Final Fantasy XIII PlayStation 3

Final Fantasy XIII Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2387 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Final Fantasy XIII, you will embark on a journey through the cityworld of Cocoon and the outerworld of Pulse. Along the way, you will encounter diverse allies who will fight alongside you. Execute powerful attacks with weapons and magic, and summon the enigmatic Eidolons with an evolvedIn Final Fantasy XIII, you will embark on a journey through the cityworld of Cocoon and the outerworld of Pulse. Along the way, you will encounter diverse allies who will fight alongside you. Execute powerful attacks with weapons and magic, and summon the enigmatic Eidolons with an evolved Active Time Battle system. Experience seamless transitions between real time gameplay and in-game cinematics. Do you have the courage to face your destiny? Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 83
  2. Negative: 1 out of 83
  1. The streamlined, focused structure eliminates potential tedium without dumbing anything down, and the battle system strikes an elegant balance between strategy and fast-paced action. Stunningly beautiful graphics and a pervasively meticulous level of polish throughout only add to the experience.
  2. Final Fantasy XIII isn't just a game you merely enjoy. You fall in love with it. It's gorgeous worlds have you stopping to admire them in complete awe, while a graceful soundtrack massages your brain (despite the unfortunate replacement of the original Japanese theme with a song from Leona Lewis).
  3. 90
    Square Enix has brought some RPG elements to the forefront, while putting some away in the back. This might offend some gamers, but with a mix of tactics, a deep battle system and action-filled battles Final Fantasy XIII will entice plenty of players. The interaction between the characters and the gradual revelations within the story are placed within a wonderful audio-visual jacket and manage to grab the gamer without letting them go. The linear aspect shouldn’t bother anyone in this thirteenth step of one of the most popular franchises out there.
  4. A game that impresses easily – merely looking at this game will have eyes popping and jaws dropping. However, get beyond that and there is a very linear game with many prototypical J-RPG elements in place. While there is some latitude for how battles are fought, for the most part, the game holds the player’s hand and escorts them through this fantastical land that is part fantasy and part sci-fi.
  5. PSM3 Magazine UK
    81
    Linear and needs patience, but tells an epic, emotive story with rare polish. [Apr 2010, p.92]
  6. Yes this game is very linear and you can wonder why you’ve paid £40 to wander in pretty much a straight line. But don’t forget what you’re playing Final Fantasy for; the story and battles. And Final Fantasy XIII delivers big time.
  7. It takes more than graphics to make a game, and Final Fantasy XIII offers very little else other than eye candy. Ultimately, this latest addition to the Final Fantasy series is a pompous and masturbatory affair, created seemingly to promote the developer's ego first, and the player's enjoyment second.

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    While still playing this game, I can assure you that Square-enix took one step in the right direction. In Final Fantasy XIII you will findWhile still playing this game, I can assure you that Square-enix took one step in the right direction. In Final Fantasy XIII you will find everything a game should have: Great story, well-developed and compelling characters, stunning enviroments, one of the best musical scores of the series, entertaining battle system, and DIFFICULTY. Every role is vital, and strategies are key for some battles. For those who like to compare FFXIII to other FFS just remember how great were FFVIII & FFVII, but how easy they were as well. I found that FFXIII is the oppossite of FFXII. Whereas FFXII gave you the freedom you 'need', tons of quests, it offered, IMO, the weakest story and character development of the series. In contrast, FFXIII is brilliantly developed, as characters and story is concerned. Sure, some things can be improved, some towns and quest can be added, but I, for one, cannot complain, as this game exceeded my expectations and I can't wait for its sequel. It's not a 10, as I gave. I would probably rate it as a 9.5, but hey, some put 0s and 1s so I wanted to raise the user score. Expand
  2. Aug 13, 2015
    10
    To say this is the greatest entry in the series is an offense to the series. But to say it is the worst in the series is a far greaterTo say this is the greatest entry in the series is an offense to the series. But to say it is the worst in the series is a far greater offense.

    The game combines stellar graphical quality, composed and quick-paced strategic battle, a rather excellent unique story for the series (which XIII-2 does no justic to), vibrance that the previous entry did not deliver, engrossing characters with complex Bradburian development, and laser-focused direction with polish not seen in many years in the series. This is perhaps the most hated gem of the series, derided by Westerners cemented in the notion of meaningless expanses and plenty of boring sidequests.

    If you are searching for a game that offers an expansive world, pointless sidequests and minigames, non-linearity, and broken design, feel free to pick up Final Fantasy XII. But if you are looking for story, action, vibrance, gameplay, fast pace, and bewildering presentation, pick up Final Fantasy XIII, the first true fantasy world since Final Fantasy X.
    Expand
  3. JamesP.
    Mar 15, 2010
    9
    Not the best ps3 has to offer, not the finest of the series but still an incredible work of art you have to experience..I admit i had my Not the best ps3 has to offer, not the finest of the series but still an incredible work of art you have to experience..I admit i had my reservations at the start (for all the known reasons) but the innovative battle system, the beautiful graphics, the tight storyline and douzines of other smaller touches won me over. Must buy! Expand
  4. Jan 22, 2013
    7
    this game it´s the most dissapointing installment of the series since the playstation era, the gameplay it´s not enjoyable at all,this game it´s the most dissapointing installment of the series since the playstation era, the gameplay it´s not enjoyable at all, the character development it´s boring, the soundtrack it´s well produced, but it´s far behind from emotions that can bring uematsu´s soundtracks. There are a bit of memorable moment´s, what saves the game is its impeccable production and presentation. Gameplay linear, boring and frustrating which only makes sense in the middle of the game until the end Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2013
    5
    This review isn't much of an opinion, that's why I'll just give it 5, mediocre. I'm just going to ask what the makes this a FF game? SoThis review isn't much of an opinion, that's why I'll just give it 5, mediocre. I'm just going to ask what the makes this a FF game? So here's a bit of a rant and facts.

    XIII doesn't have FF music, no iconic victory theme, iconic prelude, iconic main theme. It has classic magic like fire etc. but you just keep pressing A/X because there's just no point in manually choosing the magic and because the actions are so quick they just fly by, I don't remember what fire looks like because it's just a fart among the other magics the automated attack chooses, but I do remember what fire looks like in IX because I use it with Vivi so many times in that game and it always has that animation. Potions just became useless because your health just comes back after every fight, same thing with phoenix downs, antidotes, echo screens(did it even have those?) etc. It barely had iconic monsters, behemoth was there and cactuar... yeah, moving on. There were no towns, no NPC's, no ultra hard boss fights(Ozma, Ruby/Emerald Weapon, Ultima Weapon, Dark Aeons etc.) not even airship even if it would've been just for fast travel like in X and XII. Summons are mostly pointless and there's just 1 for each, no finding extra summons and you can't even call them in a battle when you want like you could in every single numbered FF before it(except XI which is MMO, and the first games on NES that didn't have summons yet). You don't need to find best weapons for everyone, I completed the game with the frigging default weapons I found without upgrading once! I just didn't need to upgrade, and that's just broken. There's no limit break/trance etc. What exactly does make this game a Final Fantasy? It just looks like Square-Enix doesn't want to make Final Fantasy games anymore, but they do like the money the franchise name is giving them. You can like XIII series all you want, I don't care, story was decent and battle system fairly enjoyable, but overall I just hated it because I wanted FF game. These things I've given are just facts of things that the franchise had up until XIII. XIII is not a Final Fantasy game, nothing about this game is Final Fantasy. I want a Final Fantasy game, I don't want FF VII or IX which are my favorites, I want a new FF with upgraded mechanics, VII and IX are old and wouldn't hold up today, that's why they should make those things better, not abandon them completely like they did with XIII, just throwing things out isn't the answer.
    Expand
  6. MarcusB.
    Apr 16, 2010
    3
    Notice that in Gaming Ages's Review they gave it 100, but none of it was about the gameplay Ok the graphics were great, and the normal Notice that in Gaming Ages's Review they gave it 100, but none of it was about the gameplay Ok the graphics were great, and the normal battle theme was awesome. That's it, that's where i my praise ends for this game. They tried their best to cover up cliche character choices. I'm gonna compare it to the Tales of Series, partly because Tales of is good and also because it is nearly diametrically opposed to every FF has. In Tales of they use many character cliches that FF has, but they do interesting things with the cliches, not cover them up. Pre-emptive Strick completely broke the battle system in most cases. This game got as close to being the Real time battle system as possible without being the same. When i heard about Final Fantasy having a real time battle system i was genuinely hyped, it ment i could start enjoying those graphics as i "controlled" the character instead of just issuing orders. But it turned out it was just the ATB system with a real time element. i.e ATB but you run over to hit them... I lost all hope in this game, ATB system ment i had to wait even more to attack and why the f*ck can't i start queuing my next attacks while i'm doing my current attack. The menu also decides to wait a menacing second each time i open something to fade it in or move it over to the middle. Tales of's menus left me mastering them so much i could fully change all the skills my characters were using and completely change are strategy we used in 20 seconds. Why can't i change the abilities my teammates use, i really hated it when my npc's would use magic phys attacks with magic attacks when the enemy has phys resist... STOP FOCUSING ON GRAPHICS PLEASE. PLEASE. I BEG OF YOU. Expand
  7. Apr 21, 2016
    0
    i am a very final fantasy fan. but this game is just **** **** i dont know why the people like this game. is just a rect line, a very badi am a very final fantasy fan. but this game is just **** **** i dont know why the people like this game. is just a rect line, a very bad story, very bad characters and a very bad game sistem. dont buy this game please Expand

See all 403 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.
  2. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?