Final Fantasy XIII-2 PlayStation 3

Final Fantasy XIII-2 Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 717 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Final Fantasy XIII-2 is a direct sequel to FFXIII, and will once again star lead protagonist Lightning.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Final Fantasy XIII-2 - Despair Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Feb 16, 2012
    90
    I absolutely love the game, and found myself totally absorbed in everything it has to offer.
  2. Feb 6, 2012
    89
    This is definitely a step in the direction of that old Final Fantasy feel we've come to know and love. It feels like what the original Final Fantasy XIII should have been.
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    85
    Final Fantasy XIII-2 is what Final Fantasy XIII should have been, with lots of sub-quests, mini-games and a little more exploration. Despite responding to fanbase requests, the team left unaltered the fighting system and the linearity; so this is not the comeback of a classic Final Fantasy.
  4. FF XIII-2's reliance on recycling locations and reluctance to indicate the next course of action hold it back from scoring as highly as XIII, despite its improvements – but its grand ideas, bigger monsters, and bigger still haircuts make it an adventure worth getting lost in time for. Lightning can strike twice after all.
  5. Feb 6, 2012
    80
    A superior game to its predecessor, Final Fantasy XIII-2 is the game that probably should have been originally released. Even if it doesn't quite achieve everything it sets out to do.
  6. Feb 9, 2012
    78
    If you hated its predecessor you will surely not warm up to this sequel. On the other hand Serah and Noel do a lot better than Lightning and her friends in Final Fantasy XIII. Here's more to do, more to discover, more roleplaying.
  7. Jan 31, 2012
    50
    This is a big game, clocking in at about the 40-hour mark, but the lack of challenge in combat combined with the formulaic missions and frequent cutscenes too often make it feel like a sticky trudge.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 194
  2. Negative: 46 out of 194
  1. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Without a doubt this is worthy of a main FF game number. If it had different characters they could have named it FF 15. Do yourself a favorWithout a doubt this is worthy of a main FF game number. If it had different characters they could have named it FF 15. Do yourself a favor and buy this game, play it, and judge for yourself. I loved XIII very much, however many griped about the linear story line...well part 2 is far from linear. I am glad that SE listened to their fans and made adjustments. Enjoy it and happy playing. Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    The Game Sucks but I'm a SweatShopBot payed by Squenix so I ma rate it a glowing 10er ;)

    enjoy the Finalfantasy so much better than 7, for
    The Game Sucks but I'm a SweatShopBot payed by Squenix so I ma rate it a glowing 10er ;)

    enjoy the Finalfantasy so much better than 7, for real exploration true colour hair so pink, most Toriyama wish I also have. Together we can difference these Fans don't know the true Final Fantsies in my heart will never forget. So much fun. After hanging around with Cloud Strife helping the village Chocobo this music never left me with XIII-2 I overly satisfied.
    Can anyone blame so good game?

    :P
    Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    9
    This game is a masterpiece like the classic Final Fantasys.
    The gameplay, the music, the characters, the ambience, the graphics, etc
    This game is a masterpiece like the classic Final Fantasys.
    The gameplay, the music, the characters, the ambience, the graphics, etc
    Everything is awesome.
    If you like good games.
    If you like FFXIII.
    If you like Final Fantasy saga.
    Buy It!
    Buy it right now.
    It's a masterpiece.
    Expand
  4. Apr 2, 2012
    8
    Good game and good continuation of his predecessor. It repairs in the defects of the previous one but without being a perfect game. ItGood game and good continuation of his predecessor. It repairs in the defects of the previous one but without being a perfect game. It neglects some elements. Expand
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    6
    As a (potentially rare) fan of FFXIII, I found myself wound up in the hype for this game. I was aware of all of the potential shortcomings,As a (potentially rare) fan of FFXIII, I found myself wound up in the hype for this game. I was aware of all of the potential shortcomings, including reduced team members, a monster recruit system (which sometimes is hit and miss in RPG's), and the potential for a time travelling story to be a complete mess (it's a difficulty topic to approach). Before I launch in, I'd like to say that I sank about 50 hours into this game and got the platinum trophy, so I think I saw most of what it had to offer (except DLC). To be fair, I think the game has some pretty crisp graphics (very similar to FFXIII) and some pretty cool moments in the mid game. I also think Caius is a pretty interesting antagonist, which I've seen echoed in many reviews. However, I think some of the aspects of the game got too simplified. In terms of battles, I found that I only had to be strategic with some of the after game bosses. In the main game, I got interested in trying to complete sidequests and found that I overlevelled VERY quickly, making the rest of the game a breeze. Normally I would say this is my fault, but one of the promises this time was a less linear game, so I think my interest in exploring is justified. The side quests themselves were fairly uninvolved as well. I expected a great deal of time hopping, but only in later quests does this seem to apply. The chrystarium is also redesigned, and I feel for the worse. I do appreciate the strategy of having certain crystals 'worth' more than others, but I found that they severely limited the abilities of the two characters where you would be foolish not to use them in those roles. As such, it seems to just be a matter of "how can I boost this characters best stat" rather than "how can I make an effective character". The monster taming system adds a bit more variety to the battle roles, and while I have seen some people complain about it, I actually did like this system. It also played a lot on resource management since you weren't sure (unless you faq) how good a monster will be, even at high levels. Combine all of the above with the auto-fight option, and you have a very streamlined battle system that might be a bit easy for veterans of the series. Finally, I felt the story was very underwhelming. As I said above, there are some pretty cool set pieces in the mid game, but there are also parts that had me scratching my head. For example (without spoilers), in one time period you thwart a mob of monsters and then in a later time period (same location) your characters feel sorry for them, help them, and then have to beat them down once more. There were a few events in the story that made me feel that the characters were acting inconsistent. I'm also not a fan of how some characters were shoe-horned into the story, with explanation to be provided in DLC. You can make assumptions based on information in the game, but that information is obtained by achieving fragments, which many people may not have the patience to acquire all of them. I'm fine with supplemental DLC, but not to explain portions of the story. In the end, I give it a 6 because despite having an inconsistent story and simple battles, I found myself oddly enjoying many parts of the game. I just think it wasn't a sum greater than it's parts in this case. Expand
  6. May 15, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a sad day when you realize your favorite game developer/publisher has totally sold out (it probably happened long ago.. but just now realizing). Just finished FF XIII-2 and it just feels like an attempt to make money. The Coliseum claims that you'll be able to fight the strongest monsters when the time is right. I'm reminded of the awesome monster area from FF X only to realize that that it's DLC only. There's an Outfit menu that's presented the entire game only to find it's DLC only. There's the section of the Serendipity that says it's under construction, i.e. DLC. The ending gives no closure, implies everything you've done has failed, and says "To be continued..." Why does it say to be continued? From the director of the game, "the world of FF XIII-2 is going to extend via DLC."

    FF XIII-2 does some things right, but it has a bitter aftertaste that I can't get rid of.
    Expand
  7. Jan 14, 2015
    0
    It's better than FF 13 in many ways, but when you are a perfectionist and want to play a game to it's max capabilities, then you're in forIt's better than FF 13 in many ways, but when you are a perfectionist and want to play a game to it's max capabilities, then you're in for some MMO-style farming, taking not hours but many days of mindless, funless mechanic grinding until you just give up and see the recent games of Square Enix for what they really are: soulless cash cows.

    This is not Final Fantasy anymore. FF died when Hironobu Sakaguchi left Squaresoft. Took me 13 years to finally accept that.
    Expand

See all 194 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?