Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A new installment in EA Sports' boxing series will enter the ring in early 2011.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Mar 8, 2011
    100
    The game looks the part, sounds the part, and certainly plays the part. Topped off with a wealth of options that will keep you playing for hours on end, and an addictive online mode, Fight Night is just what the game's subtitle suggest...it's a Champion.
  2. Mar 1, 2011
    91
    EA has taken its time to make another Fight Night game, but it has given a new twist to the game, making it one of the best boxing games ever.
  3. 90
    If you want to feel the emotion and adrenaline of this sport without entering the ring, you will not find better than Fight Night Champion.
  4. Mar 1, 2011
    85
    This fast-paced boxing game improves upon its predecessor in just about every way, and adds an entertaining story mode to boot.
  5. Apr 18, 2011
    80
    Yet again a great boxing game in the series. Boring training routines and irritating load times keep it from the higher grades.
  6. 80
    Fight Night Champion offers an endless stream of entertainment for players that never get tired of 1-2 combos, the smell of used locker rooms and bruises.
  7. Feb 22, 2011
    70
    There's just not quite enough meat on Fight Night Champion's bones to recommend it to owners of previous games, however, and Champion mode itself is little more than a brief diversion you can bash through in an afternoon.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    I have owned Fight Night Round 3, Round 4, and now Champion. In my opinion, I think Champion is the best fight night in the series as of yet. The Spectrum control is very nice. It allows you to be able to throw combos very quickly but yet, you have to fight smart because you don't want to drain your stamina. The way they changed the blocking is very nice. You don't have to push up or down to block head or body on your own, which is nice because people used to spam your body or head and this would be very stressful. Another words, this is more noob friendly, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. Punches can still get through even though your trying to block all day. The online is silking smooth, never disconnected in my 40 online fights. Great buy, go for it! Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    Online is excellent. Solo is great. I still play this today. The wealth of options ensures you can manipulate the flow of the game to how you want it, which requires some trial and error, but stick with it, it's worth it. There are glitches, like the game remembers a button press in the menu screen from five seconds before and can sometimes leave you going into a fight ill prepared. Still, I gave a nine, so I must like it! Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2011
    9
    This is the best Fight Night game in quite a few years. The story mode, although short is a lot of fun, and allows you to use mulitple fighting styles. I like that the game play is more fluent and much more user friendly then the previous installment (round 4). If you are a fan of boxing or earlier Fight Night games then this is a must have title. Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2011
    8
    There have been some improvements and some glaring step backs from the previous installment. Firstly the improvements: Visuals have been greatly improved and the modern day boxers like Haye,Cotto and Mosley look just like the real life models.

    Gameplay: wider range of punches including hookercuts and step in jabs and straights as well as punches penetrating the guard. Much harder to body spam and use cheap side step counter punch tactics.

    Audio: A much better selection of music for the opening menu but this is not to be mistaken for the terrible sound effects which i will address later.
    The dissapointments: Boxer ratings: The ratings are all over the place and are very inaccurate especially with the heavyweight division. Sonny Listons jab is given a mere 13/20 when he had one of the best jabs in history. Joe Frazier is a mere 88 overall when he was one of the best heavyweights in history. Oscar De La Hoya is rated a overhyped 92 but has a chin rating of only 16/20 when he had a great chin, i could go on and on but to sum up, the ratings are terrible.

    Gameplay: The heavyweight division boxers have very wierd punch connection animation and this especially apparent with boxers who are not modern. The blocking system is now automatic which takes away a tactical element of the game. Audio: The punch connection sound is terrible and sounds like trash cannisters being dropped. very irritating.

    Overall: Taken one step forward and 1 1/2 steps back in my opinion.
    Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2011
    8
    I'm totally blown away with this game. I haven't played a boxing game since the arcade days of Glass Joe and that Turkish dude, so I've come into the Fight Night franchise as a newbie and really, really like what I see. The meat and potatoes of this game is the Legacy mode that let's you create your own boxer and bring him up in the ranks of the boxing world, and it is challenging. Boxing strategy really needs to come to play on how to adjust your fighting style during matches and the game doesn't hold your hand and tell you what to do. It is all on you if you are going to become a champion or be retired early because you've basically ended up face down on the mat too many times. Expect callouses on your thumbs in the first week. There is a very engrossing story mode to this game that last as long as a play through of a Modern Warfare storyline. I played this first and it actually acted as a tutorial while at the same time making me feel like I was playing a game. Very ingenius of these developers on that front because that is where I learn how to develop my own strategies for my own boxer. You can play head to head against a friend choosing from a historical list of greats, and you also have the option of choosing your own legacy creation. Overall, great graphics, the announcing is well done and is spot on to the action going on in the ring, and very life like animations. The only bad I've experienced with this game is the slower than slow movement of your fighter, which although is more life-like, caused me to over compensate on the left analog stick which ended up pressing off the the rubber top fixated to it. In the last several weeks I've gone through two controlers and I'm leary of playing this game any more because I only have one left that hasn't been damaged. If it wasn't for that I would have given this game a ten, and while not EA's fault so to say, perhaps this game would be better on an Xbox and save some of your controllers. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2011
    6
    Wasted opportunity. the Fight model itself has so much potential but its about as realistic as street fighter with none of the consistency or fairness. Far far too easy to wobble an opponent or get wobbled yourself - most legacy fights descend into bar room brawls which is just dull dull dull. Champion mode is fun if a bit cliched but the fight against the Champ himself just highlights all the flaws and inconsistencies in the game itself. Legacy mode is a travesty and is borderline broken. Whoever programmed / designed that part ought to get their marching orders as it was awful on the last game and hasnt got any better. Such a shame as it has the potential to be brilliant but they seemed to have aimed it at 5 years old with attention deficit syndrome rather than anyone who is interested in the sport or even in balanced fighting games. Oh and online is a waste of time. Expand
  7. ccc
    Nov 4, 2013
    0
    So I got this game on the PlayStation network for 5 bucks. Ice played round 3 and 4 and liked them. I figured I'd give the story mode a shot. The fans itself looks good and plays well, but the story mode is awful! Why? Because I just want to box that's why. To often in fights conditions appear that prevent the player from actually enjoying the such as, an automatic broken right hand, can only punch with the left, an automatic bad cut over my eye, don't get hit there too many times or the fight gets stopped, a paid off ref that will call every body shot you deliver a hit to the opponents privates, right down to the last fight with frost, first two rounds, avoid him, don't matter what you do, he can't be beat, you have to avoid him, after that, it's a mandatory 3 rounds of body blows after that, who knows I gave up after about 20 tries and deleted the game. I want to play and win my way EA. This game sucks and I hope everyone involved in making the choices on how the story mode was going to work is fired and black listed from all gaming companies. What a streaming pile of garbage! Expand

See all 23 User Reviews