC pack. When it comes to the modes the game both shows a good side and a bad side and i will start with the new Champion Mode, Champion Mode is a very interesting edition to the game and offers a good change to what we have come to expect for sports games but its nothing to leap out your seat for. The story is a fairly run of the mill rags to riches boxing story and offers a alright plot and some good fights, i think that if the can expand on this mode in the future it could be something special. The next mode i would rather not talk about but i feel i must, Legacy Mode has built a firm place in the Fight Night Series but the one problem it has is that it hasn't changed an awful lot since it came about and with FNC it is no exception and like i said with the presentation its just recycled. Legacy has had minor changes but overall its the same old and is a huge disappointment for a mode that i usually spent hours in.

    Overall Fight Night Champions has been a bit of a let down, when i saw early trailers and screenshots i felt like we were getting a rebooted and more addictive game but to be honest the game feels recycled and the changes that have been made don't bring a whole lot to the game, i felt like i was playing DLC for a previous game instead of getting a new experience.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 2, 2011
    9
    This is the best Fight Night game in quite a few years. The story mode, although short is a lot of fun, and allows you to use mulitpleThis is the best Fight Night game in quite a few years. The story mode, although short is a lot of fun, and allows you to use mulitple fighting styles. I like that the game play is more fluent and much more user friendly then the previous installment (round 4). If you are a fan of boxing or earlier Fight Night games then this is a must have title. Full Review »
  3. Mar 21, 2011
    6
    Wasted opportunity. the Fight model itself has so much potential but its about as realistic as street fighter with none of the consistency orWasted opportunity. the Fight model itself has so much potential but its about as realistic as street fighter with none of the consistency or fairness. Far far too easy to wobble an opponent or get wobbled yourself - most legacy fights descend into bar room brawls which is just dull dull dull. Champion mode is fun if a bit cliched but the fight against the Champ himself just highlights all the flaws and inconsistencies in the game itself. Legacy mode is a travesty and is borderline broken. Whoever programmed / designed that part ought to get their marching orders as it was awful on the last game and hasnt got any better. Such a shame as it has the potential to be brilliant but they seemed to have aimed it at 5 years old with attention deficit syndrome rather than anyone who is interested in the sport or even in balanced fighting games. Oh and online is a waste of time. Full Review »