Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2059 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Final Fantasy XIII, you will embark on a journey through the cityworld of Cocoon and the outerworld of Pulse. Along the way, you will encounter diverse allies who will fight alongside you. Execute powerful attacks with weapons and magic, and summon the enigmatic Eidolons with an evolved Active Time Battle system. Experience seamless transitions between real time gameplay and in-game cinematics. Do you have the courage to face your destiny? Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 83
  2. Negative: 1 out of 83
  1. The streamlined, focused structure eliminates potential tedium without dumbing anything down, and the battle system strikes an elegant balance between strategy and fast-paced action. Stunningly beautiful graphics and a pervasively meticulous level of polish throughout only add to the experience.
  2. Final Fantasy XIII isn't just a game you merely enjoy. You fall in love with it. It's gorgeous worlds have you stopping to admire them in complete awe, while a graceful soundtrack massages your brain (despite the unfortunate replacement of the original Japanese theme with a song from Leona Lewis).
  3. Final Fantasy XIII is an amazing game. With an engrossing story and a thrilling new battle system, this is one title you can't afford to miss as an RPG fan. However, though it succeeds on the most important fronts, there are some notable areas where the game could have been better. The linear level design is a fairly large stumbling block, and if you are used to open-world games, it can make the entire experience feel a little claustrophobic.
  4. Final Fantasy XIII will probably not go down as one of the high points in the series. However, on its own, FFXIII is still a really good and enjoyable game with a fantastic battle system and gorgeous graphics.
  5. This fantasy isn't something that every boy dreams of, but on the other side, the game offers nice story and extremely streamlined mechanics. If you can put aside the annoying characters, the incoherent script and the overall restrictions, the game is reasonably fun to play. [Mar 2010]
  6. But the more changes they make to get in line with a faster-paced style of gameplay, the further away they drift from what made the franchise unique for so many years. The drudgery at the beginning may annoy the casual gamer with an investment of several hours before Paradigm Shift is available and a half-a-dozen more before the first summons. Fans, however, won’t care in the slightest. They’ll be well aware lead time before proceedings really kick off. [Apr 2010 p.64]
  7. It takes more than graphics to make a game, and Final Fantasy XIII offers very little else other than eye candy. Ultimately, this latest addition to the Final Fantasy series is a pompous and masturbatory affair, created seemingly to promote the developer's ego first, and the player's enjoyment second.

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    While still playing this game, I can assure you that Square-enix took one step in the right direction. In Final Fantasy XIII you will find everything a game should have: Great story, well-developed and compelling characters, stunning enviroments, one of the best musical scores of the series, entertaining battle system, and DIFFICULTY. Every role is vital, and strategies are key for some battles. For those who like to compare FFXIII to other FFS just remember how great were FFVIII & FFVII, but how easy they were as well. I found that FFXIII is the oppossite of FFXII. Whereas FFXII gave you the freedom you 'need', tons of quests, it offered, IMO, the weakest story and character development of the series. In contrast, FFXIII is brilliantly developed, as characters and story is concerned. Sure, some things can be improved, some towns and quest can be added, but I, for one, cannot complain, as this game exceeded my expectations and I can't wait for its sequel. It's not a 10, as I gave. I would probably rate it as a 9.5, but hey, some put 0s and 1s so I wanted to raise the user score. Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    Almost as good as X and VII. Very well, made, as well as being a beautiful looking and sounding game. Like the previous installments, It has a wonderful story, and well developed characters. Some people, on the other hand, say it is to linear. I say that if you don't like it, go play another game. Expand
  3. HD3
    Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Good story, interesting and flashy combat, excellent soundtrack, lush enviroments. Very linear though to the point you may find it annoying if you prefer to just wander. Never the less, quite an enjoyable game. Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2013
    7
    Considering all the detail that went into XII, XIII feels stripped out to the point that I felt I was watching a movie with mandatory battles between scenes. You mean I have to fight this guy to see what happens next? The journey from fight to fight is often (but not always) via a hallway, but I was OK with that, and enjoyed the story (and game) immensely, linearity and flat characters notwithstanding. Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game was very much a mixed bag for me (thus the five)....most of the other reviews here have covered anything, but I'm going to add mine because maybe it'll help me feel a little bit better about the 50+ hours I just sunk in to this game. Did I enjoy the story? Yes (I can handle some melodrama, that's fine...and sure I can swallow some of the awkward writing). No surprise about the game being beautiful (and it really, really is, especially in HD). Then there's the gameplay: linear, linear, linear. Walk cutscene, fight, walk, fight, cutscene. Ok, this mean the story needs to keep me interested (and it did, I kept going).

    SPOILERS

    Then Orphan shows up. Death To All? Really? So if I don't have the right accessory then I have to rely on luck to not instantly die? REALLY? 50+ hours later and I'm screwed--I don't have the gil to buy things, and my saves are at the ending...so I guess I lose. Thanks FFXII.
    All I can say is make sure you read a walkthrough/guide, or expect to be really frustrated at the end.
    Expand
  6. SeanG
    Mar 16, 2010
    3
    The accessory & weapon upgrade system in this game is completely broken and they did a terrible job implementing it. Thats the main reason I stopped playing. Because at chapter 11, I was stuck. I had put experience in accessories that were quickly trumped by better random drops. No refund for experience spent. And my weapon, I upgraded it to the second level, but then found much better weapons later I wish I could've upgraded instead, but with the vast lack of upgrade materials and lack of incoming GIL, you get terribly stuck. Plus, I found out there are ways to combine accessories to make better ones, but I found that out online in a forum, not in the game , so there I am retrying Bahamut and Carbuncle 7x each , when I could've upgraded my weapons and gear earlier in the game had they properly informed me. For all the hand holding early in the game, the complete silence on upgrading is a slap in the face. And furthermore the catalyst upgrade system is horrible. Why cap it? Why prevent me from moving on? If you just kept the CP tiered up, the rewards are diminishing for the amt of CP you are getting in the earlier chapters. Overall, I give the game a 5 for the graphics and battle system, but a 1 for the horrible story, horrible characters, horrible upgrade system and linear "on rails" progression system. Expand
  7. Nov 25, 2011
    0
    Like most negative reviewers i was deeply and utterly disappointed with this game. Looking at the amount of positive reviews this got, they just can not be true FFFs. I remember getting this game it was a friday (the day of release) i was extremely excited as i just purchased one of the greatest rpg series around. within 2-3 hours in i HATED it. I've played FF7-10 and within the said time i became completely immersed (read ChristopherC. reviews) in the final fantasy world, but not his rubbish. I hated the characters i couldn't careless about them, in fact i REALLY hoped (no pun intended) hope was killed in the most horrible way. His constant whining was giving me a headache and i still hear vanille's voice when i close my eyes. Also am i the person who felt that the characters DIDN'T actually look like there represented ages?? Snow looked AT LEAST 25+ and serah looked 12. It was disgusting to say the least and i just DIDN'T feel anything for them when serah turned to crystal/ice, i just didn't care at all.

    everything from summoning to battles was just out of place and disjointed. RPG is meant to immerse the player make them feel that they are they for the long haul and at the end you'd get a sense of happiness and enjoyment; that the world is now saved. how this game got such a high score when it is soo badly linear is beyond me i don't care how well presented the game FF is all about character development, rich graphics and a happy ending. this game has none of those.
    Expand

See all 344 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.
  2. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?