User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 88
  2. Negative: 14 out of 88

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 25, 2010
    7
    This game is the best boxing game out there. With the new counter punch system and overall smoothness of fighting it is a definite improvement on FNR3. The players reach and height play a big part as you can use ali to stay on the outside and slowly beat your opponent down. No longer can a button basher simply press the hayemaker button and get a KO. That being said the graphics are tooThis game is the best boxing game out there. With the new counter punch system and overall smoothness of fighting it is a definite improvement on FNR3. The players reach and height play a big part as you can use ali to stay on the outside and slowly beat your opponent down. No longer can a button basher simply press the hayemaker button and get a KO. That being said the graphics are too cartoony for my liking. The roster is too small and you need to pay to buy fighters that should have originally been in the game. Finally the biggest omission, no Floyd Mayweather. Expand
  2. Feb 1, 2011
    3
    Very disappointed by the game. As people have said, the control is awful. I would try to block or dodge and it would throw a punch. Punch control sucks as it would always throw a different punch than I was trying to. Because of way it is set up the punches aren't distinguished well enough. The recovery mini-game after getting knocked down is the worst part of the game. The computer does itVery disappointed by the game. As people have said, the control is awful. I would try to block or dodge and it would throw a punch. Punch control sucks as it would always throw a different punch than I was trying to. Because of way it is set up the punches aren't distinguished well enough. The recovery mini-game after getting knocked down is the worst part of the game. The computer does it fine but it is soo finicky and uncontrollable and confusing that I usually couldn't get up after being knocked down in the first round. Also the game makes it so once you start to lose, it's basically over and you can't come back because your stats are down. You also get tired way too fast and it's too easy to grab another person and recover. Worst of all the fight night games, hopefully they improve for the 5th one which I probably won't buy now. Was not worth my 20 dollars. Good character customization. Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2011
    7
    somewhat disappointed me. I have become quite good, but whenever I play with friends or against the CPU it just turns into a slugging contest, there seems to be no strategy what so ever. A good thing is that you can pin point the location of your punches. The graphics are amazing, but they seem to make the retired fighters way better, for instance Manny Pacquao (spelling?) is only ansomewhat disappointed me. I have become quite good, but whenever I play with friends or against the CPU it just turns into a slugging contest, there seems to be no strategy what so ever. A good thing is that you can pin point the location of your punches. The graphics are amazing, but they seem to make the retired fighters way better, for instance Manny Pacquao (spelling?) is only an 88. Overall it's a pretty good game. Collapse
  4. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    Fight Night R4 captures the often brutal and physical nature of boxing in an often very convincing manner. The violent thudding sound as a haymaker connects with a jaw or rib cage can be almost gratuitous at times, but still feels in keeping with the nature of the sport. You have very few of the embellishments that boxing in games have had in the past, as a result you feel far moreFight Night R4 captures the often brutal and physical nature of boxing in an often very convincing manner. The violent thudding sound as a haymaker connects with a jaw or rib cage can be almost gratuitous at times, but still feels in keeping with the nature of the sport. You have very few of the embellishments that boxing in games have had in the past, as a result you feel far more connection to what is going on. Feeling as though you really are involved in a tactical and mental battle, trying to work out and anticipate your opponents style and plan.
    This is obviously far more true of the multiplayer experience. Get two accomplished, or at least even matched players together, and you will have some immense contests. While to begin with, the control scheme may seem to be rather random, alien even, soon enough you'll come to be able to manipulate the controls to get the hook, upper cut or straight that you wanted most of the time. It does remain fiddly at times, and in the heat of the battle with punches being landed, mistakes can be costly, but it doesn't overly detract from what is a great multiplayer experience.
    A few more boxers would have been great, particularly in certain weight divisions. But then again, given what a nightmare the world of boxing has become with corruption and the monetary expectations most boxers seem to have to do the most mundane of things now (let alone enter the ring against an opponent who may lay a punch on them...), I could envisage how tough this aspect of pulling the game together must have been.
    Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2013
    7
    Good graphics but I did not like the controls. Not because its that bad but in the heat of situations its not precise enough.
  6. Apr 3, 2014
    0
    Yet another "plays itself" game introduced by EA. No skill or strategy required, really just a hit and hope. Graphics and sound are great but that wears off pretty quickly. Like fifa, the player should have much more control over the outcome of each game, but sadly doesn't as EA cater for casual gamers only these days, or so it would seem.
  7. Nov 19, 2014
    8
    Until I played Fight Night Champion I was really impressed by this game specially by the game play. Leaving aside the graphics, the more licensed players and the campaign mode of the following version of the game, FN Round 4 was one of the best games I played in terms of evolution. Actually it mattered so much what training you did and how good you performed that your skills were based onUntil I played Fight Night Champion I was really impressed by this game specially by the game play. Leaving aside the graphics, the more licensed players and the campaign mode of the following version of the game, FN Round 4 was one of the best games I played in terms of evolution. Actually it mattered so much what training you did and how good you performed that your skills were based on it. In the following version this is somehow lost and you can allocate points of skills where you like , which is not as realistic as FN Round 4. Only 8 due to online 1 point and another one due to not so many modalities of play. Expand
  8. Mar 14, 2011
    0
    somewhat disappointed me. I have become quite good, but whenever I play with friends or against the CPU it just turns into a slugging contest, there seems to be no strategy what so ever. A good thing is that you can pin point the location of your punches. The graphics are amazing, but they seem to make the retired fighters way better, for instance Manny Pacquao (spelling?) is only ansomewhat disappointed me. I have become quite good, but whenever I play with friends or against the CPU it just turns into a slugging contest, there seems to be no strategy what so ever. A good thing is that you can pin point the location of your punches. The graphics are amazing, but they seem to make the retired fighters way better, for instance Manny Pacquao (spelling?) is only an 88. Overall it's a pretty good game. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 47
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 47
  3. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. 91
    Fight Night Round 4 not only matches its predecessor, but improves upon it and has reclaimed it's title as the best boxing game in the world.
  2. 90
    Fight Night Round 4 lacks some of the wow factor of its predecessor, but it builds upon the strengths of Round 3 and corrects most of its weaknesses.
  3. Like many games earning classic status, FNR4 generates repeated standout, jaw-dropping moments, and none of them are pre-scripted. [Aug 2009, p.64]