Final Fantasy XIII PlayStation 3

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2569 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JD
    Mar 19, 2010
    5
    Worst Final Fantasy ever. Don't get me wrong, I'm a fanboy for sure, but this has got to be the worst in the series. First, it isn't a "game" per se, since you can get through the whole game mostly using "x" and a few directional keys. Second, the RPG element has been removed. It is hard to believe that Final Fantasy has been dumbed down to pretty graphics and awful, boring Worst Final Fantasy ever. Don't get me wrong, I'm a fanboy for sure, but this has got to be the worst in the series. First, it isn't a "game" per se, since you can get through the whole game mostly using "x" and a few directional keys. Second, the RPG element has been removed. It is hard to believe that Final Fantasy has been dumbed down to pretty graphics and awful, boring gameplay. This is basically a game for the attention deficit disordered millenial generation, and I'm afraid for the future. Expand
  2. Breck
    Mar 9, 2010
    0
    Quite possible the worst final fantasy in the entire series. It shouldn't even be considered a true final fantasy. Nothing about this game is good, I returned it. Something that took 2 years to make, was delayed for ps3 for another 2 years and downgraded so they could put it onto 360. Pathetic. Besides that, graphics still are bad with ps2 style environments. Annoying characters, and Quite possible the worst final fantasy in the entire series. It shouldn't even be considered a true final fantasy. Nothing about this game is good, I returned it. Something that took 2 years to make, was delayed for ps3 for another 2 years and downgraded so they could put it onto 360. Pathetic. Besides that, graphics still are bad with ps2 style environments. Annoying characters, and the same damn plot you've heard 100 times. Unless your a 6 year old girl, avoid at all costs. Expand
  3. Mar 29, 2011
    7
    FF13 is an average RPG put in an amazing environment. The graphics are hands down some of the best on consoles and the visuals are very nice in a lot of areas. Character models and people look good as well. What's ruined is that most areas are mainly narrow paths which I feel is a step back from FF12. Battle system is unique. Square has been trying to keep Final Fantasy's fresh ever sinceFF13 is an average RPG put in an amazing environment. The graphics are hands down some of the best on consoles and the visuals are very nice in a lot of areas. Character models and people look good as well. What's ruined is that most areas are mainly narrow paths which I feel is a step back from FF12. Battle system is unique. Square has been trying to keep Final Fantasy's fresh ever since 1 by adding new elements in every game and the Paradigm battle system is one of the worst idea's I think they've ever come up with. It becomes stressful and confusing mixing , matching and switching these to fight certain enemies, bosses and marks. What was wrong with the whole Attack Magic Item Defend style that they felt they needed to get rid of. The story isn't good. Though I don't think it's bad either. I had trouble getting into it for the first 15 hours or so which was about half of the game for me. I also was highly disappointed by the music it seemed like they used about 4 tracks in the whole game each had some form of rehash remix, which I felt got old after a while.
    I agree that Final Fantasy 13 is not as memorable as the older FF but it is the prettiest and probably one of the best looking games of this gen.
    Expand
  4. MrZ
    Mar 25, 2010
    3
    Attention gamers! Want to win your battles by outmatching and outwitting your enemies? No need! Just select 'Libra', mash 'auto-battle' and watch the pretty colours fly. Want any sort of say in the powers of your characters? Forget it! Hold down X and the thinking is done for you. Want hours of entertainment exploring a fantastical, otherworldly universe? Ever Attention gamers! Want to win your battles by outmatching and outwitting your enemies? No need! Just select 'Libra', mash 'auto-battle' and watch the pretty colours fly. Want any sort of say in the powers of your characters? Forget it! Hold down X and the thinking is done for you. Want hours of entertainment exploring a fantastical, otherworldly universe? Ever considered holding the left joystick in the 'up' position for hours on end instead? If you fancy doing nothing for ages and paying a few hours of wages for the privelege, then FFXIII is you. By a bored and previously avid FF fan. Apparently it gets better around the 25 hour mark. Usually the reward for 25 hours of play is something other than relief of boredom. As someone who got into gaming mainly because of FFVIII, I am in disbelief. Looks nice, though. Then again, so do flowers and fairies and lots of other boring crap. Expand
  5. Aug 24, 2010
    4
    Before buying FF13 I knew of two crushing facts about it - no overworld map/controllable airship and extremely linear gameplay. One of the main reasons I bought a PS3 was for this game, so even after learning of the disappointments I still gave it a try. Now I've been an rpg fan for a long time. Playing through Chrono Trigger, Final Fantasy 6, and Secret of Mana were some of the mostBefore buying FF13 I knew of two crushing facts about it - no overworld map/controllable airship and extremely linear gameplay. One of the main reasons I bought a PS3 was for this game, so even after learning of the disappointments I still gave it a try. Now I've been an rpg fan for a long time. Playing through Chrono Trigger, Final Fantasy 6, and Secret of Mana were some of the most memorable expereices I've had. These games have a certain charm, a certain soul, that I believe Square has lost. Indeed, the brilliant minds behind these games are no longer working together (Sakaguchi, Amano, Uematsu, etc.). FF6 I believe was the pinacle, with my enjoyment declining with each subsequent release. There's something quite endearing about the old overhead-view and world maps. You're able to take it all in, your imagination turns, and you feel a real sense of the universe that's being portrayed. But now because of cut-scenes, fixed viewpoints or locations, and flashy graphics we're given a much more controlled and limited environment. With that said, I did enjoy FF7 and I wish they would have stuck with that format at least. I honestly cannot comprehend how they thought taking away a free-roaming world and airship travel would be received well by fans. Actually, I'm sure they realized it wouldn't be, but instead did not care and opted to appeal to a newer generation, thus making more money. Overall, this Final Fantasy is not for me, and I am ok with that. But it is a shame that the days of Final Fantasy as I knew it are gone.

    Ok, as far as FF13 goes... after 15 hours of playing I have completely lost interest. The story is the only reason I played this far, though at this point I feel as though I understand it enough to not continue with it. The major things that prevent me from finishing are the core gameplay (as I mentioned earlier) and the characters. The characters have stupid names. There I said it. Vanille, Snow, Lightning... Anyone of those is fine by itself but all 3 together? They act too childish. And with all their action, vibrancy of colors, their whining and shouting, I am somehow still left with a vapid taste in my mouth; not to mention how annoying some of the voices are. Most everything about this game comes off as way too contrived. Another thing that has not sat well with me since it was introduced are fight scenes, or cut-scenes in general. This is just a way of making the game more presentable and easier to consume by the masses, who by and large appreciate this and find it entertaining. I do not. I am not a huge movie/television fan to begin with so it does not appeal to me in the least. Maybe a few cut-scenes here and there are fine (like with FF7), but when it's done as much as it is in FF13 you feel as though you're playing an interactive movie, and in an essence that is really what it has become. So if you are new to Final Fantasy, I urge to to take a look at the older ones (or older Squaresoft games like Chrono Trigger or Secret of Mana), and try to have some patience and imagination and I am sure you will find a much more rewarding experience.
    Expand
  6. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    While still playing this game, I can assure you that Square-enix took one step in the right direction. In Final Fantasy XIII you will find everything a game should have: Great story, well-developed and compelling characters, stunning enviroments, one of the best musical scores of the series, entertaining battle system, and DIFFICULTY. Every role is vital, and strategies are key for someWhile still playing this game, I can assure you that Square-enix took one step in the right direction. In Final Fantasy XIII you will find everything a game should have: Great story, well-developed and compelling characters, stunning enviroments, one of the best musical scores of the series, entertaining battle system, and DIFFICULTY. Every role is vital, and strategies are key for some battles. For those who like to compare FFXIII to other FFS just remember how great were FFVIII & FFVII, but how easy they were as well. I found that FFXIII is the oppossite of FFXII. Whereas FFXII gave you the freedom you 'need', tons of quests, it offered, IMO, the weakest story and character development of the series. In contrast, FFXIII is brilliantly developed, as characters and story is concerned. Sure, some things can be improved, some towns and quest can be added, but I, for one, cannot complain, as this game exceeded my expectations and I can't wait for its sequel. It's not a 10, as I gave. I would probably rate it as a 9.5, but hey, some put 0s and 1s so I wanted to raise the user score. Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2014
    9
    FF13 has quickly become one of my favorites in the series. The game is actually challenging and if you don't level your characters up correctly and efficiently, the ending of the game will be near impossible. The combat is very interesting with the Paradigms and having to switch them constantly to survive in battles. Your setup is crucial in boss fights. However, more often than not,FF13 has quickly become one of my favorites in the series. The game is actually challenging and if you don't level your characters up correctly and efficiently, the ending of the game will be near impossible. The combat is very interesting with the Paradigms and having to switch them constantly to survive in battles. Your setup is crucial in boss fights. However, more often than not, you're either hitting auto-attack or switching paradigms and that's all you really do in combat, which is both a pro and a con. I feel as though the combat could have been a bit too challenging had they didn't have you using auto-attack, but also it feels a bit simple regarding that particular aspect of combat. I fell in love with the story of this game and the characters that you encounter. Lighting is one of my all time favorite FF characters as a result of this game and I'm sure that the next 2 games in the lineage will strengthen that. The other characters are extremely interesting as well. The only complaint I have with the actual story is that the start of the game leaves you very confused and you don't begin to completely understand what is going on until a few hours into it, but once you do it is something that is quite spectacular. The world and creatures that inhabit it are beautiful and Square-Enix did an awesome job on everything this game has to offer. Expand
  8. Jan 5, 2015
    8
    Although i feel it was a step back from final fantasy 12 (Due to gameplay mechanic changes), Final fantasy 13 still has the magic of the previous games in terms of atmosphere, story and character development.
    Although the gameplay has become slightly more repetitive with less opportunity for customization as some of the previous final fantasies, but is still solid in it's own right.
  9. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    The extreme linearity and sloppy plot did indeed bother me, but I am the kind of gamer who can patiently sit through linearity as long as it opens up at some point. When I got to the open world I really started to enjoy the game, especially with the monster hunt missions. The combat can feel disengaging because of the Auto-Battle, but I just changed the settings to make the cursor alwaysThe extreme linearity and sloppy plot did indeed bother me, but I am the kind of gamer who can patiently sit through linearity as long as it opens up at some point. When I got to the open world I really started to enjoy the game, especially with the monster hunt missions. The combat can feel disengaging because of the Auto-Battle, but I just changed the settings to make the cursor always appear on Abilities and it actually made the game feel much more strategic. Square Enix made a really good choice with designing the characters, especially Lightning who in my opinion has the best looking outfit in Final Fantasy history. Lastly, the graphics, visuals, and background art were outstanding. I sometimes found myself stopping in the middle of a level just to pan the camera around and enjoy the view. Haters, say to me what you want, but Final Fantasy 13 to me was definitely worth my money. Expand
  10. Dec 29, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A solid game, the views are always nice to gaze at when you see them, the character designs are great, and I like the fact that it tried to experiment with different things in the series because no one wants the same game over and over again, especially the battle system. Although the battle system could be polished up a bit, the pace of the matches par with the character's name, "Lightning". Expand
  11. Aug 5, 2015
    8
    While the story does sort of collapse at the end, for the most part I think the story is great. The characters are generally fine, with lightning and Fang definitely being my favourites (Snow really needs to shut up about being a hero). Everyone needs to stop hating on how whiny Hope is though, his mother literally died right in front of him and the guy who he thinks is responsible isWhile the story does sort of collapse at the end, for the most part I think the story is great. The characters are generally fine, with lightning and Fang definitely being my favourites (Snow really needs to shut up about being a hero). Everyone needs to stop hating on how whiny Hope is though, his mother literally died right in front of him and the guy who he thinks is responsible is constantly grinning like an idiot. I think I'd be a little unhappy too to say the least.

    The best parts of this game are definitely the presentation which is mesmerizing, and the battle system which is one of the best I've seen in any game.
    Expand
  12. Nov 5, 2016
    7
    This was my first Final Fantasy Game Sense then I have Played Type-0,X & WOFF Demo but only WOFF has been the one I like most out of all of them & I was inspired to play this because of a video saying a lot of bad things about it & so I was surprised when I really really liked it The characters aren't great Lighting is okay the story is fine but what I really love are the Gameplay,GraphicsThis was my first Final Fantasy Game Sense then I have Played Type-0,X & WOFF Demo but only WOFF has been the one I like most out of all of them & I was inspired to play this because of a video saying a lot of bad things about it & so I was surprised when I really really liked it The characters aren't great Lighting is okay the story is fine but what I really love are the Gameplay,Graphics & Music & that's what kept me coming back for more because the game can be hard at times and it beings with it a challenge including the boss battles. Sadly I heard the two sequels are pretty bad from people who like the game even If I played 2 hours of FF13-2 & I thought It was okay But I have heard the soundtrack from those games & I think FF 13,13-2 have the best soundtracks. Expand
  13. Apr 23, 2014
    8
    I can not say bad words for Final Fantasy XIII,because of really good story. Graphic is amazing,and combat is great,not perfect,but great. Ok,lets be honest and say,you have linear path and you are limited in exploration,but this is Final Fantasy,not some open world MMO.If you want exploration play Final Fantasy XIV Realm Reborn. I have 100+ hours and i must say that i really enjoyedI can not say bad words for Final Fantasy XIII,because of really good story. Graphic is amazing,and combat is great,not perfect,but great. Ok,lets be honest and say,you have linear path and you are limited in exploration,but this is Final Fantasy,not some open world MMO.If you want exploration play Final Fantasy XIV Realm Reborn. I have 100+ hours and i must say that i really enjoyed playing this game. This title definitely worth the money and you can't go wrong with FF XIII. On the end you will feel sad because you finished the game and you could play it atleast 50 more hours. But you know what they say.Everything that is good,last short. Expand
  14. Sep 1, 2015
    8
    Lo jugué a su salida y no me gusto, lo he retomado hace unos meses y he de decir que una vez que sales de toda la toxicidad de los haters, los lovers y todo tipo de opiniones y análisis, el juego es bastante entretenido y con una historia que aunque no es de las mejores de la saga, invita a seguirla sin llegar a ser monótona o aburrida. Sistema de batallas distinto pero no por ello malo.
  15. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    Sure enough the game isn't for everyone but why not try and enjoy it. Some people say that everything is bad about it but the visuals and soundtrack is great. the story-line is gripping. Sure the fighting moments are kind of bad but look past that. Look at every positive thing about it. my opinion is to get the game, i think it is good.
  16. Jun 12, 2014
    9
    Although the game seemed boring from time to time, with pointless overacting dialogs, it's a great game overall, like each FF.
    Graphics are beautiful, as well as the soundtrack, story could be somewhat more interesting but what the hell.
    What I liked a lot was the new battle system, even if it seems stolen from the Grandia serial. I see that people argue about its linearity...I didn't
    Although the game seemed boring from time to time, with pointless overacting dialogs, it's a great game overall, like each FF.
    Graphics are beautiful, as well as the soundtrack, story could be somewhat more interesting but what the hell.
    What I liked a lot was the new battle system, even if it seems stolen from the Grandia serial.
    I see that people argue about its linearity...I didn't mind it, as long as the rest is nicely done.
    Anyway, for all of you planning to play it, if you liked FFX, you'll like this one as well.
    Expand
  17. Nov 17, 2014
    8
    Is this game worth your time? Well yes and no.

    Alot of people will find the gameplay repetitive and probably boring those who don't usually play JRPG's or aren't fans of the FF Series might not like this game. Gameplay - I admit the gameplay does get a bit repetitive but its still a fun game to play why? Because of the Boss Battles they are exciting and fun and also the Summonings
    Is this game worth your time? Well yes and no.

    Alot of people will find the gameplay repetitive and probably boring those who don't usually play JRPG's or aren't fans of the FF Series might not like this game.

    Gameplay - I admit the gameplay does get a bit repetitive but its still a fun game to play why? Because of the Boss Battles they are exciting and fun and also the Summonings are awesome + the Gameplay gets better as you continue to play.

    Graphics - This game has some of the best Graphics on the PS3 it rivals almost every game on the system Arkham City & Origins are probably the only games I can think of with this level of graphics. The Areas in this game look amazing you can just look at some of the areas in the game and just be in awe like wow who drew this ****

    Characters - Some people might be like Vanille Snow & Hope are all lame well newsflash they actually are lame. But they all get character development and very good character development. I'll add coolness points to Snow for having some good scenes and to Hope for becoming a man. Lightning is badass Sazh is just being who he is and I like him for that. Fang is another badass. Cid Raines is badass too.

    Story - Do I even need to say it? This games story is amazing **** amazing the story kept me playing from start to finish. When you want to figure out why FFXIII is so popular? The reason is because of the story.

    Soundtrack - The 2nd best thing in this game is the soundtrack its just as good as the story. The Soundtrack is amazing.

    Overall - Everything but the gameplay is amazing. The Gameplay brought something new to the table but its presentation could have been done better, there should have been more abilities for characters and we should have been able to revisit the places we explored already for extra missions and stuff. Other than that I would change nothing about this game its awesome.
    Expand
  18. Apr 13, 2015
    9
    FF13 is subject to load of unnecessary hatred but upset fans for silly reasons. People don't like the fact that this game is so linear but that is not a drawback at all. This game is a story driven RPG it is not a open world do whatever the hell you want. The player follows the path the games makes for them because that is how the story is being told, this isn't the Elder Scrolls. TheFF13 is subject to load of unnecessary hatred but upset fans for silly reasons. People don't like the fact that this game is so linear but that is not a drawback at all. This game is a story driven RPG it is not a open world do whatever the hell you want. The player follows the path the games makes for them because that is how the story is being told, this isn't the Elder Scrolls. The gameplay itself might sound repetitive, just clicking attack, or magic commands over and over but so it has been in every final fantasy main series. The battles are intriguing and sometimes very challenging. The graphics are beautiful. The characters will feel like you've know them for years and have experience their highs and lows with them, even whiny Vanille. The story itself is awesome and so is this game Expand
  19. Jul 18, 2015
    8
    First of all I would give this game a 7 or a 7.5 out of 10 but I give in 8 just to balance things up with all the angry reviews.So the game is fun with a combat system that is more focused on timing and wants you to be quick rather than thinking .Enemies like every other Final Fantasy game have their weaknesses but in XIII you need to exploit them more like in X.The story is a mess,yeahFirst of all I would give this game a 7 or a 7.5 out of 10 but I give in 8 just to balance things up with all the angry reviews.So the game is fun with a combat system that is more focused on timing and wants you to be quick rather than thinking .Enemies like every other Final Fantasy game have their weaknesses but in XIII you need to exploit them more like in X.The story is a mess,yeah but if you give it some time and actually pay attention you may actually like it,but it's still not very strong.The characters are a give or take,you either like them or not,nothing more to say here(I personally like them all,except Hope).But the game IS linear for the first 20 hours or so (not something I hate though) and then it opens up. So having played VII,X,XII,XIII trilogy I have to admit that this game is one of the weaker entries on the series,BUT i do not believe it is a bad game and I am sure as hell it doesn't deserve all the 0 here.If you really want to see what a bad game is go play Ride to Hell Retribution.Also the game can be damn Hard sometimes,something I found that other entries on the series lacked. Expand
  20. Aug 4, 2016
    8
    Sure not as good as other final fantasy games but I still like it. The game is a bit repetitive and bland but besides that this game is pretty good to be honest.
  21. Mar 19, 2014
    8
    this game is good but it has some down fulls one is the characters are a bit of a let down to the newly found series. it has very nice grapics on the ps3 that ive currently got and so far the game has never really cut out on me.
  22. Nov 10, 2014
    8
    Definitely the best in the series, as the story is decent and the fighting is fresh and goes well with the game. The characters for the most part are likeable and the game has an excellent system. Again, you may not like this game as it is extremely linear, but I didn't mind it much. The game is fun and while the game can stall at times, it is still worth playing. On the other hand,Definitely the best in the series, as the story is decent and the fighting is fresh and goes well with the game. The characters for the most part are likeable and the game has an excellent system. Again, you may not like this game as it is extremely linear, but I didn't mind it much. The game is fun and while the game can stall at times, it is still worth playing. On the other hand, the entire FFXIII series falls well short of the previous games in Final Fantasy, which are epic and are must haves. Check them out on the PS store, as they aren't too pricey and are fun, that is if you don't care about graphics and care about great story telling. Expand
  23. Jul 30, 2016
    8
    The hate this game gets makes little to no sense, yes it's linear as hell for most of the game, but the other criticisms make no sense to me, I like this story for the first half but the second half it made no sense, the Gameplay is great though the fact that when your leader dies it's game over, that's kind of retarded, the soundtrack and graphics are amazing, if your problem with theThe hate this game gets makes little to no sense, yes it's linear as hell for most of the game, but the other criticisms make no sense to me, I like this story for the first half but the second half it made no sense, the Gameplay is great though the fact that when your leader dies it's game over, that's kind of retarded, the soundtrack and graphics are amazing, if your problem with the gameplay is the auto battle mechanic then TURN IT OFF you **** idiots! Expand
  24. Dec 28, 2016
    8
    I have played most of the FF games and have beaten most as well. FF 13s main campaign is amazing. The game has the best combat system of any FF game, and the visuals and musical score are incredible. The story is terrible though, and the mission structure (Gran Pulse) and grinding are extremely tedious and poorly thought out. I would suggest you skip the cut-scenes and spend 30-40 hoursI have played most of the FF games and have beaten most as well. FF 13s main campaign is amazing. The game has the best combat system of any FF game, and the visuals and musical score are incredible. The story is terrible though, and the mission structure (Gran Pulse) and grinding are extremely tedious and poorly thought out. I would suggest you skip the cut-scenes and spend 30-40 hours playing the main campaign to get a 8.5 experience. If you try to plat the game though, then the score drops to about a 6. I think its ridiculous that you have to spend 15 minutes on foot to get to a monster that you can defeat in under a minute. Rinse and repeat for 64 missions, and you can see how tedious the game can get.

    Pros: Visuals, music, combat system.
    Cons: Mission setup/structure, plot, grinding.
    Caveats: The game is mostly linear. There are also no towns to explore or NPCs to interact with. Many fans seem to hate these issues, but I personally prefer linear games, and hate micromanagement and side/fetch quests so I liked that the game was linear.
    Expand
  25. Sep 21, 2013
    9
    This Final Fantasy is totally different than series before. Game looks fantastic on PS3, much better than X360. The plot isn't a masterpiece, but Square Enix put a pressure on relations between characters. I'm fan of the series and even the longest tutorial in history of gaming had much fun with completing this. Anyway there is, like always, cut scenes and audio (original Japanese dubbingThis Final Fantasy is totally different than series before. Game looks fantastic on PS3, much better than X360. The plot isn't a masterpiece, but Square Enix put a pressure on relations between characters. I'm fan of the series and even the longest tutorial in history of gaming had much fun with completing this. Anyway there is, like always, cut scenes and audio (original Japanese dubbing and also whole music) are MASTERPIECES Expand
  26. Apr 11, 2016
    8
    Quite possible the worst final fantasy in the entire series. It shouldn't even be considered a true final fantasy. Nothing about this game is good, I returned it. Something that took 2 years to make, was delayed for ps3 for another 2 years and downgraded so they could put it onto 360. Pathetic. Besides that, graphics still are bad with ps2 style environments.
  27. Sep 22, 2014
    8
    i get what why most fans doesn't like this game, due to it is more linear and no towns, NPCs. still love the new battle system. they could have handled the NPCs better and with towns but the director might have thought where to add those towns, NPC from the story. hence it was done like this. they really borrowed from the previous FF games in terms of character but i think Lightning isi get what why most fans doesn't like this game, due to it is more linear and no towns, NPCs. still love the new battle system. they could have handled the NPCs better and with towns but the director might have thought where to add those towns, NPC from the story. hence it was done like this. they really borrowed from the previous FF games in terms of character but i think Lightning is still a great protagonist. Expand
  28. Feb 3, 2016
    9
    To be honest the hate for this franchise is outstanding. Listen I know this game has flaws but they're tiny compared to the overall appeal of this game for me. This game for me held my attention from beginning to end and whilst the story did have moments where it was all over the place I was still intrigued. The gameplay, whilst toned down, was still as fun as entries like X.
    The
    To be honest the hate for this franchise is outstanding. Listen I know this game has flaws but they're tiny compared to the overall appeal of this game for me. This game for me held my attention from beginning to end and whilst the story did have moments where it was all over the place I was still intrigued. The gameplay, whilst toned down, was still as fun as entries like X.
    The characters could be dull at times but to me they're realistic. "Hope is sad and moody all of the time"... dude did you play the first hour of the game! "Lightning has no emotion" which they address in a really cool way. "Snow is a hot head"... that's the point. All of the flaws with each character are addressed in a really cool and real way that it was the reason I kept playing. Saying that each character is generic would be like looking at a page but not the writing on it. For a FF game it's quite dark and deals with real problems in a real manor instead of pretty much every other entry in the franchise where a character's death equates to the main cast as much as a spec of dust on their arm. Don't get me wrong I love the other FF games it's just that they all shine in different ways and this one is no exception. I'm glad I played this and happy I still own it!
    Expand
  29. Mar 22, 2016
    9
    This is a topper to say the least. I have been playing FF since the NES was released and rarely if ever does Square fail to release a god FF title, this being one of the good ones.

    The focus of this game is the fantastic story telling which has been missing in most RPGs. The story focuses on the traditional Crystals. The game I will say is quite linear as there is zero side-questing
    This is a topper to say the least. I have been playing FF since the NES was released and rarely if ever does Square fail to release a god FF title, this being one of the good ones.

    The focus of this game is the fantastic story telling which has been missing in most RPGs. The story focuses on the traditional Crystals.

    The game I will say is quite linear as there is zero side-questing available until your virtually at endgame which was a huge turnoff I will admit. But once you do reach the side-quests they really do keep you busy as a great deal of them require a lot of grinding to raise your crystarium to the proper levels. So you should not be disappointed with the side questing as it will be time-consuming.

    Again, the story is fantastic. Sticking to the legends of the crystals quite tightly they managed to make it like a storybook. If though you do find it boring (which I did at times) then power through it because that ending let me just say.. is one of the best FF endings I have ever witnessed bringing even me to near tears as most likely you will too.

    As with most FF the game will either focus on leveling to become powerful or item grinding to become powerful. Leveling is prominent in FF7, item grinding in FF9. Unfortunately FF13 focuses on item grinding with leveling replaced completely by the crystarium system. Now that isn't to say its all bad, but it was a real change from traditional FF games. It most likely threw many off as it did take time to learn & do it properly. One thing I will say which really is horrible is that because leveling crystarium doesn't include which type your character is, if you raise the wrong type you screw up your character forbidding you from gaining their ultimate attack until endgame. This is most likely where people will get angry.

    My overall opinion: Linearity aside, this game doesn't deserve huge amounts of negativity because it follows exactly what FF has been doing. Promoting powerful stories, defining character traits/personalities, memorable battles & amazing endings. Unless you began with FF10+ you will see this game as exactly what it was meant to be. A Masterpiece.
    Expand
  30. Mar 14, 2016
    9
    I love this game. The graphics are gorgeus (even able to make a crappy xbox look like its worth anything) The music is amazing, the story and cast are both amazing and the battle and paradigm systems are flawless. Linear at points, but not as bad as X. It spawned 2 sequels, but they're not as good. The ending is so amazing and i have completed this game through and watched the ending 8I love this game. The graphics are gorgeus (even able to make a crappy xbox look like its worth anything) The music is amazing, the story and cast are both amazing and the battle and paradigm systems are flawless. Linear at points, but not as bad as X. It spawned 2 sequels, but they're not as good. The ending is so amazing and i have completed this game through and watched the ending 8 times since it's release. It was my first final fantasy game since I played it at the young age of 10 but I still love it 5 years down the line. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 83
  2. Negative: 1 out of 83
  1. 81
    As an RPG, it is an excellent experience that provides a beautifully crafted world and engaging battle system. However, as a Final Fantasy game, it falls short of expectations somewhat.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    Ten hours in you might have doubts, but stay with it and you'll be smitten right through to the frankly unbelievable end. [Apr 2010, p.104]
  3. An unexpected Final Fantasy. The 13th chapter has a great story and some of the most incisive characters of the whole series, and even the battle system works very well, being deep and complex (even if you control only a single character). But on the other side the overwhelming linearity of the plot, the absence of cities to explore, and the small amount of side quest will disappoint fans' expectations.