User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 73
  2. Negative: 9 out of 73

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    I have owned Fight Night Round 3, Round 4, and now Champion. In my opinion, I think Champion is the best fight night in the series as of yet. The Spectrum control is very nice. It allows you to be able to throw combos very quickly but yet, you have to fight smart because you don't want to drain your stamina. The way they changed the blocking is very nice. You don't have to push up or down to block head or body on your own, which is nice because people used to spam your body or head and this would be very stressful. Another words, this is more noob friendly, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. Punches can still get through even though your trying to block all day. The online is silking smooth, never disconnected in my 40 online fights. Great buy, go for it! Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best boxing sim game ever.

    Champion mode takes the role of Andre Bishop and his story from rise to fall and getting back up again. The story was made by a well known writer and it did not disappoint. Although it seems that the story maybe predictable ,but the plot overall is awesome. Legacy mode is like FNR4 but adds some new features like amateur fights and new trainings. The trainings however to some maybe frustrating at times. Online is where FNC shines with online gyms , Online word championship , and rivalries you will never get tired of FNC.

    This is a must buy although expect some DLC mid march.
    Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2011
    9
    This is the best Fight Night game in quite a few years. The story mode, although short is a lot of fun, and allows you to use mulitple fighting styles. I like that the game play is more fluent and much more user friendly then the previous installment (round 4). If you are a fan of boxing or earlier Fight Night games then this is a must have title.
  4. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    Its not perfect, the gaming experience is still based on the previous Fight Night incarnations, but the revamped visuals are enough to elevate this title from mere computer game to breathtaking media product. There is certainly nothing wrong with the Fight Night formula but I get the feeling that they are still missing a key element when recreating the personality of boxing. However my criticisms are very harsh and the new Champion mode has been a long time coming for sure. 91/100 Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    The only complaint I have about this game is the announcers. After 5 rounds they start saying the same thing over and over. But other then that, you would be hard pressed to find a better boxing simulation. The graphcis are amazing, the gameplay is simpler and champion mode is awsome. Any boxing fan should love this one.
  6. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Ok, so I've played a few fight games in my day, and this is the most balanced game out there....which for some people will be a plus and others will hate it...because you actually have to box. The analog controls are amazing, and playing this game with friends a lot of fun. Now that the game has been out for a couple months it's the perfect time to pick it up for a discount, making it an even better value...If you can get it for 30 to 50% off retail (yes that's possible) don't hesitate to pick it up. Enjoy Expand
  7. Jul 14, 2011
    9
    I heard that this game was going to be much darker than Fight Night Round 4, and I thought it wasn't going to be good. But I have to say I love it and I think its the best Fight Night game.
  8. Jan 7, 2012
    9
    The best Fight Night title to date. I would even go as far as saying the best sports game of the year. The graphics are superb, the sounds in and out of the ring are great, and the gameplay is better than ever. The story mode is great fun and I enjoyed every second of it. The online is deep and can become addictive. A must-own title for boxing fans.
  9. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    Online is excellent. Solo is great. I still play this today. The wealth of options ensures you can manipulate the flow of the game to how you want it, which requires some trial and error, but stick with it, it's worth it. There are glitches, like the game remembers a button press in the menu screen from five seconds before and can sometimes leave you going into a fight ill prepared. Still, I gave a nine, so I must like it! Expand
  10. Mar 9, 2011
    8
    There have been some improvements and some glaring step backs from the previous installment. Firstly the improvements: Visuals have been greatly improved and the modern day boxers like Haye,Cotto and Mosley look just like the real life models.

    Gameplay: wider range of punches including hookercuts and step in jabs and straights as well as punches penetrating the guard. Much harder to body
    spam and use cheap side step counter punch tactics.

    Audio: A much better selection of music for the opening menu but this is not to be mistaken for the terrible sound effects which i will address later.
    The dissapointments: Boxer ratings: The ratings are all over the place and are very inaccurate especially with the heavyweight division. Sonny Listons jab is given a mere 13/20 when he had one of the best jabs in history. Joe Frazier is a mere 88 overall when he was one of the best heavyweights in history. Oscar De La Hoya is rated a overhyped 92 but has a chin rating of only 16/20 when he had a great chin, i could go on and on but to sum up, the ratings are terrible.

    Gameplay: The heavyweight division boxers have very wierd punch connection animation and this especially apparent with boxers who are not modern. The blocking system is now automatic which takes away a tactical element of the game. Audio: The punch connection sound is terrible and sounds like trash cannisters being dropped. very irritating.

    Overall: Taken one step forward and 1 1/2 steps back in my opinion.
    Expand
  11. Nov 7, 2011
    8
    I'm totally blown away with this game. I haven't played a boxing game since the arcade days of Glass Joe and that Turkish dude, so I've come into the Fight Night franchise as a newbie and really, really like what I see. The meat and potatoes of this game is the Legacy mode that let's you create your own boxer and bring him up in the ranks of the boxing world, and it is challenging. Boxing strategy really needs to come to play on how to adjust your fighting style during matches and the game doesn't hold your hand and tell you what to do. It is all on you if you are going to become a champion or be retired early because you've basically ended up face down on the mat too many times. Expect callouses on your thumbs in the first week. There is a very engrossing story mode to this game that last as long as a play through of a Modern Warfare storyline. I played this first and it actually acted as a tutorial while at the same time making me feel like I was playing a game. Very ingenius of these developers on that front because that is where I learn how to develop my own strategies for my own boxer. You can play head to head against a friend choosing from a historical list of greats, and you also have the option of choosing your own legacy creation. Overall, great graphics, the announcing is well done and is spot on to the action going on in the ring, and very life like animations. The only bad I've experienced with this game is the slower than slow movement of your fighter, which although is more life-like, caused me to over compensate on the left analog stick which ended up pressing off the the rubber top fixated to it. In the last several weeks I've gone through two controlers and I'm leary of playing this game any more because I only have one left that hasn't been damaged. If it wasn't for that I would have given this game a ten, and while not EA's fault so to say, perhaps this game would be better on an Xbox and save some of your controllers. Expand
  12. Mar 22, 2011
    8
    Quite simply the best Fight Night game available. FNR 4 was a good game but not a knockout, well the good news Fight Night Champion delivers an amazing gaming experience. With an updated roster now including David Haye, the Klitchko's, De La Hoya as well as the usual suspects and more FNC has plenty to offer. The main new feature of this Fight Night is Champion mode. Stepping into the boots of Andre Bishop and following his rise to the top, his fall to the bottom and his journey to back to be the best. Its an incredibly well written story, although it may seem a little predictable, it certainly delivers and keeps you playing on. The Legacy mode is same as ever, and that is really the only disappointment of this game not enough has been done to keep this moving along and it can become rather boring and extremely frustrating especially in the gym sessions. Gameplay introduces the Full Spectrum mode which is a fantastic addition allowing you to be more slick and smooth and almost effortless and easy to get to grips with. Blocking is now straightforward holding in the blocking button the AI immediately blocks the area where your being targeted. Graphically its once again very impressive, the slow-mo replays may not be inspiring but they get across how accurate and bone chilling each punch can be. The Online mode is addictive as ever, much improved and with more to do this time round. You can arrange tournaments with friends online to sort out who is the true Champion or you can simply create gyms to train and spar. Expand
  13. Aug 16, 2013
    8
    This is a great improvement over all other fight night games. Graphics are great only weird hit detection when you are in close with a long reach fighter irritates me but when you connect with a fully extended blow know matter what it is is a beautiful thing offline or online but for me the best part is the online human opponents give you a lot more counter opportunities which is satisfying every time. A lot of people are complaining about the high skill people online compared totheir created boxer. I do hate to say because I had to do it but to really compete online you need to buy all the add on boosts and you will have a. Fighting chance because rarely are these high rated boxers that skilled at the game and you get a fantastic knockout. Just get this game and upgrade your fighter or only play with friends that just upgrade the right way but for me I wouldn't trade my boosted boxer for anything. Let's get it!!! Expand
  14. Oct 7, 2012
    8
    Fight Night Champion completely convincing, is a stunner graphically and technically very sophisticated. The battles run from dynamic, but not too busy.
  15. Mar 12, 2011
    7
    I've been a fan of the series since FNR3, and after the last installment I was a little puzzled to learn the control scheme was going back to buttons (especially after the jump from buttons to the analogue stick in FNR4 which I got used to).

    The demo was also a little lacklustre, so I wasn't expecting much from this, but after picking it up and playing it I am really pleased with the game
    and pretty surpised at how good the 'Champion' mode actually is. Sure it's filled with every boxing movie cliche ever, but its actually pretty entertaining to play through, and feels a lot like watching a movie. The other modes are all pretty tight and similar to previous installments, so no comment there.

    Reasons for a 7:
    + Great new 'champion' story mode
    + Control scheme good for fans of FNR3 and 4
    + Brilliant graphics and fast paced boxing
    - Same old outdated announcers and sound bytes
    - In game training exercises mundane and annoying at times
    - Recycled game engine (FNR4)
    Expand
  16. Apr 29, 2011
    6
    The graphics have been tuned and so has the fighting mechanism, but in my book, towards the bad, when it comes to the Fight Now mode, its a blast, but when you start the Legacy Mode, the fun is gone, even when you encounter fighters that are way below your skills they will still beat you by one point, even when you have knocked his *ss on the ground! Online pretty much is a disaster, spammers, brawlers and belt holders that wont even dare to fight anything that comes near their level. I had the most fun in the Champion Mode, but when you come to the end, the game shows its ugly head again, the champion you have to fight is so overpowered, you would think he is either a android or a alien... Expand
  17. Mar 21, 2011
    6
    Wasted opportunity. the Fight model itself has so much potential but its about as realistic as street fighter with none of the consistency or fairness. Far far too easy to wobble an opponent or get wobbled yourself - most legacy fights descend into bar room brawls which is just dull dull dull. Champion mode is fun if a bit cliched but the fight against the Champ himself just highlights all the flaws and inconsistencies in the game itself. Legacy mode is a travesty and is borderline broken. Whoever programmed / designed that part ought to get their marching orders as it was awful on the last game and hasnt got any better. Such a shame as it has the potential to be brilliant but they seemed to have aimed it at 5 years old with attention deficit syndrome rather than anyone who is interested in the sport or even in balanced fighting games. Oh and online is a waste of time. Expand
  18. Sep 24, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I play this game in career mode all the time and trounce opponents into dust. Yet after a good year of playing the game for some reason I still have difficulty beating Isacc Frost in Champion mode and am not very impressed with the automatic screw-overs that the game throws at you (broken hand, automatic cut). The Isacc Frost NPC is retarded and I wonder why I still play when the game forces you to run like a damn loser around the ring for 7+ rounds. Then the auto-loss to the little brother that absolutely can't be knocked down in the 1st round, you are simply destined to lose. The knockdown mechanic in Champion mode is questionable... since I am absolutely smacking them in the face and body yet they magically go down in the 10th from a weak strait; I am pretty sure this is hard-coded into the fight so they only go down in the later rounds. I'd give Career mode an 8 for fun and realism (cuts are next to impossible for some reason) and a 3 to Champion mode for being full of crap and screwing the play over as an intended mechanic. Expand
  19. Mar 13, 2011
    5
    This game is great legacy mode is awesome, champion mode awesome but when you go online at first you suck, and then when you get good no one will even fight you. I am level 88 and im lucky if and 86 or lower will even fight me. If you want a title shot good luck the champs only fight the level 78s-80s and will not fight anyone that there is a chance they will lose. and if they do fight you they just pull the cord if your gonna win. The OWC really brings this game down and once someones the champ that it they will almost never lose the title and probably never fight you so dont bother trying. Expand
  20. Apr 11, 2011
    5
    Fight Night Champions had a lot of potential after coming off a good string of previous games but after playing a good amount of this game i felt really underwhelmed. I have been playing Fight Night games for years and have seen a good evolution in the gameplay and realism but with Champions i feel it fell flat. Overall the graphics of the game were improved but nothing to shout about, there was no major changes from FN4 but seeing as the graphics from that game were good that's not really a bad thing. In my opinion its the gameplay, presentation and the modes are the weak point of this game, I feel that the gameplay in FNC has took a step back, the new punching controls can be a bit chaotic at times and you will find your boxer throw all different kind of punches when all you wanted was two jabs, as you go on this will iron itself out but still the stick movement can be annoying. When it comes to presentation of this game it is major deja vu, all of the presentation has simply been recycled from the previous titles and put into this game. The boxer entrances are exactly the same, the arena's are exactly the same, the commentary seems mostly unchanged and that's just some of things, i understand that not every year can be different but at least do some changes and make the game feel a little more unique then just feel like a FN4 DLC pack. When it comes to the modes the game both shows a good side and a bad side and i will start with the new Champion Mode, Champion Mode is a very interesting edition to the game and offers a good change to what we have come to expect for sports games but its nothing to leap out your seat for. The story is a fairly run of the mill rags to riches boxing story and offers a alright plot and some good fights, i think that if the can expand on this mode in the future it could be something special. The next mode i would rather not talk about but i feel i must, Legacy Mode has built a firm place in the Fight Night Series but the one problem it has is that it hasn't changed an awful lot since it came about and with FNC it is no exception and like i said with the presentation its just recycled. Legacy has had minor changes but overall its the same old and is a huge disappointment for a mode that i usually spent hours in.

    Overall Fight Night Champions has been a bit of a let down, when i saw early trailers and screenshots i felt like we were getting a rebooted and more addictive game but to be honest the game feels recycled and the changes that have been made don't bring a whole lot to the game, i felt like i was playing DLC for a previous game instead of getting a new experience.
    Expand
  21. dz9
    Aug 1, 2011
    5
    FNC!! Right down to it, this game feels so much more like a recycle than a true sequel. The new story mode is a really good idea but overall is nothing special at all, it has a lot of potential, there are a few good fights in it and there are even more cheap annoying fights in it. Gameplay- ehh.....fell flat. The new hit system almost makes it way too easy to punch, which sounds like a good thing... but in practice, your fighter 9 times out of 10, won't do what you want him to do. Too many times.. a jab will be mistaken for an uppercut and vice versa. They also simplified the blocking system... and with this, blocking feels reliant on luck rather than skill. And of course, this title still has the unreliable hit detection which has become notorious in the series. The presentation- overall nothing to complain too much about, a few graphic updates, overall... the entire presentation department felt like an update rather than a stand alone sequel. And legacy mode, is just a recycled version of its last models. The good: A few cool innovations, great graphics, some enjoyable gameplay. The bad: Unreliable hit detection, gameplay has become too arcade-y, bland but innovative story mode, and overall...the game feels wayy too recycles. Expand
  22. Mar 11, 2011
    1
    Please read! The reason this game gets a very bad 1 is because the owc (online world championship) mode is sooo bad. If you dont play it from day 1 then people are 20-30 ranks higher then you, not better fighters but there stamina and strength are alot better then yours is. So in a way its like fighting while going on the **** and eating nothing but doner kebabs instead of training. The fight now option is good and what it should be like online in all the game modes, where you choose or create a fighter and the fight is based around skill, the story mode is BRILLIANT but it lasted for less then 2 hours so thats why my review score is low. Also on legacy mode the sim before a fight is soooo slow and stupid offers between fights for less money then even needed and to top it there are constant reminders from you coach to win.....really i would have never guessed! I have had my problems with EA in the past but things are still on edge, whoever thought of the story mode WELL DONE but make it longer next time and save time between fights in legacy mode just sim all the weeks before training in 2 seconds, and give searious sponser deals where you get things that are worth having. I had 15+ million when i retired GOAT what the F is 5k going to do? and make online world championship good too where you dont fight a guy after spending 4 days on single player then to get a fight online with a guy who is level 90+ and my brand new boxer i just made is 70ish. FNR4 was full of body spammers who traded belts back and forth with friends more then a prossie in amsterdam and FNR3 had a haymaker that could rip the universe in half. However the story is good but very short and online fight now is good but replay value...meh not really. rent this game trust me i am a die hard boxing fan. Expand
  23. ccc
    Nov 4, 2013
    0
    So I got this game on the PlayStation network for 5 bucks. Ice played round 3 and 4 and liked them. I figured I'd give the story mode a shot. The fans itself looks good and plays well, but the story mode is awful! Why? Because I just want to box that's why. To often in fights conditions appear that prevent the player from actually enjoying the such as, an automatic broken right hand, can only punch with the left, an automatic bad cut over my eye, don't get hit there too many times or the fight gets stopped, a paid off ref that will call every body shot you deliver a hit to the opponents privates, right down to the last fight with frost, first two rounds, avoid him, don't matter what you do, he can't be beat, you have to avoid him, after that, it's a mandatory 3 rounds of body blows after that, who knows I gave up after about 20 tries and deleted the game. I want to play and win my way EA. This game sucks and I hope everyone involved in making the choices on how the story mode was going to work is fired and black listed from all gaming companies. What a streaming pile of garbage! Expand
  24. Sep 5, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Quite possibly the worst boxing game I've ever played. Champion Mode is unbalanced and unfair even on the easiest difficulty. The only "roller coaster ride" involved will be the roller coaster ride you blood pressure takes when the game mercilessly knocks you out because a lot of your hits don't register as connecting. Don't believe me? Just watch some of the replays and watch your fist or entire arm go through your opponent without them blocking or dodging and watch in amazement as the game doesn't register a connecting hit. There's one particular point in the story mode where you're forced to fight two fights back to back. You don't know it's coming and you face a particularly tough fight before the second one. Even on Amateur you're likely to expend a lot of energy and health trying to take him down. Only to have to go into the next fight with even less health and stamina to the point where if your opponent hits you even once you're going down. And going down even once spells game over and you have to start the whole sadistic fight over again. There's no checkpoint system so if you want to go back and try to finish the last fight with more health and stamina so you can actually take a hit in the second... You have to restart the whole storyline.
    A game should be challenging. Not impossible.
    Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. For a generation weaned on Rocky movies Fight Night Champion is the ultimate boxing experience. It sounds like a throwaway sentence, really. A platitude you toss at an otherwise good game to get the hard work out of the way. It's completely true though... What's particularly clever about Champion Mode is the way it pulls strings in the background to heighten the tension. During the fights throughout the story you might find yourself nursing a broken hand, or suddenly at the mercy of a bent referee or a desk full of bribed judges. Champion Mode will uppercut you with surprises like these, ones that require you to adjust the way you're fighting, across its duration. Champion Mode is bold, different and we absolutely want more of it. [May 2011 p.70]
  2. May 24, 2011
    90
    Stunning visuals and a great champion mode make Fight Night Champion the best game in the series.
  3. Apr 18, 2011
    80
    Yet again a great boxing game in the series. Boring training routines and irritating load times keep it from the higher grades.