User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2093 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    While still playing this game, I can assure you that Square-enix took one step in the right direction. In Final Fantasy XIII you will find everything a game should have: Great story, well-developed and compelling characters, stunning enviroments, one of the best musical scores of the series, entertaining battle system, and DIFFICULTY. Every role is vital, and strategies are key for some battles. For those who like to compare FFXIII to other FFS just remember how great were FFVIII & FFVII, but how easy they were as well. I found that FFXIII is the oppossite of FFXII. Whereas FFXII gave you the freedom you 'need', tons of quests, it offered, IMO, the weakest story and character development of the series. In contrast, FFXIII is brilliantly developed, as characters and story is concerned. Sure, some things can be improved, some towns and quest can be added, but I, for one, cannot complain, as this game exceeded my expectations and I can't wait for its sequel. It's not a 10, as I gave. I would probably rate it as a 9.5, but hey, some put 0s and 1s so I wanted to raise the user score. Expand
  2. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    When I bought my Playstation 3, just a few weeks ago, I knew right away that my first game would be Final Fantasy XIII, in spite of all the criticisim from critics and fans. For the first 5 hours, the game, if not for the beautiful cutscenes and story, was for me quite boring and tedious. However, once I started to be given more Paradigms, which is the basis of the ATB battle system, battles became more fun and less tedious. After the 10 or 15 hour mark, I was thoroughly enjoying each battle, as each battle was different from the last. I rarely had, early in the game, to do any grinding to continue through the game, but in Chapter 10, the game suddenly became excruciantingly difficult, and I had to do hours of tedious grinding to handle a the chapter's second Boss Battle. After that, the game went back to its usual fun and engaging self. Putting that aside, the story in Final Fantasy XIII is great. It is wonderfully crafted and was almost (but not quite) in the level of the Metal Gear Series in terms os storytelling. I found all the Playable Characters great and engaging. I know that most people complain about Vanille's personality and voice, but I actually found her to be the most likable character in the game, and from the very moment she began to talk she made me smile. Lightning, Snow, Hope and Sazh were great characters, and their voice actors were excellent. Fang herself is also perhaps the second most charismatic character of the cast. As for the Secondary Characters, I was very dissappointed for the lack of development they were given, especially Cid Rains and Galenth Dysley. In graphics, I think its the best game yet. The enviroments, cutscenes and especially the character models, are beautiful and detailed. The characters themselves look extremelly realistic, even in cutscenes with the in-game engine. The only moment in which I found the graphics a little bland was in the Vile Peaks, where I saw many low resolution enviroments and objects. The rest of the areas were amazing, especially the "Lake Bresha", "Palamecia", "Eden" and "Nautilus". The soundtrack is great, but not the best in the series. I think it should have been more orchestral and less eletronic, and a few of the tracks became too repetitive for my taste. The best songs for mewere "Fighting Fate", "Born Anew" and "Fang's Theme". The voice acting was excellent all around, although on a few, small ocasions, the lips movements were not according to the words said. The battle system is most of the time fun, and it's both fast paced and strategic. The game is, until Chapter 11, very linear, but I didn't find it as extremelly linear as some critics said, and I think that the linearity can be excused thanks to the fun that the battle system gives. Also, about the lack of towns, well, I wasn't so annoyed at this after I realised that there were towns, just without NPCs and Shops, and that they were fun to see and explore. In conclusion, Final Fantasy XIII is a great, fun, beautiful game, with just a few small flaws that, thankfully, don't ruin the experience. I don't think it's the best of the series, in fact, I think that Final Fantasy XII was a lot better, but it is still excellent andnot nearly as bad as some critics said. Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    I wouldn't say I'm an avid FF fan. I've played about four of the games, and enjoyed every one immensely. This is no different. Sure, this game, at times, became 'boring'. But I use this word in its loosest sense. The game kept me on my feet, yearning for what was going to happen next. I enjoyed the character's stories and their relationships with others. Many people disliked the battle style, but I found it intriguing and different. So many games are just, *press b to slash* or *hit this button to use a special move*. But you actually had to use your brain for this. Tactics were needed instead of button mashing. I would have given this game a ten, hands down, but one thing. Towards the end, the story sidetracks, and you are placed in the middle of nowhere. You have to fight a billion (quite literally) monsters to be good enough to move on. It took me, personally, at least ten hours (also literally) to be even close to killing the monster in the next area. In some ways, I enjoyed this because I could see how much I improved not only by the amount of damage I could deal, but by the tactics I used. As soon as I finished the game, I immediately went to buy the next one. Final Fantasy XIII is not for everybody, I understand that. It makes you think, it keeps you on your toes, it incorporates a very different battle style to ones used so often today. If you like games that are straight forward, easy, and not satisfying, don't get this game. However, if you are like me, someone who likes to get into their games, who likes to wrap their minds around them, who likes to analyze them and work out the best possible strategy to defeat that certain enemy, buy this game right now. Heck, by a PS3 just to buy this game. Expand
  4. Sep 13, 2010
    10
    I got this the same day i got god of war 3 and i kid you not after playing the two, it took me 2 weeks to go back and play the GOW3. it is that good. A lot of people say the game is "linear" all because they are too used to running around like headless chickens for hours in free roaming games. honestly i think this game was brilliantly made so that if your the type of person thats in a hurry you can play through the the in 25 hours flat and move to something else. Then if you want to do all the sides missions all you have to do is turn around and take care of it. its that simple.
    if you ask me.. I'd say whats the point going into areas where the bad guys will kill with one swipe at the start of the game? its not the regular cliche of boy meets girl, love and unicorns no. Its deeper than that.
    And the battle system keeps you on your toes every second. If you thought Final fantasy X-2 was fast your in for a huge surprise.this game moves at a blistering pace. when i see games like fallout 3 rated at 90 and this beauty of a game given a measly 83 i'm crushed. Where have the real gamers gone..
    Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Most in depth battle system Ive ever seen in an RPG maybe any game. A game clearly driven by its narrative the 1up review the best Ive seen. Is it linear? Yes, but I believe it served a purpose the second best RPG behind Valkyria Chronicles for me.
  6. Feb 20, 2011
    9
    Okay, this isn't want everyone expected but several things you have to understand. It's not 1998 anymore, it's a completely new battle system. And if you were able to control all the players it wouldn't be the paradigm system at all. The linear storyline is to help newer fans know where to go, but the game isn't easy at all. You have to actually learn how to play and learn the system. If you go through the game in a good pace, it plays out well. This game is linear yes, but all RPGs are just their sandboxed most of the time. In my initial playthrough, I raced through it, and I started resenting the game because how hard it got during gran pulse, the doom clocks, and if the main character dies it's game over. But you can start right back where you left off, don't have to reload a save and waste hours. Many long time RPG fans have to realize that games like FFVII, Chrono Trigger, and other classics are considered dated game dynamics now. Even the reviews for the remake of DQVI pointed that out. We RPGers have to evolve, and this game is nowhere near as bad as crazy RPG fans think it should always stay the same. I love turned based, controlling all characters too, and free exploring and more eastern elements but you can't just rip on a game because it's not just like your dear favorites. As a hard core expert RPGer for 15 years I can say this game is a well worth edition. Just learn how to stagger and save your party, and then the game will be much more enjoyable. Expand
  7. Oct 5, 2010
    9
    Final Fantasy is a great game that is both rich in graphics and gameplay. My only flaw is that the game can appear a bit boring for some, but it can be easily avoided if you stay away from long grinding sessions. I would happily recommend this game to anyone.
  8. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    Final Fantasy XIII takes awhile to get the ball rolling but once you get in there's no coming back. The graphics are beautiful but that was almost a granted with this game, the battle system also takes a road somewhere between tradition FFX or FFVII battles and FFXII's complete departure. At first the game may seem simplistic but don't let that full you, I found it (in terms of pure enemy strength) to be the hardest in the series. However it is the least punishing as well, and deaths won't set you back to your last save point but right before the battle. The game walks you down a linear path in the beginning, but this helps more then it constricts. It lets you focus on becoming a master of the battle system before your thrown to the hellishly difficult open world where you'll die again, and again, and again. The story is certainly not the best in the series but it is still interesting with plenty of twists to keep you interested, also there is a ton of life in the game, enemy life mostly, but the world will always feel alive in some way. Finally I must state that I was disparaged with other reviews that criticize this game from departing from series trademarks like towns and airships. This new focus is more easy, all shopping is done through save points and teleporting around the world of Pulse means you'll never find yourself walking for 15 minutes just to get where you need to go. This is a bold step in the right direction for the series and Square Enix is best to ignore the detractors when making 13-2. Expand
  9. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    Perfect. The graphics were completely amazing, the battle system was just the way it was like before, storyline shocked me significantly through many changes, and it should be in part of Game of the Year. Not only that, I think the linear nature of the gameplay is still fine because although it wasn't challenge, it did make the gameplay more easier in my opinion and allows players to concentrate their battles on bosses more than the dungeon itself. That way, people can fight along the way than to just ignore them and get beaten Expand
  10. May 14, 2011
    9
    This is the best Final Fantasy game I have played in years, since FFVIII in fact. I love the old FF games. I've played FFIV and FF VI over and over again and was hesitant to get into this 'new fangled' game, but I ended up loving it. I know there has been a lot of criticism of the linear format of the game, but I actually liked it, I thought it worked. Besides, there is plenty of room for free, independent quests while completing the missions in Chapter 11.

    The characters are cool, the battle system is fun and interesting and as a whole the game is challenging. I really like that the lead character is female, Lightning is great, the best lead I've seen in a long time, my favourite FF female since Celes in FF VI!

    Looks wise this game is gorgeous and Masashi Hamauzu's fantastic soundtrack is haunting and memorable, I often found that the game's music was stuck in my head even when I wasn't playing the game.

    I wasn't crazy about the fact that there were no towns and I had to get used to the upgrading system and how hard it is to get gil, I sort of wished that your levelling up didn't completely stop with the crystarium, but those are small flaws. I liked the freedom of not having to cure after every battle like in some of the previous FF games that had the player so dependent on buying items.

    This game has restored my love for Final Fantasy and I can't wait for FF XIII-2
    Expand
  11. Aug 30, 2012
    9
    Linear some people say, but most of them had probably not finished the marks off. I think the game is well up there with most of the FF games with epic scenery´s, very good environment art work and a good story. However, I´m not fully satisfied with the characters personality wise even though the game overall did not let me down. I recommend this game, one of the best RPGs for sure for PS3. Expand
  12. May 23, 2011
    10
    Purely Epicness! Gameplay is great, story is interesting, characters are memorable and graphics are AWESOME! So far best game what I have ever played. Yes I'm FF13 fanboy.
  13. Jun 4, 2011
    9
    This certainly isn't the best Final Fantasy, but it's not the worst either. I thought the game play was a tad oversimplified as others have mentioned (spam Auto-battle for pretty much 95% of the battles), but the graphics were very impressive and I personally thought the story was very good. The linearity didn't put me off very much because I tend to play Final Fantasies very linearly during the first few hours anyway. Those who are giving the game anything less than a 5, if you played up to Chapter 11 I guarantee you that your opinion of the game would change. The last 3 Chapters really felt like a more nostalgic FF experience. Expand
  14. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    I don't see how people don't like this. It has excellent characters, excellent game-play, and an excellent plot. The voice acting was wonderful and it is very challenging at some points. Looking for a challenging time killer? This is for you. Oh, and the graphics are also wonderful.
  15. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    I've never seen a Final Fantasy game that is so big, even Cloud Strife ever had a sword. Final Fantasy XIII is without a shadow of a doubt, the best game of 2010. Call it like you mean it, but with a phenomenal set of battle systems, impact challenges, and even new characters like the always talented Lightning, the fans keep spreading the word after almost 25 years of JRPG awesomeness. I'm am so dying for a sequel to Final Fantasy XIII because it's coming out next January. Until then, maybe I'll spend time playing hour after hour until I may die tryin'. But Final Fantasy XIII is the best game since Final Fantasy X. Expand
  16. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    I love this game. So beautiful and action packed with a story line that is entrancing as it is involved. I will continue to love this game for all time and it will go down as the most beautiful console game to date. The grinding will get on your nerves a little after the game is complete, but that should only worry the Platinum hunters. Oh yeah, that treasure hunter trophy is a nightmare and is definitely missable. I will support this franchise from here on. Expand
  17. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    I play the Final Fantasy series since the V. I really love RPGs and, like many others, VII is my favorite and it will always be. But I think many people people simple don't understand that not only games changes as time passes, but also our preferences and desires. Final Fantasy XIII is far from the previous ones for its linearity and an optional auto battle. A game consists not only in gameplay, but also plot, soundtrack, graphics and fun. Each FF offers you new experiences, and that is why the series get high rates in most websites. Games must innovate in some way. We don't want more from the same, like most shooters. Square makes some mistakes, but they're trying. And gamers should recognize it, because one day Square can make something really awesome. My life changed a lot since FF V. Today I work, I have a girlfriend, social life, personal projects and family to give attention. I don't have time to explore 100% of what the game offers. FF XIII has an advantage on its linearity: if you have short time to play games and if you love RPGs, FF XIII is great for you. I loved it and I'll buy FF XIII-2. If you want to focus on traditional gameplay and more from the same, maybe you should take a look at some shooters out there, like Call of Duty. Maybe a lot of players didn't like FF XIII, but no one can deny that each time you get a new FF you'll see something different. And that is something many companies aren't capable of. Open your mind for new experiences: it will be good for your games and your life. Expand
  18. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    Great story, great battle system, and an amazingly beautiful game. Sure there are no towns and the game play is linear but when the story is about these characters fleeing from the purge, is it realistic that they have time to poke around towns with NPC's being friendly, or to wander on meaningless side quests as if they had all the time in the world? Sure these things could have been written into the story, but it wasn't and I respect that decision. The game was worth the $60 I paid at its release and it is surely worth the $20 it costs now, especially with its sequel XIII-2 coming out on 1/31/12, which will have towns and side quests etc. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  19. Jan 16, 2012
    9
    Amazing visuals, amazing gameplay. This is my first final fantasy and since the start of the game i've been dragged into the plotline, its not the perfect game but it has a thrilling battling system that will keep you constantly involved in the combat and not just the usual turn for turn rpg. Yes it has his flaws like the slow develop of the gameplay but once you are in the 4th chapter of the game the battle system will begin to build itslef and will become extremly fun. Easly controled and no tedious waiting for attack turns since when you are not attacking you can use objects or watch the other npc's attack the enemies, despite the fact the other 2 members of your party ar ai controlled you'll have a truly "final fantasy" experience. I highly recommend this game to those who are beautiful graphics and strong story lovers. Expand
  20. Mar 5, 2012
    9
    A FINAL FANTASY at a height of the saga. It is possible that it is linear in excess but in the rest of other aspects it dazzles. Very nice the history of lu´cie and the fal´cie, Cocoon, Pulse, Lighning and Serah. The beautiful recreation, your powerful sonorous band, the intelligent system of combat or the emotion of your prominent figures, complete an excellent game. It is not FFVII, not X, but it is Final Fantasy undoubtedly. Expand
  21. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    Its a beautiful game, but it fails in the aspect that it is too linear and it still does not beat FFVII for story and variety. The battle system, while no doubt some will love it and some will hate it, i was disappointed by it. These flaws are i can only give it a 9
  22. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    This game has me split into two. One part of me hates the corny story and mostly lame cast. The other part of me is addicted to the combat mechanics of the game and is only thinking about getting that platinum trophy. I think the combat is good enough for me to forget the lame story and just enjoy the game when I can. Oh and by the way this game looks insanely amazing, I still don't know how they pulled this graphics on a PS3, you would need a massive PC to replicate them. Expand
  23. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    a perfect Final fantasy game, from the story to the graphics to the actual gameplay. i could literally play for most of a day at a time and still want to keep going
  24. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    Final Fantasy XIII is an interesting game to say the least. As an old time Final Fantasy fan since PSX Final Fantasy games, I was eagerly anticipating FFXIII. Before I bought it I heard a lot of controversial opinions about this game. In fact, my own opinion about it wasn't clear until about 2/3 of my own playthrough of FF13. The thing is, FF13 is different from its predecessors in many ways, but there is one thing that is the same. The quality, my friends. This game was meant to be exactly what it is and the execution is pretty much perfect. And here comes the major problem. A lot of people are expecting traditional Final Fantasy elements to be in every new numbered Final Fantasy games, and they will see the lack of aforementioned elements as a major flaw. In short, don't buy this game if you're looking to see many traditional Final Fantasy elements, you will be severely disappointed. However, if you're looking for a good JRPG with high-production values, plot that focuses on main characters (personally, I haven't seen that in the main series since FF10, 10 years ago), fun and fast battle system, stunning design and graphics and an outstanding soundtrack from one of the FF10's composers then Final Fantasy XIII is definitely worth checking out. Expand
  25. Jan 16, 2012
    9
    For the typical Final Fantasy fan, you will love this game, but to those who are hardcore FF fans might find this game a bit displeasing due to the changes made into the overall game compared to other games in the series. Regardless, Final Fantasy XIII brings in a breath of Fresh air when it comes to Character Design, Battle System, Music and overall story telling. You will enjoy this game and it is worth every penny! Expand
  26. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. The best RPG of this generaion (but XIII-2 looks even better).
    Everybody should buy and enjoy this masterpiece.
    A true Final Fantasy, and one of the best games of all the story (or maybe the best).
  27. HD3
    Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Good story, interesting and flashy combat, excellent soundtrack, lush enviroments. Very linear though to the point you may find it annoying if you prefer to just wander. Never the less, quite an enjoyable game.
  28. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    This game was my first final fantasy and I enjoyed it. Battle system was great. The characters are great, The story is OK. This deserves a well earned 10
  29. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    Despite being a polarized Final Fantasy, especially for letting many elements of previous titles aside, there is much to enjoy in Final Fantasy XIII. With a fast and functional battle system, flawless artistic direction, great narrative and a high quality soundtrack, Square-Enix proves that traditions are not necessary to forge an excellent game in the series.
  30. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    I thought this game was great. Awesome battle system, beautiful graphics. The story was going along great until I got to the final boss, then i was like, "WTF"?! It's also pretty difficult when you get to the last level, but other than that, I think this is a great entry in the series and it shows the company moving forward and trying new things.
  31. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    Yet again another amazing story line, i was disappointed in how linear it was, but the story so made up for it, FF XIII - 2 had an amazing gameplay but even so still a good story, but not quite as good as ff XIII, IX still has the best story of em all, then VIII is second, id say XIII is third and VII being fourth
  32. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    XIII is a reinvention of the franchise, many fans don't like it precisely because, it's different and they don't like change, i love innovation and when franchises dare to go out of their comfort zone and do something different it's amazing, SE did that, and we got FF XIII, a completely new experience in the franchise that perhaps may not be as well receivred, but it's worthy of the Final Fantasy title Expand
  33. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    Final fantasy 13, a game so divisive that the mere mention of it can cause fan rage all over the internet.

    I am one of the few that actually liked the game, because for the first time in years I was interested in the story, From the very beginning I was hooked, shocked, intrigued and I kept playing just to see what was going to happen. Exploration may seem linear, but is it really an
    issue? Were earlier final fantasies really open world to begin with? In earlier installments it was easier to fake non-linearity by using technical limitations as cheap tricks.
    I think that a lot of content was cut or dumbed down in order to fit into the xbox dvd format, even the lack of back tracking, it's obvious that each area is stored in different dvds.
    Fighting is fun, fast paced and it's very different from "press x until the monster dies". I loved the paradigm shift system because now fighting requires more strategy.
    I thought that the main content of the game was the fighting itself instead of running around during useless fetch quests.
    I also thought that it would have been better to be in control of some situations instead of watching an action cutscene.
    In the end, though, I have to admit that I loved the game, I reccomend it if you like a mature story with a lot of twist and engaging characters.
    Linearity can put off someone, but give it a chance, you might be surprised.
    Expand
  34. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    the storyline for this game keeps you hooked. the only shame is no backtravel and the fact that the game opens up really late into the game big sigh
  35. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    Pro:Lightning,Snow,Fang,Sazh,Story,Places,Music,CP,Barthandelus,Ending
    Cons:Vanille,Linear,Graphics

    ts one of the best final fantasy i really liked the story,characters,music,development Crystogen points...
    This game would be better if they maked for only PS3...The Ending was something fantastic the best ending in FF titles....
  36. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    Fans will continue to debate but I think the 13th installment of Final Fantasy is a delightful experience. As long as Square Enix are willing to try something new, I will give them a fair chance. Sure, the linear gameplay, uninspiring plot and the lack of interaction between the characters and the environment doesn't provide a fulfilling gaming experience, one cannot deny that it's easily the best gameplay in the series. The breathtaking graphics that vows me make forget the lack depth design interaction wise and some characters are memorable (sort of), the score provided is also an improvement from the previous installment. In some ways this game can easily be criticized for not following its roots, but as long as try and make it a fresh experience, it's a risk worth taking, hopefully they can improve themselves after this. Expand
  37. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    Although, Final Fantasy XIII feels different from past entries in the series, it couldn't have existed without all the hard work Square Enix has put into the twelve titles before it. The battle system is the product of years of experimentation, innovation, and refinement. The game world is part of a fairly consistent vision that Square Enix has been developing with each new installment.

    Finally, all of the streamlined and convenient game design choices have been the result of honest reflection and recognition that certain design choices from past JRPGs no longer work. Thus, Final Fantasy XIII is the product of past JRPGs, as well as, a wonderful evolution of the genre. Most importantly, Square Enix's latest JRPG epic proudly continues the series' tradition of being an RPG that offers engrossing combat systems and unforgettable adventures. Simply put, Final Fantasy XIII shouldn't be missed.
    Expand
  38. Jun 30, 2013
    9
    As a relatively new FF fan who just finished VI and VII, I definitely approached XIII with a grain of salt. Many have said it's not like FF at all, or its so linear as to ruin the experience. I can safely say that everyone's opinion was correct... to a certain degree.

    Yes, FF XIII is exceedingly linear to a fault, and I can see how this would ruin the game for many traditional FF fans.
    Nevertheless, I don't see why this one low point overshadows the rest of the game's magnificent strengths. In terms of design, the artistic sense and music are excellent, definitely on par if not exceeding the FF standard. The story, while convoluted at times is actually pretty sophisticated, and one who is willing to sift through the copious amounts of information in the datalog will find a nuanced and fascinating tale. Even if some didn't like characters such as Hope or Vanille, the cast as a whole is very strong, playing extremely well off each other and having great voice acting.

    Even the linearity has its benefits. It adds to the overall streamlined feel of the game. It's really hard to explain it to someone who hasn't played through the game, but there's a sense of slickness to everything in the game. The menus are clean and efficient, the crystarium system is easy to use, and the combat is fast, strategic, and yet understandable. Even though you only control one character at a time, combat in XIII is really a joy. True, the system doesn't show all its features until around chapter 3 out of 13, but once it does it shines for the rest of the game, especially once you have access to all roles and characters. I'm not really sure where the concept that you can just auto battle the whole game came from. Obviously these people never made it to mid-game bosses such as Barthandelus. This is a 40 hour long game, and the combat really doesn't ever get dry, save for grinding (which the main story is perfectly possible without.)

    Overall, its not a perfect game, but its definitely worthy of its FF title for its overall excellent production qualities, tight gameplay, and excellent story. While the linearity is a turn off for some, its just a different style for others, and one that is perfectly enjoyable if one can appreciate its strengths. I can safely say I was impressed and pleasantly surprised by XIII, although I still like VI the best.
    Expand
  39. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    game play and plot that is emotionally driven and to the point without the abundance of side quests that are common in the series, personally i would not change a single minute of the experience
  40. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    Before I write the review I just have to say FFXIII trolls give this game way too much crap. This game is a great game, the linearity was not a huge issue. It's just westerners have gotten used to these WRPGs where you have a wide open world that you can easily get lost in (literally), not to mention the story is usually lacking. So the bad reviews is just westerners complaining that the JRPG is a different type of RPG. Also, the FF fanbase is very split and conflicted. If Square does one thing then half are going to be pleased and half not pleased. Honestly, I think you can't ever please more than 60% of the fanbase at one time anymore because we all want different things. Now on to the review.......Final Fantasy XIII is another great addition to the franchise. The story is a compelling tale and the characters play well off of eachother. The only short coming is Vanille's high pitched voice, but thats the voice coach's fault for wanting it that way. The characters are well developed and you see the main protagonist mature through the course of the game. The combat is fantastic, very flashy and fun, as well as fast-paced. It offers a refreshing change up for the series. The music is good also, but not quite up to what Nobuo Uematsu has offered for previous installments. That doesn't stop the soundtrack from being good, though. There are also over 60 sidequests to indulge in when you get the chance which offer plenty of post-story play. Final Fantasy XIII's more streamlined nature pays off in this epic tale of heroism. Expand
  41. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    This game is just amazing.If you give it a chance and play it for more than 5 hours you won't regret it.Graphics is one of the best as of today.Music made by Masashi Hamauzu is great and in my opinion,only FFX's soundtrack is better.All the characters are really charismatic and you will see how each of them will develop trough the story.CG scenes are absolutely magnificent.The battle system looks too easy in the beginning,but after you progress through the story a little bit,you will see how deep and enjoyable it can be.
    Don't listen to people that give this game 0 and consider it the worst in the series.I completed all of the FF's from 1 to 13(excluding the online ones) and FF13(alongside FF10) is my favorite game of all time.
    Expand
  42. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    One of the best games of this generation of consoles. Beautiful graphics, interesting story, great world, deep characters, nice battle system.

    Only - is closed-corridors levels.
  43. Jul 15, 2012
    9
    Despite the problems with linearity and lack of towns and restricted freedom, this game is still fun. Call me a old-school gamer but as long as a game is fun its worth a chance. The game also makes up for linearity with its stunning graphics, brilliant battle systems, and interesting characters leaving me with one of my favorite games.
  44. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    Final Fantasy XIII is a game that has garnered quite a bit of backlash for largely misunderstood reasons. The game is linear yes, is that a negative aspect of the game? no it is not. Is the plot really that convoluted? no it isn't, you aren't even required to read the datalog that so many people dislike. The story of Final Fantasy XIII is it's strong point. The main character of the game is a young woman named Lightning. The story begins with her attempt to rescue her younger sister from the clutches of a god like being known as a fal'Cie. From there Lightning and her friends are put on the path of an adventure that will test both their battle prowess and who they are as human beings, calling into questions their morals.

    The battle system is a fresh take on the ATB system. Being able to que up to six consecutive attacks is something that the series has needed for a long time. The system revolves around two things, first is the paradigm shift system, which is the roles that you assign to your characters, second is the stagger meter, a bar that once full staggers said opponent and lowers their defence allowing you to inflict massive damage. The battle system has been criticized by "fans" of the series saying that it only consists of pressing X. That is not true but even if it were, what series have they been playing for all these years? Every FF game requires an over abundance of the use of X, that is just selective whining. XIII will require you to use the L1, directional pad and X in battle, not just one, unless you want to lose that is. The biggest bright points among Final Fantasy XIII when compared to the rest of the series is the protagonist of the game, Lightning, the character development of the party and their interactions of a group. Lightning has been compared to Cloud on a lot of message boards, but that isn't an apt comparison, there is a world of difference between the two. The development and characterization that Lightning undergoes through the game is a lot more human than anything Cloud has to offer. She is a very strong female lead that is so relatable that almost any player should be able to relate to her.

    The character development of the party as a whole is done a lot better than in previous iterations. Each character will come to realizations throughout the quest that will change who they are and how they view the world. The chemistry of the group also makes their interactions that much more meaningful. Another criticism is just how linear the game is. It's true that the game is indeed linear but it is done for a purpose. Final Fantasy XIII is a story driven game, moreso than it's predecessors. The linearity of the game is used as a story telling tool to help put you into Lightning and co's shoes. They are on the run and have no where to go but forward, they cannot stop to shop and lolly gag in towns because they are fugitives. The game is simply being realistic in it's plot and should be commended for taking such an effective approach to telling the story of Lightning so that you could relate to her situation and how she would be feeling. The soundtrack is also top notch, including beautiful orchestral pieces that fit perfectly with each scene. It adds another layer to the storytelling.

    Overall Final Fantasy XIII deserves a ten out of ten for it's epic plot, memorable protagonist and addicting battle system. There is not a better release in the series than this one. Definitely worth playing through.
    Expand
  45. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    I give FF XIII a solid ten because it is the most bold game to come out of Japan in years. People go on about how bad of an rpg it is, when this game is not really an rpg, neither was it designed as one. It's a brilliant combination of action, rpg and strategy.

    It's a bold game because it completely ignored gaming trends and presented something unique. In terms of battle it was not
    about simple grinding and leveling but about thinking, planing ahead and acting fast. But at the same time it was an evolution of previous battle systems as well. In terms of story it broke from the classic protagonist versus antagonist duel theme into a drama that was centered around the team itself and the in-between the members friction. It is a pretty linear game since for one it is heavily action influenced but mainly because it was designed as a huge story driven ride, more than any FF before. While controversial, it played the factor of story delivery to the best possible degree.

    FF XIII is a game that has been heavily criticized for all the things it was not. I rather focused on all the things it was.

    It features one of the greatest protagonists in any FF game. An environment that is not only based on graphics but unmatched aesthetics as well. The scenario is probably the most complicated and hard to follow, compared to any other FF game to date. Holding its own rather well into 2012.

    Majestic sites, some very hard and rewarding battles, fast paced action, dazzling pre-rendered CGI movie in blu ray quality and an epic story to unveil.
    Expand
  46. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    Look I KNOW this is not your typical FF game but that doesn't mean it is bad or that it abandoned its roots and all that BS, ALL the bad reviews for this game be it users or critics center around just one point: that it is not your typical FF game and by that most of the people mean FF 7 and FF 10, I am a gamer for more than 15 years and you know what: this game is AWESOME and then some and the only thing that will bug you a bit is the weird ending (sad) but it has a sequel.
    I am a guy who respects other people's opinions but with all due respect to the negative review guys; if gaming did not develop past its "roots" then you will be bored and your negative reviews will be about how repetitive the game is.
    TO SUMMARISE: this is a great game with great graphics, story, gameplay and above all else deep and engaging characters that you are going to love if you can see past auron, tidus, yuna, cloud and tifa.
    Expand
  47. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    My first PS3 game, I knew it would be before buying the console. And I must say I am not disappointed. The visual presentation of this game is just great. The cutscenes are breathtaking. The characters are unique and memorable. The battle system is elegant and smart. The story is decent and has some cool twists.
    Most of the people had issues with the game being too linear, I'm totally ok
    with that.
    One thing I didn't like much: the storyline slowed down in the second half, so the game could be shorter less battles in the end and more story. Overall, this is a really nice game, a mustbuy for every jrpg lover.
    Expand
  48. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    This game was alright. the story was kinda lack luster at first but it got a lil better. The game has beautiful cutscenes and the ATB works really well. I cant see why anyone hates this game I mean its not called Open world 13 or something like that Its called Final Fantasy 13. And some of the characters i want to kill but you have that with all games. There was a lack of Npcs but the amount of customization in your team was amazing. Expand
  49. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    At first, I gave this game a 3. After I played it more, I know how good it really is. First off I'd just like to state the obvious, this game has some of the best graphics in a video game, and easily the best on console. It also has one of the best soundtracks that I've ever heard for a video game. As for the combat system, it is obviously different than all other Final Fantasies, but that's not a bad thing. The battle system is very rewarding and fun. It does have a big flaw though, the story really isn't as great as you would expect with Final Fantasy, but you should still try the game either way. Expand
  50. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    Almost as good as X and VII. Very well, made, as well as being a beautiful looking and sounding game. Like the previous installments, It has a wonderful story, and well developed characters. Some people, on the other hand, say it is to linear. I say that if you don't like it, go play another game.
  51. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    Final Fantasy is a great series, and many fans would agree that Final Fantasy XIII is the worst in the series, and I highly disagree, while it has some flaws, Final Fantasy XIII is a great game, which consistent gameplay, and a nice crystarium system. With 1,319 positive reviews, 108 mixed reviews, and 293 negative reviews, you will most likely enjoy this game.
  52. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    this game has amazing graphics. while some of the characters are dull and can be really annoying the overall story is nice. the combat system is nice, with the exception of switching paradigms. when you switch paradigms in the game it takes several seconds in real time, which gets frustrating. another thing that bothers me is that you don't receive gil (currency) in battle, which is annoying as well. however, the music, especially the battle music, is amazing. Expand
  53. Sep 21, 2013
    9
    This Final Fantasy is totally different than series before. Game looks fantastic on PS3, much better than X360. The plot isn't a masterpiece, but Square Enix put a pressure on relations between characters. I'm fan of the series and even the longest tutorial in history of gaming had much fun with completing this. Anyway there is, like always, cut scenes and audio (original Japanese dubbing and also whole music) are MASTERPIECES Expand
  54. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    While it's easy for me to see why people don't like this game, I honestly loved it. In many ways, it was perfect for the mind-state I was in and the amount of time I had during the day to play it. Great graphics, distinct character designs, INCREDIBLE soundtrack, and the kind of storyline that I really like that involves normal people fighting against an unjust fate. For gameplay, I thought it struck a great balance between simplicity and strategy that is fast and rewarding...coupled with the linear nature of the game, you get battles that are never too easy, sometimes too hard, but always intense.

    As a game experience, this one was perfect for me and ranks among my favorite games of all time. This is all in the face of thinking I wouldn't like this game (based on how much trash people talk about it), but I took a chance and was rewarded immeasurably. Too bad the sequels go overboard on the crazier aspects of the FFXIII universe lore, and lose the human element. Oh well.
    Expand
  55. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    The extreme linearity and sloppy plot did indeed bother me, but I am the kind of gamer who can patiently sit through linearity as long as it opens up at some point. When I got to the open world I really started to enjoy the game, especially with the monster hunt missions. The combat can feel disengaging because of the Auto-Battle, but I just changed the settings to make the cursor always appear on Abilities and it actually made the game feel much more strategic. Square Enix made a really good choice with designing the characters, especially Lightning who in my opinion has the best looking outfit in Final Fantasy history. Lastly, the graphics, visuals, and background art were outstanding. I sometimes found myself stopping in the middle of a level just to pan the camera around and enjoy the view. Haters, say to me what you want, but Final Fantasy 13 to me was definitely worth my money. Expand
  56. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    Sure enough the game isn't for everyone but why not try and enjoy it. Some people say that everything is bad about it but the visuals and soundtrack is great. the story-line is gripping. Sure the fighting moments are kind of bad but look past that. Look at every positive thing about it. my opinion is to get the game, i think it is good.
  57. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    I'm writing this out of pure shock from the FF fanbase. When I first picked up FFXIII, it was because I needed to try a new series. I had recently been playing Skyrim a lot, and I saw this on E-Bay for a cheap price. I'd decided to do some research on it first, and found out it was an JRPG. It had a 8.6 metacritic score. It seemed pretty good. Then I came across the countless forum posts directed at the game, and wow, what a bunch of whiny, spoilt brats complaining about the game. This totally put me off buying it because people wouldn't stop **** about it's linearity and nonsencical story. After a couple of months, I'd completely forgot about it, then I saw it in-shop a couple of months later. And I said **** it' because it was really cheap and I was going to buy it someday anyway. I went home. I played it. I literally played it for 2 days straight because I fell in love with it. I'll admit it, I have a relationship with this game because it's so good. It's so good that I recently found myself watching the 'movie' version on Youtube. It was 9 hours. It'd been 2 years since I last played it, and I'm so glad I refreshed myself of it.
    I just need to list a few reasons why this is a fantastic game:
    1. The story. It's different, that's what I love about it. The main charachter isn't your usual JRPG whiny teenager (even though thats a charachter in the story), it's a hardass, which I will admit is risky, but it worked. Maybe directing the central charachter at someone else wouldn't off because they weren't as emotionless. EMOTIONLESS, you say? Why, why oh why would you want an emotionless charachter? So you can build on it. There are loads of questions to be asked, opposed to someone who explained their life story in the first 1 minute. All you see in the first 1 minute of this game is Lightning fighting her way through a train, and into this gorgrous city. That's all you need to know so far; she's a badass. That's enough to get you hooked (unless you don't like that kind of stuff, in that case, stop reading).
    Now, the story. The main focus is it's cast. And, boy, do I love the cast. Now, I do have complaints. Hope. It's a pretentious name, I admit, but I expected him to have an interesting backstory. Instead he just complains about everything. Not that interesting. But on the other side, the rest of the cast is interesting and in some places relatable. You have Vanille, a perky 20-something? 13? 20? Who knows. Anyway, her accent is a little confusing sometimes (Italian, American)? But her backstory makes up for it. She has relations with a charachter you meet later on in the story, which makes her very important. She was born on Pulse, unlike everyone else, and she was a l'Cie, until she got turned to crystal. You see, this makes up for her flaws. And she's a love/hate person, so don't go in thinking you'll love her. Personally, she's my favorite out of all of them.
    Then you have Sazh, who you meet at the start. He is relatable because he's always questioning everything. And if I were in that situation, that's what I would be doing. Other than that, he is a fantastic charachter. He is again related to Vanille in some way, and another peroson we meet later on who has a major connection to Vanille and her friend; bringing those two together (why they have a section together).
    Then, Snow. Your hero. You need these in every story so someone has something to complain about (Hope). "Oh, you're the hero, everybody look at me!" Hope says, realizing that that's what Snow is exactly doing. He knows he's the hero. That's what makes him the non-typical hero. His mission is to save his fiance, Serah, a l'Cie who to turned to crystal. His story is interesting and so is his bold personality.
    Then, Fang. She comes in later into the story, and has connections with Vanille. You could say she's a bit of a hero, but I like to think of her as just brave, as she doesn't really have a mission of sorts, opposse to Snow. She's okay.
    Then the story, to accomadate the cast. All of these people, exclding fang, get turned to l'Cie. Then, they must fight against the government, as l'Cie are evry feared. This is a good contrast to real world; how people with unknown power should be feared, when they can just be normal. Then, they go up against Barthandelus, a corrupt leader who is a l'Cie himself. You fight him 3 times in the game. From there, you must journey through populated cities, to Gran Pulse, a greenland.

    2. The Gameplay. Yes, people say it's just push one button and go, but see how that works out if you do it the entire game. There is stratergy involved. Pshh.

    I loved it.
    Expand
  58. Jun 12, 2014
    9
    Although the game seemed boring from time to time, with pointless overacting dialogs, it's a great game overall, like each FF.
    Graphics are beautiful, as well as the soundtrack, story could be somewhat more interesting but what the hell.
    What I liked a lot was the new battle system, even if it seems stolen from the Grandia serial.
    I see that people argue about its linearity...I didn't
    mind it, as long as the rest is nicely done.
    Anyway, for all of you planning to play it, if you liked FFX, you'll like this one as well.
    Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 83
  2. Negative: 1 out of 83
  1. 81
    As an RPG, it is an excellent experience that provides a beautifully crafted world and engaging battle system. However, as a Final Fantasy game, it falls short of expectations somewhat.
  2. Ten hours in you might have doubts, but stay with it and you'll be smitten right through to the frankly unbelievable end. [Apr 2010, p.104]
  3. An unexpected Final Fantasy. The 13th chapter has a great story and some of the most incisive characters of the whole series, and even the battle system works very well, being deep and complex (even if you control only a single character). But on the other side the overwhelming linearity of the plot, the absence of cities to explore, and the small amount of side quest will disappoint fans' expectations.