Fight Night Champion PlayStation 3

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 86
  2. Negative: 11 out of 86

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 2, 2011
    9
    This is the best Fight Night game in quite a few years. The story mode, although short is a lot of fun, and allows you to use mulitple fighting styles. I like that the game play is more fluent and much more user friendly then the previous installment (round 4). If you are a fan of boxing or earlier Fight Night games then this is a must have title.
  2. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    Its not perfect, the gaming experience is still based on the previous Fight Night incarnations, but the revamped visuals are enough to elevate this title from mere computer game to breathtaking media product. There is certainly nothing wrong with the Fight Night formula but I get the feeling that they are still missing a key element when recreating the personality of boxing. However myIts not perfect, the gaming experience is still based on the previous Fight Night incarnations, but the revamped visuals are enough to elevate this title from mere computer game to breathtaking media product. There is certainly nothing wrong with the Fight Night formula but I get the feeling that they are still missing a key element when recreating the personality of boxing. However my criticisms are very harsh and the new Champion mode has been a long time coming for sure. 91/100 Collapse
  3. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best boxing sim game ever.

    Champion mode takes the role of Andre Bishop and his story from rise to fall and getting back up again. The story was made by a well known writer and it did not disappoint. Although it seems that the story maybe predictable ,but the plot overall is awesome. Legacy mode is like FNR4 but adds some new features like amateur fights and new trainings. The trainings however to some maybe frustrating at times. Online is where FNC shines with online gyms , Online word championship , and rivalries you will never get tired of FNC.

    This is a must buy although expect some DLC mid march.
    Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2011
    8
    I'm totally blown away with this game. I haven't played a boxing game since the arcade days of Glass Joe and that Turkish dude, so I've come into the Fight Night franchise as a newbie and really, really like what I see. The meat and potatoes of this game is the Legacy mode that let's you create your own boxer and bring him up in the ranks of the boxing world, and it is challenging. BoxingI'm totally blown away with this game. I haven't played a boxing game since the arcade days of Glass Joe and that Turkish dude, so I've come into the Fight Night franchise as a newbie and really, really like what I see. The meat and potatoes of this game is the Legacy mode that let's you create your own boxer and bring him up in the ranks of the boxing world, and it is challenging. Boxing strategy really needs to come to play on how to adjust your fighting style during matches and the game doesn't hold your hand and tell you what to do. It is all on you if you are going to become a champion or be retired early because you've basically ended up face down on the mat too many times. Expect callouses on your thumbs in the first week. There is a very engrossing story mode to this game that last as long as a play through of a Modern Warfare storyline. I played this first and it actually acted as a tutorial while at the same time making me feel like I was playing a game. Very ingenius of these developers on that front because that is where I learn how to develop my own strategies for my own boxer. You can play head to head against a friend choosing from a historical list of greats, and you also have the option of choosing your own legacy creation. Overall, great graphics, the announcing is well done and is spot on to the action going on in the ring, and very life like animations. The only bad I've experienced with this game is the slower than slow movement of your fighter, which although is more life-like, caused me to over compensate on the left analog stick which ended up pressing off the the rubber top fixated to it. In the last several weeks I've gone through two controlers and I'm leary of playing this game any more because I only have one left that hasn't been damaged. If it wasn't for that I would have given this game a ten, and while not EA's fault so to say, perhaps this game would be better on an Xbox and save some of your controllers. Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    The only complaint I have about this game is the announcers. After 5 rounds they start saying the same thing over and over. But other then that, you would be hard pressed to find a better boxing simulation. The graphcis are amazing, the gameplay is simpler and champion mode is awsome. Any boxing fan should love this one.
  6. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    I have owned Fight Night Round 3, Round 4, and now Champion. In my opinion, I think Champion is the best fight night in the series as of yet. The Spectrum control is very nice. It allows you to be able to throw combos very quickly but yet, you have to fight smart because you don't want to drain your stamina. The way they changed the blocking is very nice. You don't have to push up or downI have owned Fight Night Round 3, Round 4, and now Champion. In my opinion, I think Champion is the best fight night in the series as of yet. The Spectrum control is very nice. It allows you to be able to throw combos very quickly but yet, you have to fight smart because you don't want to drain your stamina. The way they changed the blocking is very nice. You don't have to push up or down to block head or body on your own, which is nice because people used to spam your body or head and this would be very stressful. Another words, this is more noob friendly, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. Punches can still get through even though your trying to block all day. The online is silking smooth, never disconnected in my 40 online fights. Great buy, go for it! Expand
  7. Mar 9, 2011
    8
    There have been some improvements and some glaring step backs from the previous installment. Firstly the improvements: Visuals have been greatly improved and the modern day boxers like Haye,Cotto and Mosley look just like the real life models.

    Gameplay: wider range of punches including hookercuts and step in jabs and straights as well as punches penetrating the guard. Much harder to body
    There have been some improvements and some glaring step backs from the previous installment. Firstly the improvements: Visuals have been greatly improved and the modern day boxers like Haye,Cotto and Mosley look just like the real life models.

    Gameplay: wider range of punches including hookercuts and step in jabs and straights as well as punches penetrating the guard. Much harder to body spam and use cheap side step counter punch tactics.

    Audio: A much better selection of music for the opening menu but this is not to be mistaken for the terrible sound effects which i will address later.
    The dissapointments: Boxer ratings: The ratings are all over the place and are very inaccurate especially with the heavyweight division. Sonny Listons jab is given a mere 13/20 when he had one of the best jabs in history. Joe Frazier is a mere 88 overall when he was one of the best heavyweights in history. Oscar De La Hoya is rated a overhyped 92 but has a chin rating of only 16/20 when he had a great chin, i could go on and on but to sum up, the ratings are terrible.

    Gameplay: The heavyweight division boxers have very wierd punch connection animation and this especially apparent with boxers who are not modern. The blocking system is now automatic which takes away a tactical element of the game. Audio: The punch connection sound is terrible and sounds like trash cannisters being dropped. very irritating.

    Overall: Taken one step forward and 1 1/2 steps back in my opinion.
    Expand
  8. Mar 22, 2011
    8
    Quite simply the best Fight Night game available. FNR 4 was a good game but not a knockout, well the good news Fight Night Champion delivers an amazing gaming experience. With an updated roster now including David Haye, the Klitchko's, De La Hoya as well as the usual suspects and more FNC has plenty to offer. The main new feature of this Fight Night is Champion mode. Stepping into theQuite simply the best Fight Night game available. FNR 4 was a good game but not a knockout, well the good news Fight Night Champion delivers an amazing gaming experience. With an updated roster now including David Haye, the Klitchko's, De La Hoya as well as the usual suspects and more FNC has plenty to offer. The main new feature of this Fight Night is Champion mode. Stepping into the boots of Andre Bishop and following his rise to the top, his fall to the bottom and his journey to back to be the best. Its an incredibly well written story, although it may seem a little predictable, it certainly delivers and keeps you playing on. The Legacy mode is same as ever, and that is really the only disappointment of this game not enough has been done to keep this moving along and it can become rather boring and extremely frustrating especially in the gym sessions. Gameplay introduces the Full Spectrum mode which is a fantastic addition allowing you to be more slick and smooth and almost effortless and easy to get to grips with. Blocking is now straightforward holding in the blocking button the AI immediately blocks the area where your being targeted. Graphically its once again very impressive, the slow-mo replays may not be inspiring but they get across how accurate and bone chilling each punch can be. The Online mode is addictive as ever, much improved and with more to do this time round. You can arrange tournaments with friends online to sort out who is the true Champion or you can simply create gyms to train and spar. Expand
  9. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Ok, so I've played a few fight games in my day, and this is the most balanced game out there....which for some people will be a plus and others will hate it...because you actually have to box. The analog controls are amazing, and playing this game with friends a lot of fun. Now that the game has been out for a couple months it's the perfect time to pick it up for a discount, making itOk, so I've played a few fight games in my day, and this is the most balanced game out there....which for some people will be a plus and others will hate it...because you actually have to box. The analog controls are amazing, and playing this game with friends a lot of fun. Now that the game has been out for a couple months it's the perfect time to pick it up for a discount, making it an even better value...If you can get it for 30 to 50% off retail (yes that's possible) don't hesitate to pick it up. Enjoy Expand
  10. Jul 14, 2011
    9
    I heard that this game was going to be much darker than Fight Night Round 4, and I thought it wasn't going to be good. But I have to say I love it and I think its the best Fight Night game.
  11. Jan 7, 2012
    9
    The best Fight Night title to date. I would even go as far as saying the best sports game of the year. The graphics are superb, the sounds in and out of the ring are great, and the gameplay is better than ever. The story mode is great fun and I enjoyed every second of it. The online is deep and can become addictive. A must-own title for boxing fans.
  12. Aug 16, 2013
    8
    This is a great improvement over all other fight night games. Graphics are great only weird hit detection when you are in close with a long reach fighter irritates me but when you connect with a fully extended blow know matter what it is is a beautiful thing offline or online but for me the best part is the online human opponents give you a lot more counter opportunities which isThis is a great improvement over all other fight night games. Graphics are great only weird hit detection when you are in close with a long reach fighter irritates me but when you connect with a fully extended blow know matter what it is is a beautiful thing offline or online but for me the best part is the online human opponents give you a lot more counter opportunities which is satisfying every time. A lot of people are complaining about the high skill people online compared totheir created boxer. I do hate to say because I had to do it but to really compete online you need to buy all the add on boosts and you will have a. Fighting chance because rarely are these high rated boxers that skilled at the game and you get a fantastic knockout. Just get this game and upgrade your fighter or only play with friends that just upgrade the right way but for me I wouldn't trade my boosted boxer for anything. Let's get it!!! Expand
  13. Oct 7, 2012
    8
    Fight Night Champion completely convincing, is a stunner graphically and technically very sophisticated. The battles run from dynamic, but not too busy.
  14. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    Online is excellent. Solo is great. I still play this today. The wealth of options ensures you can manipulate the flow of the game to how you want it, which requires some trial and error, but stick with it, it's worth it. There are glitches, like the game remembers a button press in the menu screen from five seconds before and can sometimes leave you going into a fight ill prepared.Online is excellent. Solo is great. I still play this today. The wealth of options ensures you can manipulate the flow of the game to how you want it, which requires some trial and error, but stick with it, it's worth it. There are glitches, like the game remembers a button press in the menu screen from five seconds before and can sometimes leave you going into a fight ill prepared. Still, I gave a nine, so I must like it! Expand
  15. Nov 19, 2014
    8
    One of the best games I ever played on PS3 . The 2 main offline modes are simply amazing, the ways you can win a match are many and all matches offer a lot of variety. The game is imperial also when playing against friends. Nice music , nice commentary , great game play and sometimes the knock downs or the K.O. are simply great. The game is very good balanced and all the skills matterOne of the best games I ever played on PS3 . The 2 main offline modes are simply amazing, the ways you can win a match are many and all matches offer a lot of variety. The game is imperial also when playing against friends. Nice music , nice commentary , great game play and sometimes the knock downs or the K.O. are simply great. The game is very good balanced and all the skills matter and you are somehow obliged to play on strengths of the character if you want to win, which is awesome.. Why I give only an 8 is for the online mode where as usual EA has problems like matchmaking, slow servers, sometimes experience gained in matches is not considered and other things like this.The online mode is not total broke but it has enough flows to temper the excitement you get after playing the offline. Expand
  16. Dec 19, 2014
    9
    Fantastic game. The campaign is brilliant and is a realistic difficulty with some hard challenging fights. The fight now and legacy mode are both amazing and actually have the boxers styles. For example Muhammad Ali has his quick supreme hands down style. The only problem is, there could be a few more fighters such as Joe Lous and Rocky Marciano. Online is also a problem. It isn't to bad,Fantastic game. The campaign is brilliant and is a realistic difficulty with some hard challenging fights. The fight now and legacy mode are both amazing and actually have the boxers styles. For example Muhammad Ali has his quick supreme hands down style. The only problem is, there could be a few more fighters such as Joe Lous and Rocky Marciano. Online is also a problem. It isn't to bad, but many people use Mike Tyson who is slightly overpowered making it diffiult. However apart from that, it's a fantastic game and would recommend it to others. Expand
  17. Mar 5, 2011
    0
    Its not perfect, the gaming experience is still based on the previous Fight Night incarnations, but the revamped visuals are enough to elevate this title from mere computer game to breathtaking media product. There is certainly nothing wrong with the Fight Night formula but I get the feeling that they are still missing a key element when recreating the personality of boxing. However myIts not perfect, the gaming experience is still based on the previous Fight Night incarnations, but the revamped visuals are enough to elevate this title from mere computer game to breathtaking media product. There is certainly nothing wrong with the Fight Night formula but I get the feeling that they are still missing a key element when recreating the personality of boxing. However my criticisms are very harsh and the new Champion mode has been a long time coming for sure. 91/100 Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. For a generation weaned on Rocky movies Fight Night Champion is the ultimate boxing experience. It sounds like a throwaway sentence, really. A platitude you toss at an otherwise good game to get the hard work out of the way. It's completely true though... What's particularly clever about Champion Mode is the way it pulls strings in the background to heighten the tension. During the fights throughout the story you might find yourself nursing a broken hand, or suddenly at the mercy of a bent referee or a desk full of bribed judges. Champion Mode will uppercut you with surprises like these, ones that require you to adjust the way you're fighting, across its duration. Champion Mode is bold, different and we absolutely want more of it. [May 2011 p.70]
  2. May 24, 2011
    90
    Stunning visuals and a great champion mode make Fight Night Champion the best game in the series.
  3. Apr 18, 2011
    80
    Yet again a great boxing game in the series. Boring training routines and irritating load times keep it from the higher grades.