Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A new installment in EA Sports' boxing series will enter the ring in early 2011.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Mar 8, 2011
    100
    The game looks the part, sounds the part, and certainly plays the part. Topped off with a wealth of options that will keep you playing for hours on end, and an addictive online mode, Fight Night is just what the game's subtitle suggest...it's a Champion.
  2. Mar 1, 2011
    91
    EA has taken its time to make another Fight Night game, but it has given a new twist to the game, making it one of the best boxing games ever.
  3. 90
    If you want to feel the emotion and adrenaline of this sport without entering the ring, you will not find better than Fight Night Champion.
  4. Mar 1, 2011
    85
    This fast-paced boxing game improves upon its predecessor in just about every way, and adds an entertaining story mode to boot.
  5. Apr 18, 2011
    80
    Yet again a great boxing game in the series. Boring training routines and irritating load times keep it from the higher grades.
  6. 80
    Fight Night Champion offers an endless stream of entertainment for players that never get tired of 1-2 combos, the smell of used locker rooms and bruises.
  7. Feb 22, 2011
    70
    There's just not quite enough meat on Fight Night Champion's bones to recommend it to owners of previous games, however, and Champion mode itself is little more than a brief diversion you can bash through in an afternoon.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27
  1. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    I have owned Fight Night Round 3, Round 4, and now Champion. In my opinion, I think Champion is the best fight night in the series as of yet.I have owned Fight Night Round 3, Round 4, and now Champion. In my opinion, I think Champion is the best fight night in the series as of yet. The Spectrum control is very nice. It allows you to be able to throw combos very quickly but yet, you have to fight smart because you don't want to drain your stamina. The way they changed the blocking is very nice. You don't have to push up or down to block head or body on your own, which is nice because people used to spam your body or head and this would be very stressful. Another words, this is more noob friendly, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. Punches can still get through even though your trying to block all day. The online is silking smooth, never disconnected in my 40 online fights. Great buy, go for it! Expand
  2. Jan 7, 2012
    9
    The best Fight Night title to date. I would even go as far as saying the best sports game of the year. The graphics are superb, the sounds inThe best Fight Night title to date. I would even go as far as saying the best sports game of the year. The graphics are superb, the sounds in and out of the ring are great, and the gameplay is better than ever. The story mode is great fun and I enjoyed every second of it. The online is deep and can become addictive. A must-own title for boxing fans. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    Its not perfect, the gaming experience is still based on the previous Fight Night incarnations, but the revamped visuals are enough to elevateIts not perfect, the gaming experience is still based on the previous Fight Night incarnations, but the revamped visuals are enough to elevate this title from mere computer game to breathtaking media product. There is certainly nothing wrong with the Fight Night formula but I get the feeling that they are still missing a key element when recreating the personality of boxing. However my criticisms are very harsh and the new Champion mode has been a long time coming for sure. 91/100 Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2011
    8
    I'm totally blown away with this game. I haven't played a boxing game since the arcade days of Glass Joe and that Turkish dude, so I've comeI'm totally blown away with this game. I haven't played a boxing game since the arcade days of Glass Joe and that Turkish dude, so I've come into the Fight Night franchise as a newbie and really, really like what I see. The meat and potatoes of this game is the Legacy mode that let's you create your own boxer and bring him up in the ranks of the boxing world, and it is challenging. Boxing strategy really needs to come to play on how to adjust your fighting style during matches and the game doesn't hold your hand and tell you what to do. It is all on you if you are going to become a champion or be retired early because you've basically ended up face down on the mat too many times. Expect callouses on your thumbs in the first week. There is a very engrossing story mode to this game that last as long as a play through of a Modern Warfare storyline. I played this first and it actually acted as a tutorial while at the same time making me feel like I was playing a game. Very ingenius of these developers on that front because that is where I learn how to develop my own strategies for my own boxer. You can play head to head against a friend choosing from a historical list of greats, and you also have the option of choosing your own legacy creation. Overall, great graphics, the announcing is well done and is spot on to the action going on in the ring, and very life like animations. The only bad I've experienced with this game is the slower than slow movement of your fighter, which although is more life-like, caused me to over compensate on the left analog stick which ended up pressing off the the rubber top fixated to it. In the last several weeks I've gone through two controlers and I'm leary of playing this game any more because I only have one left that hasn't been damaged. If it wasn't for that I would have given this game a ten, and while not EA's fault so to say, perhaps this game would be better on an Xbox and save some of your controllers. Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2011
    7
    I've been a fan of the series since FNR3, and after the last installment I was a little puzzled to learn the control scheme was going back toI've been a fan of the series since FNR3, and after the last installment I was a little puzzled to learn the control scheme was going back to buttons (especially after the jump from buttons to the analogue stick in FNR4 which I got used to).

    The demo was also a little lacklustre, so I wasn't expecting much from this, but after picking it up and playing it I am really pleased with the game and pretty surpised at how good the 'Champion' mode actually is. Sure it's filled with every boxing movie cliche ever, but its actually pretty entertaining to play through, and feels a lot like watching a movie. The other modes are all pretty tight and similar to previous installments, so no comment there.

    Reasons for a 7:
    + Great new 'champion' story mode
    + Control scheme good for fans of FNR3 and 4
    + Brilliant graphics and fast paced boxing
    - Same old outdated announcers and sound bytes
    - In game training exercises mundane and annoying at times
    - Recycled game engine (FNR4)
    Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2011
    5
    Fight Night Champions had a lot of potential after coming off a good string of previous games but after playing a good amount of this game iFight Night Champions had a lot of potential after coming off a good string of previous games but after playing a good amount of this game i felt really underwhelmed. I have been playing Fight Night games for years and have seen a good evolution in the gameplay and realism but with Champions i feel it fell flat. Overall the graphics of the game were improved but nothing to shout about, there was no major changes from FN4 but seeing as the graphics from that game were good that's not really a bad thing. In my opinion its the gameplay, presentation and the modes are the weak point of this game, I feel that the gameplay in FNC has took a step back, the new punching controls can be a bit chaotic at times and you will find your boxer throw all different kind of punches when all you wanted was two jabs, as you go on this will iron itself out but still the stick movement can be annoying. When it comes to presentation of this game it is major deja vu, all of the presentation has simply been recycled from the previous titles and put into this game. The boxer entrances are exactly the same, the arena's are exactly the same, the commentary seems mostly unchanged and that's just some of things, i understand that not every year can be different but at least do some changes and make the game feel a little more unique then just feel like a FN4 DLC pack. When it comes to the modes the game both shows a good side and a bad side and i will start with the new Champion Mode, Champion Mode is a very interesting edition to the game and offers a good change to what we have come to expect for sports games but its nothing to leap out your seat for. The story is a fairly run of the mill rags to riches boxing story and offers a alright plot and some good fights, i think that if the can expand on this mode in the future it could be something special. The next mode i would rather not talk about but i feel i must, Legacy Mode has built a firm place in the Fight Night Series but the one problem it has is that it hasn't changed an awful lot since it came about and with FNC it is no exception and like i said with the presentation its just recycled. Legacy has had minor changes but overall its the same old and is a huge disappointment for a mode that i usually spent hours in.

    Overall Fight Night Champions has been a bit of a let down, when i saw early trailers and screenshots i felt like we were getting a rebooted and more addictive game but to be honest the game feels recycled and the changes that have been made don't bring a whole lot to the game, i felt like i was playing DLC for a previous game instead of getting a new experience.
    Expand
  7. ccc
    Nov 4, 2013
    0
    So I got this game on the PlayStation network for 5 bucks. Ice played round 3 and 4 and liked them. I figured I'd give the story mode a shot.So I got this game on the PlayStation network for 5 bucks. Ice played round 3 and 4 and liked them. I figured I'd give the story mode a shot. The fans itself looks good and plays well, but the story mode is awful! Why? Because I just want to box that's why. To often in fights conditions appear that prevent the player from actually enjoying the such as, an automatic broken right hand, can only punch with the left, an automatic bad cut over my eye, don't get hit there too many times or the fight gets stopped, a paid off ref that will call every body shot you deliver a hit to the opponents privates, right down to the last fight with frost, first two rounds, avoid him, don't matter what you do, he can't be beat, you have to avoid him, after that, it's a mandatory 3 rounds of body blows after that, who knows I gave up after about 20 tries and deleted the game. I want to play and win my way EA. This game sucks and I hope everyone involved in making the choices on how the story mode was going to work is fired and black listed from all gaming companies. What a streaming pile of garbage! Expand

See all 27 User Reviews