Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Mar 8, 2011
    100
    The game looks the part, sounds the part, and certainly plays the part. Topped off with a wealth of options that will keep you playing for hours on end, and an addictive online mode, Fight Night is just what the game's subtitle suggest...it's a Champion.
  2. Mar 4, 2011
    100
    We are finally beginning to see innovation within sports video games and Fight Night Champion truly is step forward not only for boxing but sports video games in general. It not only proves that stories can be an integral part of a sports video game but can be one of it's best. Fight Night Champion is the best boxing game out and in the conversation of best sports game of this generation.
  3. 100
    Without the new Champion Mode, it would have been yet another successful installment under EA's belt. But thanks to the game's new Champion Mode, Fight Night Champion brings passion back to the sport of boxing and makes for the most entertaining sports game of all time. Fight Night Champion is a knockout, hands down.
  4. Feb 23, 2011
    100
    Champion mode is so good, in fact, that the more traditional Legacy mode feels hopelessly archaic and soulless by comparison.
  5. Feb 28, 2011
    93
    With Fight Night Champion, the series has gotten leaner and smarter, and has packed on the features. In short, it puts in the effort to live up to its name.
  6. Mar 23, 2011
    91
    As it stands, Fight Night Champion is the best in the series to date for me, making the sweet science all the sweeter.
  7. Mar 1, 2011
    91
    EA has taken its time to make another Fight Night game, but it has given a new twist to the game, making it one of the best boxing games ever.
  8. Feb 23, 2011
    91
    One of the biggest, and most appreciated, changes is the toning down of the training mini-games. In story mode, you hit the bag every great once in a while but you aren't required to lift weights and run laps in twitch-reaction style as you might expect.
  9. For a generation weaned on Rocky movies Fight Night Champion is the ultimate boxing experience. It sounds like a throwaway sentence, really. A platitude you toss at an otherwise good game to get the hard work out of the way. It's completely true though... What's particularly clever about Champion Mode is the way it pulls strings in the background to heighten the tension. During the fights throughout the story you might find yourself nursing a broken hand, or suddenly at the mercy of a bent referee or a desk full of bribed judges. Champion Mode will uppercut you with surprises like these, ones that require you to adjust the way you're fighting, across its duration. Champion Mode is bold, different and we absolutely want more of it. [May 2011 p.70]
  10. May 24, 2011
    90
    Stunning visuals and a great champion mode make Fight Night Champion the best game in the series.
  11. Mar 17, 2011
    90
    Finish with the option to inflict pain online to friends and random contenders and you're looking at the most definitely Fight Night yet.
  12. Mar 15, 2011
    90
    Fight Night has tirelessly rebuilt itself when many expected retirement. Cautious improvements from Round 4 - the removal of the cut-man game and automation of recovery - have been confidently reinforced, while ring physics, ragdolls and cloth dynamics are in a different class to the chaotic Round 3. [Apr 2011, p.103]
  13. 90
    If you want to feel the emotion and adrenaline of this sport without entering the ring, you will not find better than Fight Night Champion.
  14. Mar 6, 2011
    90
    Definitely an improvement over its already incredible lineage. The Champion mode is fantastic, and nearly worth the price of admission on its own. Couple that with the rock-solid gameplay and suite of great online modes, and you have a game that's fit for not only huge boxing fans, but anyone that likes to beat up on their friends a bit.
  15. Feb 23, 2011
    90
    Some areas shine brighter than others, but the developer's inspired Champion mode is the star feature that must be experienced.
  16. Feb 23, 2011
    90
    The story mode adds an entire new aspect to EA's boxing masterpiece, at the same time polishing the physics simulation and overall gameplay of the career. If you like the sport, it's again a must buy.
  17. Feb 23, 2011
    90
    Fight Night Champion floats like a butterfly and stings like a bee, times two. A solid knock-out!
  18. Mar 16, 2011
    89
    One of the best Fight Night games ever. Besides the traditional Legacy and online modes, there is now also an Champion mode. This mode will tell you a story and you will play an important role in it. It's fantastic, but way to short. Besides of that, still one of the better fighting games at the moment.
  19. Mar 21, 2011
    88
    Improving vastly upon Fight Night Round 3's compartmentalised battles while retaining its sequel's silky-smooth animation, Champion is a triumph. [Issue#203, p.80]
  20. Mar 7, 2011
    88
    The whole production is just exceedingly well done. Between online and Champion Mode, it's a legitimate Sports Game of the Year contender; it's just too bad that I couldn't quite get into the Legacy Mode.
  21. Feb 24, 2011
    88
    Champion is a fantastic boxing game that really delivers the sport in a realistic way for fight fans. Additions like the Champion mode makes this iteration shine even more.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27
  1. Apr 11, 2011
    5
    Fight Night Champions had a lot of potential after coming off a good string of previous games but after playing a good amount of this game iFight Night Champions had a lot of potential after coming off a good string of previous games but after playing a good amount of this game i felt really underwhelmed. I have been playing Fight Night games for years and have seen a good evolution in the gameplay and realism but with Champions i feel it fell flat. Overall the graphics of the game were improved but nothing to shout about, there was no major changes from FN4 but seeing as the graphics from that game were good that's not really a bad thing. In my opinion its the gameplay, presentation and the modes are the weak point of this game, I feel that the gameplay in FNC has took a step back, the new punching controls can be a bit chaotic at times and you will find your boxer throw all different kind of punches when all you wanted was two jabs, as you go on this will iron itself out but still the stick movement can be annoying. When it comes to presentation of this game it is major deja vu, all of the presentation has simply been recycled from the previous titles and put into this game. The boxer entrances are exactly the same, the arena's are exactly the same, the commentary seems mostly unchanged and that's just some of things, i understand that not every year can be different but at least do some changes and make the game feel a little more unique then just feel like a FN4 DLC pack. When it comes to the modes the game both shows a good side and a bad side and i will start with the new Champion Mode, Champion Mode is a very interesting edition to the game and offers a good change to what we have come to expect for sports games but its nothing to leap out your seat for. The story is a fairly run of the mill rags to riches boxing story and offers a alright plot and some good fights, i think that if the can expand on this mode in the future it could be something special. The next mode i would rather not talk about but i feel i must, Legacy Mode has built a firm place in the Fight Night Series but the one problem it has is that it hasn't changed an awful lot since it came about and with FNC it is no exception and like i said with the presentation its just recycled. Legacy has had minor changes but overall its the same old and is a huge disappointment for a mode that i usually spent hours in.

    Overall Fight Night Champions has been a bit of a let down, when i saw early trailers and screenshots i felt like we were getting a rebooted and more addictive game but to be honest the game feels recycled and the changes that have been made don't bring a whole lot to the game, i felt like i was playing DLC for a previous game instead of getting a new experience.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 2, 2011
    9
    This is the best Fight Night game in quite a few years. The story mode, although short is a lot of fun, and allows you to use mulitpleThis is the best Fight Night game in quite a few years. The story mode, although short is a lot of fun, and allows you to use mulitple fighting styles. I like that the game play is more fluent and much more user friendly then the previous installment (round 4). If you are a fan of boxing or earlier Fight Night games then this is a must have title. Full Review »
  3. Mar 21, 2011
    6
    Wasted opportunity. the Fight model itself has so much potential but its about as realistic as street fighter with none of the consistency orWasted opportunity. the Fight model itself has so much potential but its about as realistic as street fighter with none of the consistency or fairness. Far far too easy to wobble an opponent or get wobbled yourself - most legacy fights descend into bar room brawls which is just dull dull dull. Champion mode is fun if a bit cliched but the fight against the Champ himself just highlights all the flaws and inconsistencies in the game itself. Legacy mode is a travesty and is borderline broken. Whoever programmed / designed that part ought to get their marching orders as it was awful on the last game and hasnt got any better. Such a shame as it has the potential to be brilliant but they seemed to have aimed it at 5 years old with attention deficit syndrome rather than anyone who is interested in the sport or even in balanced fighting games. Oh and online is a waste of time. Full Review »