Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2001 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Final Fantasy XIII, you will embark on a journey through the cityworld of Cocoon and the outerworld of Pulse. Along the way, you will encounter diverse allies who will fight alongside you. Execute powerful attacks with weapons and magic, and summon the enigmatic Eidolons with an evolved Active Time Battle system. Experience seamless transitions between real time gameplay and in-game cinematics. Do you have the courage to face your destiny? Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 83
  2. Negative: 1 out of 83
  1. The streamlined, focused structure eliminates potential tedium without dumbing anything down, and the battle system strikes an elegant balance between strategy and fast-paced action. Stunningly beautiful graphics and a pervasively meticulous level of polish throughout only add to the experience.
  2. Final Fantasy XIII isn't just a game you merely enjoy. You fall in love with it. It's gorgeous worlds have you stopping to admire them in complete awe, while a graceful soundtrack massages your brain (despite the unfortunate replacement of the original Japanese theme with a song from Leona Lewis).
  3. Final Fantasy XIII is an amazing game. With an engrossing story and a thrilling new battle system, this is one title you can't afford to miss as an RPG fan. However, though it succeeds on the most important fronts, there are some notable areas where the game could have been better. The linear level design is a fairly large stumbling block, and if you are used to open-world games, it can make the entire experience feel a little claustrophobic.
  4. Final Fantasy XIII will probably not go down as one of the high points in the series. However, on its own, FFXIII is still a really good and enjoyable game with a fantastic battle system and gorgeous graphics.
  5. This fantasy isn't something that every boy dreams of, but on the other side, the game offers nice story and extremely streamlined mechanics. If you can put aside the annoying characters, the incoherent script and the overall restrictions, the game is reasonably fun to play. [Mar 2010]
  6. But the more changes they make to get in line with a faster-paced style of gameplay, the further away they drift from what made the franchise unique for so many years. The drudgery at the beginning may annoy the casual gamer with an investment of several hours before Paradigm Shift is available and a half-a-dozen more before the first summons. Fans, however, won’t care in the slightest. They’ll be well aware lead time before proceedings really kick off. [Apr 2010 p.64]
  7. It takes more than graphics to make a game, and Final Fantasy XIII offers very little else other than eye candy. Ultimately, this latest addition to the Final Fantasy series is a pompous and masturbatory affair, created seemingly to promote the developer's ego first, and the player's enjoyment second.

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    While still playing this game, I can assure you that Square-enix took one step in the right direction. In Final Fantasy XIII you will find everything a game should have: Great story, well-developed and compelling characters, stunning enviroments, one of the best musical scores of the series, entertaining battle system, and DIFFICULTY. Every role is vital, and strategies are key for some battles. For those who like to compare FFXIII to other FFS just remember how great were FFVIII & FFVII, but how easy they were as well. I found that FFXIII is the oppossite of FFXII. Whereas FFXII gave you the freedom you 'need', tons of quests, it offered, IMO, the weakest story and character development of the series. In contrast, FFXIII is brilliantly developed, as characters and story is concerned. Sure, some things can be improved, some towns and quest can be added, but I, for one, cannot complain, as this game exceeded my expectations and I can't wait for its sequel. It's not a 10, as I gave. I would probably rate it as a 9.5, but hey, some put 0s and 1s so I wanted to raise the user score. Expand
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    the storyline for this game keeps you hooked. the only shame is no backtravel and the fact that the game opens up really late into the game big sigh Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    Final fantasy 13, a game so divisive that the mere mention of it can cause fan rage all over the internet.

    I am one of the few that actually
    liked the game, because for the first time in years I was interested in the story, From the very beginning I was hooked, shocked, intrigued and I kept playing just to see what was going to happen. Exploration may seem linear, but is it really an issue? Were earlier final fantasies really open world to begin with? In earlier installments it was easier to fake non-linearity by using technical limitations as cheap tricks.
    I think that a lot of content was cut or dumbed down in order to fit into the xbox dvd format, even the lack of back tracking, it's obvious that each area is stored in different dvds.
    Fighting is fun, fast paced and it's very different from "press x until the monster dies". I loved the paradigm shift system because now fighting requires more strategy.
    I thought that the main content of the game was the fighting itself instead of running around during useless fetch quests.
    I also thought that it would have been better to be in control of some situations instead of watching an action cutscene.
    In the end, though, I have to admit that I loved the game, I reccomend it if you like a mature story with a lot of twist and engaging characters.
    Linearity can put off someone, but give it a chance, you might be surprised.
    Expand
  4. Feb 24, 2013
    7
    I'm not going to go into great detail here, as there's already plenty of that.

    All I'll say in addition to a list of pros and cons is this:


    The game is NOT bad. It's very pretty. The characters and the world grow on you. I did not finish it. (I got about half-way through chapter 11, and said "screw it". The game just makes SUCH an incredibly huge difficulty spike at that point, that honestly, the story isn't worth it. It's easier just go go on You Tube and watch the cutscenes.

    Now, pros and cons:

    Pros:
    - Pretty
    - Combat system is interesting, once you understand that it's less about choosing attacks, and more about choosing and timing the right paradigms and targets.
    - Characters are believable, and for the most part genuinely likeable.
    - The world is very interesting.

    Cons:
    - There's NOTHING to do except fight, or watch cutscenes. Even the one "side quest" that's present is just the mark hunting system from FF12. It get repetitive fast.
    - As I mentioned, the HUGE difficulty spike when you get to Pulse.
    - The crystarium's exp requirements, mean you either grind the hell out of your characters, or just stick to their top two primary roles so you can actually get some decent abilities.
    - Upgrading weapons is weird... I dunno what else to say about it, it needs a better explanation.
    - No side quests
    - No mini-games (triple triad, blitzball, etc)

    That being said, I am gonna play FF13-2 still, see if the changes they made catches my attention, especially since just looking at the titles of the articles on gameFAQ makes it look there's actually side quests and mini-games.
    Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2011
    5
    Ok first off I am a HUGE RPG fan and Final Fantasy is one of my favorite series.But 13 let me down.The story was confusing the battle system is boring in my opinion and I don't really like any of the characters other than Lightning and Fang.The graphics are great but to me that doesn't make up for the game-play.I couldn't even finish this game I was so bored with it but after spending $60 bucks I felt in titled to review it.It may be for some, I sure as hell wasn't one of them though.It's linear game play,I still can't get over that it's FF after all.I waited for this game since the first trailer and info was out,but it wasn't worth it. Expand
  6. RyanK
    Mar 16, 2010
    3
    One of the worst RPGs I've ever played. Boring, poorly written, and terribly paced. The only grace is pretty graphics, but if you want pretty graphics only, then look out your window for free! The gaming press is easily fooled into thinking that nice graphics mean a quality game. As usual only Wired, Edge and Destructoid look at a game through an adults critical perspective. The others may as well have been written by children dazzled by colorful lights. Expand
  7. Feb 11, 2014
    0
    This game is an insult to fans and an insult to anybody who bother to pay for this absolute trivial excuse for a game.
    Final Fantasy is
    horribly written, has terrible combat and does everything in it's power to make you hate the experience. Expand

See all 334 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.
  2. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?