Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 603 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Final Fantasy XIII-2 is a direct sequel to FFXIII, and will once again star lead protagonist Lightning.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Feb 16, 2012
    90
    I absolutely love the game, and found myself totally absorbed in everything it has to offer.
  2. Feb 6, 2012
    89
    This is definitely a step in the direction of that old Final Fantasy feel we've come to know and love. It feels like what the original Final Fantasy XIII should have been.
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    85
    Final Fantasy XIII-2 is what Final Fantasy XIII should have been, with lots of sub-quests, mini-games and a little more exploration. Despite responding to fanbase requests, the team left unaltered the fighting system and the linearity; so this is not the comeback of a classic Final Fantasy.
  4. FF XIII-2's reliance on recycling locations and reluctance to indicate the next course of action hold it back from scoring as highly as XIII, despite its improvements – but its grand ideas, bigger monsters, and bigger still haircuts make it an adventure worth getting lost in time for. Lightning can strike twice after all.
  5. Feb 6, 2012
    80
    A superior game to its predecessor, Final Fantasy XIII-2 is the game that probably should have been originally released. Even if it doesn't quite achieve everything it sets out to do.
  6. Feb 9, 2012
    78
    If you hated its predecessor you will surely not warm up to this sequel. On the other hand Serah and Noel do a lot better than Lightning and her friends in Final Fantasy XIII. Here's more to do, more to discover, more roleplaying.
  7. Jan 31, 2012
    50
    This is a big game, clocking in at about the 40-hour mark, but the lack of challenge in combat combined with the formulaic missions and frequent cutscenes too often make it feel like a sticky trudge.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 193
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    While FF7 and FFX continue to be the best ones I've ever played this game is the closest they've been to reaching that great pinnacle theyWhile FF7 and FFX continue to be the best ones I've ever played this game is the closest they've been to reaching that great pinnacle they once had. The story is pretty amazing, The graphics are just simply stunning, the music is pure emotion in the form of sound organized in time, and the level of time that it takes to complete this game leaves me fulfilled. The only downfall is the DLC for storyline attachments but the overall quality of this game allows me to look past that and find myself thoroughly entertained. I've beaten it already and I still keep it to show my friends what a true game should be! Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Time travel? Chocobos? Moogles? Chocobo races? Amazing interactive combat system? Interactive cutscenes? Dialogue options? Excellent graphics? A fun story? Do you like these things? Then you'll like Final Fantasy XIII-2. They throw in everything you love about the Final Fantasy games and have made it sharper, cleaner, and better. Want to tame monsters and make them a part of your party? Do it! This game is amazing and well worth anyone's time! Even if you've never played a Final Fantasy game before. It even gives you a recap if you don't want to play FFXIII first. You might miss out on some story, but it gives you enough to let you get what's going on! Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Without a doubt this is worthy of a main FF game number. If it had different characters they could have named it FF 15. Do yourself a favorWithout a doubt this is worthy of a main FF game number. If it had different characters they could have named it FF 15. Do yourself a favor and buy this game, play it, and judge for yourself. I loved XIII very much, however many griped about the linear story line...well part 2 is far from linear. I am glad that SE listened to their fans and made adjustments. Enjoy it and happy playing. Expand
  4. Aug 7, 2012
    8
    Very different to FF XIII, instead of being an exclusively story centered game, this one is a player centered game allowing you to roamVery different to FF XIII, instead of being an exclusively story centered game, this one is a player centered game allowing you to roam around, solve puzzles, play minigames and pick monsters as your battle allies. The story is centered around two new and very well developed characters, Noel and the antagonist Caius in addition to Serah whereas Lighting only makes some brief appearances. While the world is a lot smaller than that of XIII it still manages to give about a max of 70 hours of gameplay. The 2 points it loses are because of the low challenge, the graphics not improving and the occasional poorly written dialogue. Expand
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    6
    I really wanted to love this game. I did not play XIII due to the negatives I read about it, and when I heard that many of those were improvedI really wanted to love this game. I did not play XIII due to the negatives I read about it, and when I heard that many of those were improved in this game I was excited and gave it a try. I have not played a FF game since 9, and my favorite is 3. I am a very old school ff player, as such when done with FFXII-2 I was left wondering what the heck I just played. It was an interesting game, with very nice graphics, a bit of a lame storyline, but it was not a Final Fantasy game in it's old school meaning. It had the perception of being a freely travelable world, but I still found it too linear. I found myself missing the old ways of leveling up your characters, and found the new system too basic. I absolutely hated controlling only one character in battle instead of the standard four, and the fact that the easiest thing to do in battle is just keep hitting the auto battle drove me nuts. Overall I felt they had taken the Final Fantasy idea and simplified it to the point where you hardly need any strategy to complete the game. I never had to spend hours leveling to be able to defeat a boss, or collect coins for equipment, and that just doesn't feel right. Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2012
    5
    By fixing some of the flaws people cried about in Final Fantasy XIII, SquareEnix have shown that they're simply not very good at making games.By fixing some of the flaws people cried about in Final Fantasy XIII, SquareEnix have shown that they're simply not very good at making games. Gone are the linear environments, replaced with open zones and the ability to jump between them. Gone is the lack of NPC interaction, with the various zones now populated with talkative figures. Gone is the dry extra content, now you have series of sidequests and collectibles to collect. And yet, it does all this wrong. Let's start with the graphics: they're great. So great, they barely run on the PS3. There is a lot of slowdown, and you'll spend a lot of time watching loading screens. Loading time goes beyond annoying; you'll often not want to use the ability to jump between the somewhat small zones as it means sitting through another load screen. Between those and the extensive cutscenes, I didn't seem to spend much time playing. When I was playing, it wasn't necessarily interesting. The battle system from XIII returns, AI and all, yet it seemed even easier this time. You have two fixed party members joined by a customizable monster companion, but just like the weapon leveling of XIII, monsters are not as interesting as you want them to be. Encounters are handled interestingly; rather than randomly being thrown into battle, you'll randomly be surrounded and have the option of attacking them first or trying to run. Think this means you could just bypass the easy enemies? Nope, it seems the more worthless the enemy the harder it is to simply not bother with. Difficulty is rather uneven thanks to the non-linear progression. Even without the non-linear progression, the story doesn't make much sense. They attempt to tug at your emotions, and might actually do so from time to time, but looking back at the events of the game I find it hard to care about any of the characters or any of the events. I quite liked XIII's story and characters up until the final few chapters, but I can't think of anything positive here. And I hope you loved Lightning, because this game seems to be written with the assumption that the player worships her as much as the creators and in-game characters do. So, after all that complaining, any good points? Well, the game does look pretty when it's not suffering from slowdown, and there is at least a little extra content here to enjoy. However, even after the game ends with a serious cliffhanger, I really don't care to go back to the FFXIII franchise to learn what happens next. Expand
  7. Jan 14, 2015
    0
    It's better than FF 13 in many ways, but when you are a perfectionist and want to play a game to it's max capabilities, then you're in forIt's better than FF 13 in many ways, but when you are a perfectionist and want to play a game to it's max capabilities, then you're in for some MMO-style farming, taking not hours but many days of mindless, funless mechanic grinding until you just give up and see the recent games of Square Enix for what they really are: soulless cash cows.

    This is not Final Fantasy anymore. FF died when Hironobu Sakaguchi left Squaresoft. Took me 13 years to finally accept that.
    Expand

See all 193 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?