Fight Night Round 4 PlayStation 3

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 94
  2. Negative: 15 out of 94
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. formerfightnightfan
    Jun 27, 2009
    1
    Why can't i use buttons!?!?!?! I LOVED fight night round 3 i have long awaited this game - I don't like the new engine - I don't know why they had to get rid of the old one!? I think the graphics and sound are better on the old one and again..why can't i use the frickin buttons!!!
  2. Aug 25, 2010
    7
    This game is the best boxing game out there. With the new counter punch system and overall smoothness of fighting it is a definite improvement on FNR3. The players reach and height play a big part as you can use ali to stay on the outside and slowly beat your opponent down. No longer can a button basher simply press the hayemaker button and get a KO. That being said the graphics are tooThis game is the best boxing game out there. With the new counter punch system and overall smoothness of fighting it is a definite improvement on FNR3. The players reach and height play a big part as you can use ali to stay on the outside and slowly beat your opponent down. No longer can a button basher simply press the hayemaker button and get a KO. That being said the graphics are too cartoony for my liking. The roster is too small and you need to pay to buy fighters that should have originally been in the game. Finally the biggest omission, no Floyd Mayweather. Collapse
  3. GerardH
    Jul 8, 2009
    0
    I vote this a 0 to offset the hype on this game. It's really a 7.0 at best. The game is graphically superior and the physics are as well. Unfortunately 20 min into the game you can tell that's all they spent their time on. There is NO option for buttons to be used as punches. Total Punch Control is it, but the analog stick is way to inaccurate to control everything. I jab when i I vote this a 0 to offset the hype on this game. It's really a 7.0 at best. The game is graphically superior and the physics are as well. Unfortunately 20 min into the game you can tell that's all they spent their time on. There is NO option for buttons to be used as punches. Total Punch Control is it, but the analog stick is way to inaccurate to control everything. I jab when i should hook. I hook when i should uppercut. I throw to the body when i should be throwing to the face. Most annoying of all is i try to uppercut and throw nothing for 2 or 3 seconds. Just forget about throwing a combo. EA really screwed up by trying to force the TPC on us...2) The computer is way too difficult. In FNR3, I had a record of something like 100-2. I used to be able to play on the hardest setting and get a win. On FNR4, i'm playing on difficulty 2 out of 4 and in 20 matches with the computer, i have only gotten as far as a draw. That's it. I can't tell if the computer wants me to spam punches or try and be tactful, but it doesn't matter cause the computer blocks or dodges like 60% of your punches. At first I thought there was a new emphasis on defense. Bobbing and weaving to get to your man is a welcome addition, but it seems like the CPU counters are 5x more powerful...3) Online gameplay sux horribly! No longer do people have to watch what they throw or vary it up because they can just spam you with punches all round long. You have to either dodge the punches or time the block just right, and when i mean 'just right' i mean split second. Basically you have no hope of doing that consistently enough to beat your opponent without taking too many shots yourself. So basically give up on defense except for the occasional attempt, and analog-control-mash. Seriously. A guy i fought who had a 26-2 record completely killed me twice. Then when I finally gave up on defense and body-punch-spammed with Tyson, I started winning...Point is, anyone who tells you this game is great is only looking at the graphics and is a casual gamer who will have forgotten about this game in a week anyways. This is Street Fighter 2009, boxing edition. Expand
  4. AgostinoC
    Jul 17, 2009
    4
    I was pretty excited to get this game and have been playing it religiously in my spare time. I have to admit that most of that play time is due to the fact that I want to justify my purchase, as I quickly found out that the play control is abysmal. Quite often I try to block or dodge but my boxer throws a punch instead leaving me open for a counter-punch. This is frustrating to the point I was pretty excited to get this game and have been playing it religiously in my spare time. I have to admit that most of that play time is due to the fact that I want to justify my purchase, as I quickly found out that the play control is abysmal. Quite often I try to block or dodge but my boxer throws a punch instead leaving me open for a counter-punch. This is frustrating to the point where I almost broke one of my controllers, smashing it on the ground when I had a 12(9)-0 and I lost because the controls were too laggy and inacurate for me to beat the next rank of CPU opponent which had punches much more accurate and quick than I could do even when I was spamming jabs. This game could have been so much more had there been an option for button based punches like "round 3". For some reason I thought there would be one. Had I known this wasn't possible I never would have picked up the game. This is potential flushed down the toilet. I'll still try to beat the game, but in small doses. I have to control my anger by playing no more than 2 matches per session. Expand
  5. JamesW
    Jul 27, 2009
    5
    I liked the game when I first got it and played it loads. I got quite good against the CPU. Then I went online with my fighter and won a few matches, I was beginning to think I was quite good at it then I realised tactically you can't be any good at this game. Why? because no matter how good you are once you come across some idiot who makes his boxer the tallest heaviest son of a I liked the game when I first got it and played it loads. I got quite good against the CPU. Then I went online with my fighter and won a few matches, I was beginning to think I was quite good at it then I realised tactically you can't be any good at this game. Why? because no matter how good you are once you come across some idiot who makes his boxer the tallest heaviest son of a bitch with the longest reach possible you stand literally no chance. Every game I've lost online has not been a tactical battle its been the opposing behemoth repeatedly throwing a cross without stopping to the head and body. You cant seem to get close enough to them to be effective and can't back away from them at all they just keep following you throwing the same punch. I've tried being defensive and ducking, weaving, blocking and dodging throwing counters, I've even repeatedly got in a situation where I'm exploiting the guy with massive counters and when his stamina is down to nothing because he hasn't stopped punching into my block and dodges I've rallied an attack against his body to chip (and chip quite literally is the phrase because nothing happens even though the game says energy levels and health deplete more rapidly when stamina is low!) and still have been defeated. At the end of the round the guy goes to his corner and puts everything into stamina and starts again. If I do manage to stun the larger player nothing I try seems to work to floor him this game drives me nuts. As for the Analogue only controls I can understand peoples gripes and I personally prefer buttons but I haven't had too much issue moving away from them. However I feel the buttons would make the game more accessible to the more casual gamer and I'm sure I've read somewhere that there will either be and update or a pack on PSN and XBL with this option included but if EA choose to charge for this it will be a complete insult. FN3 actually had rooms that disallowed buttons for the Analogue only hardcore fighters and to be honest I don't see why this once again cannot be the case. A patch in my opinion is definitely needed to balance the fighters styles and stamina as well so that people have to think about their technique and fight style until this is addressed I dont feel that I can enjoy this online anymore. Fight night 3 had some amazing tactical battles and repeatedly throwing the same punch against another boxer would render you face down on the canvas withing a few rounds with no stamina why is this no longer the case? Why has EA in my opinion broken a great game and more importantly do the care enough to fix it? Expand
  6. LukeH.
    Jun 27, 2009
    4
    Visually good game but it lacks in gameplay big time. Online is very poor. I played against someone who threw 823 punches in 6 rounds and they barely lost stamina whilst I did little over half that and my stamina was drained. Everyone only seems to pick Mike Tyson aswell. You then get 'body spammers' who doesn't have a slightest clue what to do and just throws the analogue Visually good game but it lacks in gameplay big time. Online is very poor. I played against someone who threw 823 punches in 6 rounds and they barely lost stamina whilst I did little over half that and my stamina was drained. Everyone only seems to pick Mike Tyson aswell. You then get 'body spammers' who doesn't have a slightest clue what to do and just throws the analogue stick around constantly (similar to button bashers on Tekken). The career is not much better either. They will continue to walk into you and push you against the ropes. You cant walk around them as you have your firsts up therefore limiting your movement, if you put your guard down you will get a haymaker straight to the chin. They have got rid of the post match healing system but instead got a stupid points system where you gain points by blocking punches then able to spend your points by 'buying' health/stamina/damage. I wouldn't recommend this game to anyone. Gets boring fast. Its the same old same old from EA. Include a new feature and sell it off as 're-defining gameplay'. Expand
  7. RobinM
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    This is a great game. It was a bold step to do away with the buttons but the joystick control system, though fiddly to start with, soon becomes easy to use IMO. Now when you play online and meet body spammers or the old haymaker junkies, they are easy to beat. Just stay cool, block, lean and counter punch and then when their stamina is all but gone you can open up and destroy them. When This is a great game. It was a bold step to do away with the buttons but the joystick control system, though fiddly to start with, soon becomes easy to use IMO. Now when you play online and meet body spammers or the old haymaker junkies, they are easy to beat. Just stay cool, block, lean and counter punch and then when their stamina is all but gone you can open up and destroy them. When you get to play someone who knows about boxing the fights to be had are awesome. Expand
  8. DanielF.
    Jul 2, 2009
    9
    Joe.c & Luke.h you are both retarded and should go away and play button basher games for clueless players. FNR4 is a big step up from FNR3 in every way, face buttons have gone so you now have to learn the game properly as well as understand that boxing isn't about throwing punch punch punch, there's more of a art for and tactics to it, learn the game and you will enjoy it, Joe.c & Luke.h you are both retarded and should go away and play button basher games for clueless players. FNR4 is a big step up from FNR3 in every way, face buttons have gone so you now have to learn the game properly as well as understand that boxing isn't about throwing punch punch punch, there's more of a art for and tactics to it, learn the game and you will enjoy it, don't bother and you will underestimate it. If there is a flaw then its online players who pull out of games just as there about to be out for the count, apart from those idiots the online play is lag free. Yes there could have been more done to the game but EA have done a good enough job to warren t people to buy this game. best boxing game ever unless your a button basher, one other thing is you will find unrealistic is the amount of punches you can throw compared to real life, but hay if it went any more realistic it would become a bore. Expand
  9. Feb 1, 2011
    3
    Very disappointed by the game. As people have said, the control is awful. I would try to block or dodge and it would throw a punch. Punch control sucks as it would always throw a different punch than I was trying to. Because of way it is set up the punches aren't distinguished well enough. The recovery mini-game after getting knocked down is the worst part of the game. The computer does itVery disappointed by the game. As people have said, the control is awful. I would try to block or dodge and it would throw a punch. Punch control sucks as it would always throw a different punch than I was trying to. Because of way it is set up the punches aren't distinguished well enough. The recovery mini-game after getting knocked down is the worst part of the game. The computer does it fine but it is soo finicky and uncontrollable and confusing that I usually couldn't get up after being knocked down in the first round. Also the game makes it so once you start to lose, it's basically over and you can't come back because your stats are down. You also get tired way too fast and it's too easy to grab another person and recover. Worst of all the fight night games, hopefully they improve for the 5th one which I probably won't buy now. Was not worth my 20 dollars. Good character customization. Expand
  10. DavidN
    Jul 8, 2009
    9
    You buy fight night round 4 simply if u want to punc the living daylights out of someone without getting into a mess...anyway my point is that your not going to be a hardcore well advised up to speed gamer who nly cares about rpg games and being the top player on modern warfare . You go out and buy this because you have an interest in the sport and want to play as the greatest boxers ever You buy fight night round 4 simply if u want to punc the living daylights out of someone without getting into a mess...anyway my point is that your not going to be a hardcore well advised up to speed gamer who nly cares about rpg games and being the top player on modern warfare . You go out and buy this because you have an interest in the sport and want to play as the greatest boxers ever . i bought this game because i want to succeed in the game and it allows you to do that sure its not easy and will take you numerous attempts but the joy that comes from being unbeaten is immense and getting a KO in the first round is what makes this game grat.Playing in multiplayer is intense but to be appreciated its best just to play with a friend and watching the fight unravel while your sitting beside one another .Its a gaming experience. at its best at its purest.buy this game and enjoy it for what it is .A realistic simulation of an intense and exhilarating sport. Expand
  11. Mr.Anon
    Jul 8, 2009
    0
    Perfect graphics mean nothing when followed by some of the worst gameplay I have ever seen. Total Punch Control seems cool at first but is a joke. You'll throw a hook instead of an uppercut, a body punch instead of a head punch and a lot of times, you'll throw nothing at all. Fight Night Round 4 improves on some of the issues from FNR3 ( like making haymakers easier, bobbing and Perfect graphics mean nothing when followed by some of the worst gameplay I have ever seen. Total Punch Control seems cool at first but is a joke. You'll throw a hook instead of an uppercut, a body punch instead of a head punch and a lot of times, you'll throw nothing at all. Fight Night Round 4 improves on some of the issues from FNR3 ( like making haymakers easier, bobbing and weaving and 'auto-aim' for people who like to like to stay in a leaned position ) but then throws out even worse new problems, like having no work-around to TPC, allowing people to punch spam with no penalty to their stamina and parrying punches is MUCH harder. Expand
  12. GavinE
    Jul 25, 2009
    7
    Career mode is lacking immersion, but it will keep you entertained. Because its all punch control through the analogue sticks your accuracy of what punch to throw is pretty random so the training games become impossible to master, consequently you end up autotraining too much to actually be a superstar. If they could add more character to the career it would score higher but as it stands Career mode is lacking immersion, but it will keep you entertained. Because its all punch control through the analogue sticks your accuracy of what punch to throw is pretty random so the training games become impossible to master, consequently you end up autotraining too much to actually be a superstar. If they could add more character to the career it would score higher but as it stands its actually quite boring. The graphics are pretty good though, however blood and cuts are almost non existent. If they could import THQ's UFC damage visuals, it would be tons better in that respect. Ring entry visuals are a big letdown, and something you will skip through after the first look. Soundtracks are good though as with previous versions. Its just a shame their is really no storyline to your career, i think thats the biggest negative that plagues this game. Having said all that, if you enjoyed FN3, still get FN4 because regardless of its let downs its still a decent game in its own right. Expand
  13. ChadHayes
    Aug 3, 2009
    7
    The mulitplayer isn't geared towards all types of fighting, but instead heavily favors a single fighting style that obliterates anyone who brings something different to the table. Which makes it frustrating until you adapt and then boring once you've done so. As far as the rest of the game goes it's good, but not as great for it's time as 3 was when it first came out. IThe mulitplayer isn't geared towards all types of fighting, but instead heavily favors a single fighting style that obliterates anyone who brings something different to the table. Which makes it frustrating until you adapt and then boring once you've done so. As far as the rest of the game goes it's good, but not as great for it's time as 3 was when it first came out. I expected more of a balance between outside and inside fighting instead of the switch from favoring outside in 3 to inside on 4 with the reduced leans in 4's mechanics. Expand
  14. [Anonymous]
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    This game improoves so much over FNR3. you can now do combos with great speed, career mode is actually a career now you can schedule fights,etc. MUST BUY.
  15. RayV.
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    Amazing game, new counter system is really cool...... one punch away from victory... its really true!
  16. joec.
    Jun 26, 2009
    3
    Great graphics and sound marred by poor gameplay an down right shocking controls its far to easy to misfire the wrong type of commands for punches in the heat of a fight as the imputs are far too fiddly to be accurate 100% of the time , no button punch control option is unforgivable this leads to online gameplay that is just a complete an utter spam fest not to mention another ea sports Great graphics and sound marred by poor gameplay an down right shocking controls its far to easy to misfire the wrong type of commands for punches in the heat of a fight as the imputs are far too fiddly to be accurate 100% of the time , no button punch control option is unforgivable this leads to online gameplay that is just a complete an utter spam fest not to mention another ea sports 2010 title that has the same disconnect glitches as 2006 titles did ea have taken no imput about fixing these online braking bugs from the community for 4 years i guess u might get around to fixing them in your 2011 titles ea sports ? Expand
  17. Mar 14, 2011
    7
    somewhat disappointed me. I have become quite good, but whenever I play with friends or against the CPU it just turns into a slugging contest, there seems to be no strategy what so ever. A good thing is that you can pin point the location of your punches. The graphics are amazing, but they seem to make the retired fighters way better, for instance Manny Pacquao (spelling?) is only ansomewhat disappointed me. I have become quite good, but whenever I play with friends or against the CPU it just turns into a slugging contest, there seems to be no strategy what so ever. A good thing is that you can pin point the location of your punches. The graphics are amazing, but they seem to make the retired fighters way better, for instance Manny Pacquao (spelling?) is only an 88. Overall it's a pretty good game. Expand
  18. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    Fight Night R4 captures the often brutal and physical nature of boxing in an often very convincing manner. The violent thudding sound as a haymaker connects with a jaw or rib cage can be almost gratuitous at times, but still feels in keeping with the nature of the sport. You have very few of the embellishments that boxing in games have had in the past, as a result you feel far moreFight Night R4 captures the often brutal and physical nature of boxing in an often very convincing manner. The violent thudding sound as a haymaker connects with a jaw or rib cage can be almost gratuitous at times, but still feels in keeping with the nature of the sport. You have very few of the embellishments that boxing in games have had in the past, as a result you feel far more connection to what is going on. Feeling as though you really are involved in a tactical and mental battle, trying to work out and anticipate your opponents style and plan.
    This is obviously far more true of the multiplayer experience. Get two accomplished, or at least even matched players together, and you will have some immense contests. While to begin with, the control scheme may seem to be rather random, alien even, soon enough you'll come to be able to manipulate the controls to get the hook, upper cut or straight that you wanted most of the time. It does remain fiddly at times, and in the heat of the battle with punches being landed, mistakes can be costly, but it doesn't overly detract from what is a great multiplayer experience.
    A few more boxers would have been great, particularly in certain weight divisions. But then again, given what a nightmare the world of boxing has become with corruption and the monetary expectations most boxers seem to have to do the most mundane of things now (let alone enter the ring against an opponent who may lay a punch on them...), I could envisage how tough this aspect of pulling the game together must have been.
    Expand
  19. Mar 6, 2013
    7
    Good graphics but I did not like the controls. Not because its that bad but in the heat of situations its not precise enough.
  20. Apr 3, 2014
    0
    Yet another "plays itself" game introduced by EA. No skill or strategy required, really just a hit and hope. Graphics and sound are great but that wears off pretty quickly. Like fifa, the player should have much more control over the outcome of each game, but sadly doesn't as EA cater for casual gamers only these days, or so it would seem.
  21. Nov 19, 2014
    8
    Until I played Fight Night Champion I was really impressed by this game specially by the game play. Leaving aside the graphics, the more licensed players and the campaign mode of the following version of the game, FN Round 4 was one of the best games I played in terms of evolution. Actually it mattered so much what training you did and how good you performed that your skills were based onUntil I played Fight Night Champion I was really impressed by this game specially by the game play. Leaving aside the graphics, the more licensed players and the campaign mode of the following version of the game, FN Round 4 was one of the best games I played in terms of evolution. Actually it mattered so much what training you did and how good you performed that your skills were based on it. In the following version this is somehow lost and you can allocate points of skills where you like , which is not as realistic as FN Round 4. Only 8 due to online 1 point and another one due to not so many modalities of play. Expand
  22. Feb 16, 2016
    3
    As a guy who played so much FNR3 that I actually tried to box a car in a racing game when I was drunk, I can honestly say this game is the worst. It has no redeeming qualities whatsoever. The amazing combat system that you came to love is simply non-existent. It's basically a dumbed down version of the game that tries to appeal to a more general crowd all while being a blatant insult toAs a guy who played so much FNR3 that I actually tried to box a car in a racing game when I was drunk, I can honestly say this game is the worst. It has no redeeming qualities whatsoever. The amazing combat system that you came to love is simply non-existent. It's basically a dumbed down version of the game that tries to appeal to a more general crowd all while being a blatant insult to the real fans. This is the game that killed FN for me. Thank you EA sports for ruining one of my favourite games. :) Expand
  23. Aug 25, 2010
    0
    This game is the best boxing game out there. With the new counter punch system and overall smoothness of fighting it is a definite improvement on FNR3. The players reach and height play a big part as you can use ali to stay on the outside and slowly beat your opponent down. No longer can a button basher simply press the hayemaker button and get a KO. That being said the graphics are tooThis game is the best boxing game out there. With the new counter punch system and overall smoothness of fighting it is a definite improvement on FNR3. The players reach and height play a big part as you can use ali to stay on the outside and slowly beat your opponent down. No longer can a button basher simply press the hayemaker button and get a KO. That being said the graphics are too cartoony for my liking. The roster is too small and you need to pay to buy fighters that should have originally been in the game. Finally the biggest omission, no Floyd Mayweather. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 46
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 46
  3. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. 91
    Fight Night Round 4 not only matches its predecessor, but improves upon it and has reclaimed it's title as the best boxing game in the world.
  2. 90
    Fight Night Round 4 lacks some of the wow factor of its predecessor, but it builds upon the strengths of Round 3 and corrects most of its weaknesses.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    Like many games earning classic status, FNR4 generates repeated standout, jaw-dropping moments, and none of them are pre-scripted. [Aug 2009, p.64]